Preview Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Sunday 16th April, 4:50PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Magpies

Votes: 37 41.1%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 58.9%

There is obviously a difference in height between Caminiti and Membrey and a few different strengths and weaknesses but when we are full strength and picking a side to win I have no doubt they will be fighting for the same spot along with Cordy.

It doesn’t matter how many times you mention Membrey height, he is a key position forward. That is always how he has played and will continue to.

Can they both play in the same team along with King?

Most definitely, but that will mean Caminiti will have to chop out in the ruck and Cordy will lose his spot.

A lot of water to go under the bridge, but when we are at full strength I expect us to play with 3 key forwards, who they are remains to be seen.

They didn't overlook him wanted him to sit the interview

Yeah overlooked probably isn't the right word, like Carlton they wanted Ross to go through a process which he wasn't prepared to do.

I also get the feeling he wasn't all that keen on coaching either Carlton or Essendon and just likes our club more than them which was a factor too.

Yeah overlooked probably isn't the right word, like Carlton they wanted Ross to go through a process which he wasn't prepared to do.

I also get the feeling he wasn't all that keen on coaching either Carlton or Essendon and just likes our club more than them which was a factor too.
He had agreed with the Blues President to coach

When the Bombers came knocking i think he had already been sounded out by the Saints

You should listen to SEN right now. They are the worst bunch of supporters. They turn on there team so quickly

Its funny AF how they’re all blaming Plowman.

Got absolutely pasted all over the ground but poor old Lachie is copping it.

His baulk & OOF was an absolute pisser though.

Carlton dun goofed knocking back Ross for Voss, just imagine how much better they could be with their talent and his ability to get the best out of it.

It shouldn't be that surprising, Freo picked up his game plan pretty quickly, they played finals in his first year there and made a GF in his 2nd year.

It only took us longer in his first stint with us because he was still working out his game plan himself, he didn't really nail it down properly until 2009.

Yeah I think he will lose his spot when King and Membrey come back with Caminiti playing the 3rd tall forward role, well that's what I would go with.

It's 90% about buy-in and effort. Players were confused with Rath and Ratt's game plan, Lyon doesn't do anything amazingly complex, he just has every player play their role at 100% or he leaves them out in the cold.

It sounds like it should be easy to get that kind of buy in but it obviously isn't or everyone would do it. New coaches seem to get an up spike in output but struggle to sustain that. Systems based sides with high internal expectations have proven sustainable though.

Lol Carlton.
Voss not getting much of a honeymoon. Baying for blood on the radio.

And Hammer could kick five goals this week. He legitimately could.

We know he plays well on Weitering.

Its funny AF how they’re all blaming Plowman.

Got absolutely pasted all over the ground but poor old Lachie is copping it.

His baulk & OOF was an absolute pisser though.

Obviously Plowmans fault this...talent dont mean too much when your thick as shit

He had agreed with the Blues President to coach

When the Bombers came knocking i think he had already been sounded out by the Saints
He said the other day that he heard through his contacts about Sheedy pushing for Hird which obviously came out in the wash. Think he could sense what an absolute shitshow Essendon were at the time.

They didn't overlook him wanted him to sit the interview

I heard that it was political too, one lot wanted him and were ready to sign him, the others decided to **** them over just to make life hard for each other. They are so good at fighting themselves that they don't have time to play footy.

There is obviously a difference in height between Caminiti and Membrey and a few different strengths and weaknesses but when we are full strength and picking a side to win I have no doubt they will be fighting for the same spot along with Cordy.

It doesn’t matter how many times you mention Membrey height, he is a key position forward. That is always how he has played and will continue to.

Can they both play in the same team along with King?

Most definitely, but that will mean Caminiti will have to chop out in the ruck and Cordy will lose his spot.

A lot of water to go under the bridge, but when we are at full strength I expect us to play with 3 key forwards, who they are remains to be seen.

Hammer is more a King style focal point than Membrey or Cordy. He runs straight at the ball and looks menacing without the ball. Cordy tends to draw his player and doesn't even look like contesting unless its comes to him. Membrey has played a lot as a high half forward in the last few years. He gets up and down the ground. It drove me nuts that he was playing where he was less effective. It will be interesting to see what we do with him.

I don't expect too much from the kid as King and Members will draw much of the ball when they're back in the team, but like you said his general competitive traits should see him through.
imagine a preseason or two ontop of what he can do now. he actually has not dropped too much away. once he got his first goal in the 2nd game.

It's 90% about buy-in and effort. Players were confused with Rath and Ratt's game plan, Lyon doesn't do anything amazingly complex, he just has every player play their role at 100% or he leaves them out in the cold.

It sounds like it should be easy to get that kind of buy in but it obviously isn't or everyone would do it. New coaches seem to get an up spike in output but struggle to sustain that. Systems based sides with high internal expectations have proven sustainable though.
Ross has that rare ability that the very best coaches/teachers have where his own knowledge is at a very high level, but he simplifies it to give great clarity and learning to his pupils. I think the game plans he implements are generally very strategically advanced, yet is excellent at simplifying it and giving the players great clarify over expectations. Lots of coaches can be the smartest man in the room, but they focus on their delivery of content/strategy, rather than their facilitation of learning.

Their list is stacked, they are wasting them though. 2 star mids, 2 star forwards at least 2 top backs and plenty of good depth too. They will be alright IMO but glad to see them suffering.
Everyone talks up this list mate.

Match it up against our 09 side. A similar list of stars and shit.

Pretty sure 09 has more winners across the park

You only have to look at Brad Hill to see the difference that Ross makes with Hill's workrate going back to what it was like playing under him at Freo.

Like you say, there is nothing that complex about his game plan, it's mostly just a lift in workrate with everyone buying in as they know they need to.

If you don't bring the workrate Ross requires then you will be playing in the VFL and if it doesn't improve to the required level then you are out the door.

He said the other day that he heard through his contacts about Sheedy pushing for Hird which obviously came out in the wash. Think he could sense what an absolute shitshow Essendon were at the time.

I heard that it was political too, one lot wanted him and were ready to sign him, the others decided to * them over just to make life hard for each other. They are so good at fighting themselves that they don't have time to play footy.
The thing with coaches like Clarko/RTB.

They want to be wanted by the entire panel and that panel has to be on board for the Clarko/.RTB experience

A single creature out of line from the majority and they scamper away from the job back into their cosy rich hidey holes.

Ross has that rare ability that the very best coaches/teachers have where his own knowledge is at a very high level, but he simplifies it to give great clarity and learning to his pupils. I think the game plans he implements are generally very strategically advanced, yet is excellent at simplifying it and giving the players great clarify over expectations. Lots of coaches can be the smartest man in the room, but they focus on their delivery of content/strategy, rather than their facilitation of learning.

Watching Sydney last year, they just move in to close up options so every ball is under pressure and they never have holes. They block for each other and make space for a get out kick.

It's kind of simple but he adds other stuff onto that like allowing strategic holes to make them have shots in spots with low percentages or corral players into a spot where they can chop the ball off. Both sides don't need a PhD to play a role but of you can't keep up physically or drop off mentally you find it hard to hold a spot.

I heard Hodge talking about Clarko always building a narrative around how everyone was out to get them and he'd have them ready to run through walls by game day. Lyon is quite emotionless. He's more composed than emotional and doesn't throw things around, he's more like a guilt trip don't disappoint grandma type.

after that video this popped up. pl]ease explain....

View attachment 1659889
Tiktok knows what you like

Pretty Girls Dancing GIF by South Park

Personally I'm staggered the players managed to pick it up so quickly. I genuinely wondered if many of them hadn't missed the boat due to the last 10 years of nuffin.
Actually quite sad for players like Billings whose whole career could have been a lot better had he not played under sub standard coaches.
Timing is crucial in footy - that’s why I’m really keen to see what he can do with Lenny and Ross now.

The thing with coaches like Clarko/RTB.

They want to be wanted by the entire panel and that panel has to be on board for the Clarko/.RTB experience

A single creature out of line from the majority and they scamper away from the job back into their cosy rich hidey holes.

Yeah everyone at St Kilda from the president down was in favour of getting Ross back to coach us again.

There were some Saints supporters that weren't in favour of it but after 4 wins on the trot they will all be in favour of it now.

Everyone talks up this list mate.

Match it up against our 09 side. A similar list of stars and s**t.

Pretty sure 09 has more winners across the park

Stars and reputations are made in finals though. Cripps and Walsh are close to elite. You've got two guys who could win a Coleman, Saad and Weitering off the backline and then heaps of those Cerra, Hewett,Kennedy, Hollands types. Zac Fisher is a good little player etc.

The list is not the issue IMO.

"Maher believes Wednesday’s announcement of a coaching sub-committee and Lyon’s refusal to go through a process may signify a new era at the Blues.":D:D

“This does show to me that there is a board in place at the Carlton Football Club that is saying we are going to have a proper process here,” he told SEN's Bob and Andy.

It's always a good weekend when Carlton lose.
Ha! So they had a proper “ process” and we apparently didn’t.
Prefer our outcome.

"Maher believes Wednesday’s announcement of a coaching sub-committee and Lyon’s refusal to go through a process may signify a new era at the Blues.":D:D

“This does show to me that there is a board in place at the Carlton Football Club that is saying we are going to have a proper process here,” he told SEN's Bob and Andy.

It's always a good weekend when Carlton lose.
My Carlton mate who sent me a photo when Blues were top of the
adder, texted me today:

Uggghhh! Reality has set in 🤣