Preview Round 5: vs Geelong

Cant belive how many people want hickey dropped. Grundy played very well yes, but hickey didnt have a stinker. Sometimes your man just beats u, not the end of the world.

Hickey has had stinkers for 3 out of 4 weeks

The one week he did ok, that team didn't have its first 2 choice ruckmen. Hickey beat Gawn last year, this year not so. Just not in form at all.

In: Steven, Longer, Michington, Stevens, Wright
Out: Armitage (inj), Hickey, Lonie, Dunstan, Long
OK wtf????
5 changes?????
After a win

Longer did nothing at vfl level, hickey won't be dropped
Lonie did fine and played as good as last week, won't be dropped on form
Long, possible being the new kid on the block
Dunstan id doubt it
Armo maybe depends on how he pulls up

Def steven comes in, so that's long back to vfl

The one week he did ok, that team didn't have its first 2 choice ruckmen. Hickey beat Gawn last year, this year not so. Just not in form at all.

He certainly didn't have a stinker against Martin and was ok yesterday. Important to watch the game I think. By the way Grundy will be AA baring injury and the option of playing on Grundy was Longer and he gets around the ground much worse than Hickey so the right call was made.

I dont see richo dropping dunstan, lonie or long.
They all were great off the ball and richo loves that.

Lonie i thought was great.
I dunno why people want him dropped.
Played a great role as a fwd pocket.

Definitely good for a first afl outing was long and doesn't deserve to be dropped.

Dunstan maybe a bit down on production but pressure was good.

Armo(if injured)- Steven (if uninjured)

If we're to win this week we need a big performance from Hickey at the centre bounces..

IMO he's our most important player this week

Steven for Armo if he's injured... I've seen enough of minch at afl level and prefer both lonie and long atm, would love minch to put together a big month in the 2s

i'd like minch in for dunstan, but i think dunstan plays a very defensive role in the midfield, where he sets up at stoppages and probably running patterns. I think that may be part of the reason dunstan hasn't donned a sandy jumper yet. We defended so well against collingwood, but I would like to get the meatball into the 22

also, sidenote, I like seeing billings going for a long run from deep in defence to the forward fifty late in the third quarter. The pies players around him looked spent. Tank getting there!

If we're to win this week we need a big performance from Hickey at the centre bounces..

IMO he's our most important player this week

Steven for Armo if he's injured... I've seen enough of minch at afl level and prefer both lonie and long atm, would love minch to put together a big month in the 2s
armo just had cramp, he was down for the last 3 minutes and needed 2 trainers to get hom off but he was walking around after the game

Steven, Stevens In

Lonie, Armo (if not fit) otherwise may just be the one change.

Really doubt we drop dunstan, was average yesterday but for the most part this season has been solid I think, was really impressive last weekend clearance and stoppage wise in the absence of Jack.

I get the excitement around Long. But he is not best 22. Can we afford to play him against the Cats or do we replace him with a more experienced player?

I'd rather we have most experienced 22 available.

That said, he will probably be given a few weeks.

Both Armo & Dunny looked injured/sore. If that's the case,Steven & Stevens in for those two
Love your work Glenny, but it seems you're the cheerleader for the "Dunny" moniker. Not that he reads BF but I know I'd be pissed.

Any other options? :)

.... Dunstanlucky
Lucky's not far off I would have thought.

I wonder if this is the game where our kicking clicks into gear...

Win the next 2 and we're right on track for getting a finals spot

I think we caught Geelong napping for a big period early in the game last year, so it'll be a lot more difficult to beat them this time around. Think we beat the hawks down in Tassie for a 3-3 start to the year.

I can see the case for Hickey to be dropped, but I suspect he keeps his spot. Hasn't had huge impact around the ground, but Billy won't either, and he hasn't been terrible except in Round 1.

Armo obviously out if injured. Steven obviously in if fit.

I'm off the Dunstan train, I think he's been just OK as our primary clearance mid, but we're last in the comp on clearances (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_rankings?year=2017&type=DT&sby=29&advv=Y) so I'd love to see improvement there. If Armo's injured then he stays in; otherwise I'd give Stevens a run seeing as he's in form in the twos.

Wouldn't mind giving Minch a run on the back of his good performance, I also thought he was OK in the JLT. I don't think he's actually AFL quality - too small, not enough quality, not enough tank - but we need to find out this year so why not give him a run?

The only outs I could see apart from Dunstan would be Lonie or Long, even though I thought they both earned another week. Lonie's been around longer so I assume he stays.

Maybe also Weller, I think he's been a bit underwhelming so far this year. A bit better yesterday, but generally not presenting super well on the wings, not much forward pressure, not taking his chances. If he'd kicked straighter he could probably have 8 goals from 4 games, which would make him hard to drop. As it is he has 4 from 4 games. I'm sure he stays in but I think he has to be under a bit of pressure.

I reckon it'll be something like:

IN: Steven, Stevens
OUT: Dunstan, Long
Geelong -5 on clearances overall

All of a sudden I'm not so worried about next week through the midfield. Bring in Stevens & Steven & we'll be ****ing hectic in there

As opposed to Longer who couldn't even beat Tom Bellchambers in the ruck in the reserves on Saturday...

Hickey may not be in form but he's still a mile more in form than Bill

Hard to say with Long. Doesnt deserve to be dropped (thought he had a great game), but youd think normally the kids are given a taste so they know the level required and then made to earn it through performances in the VFL.
But then Longy has previously been playing and smashing it at VFL level....

Having two smalls worked against the Pies, but is there room for him in the structure going forward against other opponents, or does he need to go past someone else (Lonie) to get games?

Until Paddy is kicking bags in the twos and ready to come back into the side, Long stays in for mine. Armo for Stuv the only change.