Round one selection dilemmas

Still thinking about my 22/25 for Sydney, but as an aside, when did we recruit all these left footers? I remember not so long ago thinking that Hawthorn had a lot of them - that team you've picked has 10.
Sorry if that's not even slightly interesting to people! :p
Left footers rule....

Williams Frost Langdon
Ramsay Brown Maynard
Sidebottom Treloar Crisp
Varcoe Cloke Swan
Gault Moore Fasolo

Witts Adams Pendlebury

DeGoey Blair Greenwood Macaffer

Williams Frost Langdon
Ramsay Brown Maynard
Sidebottom Treloar Crisp
Varcoe Cloke Swan
Gault Moore Fasolo

Witts Adams Pendlebury

DeGoey Blair Greenwood Macaffer

Caff is injured. What about The Great Grundy?

I love Aish in RD 1 but He been Good but really done nothing to Demand to be in the RD 1.

So I would not be Surprised IF he starts in the VFL so he can Build his Confidence and Improve his game bit more.

Adams played in the VFL early when he 1st came to the Club and did him well

This is the team I would go with to beat the Swans.

B: Williams Brown Toovey
HB: Maynard Frost Pendlebury
C: Aish Treloar Sidebottom
HF: Varcoe Cloke Swan
F: Blair Moore Fasolo
Foll: Witts Adams De Goey
Int: Greenwood Crisp Sinclair Grundy
Toovey, Sinclair and Blair all in the same team? Surely we've evolved beyond relying on all three of these loyal but low-skilled servants?

Evolution occurs gradually over time.

FB - Marsh - Brown - Ramsay
HB - Williams - Frost - Langdon
C - Sidebottom - Treloar - Crisp
Fol - Witts - Adams - Pendlebury
HF - Varcoe - Cloke - Swan
FF - Fasolo - Moore - Blair

Int: Gault (elevated), DeGoey, Greenwood, Aish

Defence: First and foremost it covers the likely defensive match ups that it needs to. Marsh will be needed as third tall. But it will struggle for rebound and the foot skills are a big concern. Sinclair is stiff given his skills have been good out of defence for a while. The defence will need help from the rest of the team with guys like Crisp, Pendlebury, Sidebottom and Aish options to run behind the ball.

Midfield: It looks super strong. It has some quality in an under players (Adams, Greenwood, DeGoey) it has some great inside/outside class (Pendlebury, Treloar, Swan and Crisp) and it also some good outside ability with (Sidebottom, Aish and Crisp).

Ruck: Witts has one the number one role on preseason form. Grundy unlucky to miss but I think we structure up better with Gault as our best second ruck / forward outside of Moore who is needed at full forward.

Forward: The forward line functioned so well in preseason. I hope that continues into the season. I reckon the Swans will put a lot of effort into Fasolo who has been really dangerous. I think Varcoes pressure is needed up forward. Blair is in on form, but also a bit of a reprieve with both Elliott and Howe out with injury. This hurts us a bit but we should be okay.

Not best 22? He is best 10 mate. Maybe you should change your username.....again.
He will return to the team when his form peaks. He is jumping too early in the ruck and not giving us first use of the ball. He is a better round the ground player than Witts, but his timing in the ruck in his first year was better than now. It is a choice between one or the other because we do not need to play 2 rucks. If both were in top form, two rucks could conceivably be played. In the meantime I prefer Gault to either of them up forward.

Gault is certainly flavour of the month. I prefer to put my faith in players with actual talent.

There are a lot of teams playing a three tall forward line. Sydney will likely be one of them. Considering this, I believe this side to be a tall defender short. I would expect that Marsh will make it in considering Goldsack is injured. That said I do see an issue having two tall defenders who are ordinary users of the footy in Marsh and Frost (in Reids likely absence) and another in Brown whose kicking is working class at best.

First rule of war, know your enemy.
Sydney have limited tall options up forward this year, no more Goodes or Pyke.
Sam Reid is almost 0% chance of round 1, he's injured.
That leaves only 3 tall's for Sydney and 1 of them must play ruck.

Sydney's 3 NAB games has been Buddy at half forward and rotating between ruck and full forward Tippett and Sinclair.

This means:

Half Forward: Frost = Buddy
Full Forward: Brown = Tippett/Sinclair
Ruck: Witts/Gault = Sinclair/Tippett

No need for Marsh, our defense would be too tall, we actually need the extra small defenders to cater to the abundance of small mid/forwards that Sydney have.

Gault is certainly flavour of the month. I prefer to put my faith in players with actual talent.
You may be vindicated either because both rucks are selected or Gault fails. I do like the 3 pronged tall attack, with Gault taking pressure of Moore.

Gault has been crucial to our structures during all 3 NAB games.

He is definitely ahead of Moore for round 1 selection, but I think they will go all 3 Cloke, Gault and Moore with Witts rucking and Grundy out vs Swans.

Gault - Average 70% NAB gametime = 8 goals 2 points (Should be 9 goals, De Goey shanks a kick vs North where Gault was 30m in front all alone)
Fasolo - Average 75% NAB gametime = 9 goals 2 points
Moore - Average 50% NAB gametime = 4 goals 1 point

Next is Blair and Varcoe with 4 goals each.

Cloke not even in our top 5 goal kickers for 3 games and we actually won all 3 games.

I think that's amazing.

Evolution occurs gradually over time.
Yes but it needs to occur fast enough to coincide with Pendles, Swan, Cloke, Sidebottom, Varcoe, Brown, etc still playing strongly, otherwise we'll be into another rebuild phase without ever hitting our peak.

How many of Toovey, Blair, Sinclair, Macaffer and Goldsack would get a game at Hawthorn? If any more than one or two of these guys are considered part of our best 22 at season's end then we will still be miles away from being a Premiership threat. Toovey and Sinclair are turn-over merchants, Blair struggles to accurately kick more than 35m if there's an opponent standing the mark, while Macaffer and Goldsack provide good defensive pressure but don't get enough of the ball themselves to have any sustained attacking impact. Not one of that quintet would place opposition coaches under enough pressure to change any of their structures or strategy.

Yes but it needs to occur fast enough to coincide with Pendles, Swan, Cloke, Sidebottom, Varcoe, Brown, etc still playing strongly, otherwise we'll be into another rebuild phase without ever hitting our peak.

How many of Toovey, Blair, Sinclair, Macaffer and Goldsack would get a game at Hawthorn? If any more than one or two of these guys are considered part of our best 22 at season's end then we will still be miles away from being a Premiership threat. Toovey and Sinclair are turn-over merchants, Blair struggles to accurately kick more than 35m if there's an opponent standing the mark, while Macaffer and Goldsack provide good defensive pressure but don't get enough of the ball themselves to have any sustained attacking impact. Not one of that quintet would place opposition coaches under enough pressure to change any of their structures or strategy.
Of those players you mentioned I believe all would get a game. Don't forget Clarkson always talks about soldiers not brass.

He is definitely ahead of Moore for round 1 selection, but I think they will go all 3 Cloke, Gault and Moore with Witts rucking and Grundy out vs Swans.

Gault - Average 70% NAB gametime = 8 goals 2 points (Should be 9 goals, De Goey shanks a kick vs North where Gault was 30m in front all alone)

Cloke not even in our top 5 goal kickers for 3 games and we actually won all 3 games.

I think that's amazing.
Gault is fools' gold. He only ever performs in low-key games, when the big boys like Swanny, Cloke and Pendles barely get out of 2nd gear.
Gault deserves a start in Rd1 but I expect he will have minimal impact (despite getting the opposition's 3rd or 4th best defender) and be out of the side before Rd4. Mason Cox's pack-crashing, contested marking and ruck support offers much more upside in the medium- to long-term than Gault. White/Gault are simply keeping the seat warm for him.

I think that's amazing.

As much as I'm off the Cloke bandwagon, he didn't play all 3 games. He only played 2. Either way, the Round 1 forward line will be:

Fasolo Cloke Moore
Swan Gault Blair

in my opinion anyway because I doubt Howe will be up for Round 1.

Of those players you mentioned I believe all would get a game. Don't forget Clarkson always talks about soldiers not brass.
They would only get a game with the Hawks as injury coverage, not best 22. They're all too one-dimensional to make the cut at Hawthorn. The only one with a direct equivalent in the Hawks' best 22 is Blair but his double, Puopolo, is superior in every regard.

Anyway, the good news is that we now have a crop coming through (DeGoey, Scharenberg, Ramsay, Maynard, Aish, Sier, Oxley, Broomhead, Marsh) who should quickly surpass them. Exciting to have something to look forward to for the first time since 2011.

First rule of war, know your enemy.
Sydney have limited tall options up forward this year, no more Goodes or Pyke.
Sam Reid is almost 0% chance of round 1, he's injured.
That leaves only 3 tall's for Sydney and 1 of them must play ruck.

Sydney's 3 NAB games has been Buddy at half forward and rotating between ruck and full forward Tippett and Sinclair.

This means:

Half Forward: Frost = Buddy
Full Forward: Brown = Tippett/Sinclair
Ruck: Witts/Gault = Sinclair/Tippett

No need for Marsh, our defense would be too tall, we actually need the extra small defenders to cater to the abundance of small mid/forwards that Sydney have.

I thought they had another tall. I may have been thinking of Pyke. In that case I think Sinclair is the logical choice. He had a good preseason, can break lines, is a safe kick and is better in the air than people credit him. I'd be leaving the main shut down roles to Ramsay and Williams who are better defenders.

Round one selection dilemmas