Media S29 Rising Stars

View attachment 821746

Round 2 saw some of the higher rated rookies have a quieter week while a couple others stepped up to fill the void. Cap had another outstanding week, gathering a huge ARSE with 137.8 points, rocketing him out to a substantial lead.

Santoz was massive for the Bombers with 6 goals, 4 points off 11 kicks and ended on a massive 94.16 points.

Tonga Bob continued his purple patch with 76.95 points thanks to his 25 disposal game which included 4 tackles and 17 handballs. He is beginning to be known as an inside specialist, able to get the ball out of a contest into the hands of a free teammate thanks to his silky skills.

Leviathan Pie announced himself to the SFA with a veterans game of 24 disposals and a handy goal. The Swamprats would be very happy with how he is progressing and the future looks bright for the young rat.

Despite the amazing efforts of other rookies, the choice for this week's nomination was an obvious one. jusjoshin was superb. An incredible 31 disposals, a goal and 15 kicks showed that even though his aspirations are defense based, he is very handy when it comes to attack. Able to bomb the ball a great distance without losing any accuracy, this young hawk will be a nightmare for opposition wherever he plays. His 138.24 points earns him the Round 2 Rising Star nomination.

View attachment 821753

~~~

I sat down with Jusjoshin and Agent93 to discuss this young dynamo.

Agent93
1. G'day mate You must be rapt to have one of your new recruits receive a Rising Star nomination for S29. Just how proud are you?

Pride is for two-dimensional characters and lions. I am however rather pleased at the pain inficted upon GCB85 at the BJO last Sunday.

2. How did Jusjoshin come to join the hawks and how do you think he is fitting in so far?
I ran into jusjoshin in the Tour of BigFooty on the Fremantle board. His avatar caught my eye and I figured he'd be a good mate for ArdentEagle despite being infected by that purple disease from that other league. Given that impediment, he's easing into things well and is surpisingly sharp when moments of inspiration take him.

3. What position do you currently have him playing and can we expect to see you move his magnet around any time soon?
JJ will set up off the half-back flank in round 3, but can expect to see time all over the field as we get him used to the competition. He really wants to sit in the back pocket and snot people though, but I reckon he's a bit more valuable than a mere thug like ShaunDuggan.

4. What S29 rookies have caught your eye this season so far?
Warriors newbie Tonga Bob was good value in round 1 and has promised to join the Hawks after I have set fire to TheInjuryFactory.
Roys rookie PurpleGreenRed was surprising given his outward love for a god awful colour scheme and I think he's made a good choice of club.

Jusjoshin
1. Welcome Jusjoshin. Congratulations on receiving the Round 2 Rising Star nomination. How did you first hear of the SFA?

I first heard about the SFA after I was tagged into one of the threads calling for new blood. I answered the call and played my first game.

2. Are you enjoying your time so far? How are you finding the hawks?
I've enjoyed my time at the Hawks so far. They are all extremely supportive of me as a gun accumulator with the soul of a nuggetty small defender. I save my violence for game day so they don't get to see too much of it in training.

3. How do you prepare for a qooty match?
The night before a big match, I'll generally consume a large pizza by myself, and half a carton of draught. The morning of a match I tend to have an ice coffee and a couple of panadol. I listen to really angry music to put myself into the correct mood to run through some campaigners.

4. What are your aspirations for yourself within the league.
I'm hoping to cause the most havoc on the field through either extreme acts of violence or sublime skills, take your pick.

5. Have any teams or posters caught your eye so far? Have you made any enemies yet?
Anybody who is not a Hawk is the enemy. I will leave no surviving enemies.

6. How do you rate your chances of winning come the end of the season?
I rate myself highly and see it as a foregone conclusion

Strong words. Congratulations and good luck for the rest of the season.

~~~

View attachment 821767

A quiet week sees Cesoir drop 3 spots, while Jusjoshin and Leviathan Pie move into the top 7. Cap could probably take the week off and still be in the lead. GWS Goose is doing everything right and is slowly climbing up the leaderboard. Surprising no one the Bombers rookie leads all other for posting as it stands, though it is only round two.

143 posts.

140 of them garbage :thumbsu:

I think we all agree it has been a tragic start to the year. Raging bush fires followed by dangerous floods with much damage done.
But clearly that pales in comparison to the Goose being overlooked by the Rising Star judges in consecutive weeks....
#1like1prayer

I think we all agree it has been a tragic start to the year. Raging bush fires followed by dangerous floods with much damage done.
But clearly that pales in comparison to the Goose being overlooked by the Rising Star judges in consecutive weeks....
#1like1prayer
I deal with cyclones and floods...Ya don’t hear me whinging.

#1like1prayer
You're on the leaderboard. Try harder on the field and once all the proper stars have been nommed you'll get yours.

Im pretty confident come season end, the quality (obviously I m talking about myself) will have well and truly risen to the top.

I'm consulting my legal team in relation to this miscarriage of justice.

ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 ROUND 2 - KABOOM OF THE WEEK GOES KAPUT

Round 2 saw a very quiet week. After the Round 1 shellacking copped by SFA vets such as The Half Back and NaturalDisaster from Rookies, most wise old heads hid deep and were appallingly polite to Rookies.

So this week instead of -

we got -

That said, there was no shortage of chortle worthy banter from a broad group of Rookies. In Round 2 there were stacks of excellent work from the likes of GWS Goose Cesoir serial_thrilla Tonga Bob PurpleGreenRed Santoz and plenty more. Submit a Beandip Correction if you believe I missed a great piece of work.

One of my favourite Rookies is Bovo . He would be playing a pivotal role for the Bombers if their 'leader', WaynesWorld19 gave him a go. This is for you Wayneo.

Come on rookies. You can't let these fossils get too comfortable. Keep on the offensive.

Media S29 Rising Stars