Autopsy Saints kick the Bombers butts far into the future.

Not long back in the door.....there was some serious celebrating to be done tonight........that from memory was the biggest win since we belted them at the dome in 2015....pretty sure 2008 was by a bigger margin(and what a night that was)

This arvo/tonight was just unbelievable...........so so sweet when it was totally unexpected.

I don't think even the "Drovers dog" tipped us to win.

That 3rd qtr was just bliss on a stick.

More of that please.

And the great accuracy and spectacular goals from tight angles.

You just knew we were "on" when that was happening in the first qtr.

More of that please.
I tipped us… ;)

got some huge laughs from the melbourne board in the off season,because i dont totally despise them,but gotta admit this post 52 on their(essendon)autopsy tickled my fancy,several posters reeled off who should be delisted and these 4 names came up every time,then this guy comes up with this

We're going to make some massive changes next week, really move the magnets around to freshen things up.

I'm thinking Heppell, Wright out. Goldy, Kelly in.

will go back to enjoying the melts

King makes us too predictable, needs to learn ruck and add another dimension to not only his own game but also the team's.
Yep. We are crying out for another ruckman. He's the same height as Roma. Even a 70/30 split with the ruckwork is worth a try. He'd still be good for a couple of goals a game when up forward.

We've been reluctant to do it so far because of him getting injured. Enough of that. He's 24, take the f'kn cotton wool off and toughen him up. As it is Max manages to get injured playing in the goal square so what's there to lose?

Bring it on next year. A Roma/King double act has great potential.

Great stuff Saints. Made by day, weekend, week, year. Well maybe not year.

Too early for a proper dissection but hopefully the penny is going to drop about Max. We need to fit Max into our system not build our system around Max and make him carry the weight of the world on his shoulders.

17 goals two weeks in a row. 16 v Brisbane and 13 v Swans shows what a versatile, mobile forward line can do.
Big Maxy IMHO should be at CHF and no where near the goal square.

He's a great kick from 50 and his general field kicking is superb.

What a great win - I watched on replay after being out. I hate to say it but our defence is so good with Battle playing at CHB and our forward line so much more functional without King playing. Something seriously needs to improve with Max in the off season, I'd hope the club would consider bringing in a specialist coach to work with him.

Great win - not enough love for Marshall.

Dominant performance by him. AA ruckman by a mile.
I'm also throwing some love towards "El Capitano"

Was that the most goals Jack Steele has kicked in a game?

I bounced the suggestion off the troops today that maybe he was playing with a niggle when having that horror patch mid year.

Saw a clip during the week where Eddie Maguire called the Bombers the CFMEU (the builders Union). He reckoned they are always building but never get anything finished!

He also said, probably tongue in cheek, that they wouldn't win another game this year. To say that he must've been one of the only pundits to give us a chance this week.

We've finally found someone fitting of the #7. I very much hope we can hold onto him. He's our best pick in more than a decade (if we separate our 3 ridiculous rookie picks of course).

Hasn't been too much to get excited about this year but that was a great game to be at. What a third quarter.

The vibes appear good as well. Boys enjoyed the win and went on with it. Getting around each other. Big turn around from earlier in the year when we dropped the Dogs game (and others). I think this matters more than just rolling over and hoping for a high draft pick.

who's got the b&f surely it's out of Roma and nas. Maybe Wilkie.

I'll say it again, we are a better team as a whole without Max. I don't know what to do to fix that, Max is a gun when fit and on, but 100% we thrive without him.

I'd hope we have a comprehensive report into running patterns of all forwards with then without Max.

I know any suggestion to trade the best asset we have is foolish, but we desperately need to figure out why the other forwards are lost when Max is around.

Quality of forward entries and the other excuses is simply just excuses. We seem to make it work without Max, so let figure out why the hell it can't with him.

vcAerRY.gif

Hopefully the past fortnight will silence the doubters over Ross Lyon and the game plan he has implemented. Anyone with a clue wouldn't have had any doubt over the game plan, but for the casuals, the skills are finally starting to click which pulls together the forward half scoring to complement the defensive 50 scoring we were already elite at. Goals from centre bounce clearances are also improving with some continuity in our midfield - we smashed a midfield consisting of Merrett, Parish, Caldwell, Stringer - and more than doubled their scores from stoppages

With 6 matches lost by 10 or less points, this season could have looked very different, some were ugly games but they were there to be won and really should of had 3 of them if skills (not gameplan) weren't a let down. Calls for Ross to finish up are short sighted.

who's got the b&f surely it's out of Roma and nas. Maybe Wilkie.

Our top 5 in coaches votes are:

32: Sinclair (votes in 5 games)
31: Marshall (7)
26: Wanganeen-Milera (6)
25: Steele (7)
15: Wilkie (7)

All of them get votes again tonight I reckon, so that should be the top 5 in the B&F.

I'll say it again, we are a better team as a whole without Max. I don't know what to do to fix that, Max is a gun when fit and on, but 100% we thrive without him.

I'd hope we have a comprehensive report into running patterns of all forwards with then without Max.

I know any suggestion to trade the best asset we have is foolish, but we desperately need to figure out why the other forwards are lost when Max is around.

Quality of forward entries and the other excuses is simply just excuses. We seem to make it work without Max, so let figure out why the hell it can't with him.
When Max is there, the entries inside 50 are always centred around him which demotivates the rest of the forward line because they are getting no return for effort. There are two ways to fix this (that I can think of at least):

There needs to be a direct instruction by the coaches to avoid Max when possible so the distributors actively look for other targets. The balance between when to go and when not to go to Max needs to be a pre-season focus

Alternatively, move Max higher up the ground (which is my preferred strategy). Play him in the role he played in round 1 and round 2 - leverage his marking ability higher up the ground where it's harder for defenders to neutralise his run and jump. He is a relatively slim build, so improve his fitness base to enable him to run his more bulked up opposition full backs off their legs to kick goals off work rate - like Riewoldt did. Doesn't have to be a freak aerobic athlete, just needs to be fitter than his opposition - we already saw in the early rounds that he is already doing ok in this area. I feel like you have to put your most natural forward at FF, and I see that in Sharman with his leading patterns and forward craft.

Henry - King - Owens
Higgins - Sharman - Caminiti
Butler

I almost want to throw up a little bit by saying it, but Zac Jones' first half was as good as I've seen in a Saints jumper. I'm not a fan of the guy, but he was great.

Cooper Sharman, unselfish and ultimate team player - we saw this Cooper in the preseason then he was thrown around to cover Wood etc. Today was complete, flying, competing, defending, leading, gut running, the bloke got 3 Brownlow votes today.

Nas, we all knew he could kick a ball but this year he has added another level of toughness and evasiveness to his game. He really needs to be in the All Aussie team and we need to sign him up for a decade.

Caminiti/Marshall, putting both of these guys together because they were both dominant in the air. The Bombers made life easy for us with their game but we still have to mark them and they did.

Owens, best game for the year. Still much improvement left in him, but he got his mojo back today.

Gresham, haha, that is all.

Steele, good to see him happy. Started the year on fire, played injured now he looks fit again with a weight lifted from his shoulders. Kicked 3, including a gift from Coops, good to see some reward for his efforts.

Bonner, been pretty harsh on him but he was solid today. It was helped by playing a bunch of witcheshats who refused to move or pressure, but still got to execute which he did.

Wilkie, Doogs and Battle, best tall defensive unit in the competition. Yup, I said it, I love Doogs ❤️ I feel guilty for not mentioning Jimmy, selfless and solid role player who improves those around him.

Feels wrong not to single out a dozen others including Wood, Membrey etc, but I've waffled for long enough. I don't think we lost one position on the ground today and it was great to see.

Essendon were disgusting today, they weren't switched on at any point apart from a 5 minute burst in the second. They didn't work, run or apply any pressure with or without the ball. Part of that was how we played, but mostly they really were just that bad.

BUT, credit where it's due, we were on, we made them play that way and we were clinical when we had to be. Our game falls apart under extreme pressure, that wasn't there today and we thrived.

Great win, made better considering it was Essendon. We've beaten those flogs. Now let's get some honourable losses and ensure we get one of those elite midfielders in the draft lol

Autopsy Saints kick the Bombers butts far into the future.