Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Humphries is another one of those ****ed Geelong stories where they find a star player in the bin. I think he was the last player taken in the 2023 draft. Looks elite. Kicks as good as Nas and has incredible vision.
Still no where near Wilson. How many teams passed on him Gringo ?

On Hill, and maybe you notice more when you attend games rather than on TV (I wasn't in Adelaide), but he seemed involved even if he wasn't getting a lot of the ball.
My Sainter mate over there went to the Adelaide game and told me Hill looked like he was running half pace and only upped the tempo after the game was lost.

Game v Adelaide he was invisible. Geelong tagged him so his possessions were down, so he contributed in other ways, very unHill like 1% even taking a good contested mark.
Yeah need a bit more out of him but liked that he still contributed and did team things.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

When we've got Wilson and Nas roaming the entire ground, Hill makes an OK decoy.
Well done Cats, you stopped Brad Hill, who's that guy in the StKilda jumper kicking it through your goals?

My Sainter mate over there went to the Adelaide game and told me Hill looked like he was running half pace and only upped the tempo after the game was lost.

I missed a word in my post, but I meant to say he looked more involved this week against Geelong.

I’m typically not fussed by the media, but I do think the club needs to start asking questions of reporters that represent the AFL.

It’s very rare that we beat a more fancied opponent and that these pieces are a positive about us, and this is no exception. There’s no secret we’re a minnow in the eyes of the footy public, but there was a lot from last night that should have been highlighted to help support our popularity.

This sort of stuff can help shape people’s narrative about us.
Time for it to stop imo
I also noticed this. On the AFL website in the '7 things we learned' article. All about the Cats.

Game v Adelaide he was invisible. Geelong tagged him so his possessions were down, so he contributed in other ways, very unHill like 1% even taking a good contested mark.
Yeah need a bit more out of him but liked that he still contributed and did team things.

He put Dempsey (I think) on his ass in a marking contest late in the 4th about 15m from the Geelong goal.

Stays in the team just for that 😂😁

I reckon we need a bit from Hill after two games- seems to be missing for chunks of a game. Other than that, it would be great to see another debutant in the next game..need to blood all these guys.
Hill did a lot of gut running at the ground to cover position and block space. He's not in great form but he worked much harder on Sat than the week before.

The quality performances of Windhager and Owens bring to mind the old Ross Lyon rule of the "four year apprenticeship". Ross has acknowledged that's not the right way to develop kids anymore (eg Nas who plays from season 1 and was close to elite by season 3), but back in 08-09, he basically refused to play anyone unless they'd done 3-4 years VFL first.

Windy and Owens are both now at that 4-year, 50+ game mark and were incredibly influential on Sat. Will be interesting to see if they can sustain a more consistent, higher level this year. Would make a bit difference if they take that next step.

I also noticed this. On the AFL website in the '7 things we learned' article. All about the Cats.
Do we care? How about we win back to back games, or beat a good team away?

We got a decent run in the media I saw this weekend. Cats losing a chalked-in game and losing a key player is bigger news.

Happy to be out of the news, and let Carlton, Essendon and Melbourne feel the heat this week. A bit on Freo too.

We bid on Leake, how pissed would we be right now if they'd let him go to us and taken Wilson.
I think we live traded with GWS ( got a second) to go back a couple of places to get Wilson.
We paid a second for Henry so he was basically for free and then selected Wilson.

I think we live traded with GWS ( got a second) to go back a couple of places to get Wilson.
We paid a second for Henry so he was basically for free and then selected Wilson.

You're right , I was wrong, they gave us a 2nd round pick for last year, in exchange for going back a single space in the draft, so that we wouldn't get Leake. Suckers.

We split the second rounder, and got Macrae, then traded back up the draft order, and got Barratt.

Bit harsh on that handball. It was a good read and looked high enough on live & on rewatch, but was a great read and defensive play by Humphries.

It was a good intercept but there was a simple way to make that handball 100% safe. He was clear, the saints player he was handballing to was clear. Good mids would make that handball 99 times out of 100.

The quality performances of Windhager and Owens bring to mind the old Ross Lyon rule of the "four year apprenticeship". Ross has acknowledged that's not the right way to develop kids anymore (eg Nas who plays from season 1 and was close to elite by season 3), but back in 08-09, he basically refused to play anyone unless they'd done 3-4 years VFL first.

Windy and Owens are both now at that 4-year, 50+ game mark and were incredibly influential on Sat. Will be interesting to see if they can sustain a more consistent, higher level this year. Would make a bit difference if they take that next step.

I thought Owens went backwards a bit last year. Thought he was back to the Owens we saw in 23 on the weekend. Reminds me a bit of Aaron Hamill. Worth much more to the team than his stats suggest.

You're right , I was wrong, they gave us a 2nd round pick for last year, in exchange for going back a single space in the draft, so that we wouldn't get Leake. Suckers.

We split the second rounder, and got Macrae, then traded back up the draft order, and got Barratt.
And we were never taking anyone other than Wilson. We could have picked 8 pick earlier, and we were taking Wilson.

I thought Owens went backwards a bit last year. Thought he was back to the Owens we saw in 23 on the weekend. Reminds me a bit of Aaron Hamill. Worth much more to the team than his stats suggest.
Agree. The way Owens played on Sat was almost a mirror of a Sammy Hamill game. Although Hamill was a better kick for goal - Owens needs to fix that.

his tackle in the first was sublime...no holding the ball though even as he latched onto him for an eternity

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Some of the umpiring on holding the ball breaches by Geelong was really poor. It was like going back 3 years when Geelong players were given an eternity to get rid of the ball. The 15 metre kicks were also inconsistent with ours being called play on and yet Geelongs were fine. It was like the umpires went into the game with an agenda to stop paying our short kicks as a mark.

The same thing happened in the Collingwood v Bulldogs game, there is no doubt the bigger or sucessful clubs get looked after by the umpiring fraternity. I dont know if its a conscious thing or whether they are just intimidated by their abusive crowds.

After watching the VFL game also the standard of umpiring right across the board has been pretty ordinary to start the year. Did I read that they have a shortage of umpires, well its definitely showing in the quality of their understanding of the game.

It will do Keeler more good than harm as it will have shown him the difference between VFL and AFL and I'm not just talking doing the rucking , the amount of running required ect.
I think if they can they need to persist with him as i think playing at Sandy is not going to help him develop
Agree. And Collard.
I know we have some coming back, and it'll be tight, but still. Maybe Keeler as sub?

And after watching the game again last night - thank heavens I knew the result but I was still hyperventilating - the desperation was unbelievable at the end as they were out on their feet. Caminiti needs to be persevered with. The backline is his spot and he did some really good things.
No more Cordy, thanks.

Honestly that’s very unlike him. I’d argue he’s usually our best hand baller out of stoppages. Well second now after McRae.

Ultimately re Clark. It’s very very simple. He usually takes 3/4 games after an injury to hit his straps. If he ever gets a clean run, then I think we’ll see his best.
Wonder when we get any updates about whether he was injured?
Holding thumbs.

Agree. The way Owens played on Sat was almost a mirror of a Sammy Hamill game. Although Hamill was a better kick for goal - Owens needs to fix that.
100% He could be an absolute star.
Also, I wish Nas could kick the goals when he has the opportunity. He does everything else.

Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Write your reply...