Review Saints v Carlton ANZAC 2015

Or, to be exact, we're running out part of each game which is a vast improvement on last year. I think it's realistic to concentrate more on our first half than our second. We're playing really good footy before young bodies run out of steam, something that should be fixed as we get a few more pre seasons into the gang. The second half was obviously disappointing but I think from a long term perspective it's not terribly relevant.
Pretty much this. We're clearly running out of gas a long way from home trying to play this very demanding high tackling/pressure game and that's not likely to change any time soon unless we look to play a completely different/less demanding way.

I was at Wellington game and came away with several impressions. Saints should definately keep playing in New Zealand and not give up. However - we should play a different team each year, not Carlton everytime. There were quite a few Blues supporters there and it is supposed to be our home game, with us reaping rewards and gaining members, not them. Hawks and Roos play different sides each game in Tassie. That way they get the 'home' team advantage and extra support and members. I think we should do the same.

I also felt a bit sad about some parts of being a Saint supporter yesterday though. Having over 12,000 people at game was good, better than Manuka figures thats for sure., I usually sit in aisle 39 at Etihad but thought I would treat myself to corporate this once. Doubt I will do that again. Wrong starting time printed on tickets, lots of murmering from others waiting to get in re this and no explanation given. More tickets than seats in corporate section which led to some argy bargy between supporters, and at my age, a seat and somewhere to leave my bag would have been nice! Went to post game function - and this time no where enough seats for anyone to sit on. Lots of people my age leaving, cant stand for hours anymore. If club want people to pay money and go to game, then a little more thought to fan comfort could be a good idea. I still hope we stay there and make a go of the New Zealand idea though. We need the fans this could bring if managed well.

Welcome to the forum. A few things to sort out at the ground. I was amazed that the gates didn't open until 12.00 midday for a 1.10 start. Thousands lined up outside all waiting for it to open, was more than a little bizarre. Like you my mum is well past standing for long periods and didn't enjoy standing outside waiting either.

Hey guys. I come in peace!
I just got back home from Wellington and I just wanted to pop in and say that I had a great time at the game and I hope it continues after this year. You've got some awesome young guys in your team and it was great to watch them get a run. The atmosphere in the city was heaps of fun and I got heckled by Saints supporters everywhere I went :thumbsu:
Good luck for the rest of the season.

Second week in a row we've been killed by inconsistent umpiring decisions (who knows if we had've won but as we all saw we're not going to win with them). AFL's twitter has invited suggestions for what needs to be reviewed, if the club can't address it then the fans should speak up.

Roberton had his legs cannoned into, no free and was a ball up.

Hi all, new on Bigfooty. Saints fan..Watched yesterday's game and I'm thinking it's time for Delaney to have rest, just seems off his game so far, and maybe Goddard comes in, or Lee. Not real impressed with some of the tactics getting the ball out of defence yesterday and not sure what the coach is actually trying to set up in that area, (I think a few players didn't know what to do either :))but it killed us . Agree that Saad was strange sub to have- not a game breaker, and not in great form. I like a couple of the young guys in Sinclair and Lonie- real class. I thought our experienced guys could have done a whole lot better, and that disappointed me. Not sure about Billings- do we keep him in, is his form up to it? or try Acres who might be better value in a similar role right now, more physical? Is Steven fully fit? doesn't look that interested and should be hitting the contest a lot harder for someone of his ability.
Welcome to BF.

Gotta jump here and defend my man Delaney though. I will admit Henderson got the better of him in a few one-on-one contests but Carlton were winning clearance after clearance at one point and did a great job isolating their forwards. 55 I50s and he was under immense pressure with little help. That's 2 weeks in a row now that we've been beaten pretty soundly in the middle and the defenders must be tearing their hair out.

He's still our first choice FB by the far. Lee might turn into a handy 3rd defender (who knows?) and Goddard is still a couple years off being a regular fixture in the side. Cannot afford to give Luke a rest unless he's injured.

Welcome to the forum. A few things to sort out at the ground. I was amazed that the gates didn't open until 12.00 midday for a 1.10 start. Thousands lined up outside all waiting for it to open, was more than a little bizarre. Like you my mum is well past standing for long periods and didn't enjoy standing outside waiting either.

I'm sure that was an Anzac Day thing that hadn't been thought through properly. Previous years there was no problem with the stadium being open 2 hours before the first bounce but this year with a 1.10 start it was an issue.

Delaney has his weaknesses but he's all we have atm. got to stick by him for now.

Hate saying this but Dempster looks like time is catching up with have always been a massive fan of him. he looked a little off the pace yesterday. in defense the ball was coming in quick and a lot.

Delaney has his weaknesses but he's all we have atm. got to stick by him for now.

Hate saying this but Dempster looks like time is catching up with have always been a massive fan of him. he looked a little off the pace yesterday. in defense the ball was coming in quick and a lot.

Would prefer Dempster to Delaney in any circumstances.
Delaney is a big slow thinking ox.

Saad is copping it way too much here, IMO. In round one we were consistently kicking it long and high to him in 1-on-1 marking contests as if he was Kosi, when he was up against someone who was 9cm taller than him, so of course he struggled in that role (although he also kept Shaw relatively quiet, which looks to have been his primary role- plus it was his first AFL game in 18 months) and then the following week he started the game terrifically well against Gold Coast and had two goals on the board up until he was concussed and subbed off around half time (played less than half the game- 48% game time- yet had 8 possies, 2 goals 1, 3 tackles and also had a goal assist- terrific numbers for half a game).

Don't really remember his game against Collingwood, but he still kicked an excellent goal, had a goal assist and 4 tackles, to go with his 9 disposals, plus he was playing in a forward line that rarely saw the ball come down after the first quarter.

Playing forward pocket in our team right now would be about the worst place to play on the whole field. He is the type that I reckon would be far better suited to playing in a good team though. We were still a decent team in his first season and he basically averaged 2 goals per game, in just his 4th full season playing the game, so I think if we persist with him he could certainly be good value when we're a decent team again. He will need to find a way to contribute more in the meantime though of course, or he won't last that long.

If anything Saad is getting off easy.
Lets compare him to a similar type of player of similar age in a similar side - the much maligned Jeff Garlett.
Garlett is doubling or TREBLING Saad on every relevant indicator (except clangers where they are equal).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3189&tid2=16&pid2=3627&type=A&fid1=O&fid2=O

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...27&type=A&fid1=P&fopt1=2013&fid2=P&fopt2=2013

Delaney had huge ?? Over his decision making and disposal at NM
Nothing's changed.

Dempster is simply to slow now. He can barely turn.

Saad has been poor. As a small fwd, he has not been dangerous.

Young Sinclair and Lonie much more impressive

Minchington is surely s better option

Last year our games were over by quarter time. Now we're not just being competitive we're actually winning them. Last time we played Carlton we were what 7 goals down at quarter time? Saturday we were four goals up, surely there has to be some progress there.

A question for everyone at Wellington (Hammers_Saints Sunshine Saint and others) how did the locals see the game and the Saints? For anyone that has gone over multiple years, has there been a change in attitudes towards us, even slightly?

Hey Rahul, just saw this one but I'm afraid we are becoming a bit of a joke. The locals are trying to embrace us but if you keep coming over and losing then I am afraid it is very difficult to get locals on board to support the footy club.

That being said, the crowd was slightly bigger than what it seemed on TV due to the camera being on the side of the ground where all of us were seated. Was also difficult to pull a crowd because it was a long weekend in NZ with the locals having the Monday off meaning a few would have been away for the weekend.

As for the game, well I'm quite filthy to be honest at some of the mistakes our senior players made and a few blokes are clearly not good enough for AFL football and they needed to be weeded out.

I'd been told Newnes was tagging the night before and whilst I thought he did a good job in the first half he lost his head a bit in the second half giving away a few needless free kicks.

This season is going to be a long one for us though but it also reminds me a lot of 2002 when we used to dominate first halves and then slowly run out of gas, think it'll be the same this year and hopefully we can see improvement at the back end of the season.

Oh and McCartin was subbed because we were "managing his loads".

Anything else feel free to ask

If anything Saad is getting off easy.
Lets compare him to a similar type of player of similar age in a similar side - the much maligned Jeff Garlett.
Garlett is doubling or TREBLING Saad on every relevant indicator (except clangers where they are equal).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3189&tid2=16&pid2=3627&type=A&fid1=O&fid2=O

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...27&type=A&fid1=P&fopt1=2013&fid2=P&fopt2=2013

saad will never be garlett. garlett is a natural footballer with excellent skill. he's a genuine fwd pocket player.

saad is an athelete who can run and apply pressure. he is not a natural footballer and doesnt have the skill of the genuine fwd pocket players. nice set shot, but thats it

Last year our games were over by quarter time. Now we're not just being competitive we're actually winning them. Last time we played Carlton we were what 7 goals down at quarter time? Saturday we were four goals up, surely there has to be some progress there.

good call!!!

Hey Rahul, just saw this one but I'm afraid we are becoming a bit of a joke. The locals are trying to embrace us but if you keep coming over and losing then I am afraid it is very difficult to get locals on board to support the footy club.

That being said, the crowd was slightly bigger than what it seemed on TV due to the camera being on the side of the ground where all of us were seated. Was also difficult to pull a crowd because it was a long weekend in NZ with the locals having the Monday off meaning a few would have been away for the weekend.

As for the game, well I'm quite filthy to be honest at some of the mistakes our senior players made and a few blokes are clearly not good enough for AFL football and they needed to be weeded out.

I'd been told Newnes was tagging the night before and whilst I thought he did a good job in the first half he lost his head a bit in the second half giving away a few needless free kicks.

This season is going to be a long one for us though but it also reminds me a lot of 2002 when we used to dominate first halves and then slowly run out of gas, think it'll be the same this year and hopefully we can see improvement at the back end of the season.

Oh and McCartin was subbed because we were "managing his loads".

Anything else feel free to ask

What was the consensus around Newnes?

Just that it was a learning experience to try him out in a new role really. They'd said Murphy/Gibbs and in the first half it was more Gibbs and he did a good job but struggled a little bit when he got to Murphy. His decision making with the footy has to improve greatly though

How good was the Lonie right foot goal? Not enough love for that!
I'm trying to remember... didn't that happen AFTER the massive clanger? Just like that article about him on Saints.com.au indicates, that shows a lot of mental character. It would have been very easy for him to fold emotionally after that, but he stood tall and mentally "rebooted" for the next contest. Great sign.

Review Saints v Carlton ANZAC 2015