touche
If the wife would let me I would be at Footy Park every weekend..........
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
touche
Well said, why can't they see it, it's so simple.Good post apart from (IMO) the hostile takeover part. IMO it was a hostile split that should never have happened and it certainly wasn't because of the club, they were the ones prepared to go to court over making sure the Magpies remained in the SANFL not the other way around.
Also IMO something will happen in the future regarding the Magpies being the Power's reserves team with more favourable conditions.
Keith Thomas seems to be fighting a good fight and he is one person that would have more than a fair idea about what is good for both parties long term, it is hard to see him getting behind something that would have a bad outcome for Norwood or the SANFL.
Have they really?That is the SANFL that has been covering your bl----y $$$$$$$ losses for so long .
Port Adelaide have been pumping more $$$$ into the SANFL than any other club for years, so much so that the SANFL would not exist today if not for Port Adelaide. Better go through the history books and your facts right before you mouth off.
To be fair it is only from a few.I think he needs to pull out some books and do some reading. The Power guys on here are actually aking some of the most sense.
Far better then the Lolz at the Port Powas type stuff we're getting.
To be fair it is only from a few.
All Port want is our AFL players at the Magpies and the Crows to have their 2nds side so we both as SA clubs can at least be on a level playing field as the Vics. Let's see sense and get on with what needs to be done, so we can compete at the highest level with success.I think he needs to pull out some books and do some reading. The Power guys on here are actually aking some of the most sense.
Far better then the Lolz at the Port Powas type stuff we're getting.
If we would be having this discussion on the Port board there would be one or two there as well from time to time. All part of being on BF.None of your guys are though. Whom he was having a dig at
All Port want is our AFL players at the Magpies and the Crows to have their 2nds side so we both as SA clubs can at least be on a level playing field as the Vics. Let's see sense and get on with what needs to be done, so we can compete at the highest level with success.
My understanding is Port want all their AFL players at the Magpies & keep their Magpies reserves, underage teams & recruiting zones. The bolded part is the sticking point with the SANFL.All Port want is our AFL players at the Magpies and the Crows to have their 2nds side so we both as SA clubs can at least be on a level playing field as the Vics. Let's see sense and get on with what needs to be done, so we can compete at the highest level with success.
Have they really?
Geelong is on record saying they make $750k profit from just 22,000 spectators.
Now I am not saying that Port should as we do not own the stadium but the combined profit should be a conservative 2/3 of that, at least 500K per game given it is a bigger stadium with more lights to turn on, more toilets to flush etc.
That means $500k profit a game with an average of 22,000 spectators, how that profit is split up is another story. Well given we need 27,000 and you lot need 32,000 to break even it is not hard to see how the profit is split up. It is also hard to see why the SANFL is running at a loss.
Port want to keep the SANFL structure as is and are prepared to give some minor concessions such as a reduced recruiting zone.My understanding is Port want all their AFL players at the Magpies & keep their Magpies reserves, underage teams & recruiting zones. The bolded part is the sticking point with the SANFL.
Good post. Crows and Port need to do what is best for them selves as individual clubs as our needs are a little different but we also have to protect our clubs because we play in the AFL and some times i think the SANFL do not have us as a priority as we are AFL clubs and that could blur their decision making when comes to the AFL clubs, besides the clubs that do the the voting have their own SANFL club as a priority and the AFL clubs as a secondary.Agreed. I reckon you should even keep your whole zone to be honest. Keep your zone but not allow any transferred players to come across.
Therefore the Juniors, Maggie 2s and the "top up" senior boys would've all come through the system.
Docklands is not a good analogy as the owners only have a limited time to make enough money to pay for the stadium and make a profit from the venture. They will be giving the stadium away in a few years for a peppercorn of sorts.Everything was not always rosy at Geelong. They nearly moved from Kardinia Park
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2013/05/31/366181_gfc.html
Of course they rent their ground from a city council and control the stadium. Much like Freo/WCE who pay a flat rent and control all revenue streams on match day.
Our scenario is more like Docklands. Where most of the tennants are not happy with the stadium deal.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ad-gets-qualified-support-20110511-1eix9.html
A clean stadium will always be more profitable.
That's correct, we don't understand why this is a problem, it would be like saying to Collingwood wipe out all of your history, the Collingwood history is now only since the introduction of the AFL and the same would go for the rest of the Vic teams.My understanding is Port want all their AFL players at the Magpies & keep their Magpies reserves, underage teams & recruiting zones. The bolded part is the sticking point with the SANFL.
No they don't - otherwise you wouldn't need to change anything from what is happening today!Port want to keep the SANFL structure as is and are prepared to give some minor concessions such as a reduced recruiting zone.
In other words the PAFC wants to remain a SANFL club that has a team in the AFL.
Which I think the average footy fan doesnt have an issue with, including myself.Port want to keep the SANFL structure as is and are prepared to give some minor concessions such as a reduced recruiting zone.
In other words the PAFC wants to remain a SANFL club that has a team in the AFL.
I keep getting told by Port supporters that your history resides with PAFC - the Power not the magpies... but now you are one. Any way, if the magpies still exist in the SANFL, so does your history. How does losing your magpie reserves, underage & zones delete your history?That's correct, we don't understand why this is a problem, it would be like saying to Collingwood wipe out all of your history, the Collingwood history is now only since the introduction of the AFL and the same would go for the rest of the Vic teams.
No they don't - otherwise you wouldn't need to change anything from what is happening today!
Port want to change so all Port Power players not playing in the AFL, play at the Magpies & keep all the other teams & zones.
ie. Port want their cake & eat it too.
Yeahh-ish. Not too different to what I said.No they don't - otherwise you wouldn't need to change anything from what is happening today!
Port want to change so all Port Power players not playing in the AFL, play at the Magpies & keep all the other teams & zones.
So what your club been making a profit then . You have to be from out of space . You have regularly lost millions yearly and only still owned by SANFL due to those massive losses and debt holding up Crows sale as well.Have they really?
Geelong is on record saying they make $750k profit from just 22,000 spectators.
Now I am not saying that Port should as we do not own the stadium but the combined profit should be a conservative 2/3 of that, at least 500K per game given it is a bigger stadium with more lights to turn on, more toilets to flush etc.
That means $500k profit a game with an average of 22,000 spectators, how that profit is split up is another story. Well given we need 27,000 and you lot need 32,000 to break even it is not hard to see how the profit is split up. It is also hard to see why the SANFL is running at a loss.
I can understand it may look that way to none Port supporters but if it was Norwood or Sturt in our shoes today, there is no way i would expect them to give up what they have built of many years and valuable commitments to junior football and i could well understand what that would mean to their supporters, in particular their older supporters that grew up with their club and what it stands for.No they don't - otherwise you wouldn't need to change anything from what is happening today!
That is a big part of the problem. There really is no such thing as the SANFL. The SANFL is the SANFL clubs.Which I think the average footy fan doesnt have an issue with, including myself.
But just to clarify, is it the SANFL or the (majority of the) other 8 SANFL clubs specifically that are opposed to Ports model? Or is it both? I'm not heaps clear on how the SANFL operates (i.e. who has control)...
Who said Port have made a profit, the games have made a profit => the SANFL has made a profit from the games and a good one at that.So what your club been making a profit then . You have to be from out of space . You have regularly lost millions yearly and only still owned by SANFL due to those massive losses and debt holding up Crows sale as well.
Anyway pretty simple if want join you accept terms or dont as same as Crows.