SANFL Round 9

Well that's encouraging then :thumbsu:

Not sure why you feel the need to hold onto your cards on this one, but I'll be looking forward to hearing more as the year goes on :thumbsu:

Because he has played one game and I don’t want to get ahead of the ball (so to speak) by adding an undue pressure to him. He still has a long way to go before being talked about as a potential draft pick – best bet at this stage, late rookie pick.

BTW he has been selected to play in the under 20 vs. under 18 trial game this Saturday at Glenelg Oval. Was going to go myself but have a prior commitment that I cannot get out of.

http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsid=60286
Crows in SANFL

Ken McGregor, Andy Otten and Bryce Campbell were among the stand-out Crows-listed players in the SANFL last weekend.

McGregor was high among the Eagles’ best in their 20-point loss to North Adelaide. Playing at centre half-back, he had 20 possessions and took eight marks.

Eagles coach Ron Fuller also singled out the effort in defence by Trent Hentschel, who played his first league game since returning from his knee injury. He had eight possessions and continues to grow in confidence.

Rookie Jared Petrenko also played his first league game for 2008. He made a bright start in defence before fading and he will benefit from the hit-out. Jarrhan Jacky had ten possessions in limited time on the ground.

Despite South Adelaide’s loss to the previously winless West Adelaide, Otten again was busy through the midfield and amassed 30 possessions to be among the best.

Norwood had a terrible Friday night at The Parade but midfielder Campbell was its best, working hard for 20 possessions. Eighteen-year-old Aaron Kite (18 possessions) was rated in Norwood’s best three by Crows scouts for his efforts in a tagging role. But the ball rarely went near forward Taylor Walker, who lifted when shifted to full back later in the game.

For winners Glenelg, James Sellar’s effort was pleasing and he took three contested marks among his eight possessions.

In the reserves, Tony Armstrong was serviceable for North while Greg Gallman made his comeback from knee and ankle injuries.
I saw one, CG is probably another and maybe they count me as the third? :D ;)

Because he has played one game and I don’t want to get ahead of the ball (so to speak) by adding an undue pressure to him. He still has a long way to go before being talked about as a potential draft pick – best bet at this stage, late rookie pick.

BTW he has been selected to play in the under 20 vs. under 18 trial game this Saturday at Glenelg Oval. Was going to go myself but have a prior commitment that I cannot get out of.

I'm not so sure talking about him as a potential draft pick, including speculation as to whether he'll even be picked at all, is really putting pressure on him. I very much doubt he'd recieve much extra media attention thanks to a few posts on an internet forum, but that's just my opinion, and I'm happy to respect yours.

I'll be looking forward to hearing more from you later on though :)

Cheers for the info on the game. Wish I could get along myself, but got work all day. Have a friend who MIGHT go along though, so I might try and get a report off him.

I doubt Wade Thomspon would have had that bad an attitude, I am pretty sure he is the bloke who finished school in the arvo, caught a train to Elizabeth to make his debut in the Ressies.. got there late and quickly changed then ran onto the field and get BOG.

This guy is all class. He should have made his league debut sooner but better late than never I guess.

Fair enough, they just annoy me no end, the spelling and grammatical errors on this site. Didn't mean to vent on you mate, sorry.

You can add Pfeiffer to your list too, he puts an "h" after the "P" for some reason. I don't get too picky on spelling errors on here (except for the obvious ones like looser instead of loser and his instead of he's) but constantly spelling names wrong is pretty disrespectful.

I doubt Wade Thomspon would have had that bad an attitude, I am pretty sure he is the bloke who finished school in the arvo, caught a train to Elizabeth to make his debut in the Ressies.. got there late and quickly changed then ran onto the field and get BOG.

This guy is all class. He should have made his league debut sooner but better late than never I guess.

That may have been Kriston but Wade played his first reserves game at the Adelaide Oval against Sturt.

He should have made his league debut last year but did his driver muscle in his leg and missed like 13 weeks. Came back early for the reserves final and did it again.

That may have been Kriston but Wade played his first reserves game at the Adelaide Oval against Sturt.

He should have made his league debut last year but did his driver muscle in his leg and missed like 13 weeks. Came back early for the reserves final and did it again.

I just looked back through old threads on the North forum and it was Wade I was talking about, definitely wasn't Kriston as I haven't heard enough about him.

It couldn’t have been as I was at his last under 19 game and his first reserves game and they were in consecutive weeks.

He played his first reserves game on a freezing cold Friday night against Sturt at Adelaide Oval. I talk to him 3 or 4 time a week and have done so for a few years.

I don’t know who it was your talking about but that wasn’t wade

Heard a whisper this morning that the Crows are considering playing him on Friday night. Surely not. :eek:
Even if his form was better etc, I wouldn't.

I'd give him atleast a solid month maybe even more from here on in before I even think about playing him.

The risks far outweight the rewards at this stage.

The rewards will come. In time for finals too I reckon. :)

It couldn’t have been as I was at his last under 19 game and his first reserves game and they were in consecutive weeks.

He played his first reserves game on a freezing cold Friday night against Sturt at Adelaide Oval. I talk to him 3 or 4 time a week and have done so for a few years.

I don’t know who it was your talking about but that wasn’t wade

Are you sure it's not Wayde Thommson you talk to?

Honestly, where did you hear that? I've heard whispers you're just chatting shit again.

Oh our the Roosting Lad. *shakes head*

If you showed some maturity I would respond. Disappointing and our the not so nice. :thumbsdown:

Chunkworth: I agree, sounds too risky and extremely unlikely. Wouldn't have thought he'd even be in calculations for at least another couple of weeks.

What risk would there be?

There are just any many risk factors associated with playing in the SANFL as there is to an AFL match.

His knee is fine now or he wouldn’t be playing any football at all, all he needs to do now is regain his fitness and match conditioning.

There is a risk someone will get injured in any game.

Hentschel will not play this week, or for the next 4 weeks at the very least. To suggest otherwise is just wrong.

Ok so why 4 weeks?

How is 4 weeks any different to 6 weeks or 8 weeks?

If he can prove his fitness and form in 2 week he is ready to go. If his knee was still troubling him, he wouldn’t be playing anywhere.

What he has to do now is show he is capable of lasting an entire AFL match and he will do that at training by meeting club KPI and if that takes him another 9 months he will not play until then, however if it only takes him 9 days he may get a call up before anyone expects.

Ok so why 4 weeks?

How is 4 weeks any different to 6 weeks or 8 weeks?

If he can prove his fitness and form in 2 week he is ready to go. If his knee was still troubling him, he wouldn’t be playing anywhere.

What he has to do now is show he is capable of lasting an entire AFL match and he will do that at training by meeting club KPI and if that takes him another 9 months he will not play until then, however if it only takes him 9 days he may get a call up before anyone expects.

Not my original comment or argument, but I agree with Drummond on this one.

He missed 20 months of football and needs to play more than 1 full game at SANFL level to regain both form and confidence.

It's as much a mental thing as well as a physical thing. He has to regain full belief in his kneebefore we even comtemplate playing him at the top level.

SANFL Round 9