• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Season 2013 Division 2

Top four play the bottom four so we don't expect any upsets, or do we ....

Fitzroy Stars vs Hurstbridge Rumours of the Bridges not wanting to play - really ?
Diamond Creek vs South Morang The Demons to continue more pain on the Lions
North Heidelberg vs Lalor Traditional rivals but thsi one won't be close
Whittlesea vs Mernda The premiership favourites shouldn't have too many worries here

Just heading up to the final round, just on everyone's thought's on what the team of the year/potential team of the year candidates are for the year?
Here's mine

Diamond Creek: Knight, Moloney, Buchanan, Loader
Fitzroy Stars: Hayes, Davis, Dow, Proctor
Hurstbridge: Fennell, Milne, Saw
Lalor: Mafilovski, Dowell, Gibson
Mernda: Smith, Deayton, A.Douglas
North Heidelberg: Gilbert, Harvey, Holmes, Dean
South Morang: Howlett, Watson
Whittlesea: Fairchild, Hobbs, Page, Briffa, Heenan

Any add's or take-aways?

Just heading up to the final round, just on everyone's thought's on what the team of the year/potential team of the year candidates are for the year?
Here's mine

Diamond Creek: Knight, Moloney, Buchanan, Loader
Fitzroy Stars: Hayes, Davis, Dow, Proctor
Hurstbridge: Fennell, Milne, Saw
Lalor: Mafilovski, Dowell, Gibson
Mernda: Smith, Deayton, A.Douglas
North Heidelberg: Gilbert, Harvey, Holmes, Dean
South Morang: Howlett, Watson
Whittlesea: Fairchild, Hobbs, Page, Briffa, Heenan

Any add's or take-aways?
Take out dean jai Norman is much better than dean and page

Last week of the season... not for me though. I'll be going to the second semi next week before heading off to all three Grand Finals.

Lalor Vs Whittlesea - huge for the Eagles that they get to play on Lalor Reserve a week out from the second semi
Mernda Vs Fitzroy Stars - I'd like to think we could do a Hurstbridge from last year and beat the Stars in the last round. Extra incentive with Reesy retiring. Definitely not ruling us out, tipping on bias :p
Hurstbridge Vs Diamond Creek - Diamo too strong for the Bridges
South Morang Vs North Heidelberg - South won't say sayonara to Div 2 in style

The final round with the top four tuning up for the finals with respective games against the bottom four with all four expected to win, although the Stars appear to be resting a few which may give the Bloods some hope.

Lalor vs Whittlesea Agree, an opportunity for the Eagles to get a feel of the finals venue
Mernda vs Fitzroy Stars The Demons smell an opportunity to finish on a winning note
Hurstbridge vs Diamond Creek Can't see these Demons being burnt here
South Morang ve North Heidelberg Sure that the Lions can't wait for season end and expect another Doggies mauling

have heard a rumour fitzroy have already put in a submission to the league requesting they dont get promoted to div 1 if they manage to win the flag this year. anyone else heard this?

I hadn't heard this but as I understand it, one of the requirements to play Div 1 is to field Under 19's. I believe that requirement would be difficult for the STARS to achieve.

Wasn't Heidelberg and North Heidelberg without a 19s team in 2011? Or have they changed the rules?

The same deal might apply to North actually. Imagine a Fitzroy/North Heidelberg Grand Final if that was the case :eek:

As the NFL by-laws completed 12/12/12 under law 7.7 (b).

- The BOARD may otherwise promote, relegate or refuse to promote any club in the event that:
(i) The club cannot field a full complement of teams for the forthcoming season.

I'm unsure whether under 19's come under the provision of a "full complement of teams" but it seems as though the decision is still under the discretion of the board.

As the NFL by-laws completed 12/12/12 under law 7.7 (b).

- The BOARD may otherwise promote, relegate or refuse to promote any club in the event that:
(i) The club cannot field a full complement of teams for the forthcoming season.

I'm unsure whether under 19's come under the provision of a "full complement of teams" but it seems as though the decision is still under the discretion of the board.
I think this rule has been around for a long time but has never been used. In my opinion a club they cannot guarantee to have thirds, should not be promoted.

I think in previous years clubs had full intention and even started the year but injuries and lack of numbers meant they had to pull out.

Fitzroy Stars too good in the end yesterday, reserves were strangely lethargic, great win for our boys though in the 2nds.

All the best to everyone in the finals, will be watching Fitzroy V Whittlesea next week; should be a cracker.
With Stars ommitting several key players for the Mernda game, the intensity wasnt there, if full strength I think they will go all the way, but to down mernda by just 40 points I think they will have their work cut out for themselves. Good bunch of blokes, who stayed back for a few frothys after the game.

Happened to be watching a couple of old mates running around for the bridge on Saturday.. And I happened to witness a putrid weak dog act by Simpson , don't know he's first name ! Might be the captain of diamo I'm
Not sure but he should be ashamed of himself ... Now I've just heard from a mate from creek that he broke he's hand due to punching a hurstbridge player in the head ! Very smart by him to do that considering finals are upon us ... I hope the league look at it cos that is a dispicable act and he should really cop it !!

On another topic , I think it would be a bad thing for fitzroy to join us in division one next year, I think they need a bit more time to establish them self ! But from what I can see , division two is becoming more even ! The leagues in healthy shape !

all about the kennel you say?
a few thug acts on the field with norman getting punched in the mouth by jon green, should get 6 weeks but not caught on camera, assi throwing them behind play which leads to a red card which should end his career if found guilty? dog play if you ask me, pardon the pun

jonnyhopper, you where pretty quick to throw the dog word around a while back. Care to comment on your CHF on the weekend? I wont name him I will leave that lagging shit, to rats like you!

Should be an entertaining weekend of footy with some great weather to boot. I will be at Lalor on Saturday and I think it'll be a cracker.

Seniors
Whittlesea Vs Fitzroy Stars - read above. I reckon it'll pan out to be a shootout, which would be great fun to watch.
North Heidelberg Vs Diamond Creek - another game which goes either way. If the Dogs win and the Stars lose the Dogs' would fancy a spot in the Grand Final with their good recent record against the Stars.

Reserves
Diamond Creek Vs Whittlesea - think the defending premiers will be too good
Fitzroy Stars Vs North Heidelberg - even though they lost convincingly last week the Stars having finished some four games or so above North should win

Under 19s
Whittlesea Vs St Mary's - unbeaten and with a % of 559, it'd take pineapple sized balls to tip against them
Diamond Creek Vs Watsonia - think Diamo will get up.

Agree, anticipating two great games of finals football with all four clubs having shown at times during the season that they are capable of beating one another.

North Heidelberg vs Diamond Creek. Some big Ins for the Doggies and a loss or two for the Demons gives the Doggies the edge.
Whittlesea vs Fitzroy Stars. The Eagles have been everyones favourite all season and should be the first to get a grannie berth.

Surprised that nothing has been said about Fitzroys effort on the weekend . Can someone enlighten us on the game ?

whittlesea kicked with the breeze 1st quarter, didnt make the most of their opportunities. stars hit back in the 2nd to lead by 9 at half time. stars were the much better team in the 3rd against the breeze but missed some shots while whittlesea still managed to kick a couple with breeze, scores were even at 3/4 time. stars dominated in the last and with the breeze pilled on the goals.

Also pretty sure all teams that kicked with breeze in the last won the game over both days.

Season 2013 Division 2