• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Season 2013 Division 2

Winning sure does feel good :) with one win under our belt.
Giving SM a much needed confidence boost, just what the team needed.
It was an easy win, won all 4 quarters.

Should make for an interesting game next week, both teams with their tails up. Hope it's a bit closer than last time.

Edit: Did Whittlesea really kick 13 final quarter goals? Astonishing if true

Congrats to Mernda on a great win at the kennel, simply outrun North in the second half & deserved their win. North had plenty out but that is no excuse & if you look at form over the last fortnight the Doggies are struggling to cover those injuries, as they were lucky to win at Lalor & were less than convincing to South Morang.

Apparently Josh Gilbert was supposed to return this year & his ability to fill a key defensive position would be welcome, could someone let us know what is happening there.

Can't help but think once the ageing Doggie stars & there are a few starting to slowdown it could be it over the next few years with no junior club.

Hope I'm wrong as this comp is much better with a strong Doggies club & back where they belong in Div 1. From what I've observed a few times this season however the only change in division will be down to Div 3 in the near future, give it 2-5 years.

I want some of the shit you've been smoking, might make my night more enjoyable as Collinfwood are getting smashed...

Mernda will finish 6th, no higher. Sorry to disappoint you mate, but aren't in the same league as Nth, Whitt, DC and are behind both Stars and Hursty.

Nth
Whitt
DC
Stars
HB
Mernda
Lalor
Morang
North arent as good as you thought BB. Ageing bunch of crocks. Without Harvey you would be in Div 3 next year

Yes mate, good win by you blokes, no need to pot clubs though. Yeah and if you blokes had him you would probably be in div 1 next year. Champion footballer. HB the surprise losers this week. Whittlesea 13 goal last qtr. wow.

Wasn't at the match, so no idea how the STARS lost after being 9 goals up at 3 quarter time. Extremely disappointing.

Should have won that game and the close one against Hurstbridge to be sitting 6 wins 1 loss.

Interesting round of results and near upsets. Good for the comp really. How fitzroy lost after being 10 goals up at 3/4 qtr time is beyond me. Would have been a great win for Whittlesea and totally shattering for the stars. Morang outplayed the bridge all day and never looked like losing. Great win by Mernda over the doggies, continuing their decent form over the good sides. An lalor took it upto diamo for a while from what ive heard.

Should shape as a good game between Morang and Mernda.

Couple of interesting games this week.

Hurstbridge vs Fitzroy Stars
Diamond Creek vs North Heidelberg
Mernda vs South Morang
Whittlesea vs Lalor

Lets all face up to the fact that Mernda WILL play off in the GF and will win it, cannot see them losing another game and their twos are also slowly gaining momentum and will make the finals, but for Mernda a case of how D2 is not a strong comp anymore,.

As a SM supporter, unfortunately looking at relegation to div 3, finding it entertaining that if it wasn't for Mernda, this thread would be dead. Agree that tasmanIvr is usually realistic with his comments, cannot say that for couple of the other mernda people that get on here, guessing though they will make 5th/6th position end of the season, if fitzroy stars can keep focused they will make the 4, otherwise I can see hurstbridge there . Thinking it will be a NH & Whit final, cause DC usually fall away in the finals.
S

Surely you must have been jn awe yesterday of both the Mernda sides, it was also a 16 goal turnaround in the twos!

Lets all face up to the fact that Mernda WILL play off in the GF and will win it, cannot see them losing another game and their twos are also slowly gaining momentum and will make the finals, but for Mernda a case of how D2 is not a strong comp anymore,.

Seriously. We beat the bottom side.

It's all good to be optimistic but if we want to make Grand Finals, let alone finals (we're still not in the top four) we have to beat good sides like Fitzroy Stars (in a couple of weeks), Whittlesea, and back up performances like the one we had against North a couple of weeks back. And of course we have to back that up with wins against sides around us, especially Hurstbridge (that game a few weeks back may come back to bite us).

Agree with the reserves though, see, a bit of experience slowly filtering back into the side and the young blokes gelling together a bit better and we should be competitive. Dunno about finals (think a charge would be too late unless we managed to win every game) but getting a few wins on the board? Definitely.

mate, your absolutley kidding yourself, mernda will no play finals let alone grand final, as a diamond creek supporter they were slaughtered by diamond creek in round 4. beating only one good side in north heidleberg who looks to be having huge troubles at the moment.

other than that a very convincing win by the creek on the weekend, blokes hitting real good form, jai norman dislocating his knee in the last quater was shattering news for the boys though. just getting back into form, argueably best player on ground before injury. will be missed hugely in the upcoming weeks against fitzroy.which is set to be a ripping game

stars were good yesterday unfortunately bad kicking is bad footy enough said, although stars asst. coach very poor form with the carry on after the game. stars were good when it counted good luck

This wet weather is going to make for an interesting game. Will it sap the energy of the larger bodied Stars players?

I would have thought a side wold prefer larger bodied midfileders on wet and muddy days. Going to require a lot of contests and ball winning rather than outside run. All good in theory though.

This wet weather is going to make for an interesting game. Will it sap the energy of the larger bodied Stars players?

Should be interesting to see how the ground holds up. Certainly good we got a bit of old fashioned wet weather football last game against South Morang but this game will be an unknown for both sides I reckon.

Season 2013 Division 2