Selected team vs Adelaide. (Warning: Take a deep breath)

glad to see that wallace isn't as short sighted as most of you - and dropped 3 players who were probably the three worst players over the past 2 weeks, and not the scapegoats pettifer and bowden:thumbsu:

Not worried about the Outs... its the Ins mate. Picking Tivvo is short-sighted, not matter how much you dress it up. :thumbsdown:

I like Tivendale and hope he does well.

Last year for him, but he's still a better run and carry and kick player than most and we're more of a chance to win with him in the side than if Hyde was there.

I tell you what concerns me about Adelaide is there backline, they just run it out so well, I really felt that blokes like Jack and Morton would be the ones that could run with Johncock, Bock, Bassett and co, Our forward line seems a touch slow with Schulz.

Dont worry about their backline.....pettifer will provide so much pressure they will burst

ok with the team...tho.....naturally wouldn't like to see tivendale back with the team...
sure..he had a few good weeks with coburg getting alot of stats etc but against a well drilled team like adelaide..that's when we know tivendale's disposal falls apart..when the pressure is on....big difference between that and the VFL....getting tivendale in will achieve nothign for us

hence i'd like to see a late change connors in for tivendale...

TIVVA has play very well in the 2nds an should be recalled.
well done

the changes are good but i wouldn't be surpised if either polak or Mcguane go out looks like rain an without burton playing we are a little tall for i think. maybe morton to come in.

the only out that will hurt in johnson it was a forced one but the rest of the midfield will need to step up he is a good leader.

Not worried about the Outs... its the Ins mate. Picking Tivvo is short-sighted, not matter how much you dress it up. :thumbsdown:

i guess with johnson, cogs, raines and JON out - there were not many other options. connors, polo and collins need to realise that they actually have to start performing better than tiva to get a spot - tivva has been in the best for coburg nearly every game he has played this season - marshalling the midfield, and kicking goals.

i think they (the selectors) see that with johnson gone, they will sorely lack a mature and experienced head and body in the middle - and tivva is by far the best option to replace him. i tend to agree. this is a very winnable game for us if we can get the right balance in the middle - and as IDGAF has stated in a previous thread - our run is extrememly good after this week.

if we were ever going to get a run on and give these kids the feeling and confidence that they are part of a team which can push for finals - a win this week is of absolute importance.

like it or not (much like petts in the Bombers game ) - tivva will be very useful in getting a win this week - more so than connor and polo

Don't mind the side this week and can see why TW has gone the way he has at the selection table. This is a game where we have a decent chance of winning considering the Crows have not played that well outside of SA this year and their last 2 weeks in particular have been rather ordinary.

I believe the reason Wallace has picked the team he has is simply because this is the game that will either keep us alive in the race for the finals or kill our season off. Win this and we're suddenly only 1 game out of the 8 with a string of very winnable game to come: Melbourne, Carlton, WC, Essendon and Brisbane.

However, if we lose this the season is dead. We'll be 2 games out and would need to then beat either, the Cats, Hawks or Crows in SA to make up the difference. So while some believe this is a short sighted option that TW has taken, I believe otherwise and think he has gone this way intentionally. Also, don't forget that TW will turn to the kids when he knows our season is shot, like he did to a degree last year before the Cats game.

So thats it, Saturday 7th June is season on the line time and if we don't stand up then expect to see the kids being given plenty of game time in the next few weeks.

I can't stand this "rewarding players in the twos who are doing well" business!

These are the same players that have let us down consistently for 8-10 years! They are often good against weak opposition (and that is why they do well at Coburg) and have shown time and time again, that they do not have what it takes against good opposition.

Their role should now be to tutor the youngsters coming through in the twos. Not taking up their spots in the seniors.

I want us to be bold and pick players who we think will become good with more experience under their belts. I don't think that Roughhead or Franklin or Lewis ever dominated at Box Hill. They were put into the seniors and continually played there untill their experience level meant that they stopped getting flogged (2004-2006) and started flogging other teams (2007-2008). That is the way you do it.

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

None of these palyers will hold up a premiership cup for us, so what is the point of playing them in the seniors taking up valuable space in our team.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that!

I think we need to ease up on Pettifer some people have gone nuts that he is back in the side. He has been in our top 10 the last 2 weeks without doubt and top 5 last week for sure. Tivendale on form deserves a go but in the scheme of things he doesnt and we cant continue to play him for mine. He need to have 20 touches and kicked 2 goals to keep his spot imo and still the pressure will be on after that.

What do you think ?
Any chance McGuane and Polak have spent the last 2 weeks practising set shots ? Maybe, just maybe they will be trying McGuane and Polak up forward, rotating with Schulz through CHB to try and mix it up a bit.

B: Jake King, Will Thursfield, Chris Newman
HB: Jordan McMahon, Graham Polak, Kelvin Moore
C: Matthew Richardson, Shane Tuck, Matt White
HF: Kayne Pettifer, Joel Bowden, Richard Tambling
F: Shane Edwards, Jay Schulz, Nathan Brown
Foll: Troy Simmonds, Brett Deledio, Nathan Foley
I/C: Trent Cotchin, Greg Tivendale, Adam Pattison, Luke McGuane
EMG: Mitch Morton, Jack Riewoldt, Daniel Connors
In: Graham Polak, Luke McGuane, Greg Tivendale
Out: Kane Johnson (knee), Jack Riewoldt, Chris Hyde

The warning clearly because this is going to become a Tivendale thread. :D :cool:

Meh its ok, good to see McGuane back in the team. Now I just want Morton back. :(

I think morts will play

These are the same players that have let us down consistently for 8-10 years! They are often good against weak opposition (and that is why they do well at Coburg) and have shown time and time again, that they do not have what it takes against good opposition.

Their role should now be to tutor the youngsters coming through in the twos. Not taking up their spots in the seniors.

I want us to be bold and pick players who we think will become good with more experience under their belts. I don't think that Roughhead or Franklin or Lewis ever dominated at Box Hill. They were put into the seniors and continually played there untill their experience level meant that they stopped getting flogged (2004-2006) and started flogging other teams (2007-2008). That is the way you do it.

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

None of these palyers will hold up a premiership cup for us, so what is the point of playing them in the seniors taking up valuable space in our team.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that

my sentiments exactly if you have a youth policy you stick to it just like hawthorn did dont go dropping blokes because of 2 bad games

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that!

Exactly AT!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rewarding games in the seconds should only be for the younger blokes. The Richmond Football Club has to, at some stage, realize, that it must start picking a side that will challenge for a cup in two to four years time. That means players that have shown repeatedly that they cannot raise themselves to the next level often enough over a period of greater than 5 or 6 years either make up numbers in the magoos (as insurance to many injuries) or are altogether dropped from the club list.

We have finished LAST TW, not just out of contention, but a long way behind. We require major surgery. Not cosmetic surgery. Stop playing not so good ordinary players! Play the kids and see what they have got!

Exactly AT!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rewarding games in the seconds should only be for the younger blokes. The Richmond Football Club has to, at some stage, realize, that it must start picking a side that will challenge for a cup in two to four years time. That means players that have shown repeatedly that they cannot raise themselves to the next level often enough over a period of greater than 5 or 6 years either make up numbers in the magoos (as insurance to many injuries) or are altogether dropped from the club list.

We have finished LAST TW, not just out of contention, but a long way behind. We require major surgery. Not cosmetic surgery. Stop playing not so good ordinary players! Play the kids and see what they have got!

I think playing Schultz instead of Reiwoldt is potentially shopping Schultz to Adelaide before the end of the season. They would be a seriously interested in him me thinks.

Looking at the team, I would say that there would almost defiantly be a late change, probably Polak, Patto or McGuane

Look at all our talls:
Rucks: Simmo, Patto
Backs: McGuane, Thursty, Schultz, Moore, Bowden
Fowards: Richo, Polak

Pretty top heavy :eek:

Moore and Bowden aren't really talls, they can both play small.

Kane Johnson's been in career-best form. You can't drop ALL the senior players. He's the captain and he's shown his poise and leadership on the field; that's what counts.

Shane Tuck's not too bad. He's having an average year, yes, but he goes hard at the ball and does it week in, week out.

Pettifer just came off 2 really good games coming back into the side.

Joel Bowden's played some solid footy up forward in a new position and he's doing what the team needs him to do.

Tivendale's been one of the better kicks at the club and can run and carry the ball and deliver it with accuracy.

Most of you are saying 'play the kids, give them a shot' and I think it's pretty evident that the kids ARE been given a shot. Kids like Cotchin, Edwards, Riewoldt, King, Thursfield, White - they've ALL been given shots.

It's a crunch game for Richmond this Saturday and Terry Wallace wants to swing some momentum back their way after Sydney thrashed them and that means by picking the best team.

Jack Riewoldt's been in poor form so he deserves to get dropped. If Greg Tivendale has been best for Coburg in basically all of his matches, then I reckon it's fair that he gets a game.

King's been down on form this year as compared to last year but he gives the defence some attack and run.

Anyways, on that note, I'll leave it here.

Go Tigers '08 and Brett Deledio's a freak.

ok with the team...tho.....naturally wouldn't like to see tivendale back with the team...
sure..he had a few good weeks with coburg getting alot of stats etc but against a well drilled team like adelaide..that's when we know tivendale's disposal falls apart..when the pressure is on....big difference between that and the VFL....getting tivendale in will achieve nothign for us

hence i'd like to see a late change connors in for tivendale...
Stick around here. You've just nailed it. :thumbsu:

Tivendale is in our best 22 ATM - hopefully, he won't be in a year or two, but we have games to win NOW. We can make the finals - but it will take our best team.

JR is coming along nicely - we haven't quite got the balance right yet up forward with the new non-richo structure - Riewoldt will have his ups and downs. I have great faith.

Polak and Bowden are the important guys right now - they are our main forwards and so they have to stand up and produce more. So far they haven't. Pettifer, Edwards and Brown have been OK.

But we're still looking for the post-Richo key forward - we now JR is too young still, Schulz may get another go later, but now Polak has his chance.

Kane Johnson's been in career-best form. You can't drop ALL the senior players. He's the captain and he's shown his poise and leadership on the field; that's what counts.

Shane Tuck's not too bad. He's having an average year, yes, but he goes hard at the ball and does it week in, week out.

Pettifer just came off 2 really good games coming back into the side.

Joel Bowden's played some solid footy up forward in a new position and he's doing what the team needs him to do.

Tivendale's been one of the better kicks at the club and can run and carry the ball and deliver it with accuracy.

Most of you are saying 'play the kids, give them a shot' and I think it's pretty evident that the kids ARE been given a shot. Kids like Cotchin, Edwards, Riewoldt, King, Thursfield, White - they've ALL been given shots.

It's a crunch game for Richmond this Saturday and Terry Wallace wants to swing some momentum back their way after Sydney thrashed them and that means by picking the best team.

Jack Riewoldt's been in poor form so he deserves to get dropped. If Greg Tivendale has been best for Coburg in basically all of his matches, then I reckon it's fair that he gets a game.

King's been down on form this year as compared to last year but he gives the defence some attack and run.

Anyways, on that note, I'll leave it here.

Go Tigers '08 and Brett Deledio's a freak.

The captain's efficiency is shyte. He turns the ball over or slows forward momentum far too many times.

Tucks not too bad? Yes, but he has not been too good either. Also a turnover specialist.

Pettifer gets many possessions but makes too many wrong decisions with the ball. He is inherently selfish and that will never change. Rarely chases down a man.

Tivendale looks like a good kick but if you look at his efficiency it is very low and he does not have a right foot. That kills us time and time again against good opposition.

I don't care about this year as we are not a legitimate finals threat. We need to be developing all our juniors. That means if we drop a Riewoldt, replace them with another youngster like a Hughes.

I'm looking a the big picture, the long term one, not the short term one you are looking at. Crunch game my ass! Do you seriously think we are good enough to challenge for a flag this year? I unfortunately don't.

Is there anyone out there who is so deluded that they think bowden, pettifer and tivendale are part of our future?
Yes we were smashed by the bigger bodies of syd HOWEVER it should not then give wallace the supposed right to replace youngsters with these duds.
I am absolutely embarassed and appalled that our emerg list reads Riewoldt, Connors and Morton. We have waited next to three decades for success surely we can give these kids time in the seniors in exchange for some losses like the syd one.
Not just pick has beens and list cloggers to go in to be more competitive against another strong bodied side such as adel.
Add jackson, polo, JON and any other developing player to the list too.
Sure, some or maybe all of these kids wont make it, but we deserve to be the judges of that rather than having to put up with these selection issues of old, underachieveing stains being given one last chance to save their already terrible careers.
The sooner that Greg Miller and TW are given the door the better...these decisions at selection make this exceedingly obvious

How about people answer the following questions with a bit of honesty.

Is it worth playing young players in the seniors even if they are out of form and not getting touches?

Is it better to teach the young players that they have to earn a game and then once in the side have to keep performing to hold their position?

or

Is it better to just pick the young kids regardless of form and leave them in the side without having to earn their spots so they can 'learn from the experience'?

If you answer these questions honestly you'll find the reasons why the coaching panel have acted the way they have in recent weeks in terms of dropping the younger players and replacing them with older more experienced players. Hint: it has more to do with the long term future of the list as opposed to the short term vision some of you believe it does.

Selected team vs Adelaide. (Warning: Take a deep breath)