Selwood...you are asking for it!!!

Roo is a top player but you can't compare him to Woosha as a hard man cos hes not even close. He's a leader and it was a cheap shot on Selwood and if he was anyone else he would of probally got 2 or 3 weeks, but he didn't,who cares. Selwood is geared up now, so it was something that will help him mature as a player, which is good because it was the 2nd quater when he was put out and he already had 11 possesions and a few marks so if he plays he will have a blinder. Go Eagles

No I mean one of the best ruckmen in the AFL.

Watch out eagles...here comes RHETT!!!!!

And to think that some WCE supporters are calling Roo a coward shows how little they know about the game, and the world in general.

If you beat us this weekend, I will be praying you lose the GF because frankly I hate all of you :)

I thought Peter Sumich's comments were pretty funny. He was obviously trying to play psychological warfare but is not too good at it. Who really cares how Adelaide's defence compares to the Eagles defence 13 years ago? Why stop there, why not compare it to Collingwood defence of 1954? All that is relevant to this game is the Eagles circa 2005.

As far as the Biglands and the Selwood comments go, both were pretty harmless and nothing unexpected. Of course Rhett is going to back his teamm mates, what do you expect him to say 'I reckon we got the 4th or 5th best midfield in the competition'??? Same for Selwood, considering the question he was asked I would say his response was pretty standard and no big deal.

F-U said:
Im not annoyed about the incident, im more interested that it has exposed the type of person Ricciuto really is.

Unlike Woosha, Roo took out the smallest player he could find when he wasnt looking, when he wasnt able to protect himself going for the ball on the eve of the finals. Yet somehow this guy gets AA captain. He is a egomaniac, he was not thinking of his team when he plowed through Selwood, he was thinking about restoring his reputation as a tough man.

Woosha took out people for his team not for his ego, he took out real men and he took out people who were able to protect themselves. Big difference between Woosha and Roo

Woosha is a heroic leader.
Roo is a coward.

well mate, i remember an incident in the 90's when your so-called "heroic leader" somehow managed to "accidentally" smash Richard Osborne's jaw
when attempting to spoil from behind. The fact that the ball was 5 metres away from Worsfold and he was never going to make it seemd to be overlooked. Had it happened today, he would have got close to 6 weeks i reckon.
Given a choice between Roo and Worsfold, I would nomimate him as a less cowardly player than Worsfold.

otis_david said:
Have you heard what Rhett "Im a soft prick" Biglands has been saying during the week? Tool. Your coming to Subiaco Oval remember that, its not easy to pull of a win at the fortress that is Subi and I have a feeling that your boys are going to be lamenting that meaningless round 22 win for some time, because that is as close as you will ever get to us at the House of Pain ever again. Bring on Saturday :thumbsu:

I've got no problem with what Biglands said, just as I have no problem with what Selwood said. To me he seemed to be relishing the challenge and was showing respect to his opponent. Biglands was backing his midfield in against the Eagles.
I wouldn't have had a problem with what Sumich said except that it came out of the mouth of one of the softest players ever to play and a genuine lazy fat arsed wombat of the highest order. As a player he used to sulk when he didn't get the ball, wouldn't chase his opponent. The current Adelaide backline would have torn him to pieces every match. Go back to market gardening you hack.

F-U said:
Im not annoyed about the incident, im more interested that it has exposed the type of person Ricciuto really is.

Unlike Woosha, Roo took out the smallest player he could find when he wasnt looking, when he wasnt able to protect himself going for the ball on the eve of the finals. Yet somehow this guy gets AA captain. He is a egomaniac, he was not thinking of his team when he plowed through Selwood, he was thinking about restoring his reputation as a tough man.

Woosha took out people for his team not for his ego, he took out real men and he took out people who were able to protect themselves. Big difference between Woosha and Roo

Woosha is a heroic leader.
Roo is a coward.
So what you're saying is that Dean Kemp is a soft c.ck and that Worsfold only ever picked on people bigger than himself. You're an insult to your club with your lack of knowledge. Woosha was a cheap shot merchant of the highest order and renowned for personal sledges that went way below the belt. Ricciuto made an error of judgement in the Selwood case and paid for it (as did the team). He is twice AA captain, Brownlow medalist, 8 times AA player. Dual club best and fairest etc. etc. etc. How you can denigrate him is beyond belief, especially when your club is led by Worsfold.

F-U said:
Adelaide cant let the Roo incident go, its the first sign of aggression that soft ******** has shown in 3 years, they need to talk about it over and over again so they can boost Roos reputation and give Roos ego a little boost at the same time. Its all a game to make Roo look like a tough man when in reality he has the courage of Ryan Houlihan

Im more then confident Selwood could take out Roo, unlike last time Roo wont be hitting a player from behind when he can not defend himself. Adelaide fans should wake up and smell the roses, Roo is all talk, he gets recognition not for his achievments but for the reputation he made for taking out the smallest player in a team when they cant fight back. Roo is a coward and he will be exposed as that this week. Im sure Roo will start on the bench to avoid the fire.

sticky34.jpg

Gets! said:
No I mean one of the best ruckmen in the AFL.

Watch out eagles...here comes RHETT!!!!!

And to think that some WCE supporters are calling Roo a coward shows how little they know about the game, and the world in general.

If you beat us this weekend, I will be praying you lose the GF because frankly I hate all of you :)

Why don't you go and have a cry because you have hurt all Eagles supporters by hating us "YOU ARE A FOOL", Coxy better not come out on Saturday because Bigpuss is coming to play it's about time this fairy learn't how to play footy it's good to see the Crows supporters getting so Cocky this is the hardest way to fall on your FAT ARSES. :)

kinny said:
Why don't you go and have a cry because you have hurt all Eagles supporters by hating us "YOU ARE A FOOL", Coxy better not come out on Saturday because Bigpuss is coming to play it's about time this fairy learn't how to play footy it's good to see the Crows supporters getting so Cocky this is the hardest way to fall on your FAT ARSES. :)
I just hope that the Eagles skills are equivalent to your English abilities this weekend. Were you so excited, you couldn't type properly, or have you just escaped juvenile detention?

Tyberious Funk said:
Selwood - already shown throughout the year that he has plenty of talent. Now he shows he has plenty of heart as well. Good kid.
Agree, good on him for having a go and enjoying the challenge. I haven't heard him moaning about Ricciuto like the bitchy Eagle supporters are. I can't wait for him to be booed by you lot all day, that just fires him up more.

MarkT said:
Are Adelaide fans the worlds most sensitive bogans?
Sorry Mark, but I think you'll find all this sensitivity was started on the Western side, in regards to an innocuous comment by Biglands.

As for the bogan aspect, coming from a Collingwood supporter, surely this is a ********take.

Mitch Power said:
mate I think you are over reacting abit. if you heard the whole thing, Selwood meant that even though Riccuito took him out of the game, the lad was prepared to stand him again and this time win his position. you have to admire him for his great attitude.

a crow supporter from WA who heard the whole comment rang the clowns on 5aa and advised them of the above. don't get so sensitive gets. :D
To which, I am sure, the reaction from KG & Cornes was - "Oh, right then, we've over-reacted, sensationalised this and taken it out of context, now that we've heard the facts we'll leave it alone."

Right? ;)

It looks like the West Coast camp is in complete damage control over the massive and scathing sledging dished out by Selwood and Sumich which pales comparison to an innocent comment by Biglands (which in fact had no reference at all to the Eagles).

At the time Selwood was taken out he was giving McLeod an absolute bath, he had 11 possessions himself in just over a qtr of footy and McLeod had only had 3 I believe at the same time.

Selwood is an absolute gun, you wont find a harder 20 game player then he is, he may be small in frame but he is a tough nut, he is always getting knocks at training, this week he and McDougall had a rather nasty clash of heads, both were bleedin a bit and that was just training.

Selwood will tag Ricciuto this week I have a feel, I think Stenglein will probably tag McLeod in their defence as Stenglein would cause McLeod trouble height wise.

Watch out Roo, Selly is coming to get ya :D, I hope it does happen as a matchup.

jmorg1 said:
It looks like the West Coast camp is in complete damage control over the massive and scathing sledging dished out by Selwood and Sumich which pales comparison to an innocent comment by Biglands (which in fact had no reference at all to the Eagles).

No need to lie now, Everyone now knows Crows players and supporters are very arrogant, its too late to save face now...

Embers said:
At the time Selwood was taken out he was giving McLeod an absolute bath, he had 11 possessions himself in just over a qtr of footy and McLeod had only had 3 I believe at the same time.

Selwood is an absolute gun, you wont find a harder 20 game player then he is, he may be small in frame but he is a tough nut, he is always getting knocks at training, this week he and McDougall had a rather nasty clash of heads, both were bleedin a bit and that was just training.

Selwood will tag Ricciuto this week I have a feel, I think Stenglein will probably tag McLeod in their defence as Stenglein would cause McLeod trouble height wise.

Watch out Roo, Selly is coming to get ya :D, I hope it does happen as a matchup.

Yeah the Roo should indeed watch out. What with Selwood saying he will absolutely bash Ricciuto, push him around and absolutely dominate the Crows skipper and take him out when he's not looking.

jmorg1 said:
Yeah the Roo should indeed watch out. What with Selwood saying he will absolutely bash Ricciuto, push him around and absolutely dominate the Crows skipper and take him out when he's not looking.

Selwood is talking about giving Ricciuto a football bashing, he will leave the cheapshots to the Adelaide Crows, after all it got them top of the ladder, it may just get them into a Grand Final.

Embers said:
No need to lie now, Everyone now knows Crows players and supporters are very arrogant, its too late to save face now...

No, the Crows players are not arrogant. Biglands said he thinks their midfield may have a very slight edge over the Eagles midfield.

Compare that to the absolutely downright arrogant sledging by Sumich who said he thought the Crows defense was completely overrated and definitely one of the worst in the history of the game and Selwood saying that Ricciuto is a hack who can't play football and that his skills and strengths were much superior and would intimidate the Crows captain every chance he gets.

Embers said:
Selwood is talking about giving Ricciuto a football bashing, he will leave the cheapshots to the Adelaide Crows, after all it got them top of the ladder, it may just get them into a Grand Final.

Yes, he did indeed say that. He said he was bigger, faster, stronger than the Crows captain and much more skillful and that he would overpower Ricciuto. Such arrogance.

Selwood...you are asking for it!!!