SFL Division 2 - 2013

Who will win SFL Div 2 Final in 2013

Thanks turfy. Also, well played fish on a fairly measured response. The bloke I referred to is a good mate of mine and he truly was horrified at what he did that day. Poor bastard got the short straw of gorra that day.
Was actually an ankle, not a knee what did him in.
Think you made a typo on bad blood - should've been no bad blood. I too played a bit of bball in that same side with the no.1 bentleigh legend and all round good bloke. He also beat me and turfy in the districts man o man later that year haha!
As I said previously, you're generally good value on here - just be careful on commenting on other clubs. I've been gone from the joint 6 years, first to the ammos, now to the eastern (albeit with a former sfl club). My source on the goings on down at districts is gold but even I know that isn't sufficient to be making judgements on here, other than solid defence of my former club and mates still involved.
My comments on bentleigh were piss taking. Based on other stuff written here previously.
Fwiw, my uncle played for bentleigh for years and one bloke who did a heap for him when he wrote himself off in a car crash was one Greg clough. So I bear little bad will to the demons. Aside from my bent nose from rd 1 97 lol!

Cheers

hansie : the voice of reason. Probably getting a little way too personal on here & let's be honest, shithouse reading for everyone else. No fun in that.;)

Fair to say we had a fair bit of muscle in that Bentleigh team of '98, Con Goro being just one of them (took a shining to me as a kid) - the year we matched it the Balwyns & Noble Parks, albeit I only played five 1s games that year. Also had a couple of goal kicking machine, Bentleigh #1 being one of them. The match was a long time ago now but as you say, remember it like it was yesterday with some regret.

Good bloke that Greg Clough along with #1; were very welcoming when I walked in off the street in '98 from the bush.

All the same I think I'll limit my posting as no doubt we need a change of subject

p.s. Turffontein is right on one thing, I have put on some weight & slowed a lot in pace. Marriage & age does that to some blokes ;) :D

hansie : the voice of reason. Probably getting a little way too personal on here & let's be honest, shithouse reading for everyone else. No fun in that.;)

Fair to say we had a fair bit of muscle in that Bentleigh team of '98, Con Goro being just one of them (took a shining to me as a kid) - the year we matched it the Balwyns & Noble Parks, albeit I only played five 1s games that year. Also had a couple of goal kicking machine, Bentleigh #1 being one of them. The match was a long time ago now but as you say, remember it like it was yesterday with some regret.

Good bloke that Greg Clough along with #1; were very welcoming when I walked in off the street in '98 from the bush.

All the same I think I'll limit my posting as no doubt we need a change of subject

p.s. Turffontein is right on one thing, I have put on some weight & slowed a lot in pace. Marriage & age does that to some blokes ;) :D

Preferred it when you blokes where at each other’s throats. Made for very entertaining reading! However another topic it is.

Fish – a genuine question as you seem to be the oracle on all things SFL. Would be interested in your (and others) honest opinion on the SFL decision to revert to a U19s comp. I know there was a sub committee but all they seem to have done is copy the VAFA model of a 19.5 comp right down to the number of over age players. Is it a case of "if you cant beat em join em" or a genuine effort to revive the colts? From an outsiders viewpoint I reckon the U18s was the point of difference for SFL to hang their hat on and viable alternative for kids coming out of the juniors perhaps not ready for U19s. (bearing in mind that the VAFA U18s comp is essentially a North /West suburban comp with only minimal participation and is not really supported by clubs in this region) Those with U18s in 2012 will naturally progress to 19s in 2013 but beyond that I am tipping a bit of struggle and it will be particularly hard for teams to get a 19s team up and running from scratch. 2014 will be when the decision can be properly judged I reckon.

This has come up in conversation with a few VAFA people I know and the universal opinion is that this will only make the VAFA 19s stronger as the biggest threat to them was kids choosing to go from U17s into U18s.

All good if you think I’m a flog, I just responded to the 2 previous blokes who posted garbage about OD, I have just responded in pure FACT. I will never get on this site and bag another club, but if people go too far in getting stuck into OD without knowing the truth I may respond with the FACTS.

Very happy with you thinking it will take a miracle for OD to make the finals. No names as yet, a lot of applicants I’m sure the president will let everyone know soon.

Good luck in 2013 you sound like you have picked up few players.

goodluck to your mob too. We have picked up a couple but most of our improvement has come from within. The journeyman C.Oliver is set for a massive year (played carlton ressies a few years back). The wonder triplets who will be back training when they return from overseas journeys C.Baines, Chris 'salty' Salt and the serial pest C.Matsson will be looking to tear the comp apart. But the biggest asset to the club withought a doubt is our man M.Frizell! Been benching 150 and running 3ks in 9 1/2 mins consistantlty. Will head into 2013 season with the league bnf fav on his head. Also rumored to be returning is M.Akehurst aka redda whos been serving the nation on our front line. Big season ahead?

Was he at Carlton at the same time as Johnny Hynes?

Preferred it when you blokes where at each other’s throats. Made for very entertaining reading! However another topic it is.

Fish – a genuine question as you seem to be the oracle on all things SFL. Would be interested in your (and others) honest opinion on the SFL decision to revert to a U19s comp. I know there was a sub committee but all they seem to have done is copy the VAFA model of a 19.5 comp right down to the number of over age players. Is it a case of "if you cant beat em join em" or a genuine effort to revive the colts? From an outsiders viewpoint I reckon the U18s was the point of difference for SFL to hang their hat on and viable alternative for kids coming out of the juniors perhaps not ready for U19s. (bearing in mind that the VAFA U18s comp is essentially a North /West suburban comp with only minimal participation and is not really supported by clubs in this region) Those with U18s in 2012 will naturally progress to 19s in 2013 but beyond that I am tipping a bit of struggle and it will be particularly hard for teams to get a 19s team up and running from scratch. 2014 will be when the decision can be properly judged I reckon.

This has come up in conversation with a few VAFA people I know and the universal opinion is that this will only make the VAFA 19s stronger as the biggest threat to them was kids choosing to go from U17s into U18s.

There were always going to be pros & cons for lifting the colts comp to an U/19.5s. I think it was done for the short term viability of the SFL Colts & I know that Bentleigh were a major player in lifting the age. Last year & with all due respect to the comp, there was only 4 strong sides with the rest making up numbers. If the comp was kept at U/18s then we would have lost the vast majority of colts to senior ranks or even the VAFA I suppose, thus destroying the colts competition. Need to keep the Highetts & Hampton Colts alive whilst strengthening Hallam etc. I know at our club that if the colts stayed at 18s then I would have been put out to pasture with all the colts coming through

I personally don't think its about competing with the VAFA as it will never get to that strength & I think the SFL knows that. Rather the SFL desperately needs an underage competition & a healthy one to lure VAFA district teams in the area across to the SFL, to strengthen & expand the competitionas a whole. For example: the league has been chasing Ormond for years, why would Ormond, with a strong junior program, even contemplate leaving the VAFA if we don't have a colts comp. Yes we'd accomodate for their 1s, 2s & thirds but what about the future of their club, the U/19s? They'd be more within their rights to stay put & continue to do so. (Just an example guys, not trying to open a can of worms ;) )

My personal opinion however & it always draws some heat & will continue to do so, is that: if a kid who is 18 years old or even 17 years old is good enough to play senior football, then he should be playing senior football at that age. I know there's always parental concern & the "I just want to play with my mates" reason, but IMO if a kid even in juniors should be playing an age group above himself rather than running rings around a kid 1 or 2 years his junior.

Where I come from in the Mallee we had no such luxury of junior comps due to population. Its U/13s at half time which includes 9 year olds, then its U16s & then Reserves & Seniors. At any given week, a 14 year old who had just played U/16s would be asked to sit on the bench in the 2s to fill numbers. Really good players in the area who went onto play AFL & VFL or TAC Cup were playing senior football at 13-14 years old! You learn so much as a kid playing against men & you're always taken under someone's wing who can protect you a bit. That's a drastic example but one can see the point I'm trying to make. We had colts play in our 2s side in 2012 & they did not look out of place one bit.

But alas I think the SFL may lose a lot of 17 year olds who aren't ready, not sure where they'd go may the MSJFL will become 17.5s?

That's my 2 cents worth anyway but I'm not sure if you'd call me an oracle, that title would have to go to superfreak or Rooster 24 in the VAFA who are more learned than I on this particular topic. I'd welcome their opinions

There were always going to be pros & cons for lifting the colts comp to an U/19.5s. I think it was done for the short term viability of the SFL Colts & I know that Bentleigh were a major player in lifting the age. Last year & with all due respect to the comp, there was only 4 strong sides with the rest making up numbers. If the comp was kept at U/18s then we would have lost the vast majority of colts to senior ranks or even the VAFA I suppose, thus destroying the colts competition. Need to keep the Highetts & Hampton Colts alive whilst strengthening Hallam etc. I know at our club that if the colts stayed at 18s then I would have been put out to pasture with all the colts coming through

I personally don't think its about competing with the VAFA as it will never get to that strength & I think the SFL knows that. Rather the SFL desperately needs an underage competition & a healthy one to lure VAFA district teams in the area across to the SFL, to strengthen & expand the competitionas a whole. For example: the league has been chasing Ormond for years, why would Ormond, with a strong junior program, even contemplate leaving the VAFA if we don't have a colts comp. Yes we'd accomodate for their 1s, 2s & thirds but what about the future of their club, the U/19s? They'd be more within their rights to stay put & continue to do so. (Just an example guys, not trying to open a can of worms ;) )

My personal opinion however & it always draws some heat & will continue to do so, is that: if a kid who is 18 years old or even 17 years old is good enough to play senior football, then he should be playing senior football at that age. I know there's always parental concern & the "I just want to play with my mates" reason, but IMO if a kid even in juniors should be playing an age group above himself rather than running rings around a kid 1 or 2 years his junior.

Where I come from in the Mallee we had no such luxury of junior comps due to population. Its U/13s at half time which includes 9 year olds, then its U16s & then Reserves & Seniors. At any given week, a 14 year old who had just played U/16s would be asked to sit on the bench in the 2s to fill numbers. Really good players in the area who went onto play AFL & VFL or TAC Cup were playing senior football at 13-14 years old! You learn so much as a kid playing against men & you're always taken under someone's wing who can protect you a bit. That's a drastic example but one can see the point I'm trying to make. We had colts play in our 2s side in 2012 & they did not look out of place one bit.

But alas I think the SFL may lose a lot of 17 year olds who aren't ready, not sure where they'd go may the MSJFL will become 17.5s?

That's my 2 cents worth anyway but I'm not sure if you'd call me an oracle, that title would have to go to superfreak or Rooster 24 in the VAFA who are more learned than I on this particular topic. I'd welcome their opinions

odfc appoint new playing coach for 2 years name escapes me but is on there website!!!!!!!!!!

[

You say I'm a big mouth - I say just very opinionated. but pretty much on the money with everything I say.

Anyway I think I'll take a back seat for a while & just enjoy the show, preseason here is going to be fun :D *grabs popcorn

No your not right with everything you say, get your facts right fish.

Fish

Raising the age of the Colts is just allowing the soft kids another year of being soft. These kids who are now adults need to actually harden up. Gone are the days of a coach giving a spray and the kids actually responding to it positively. Now it's a matter of them sulking and possibly never playing again. These same kids would rather Aussie Rules be non contact

Strong seasons for clubs come and go at underage level. And Fish considering how many players you guys have coming through your system. It surprises me that Bentleigh would push for the age limit to be increased. Maybe Bentleigh should start looking at a thirds side for yourself, Sharp, Skeeta and like to have a kick and then push the 18&19yo into the reserves so they can learn strong footy and push for the seniors. Juniors and Reserves premierships doesn't make a successful club. This isn't meant to sound like a pot shot at Bentleigh as I think most clubs would envy their strength at the moment.

No offence taken bigwilly, as I said previously if an 18 year old is capable of playing seniors, then he should strongly be encouraged to do so. It would've been inevitable that we have a thirds side this year if the colts comp stayed at U/18s but as you know the age group has been lifted. I think you'll find that Bentleigh had a hand in raising the age group, not just to win another colts premiership, but to strengthen the colts comp as a whole letting others build their own colts with last years u/17s. As I also said previously, the SFL comp as a whole looks more attractive to potential new teams with a Colts comp than without.

Anyway I think you'll find that our new coach will be taking 6-8 of last years colts, a few that have already had senior experience & playing them as full time 1s players regardless. This would be more beneficial for these young men & the club as you stated a club's success is not built on Colts & 2s premierships. I think we have U/17s coming through to fills these spots & put old fat slow blokes like myself to a 3rds team or even out to pasture :)

Pretty confident Arvo will play, but similar to last year he will probably play around 12 games during the home and away rounds.

no chance mate,after the debacle of last year etc,etc theres only one place arvo will play and thats about a 20% chance if he does pull the boots and it wont be OD

There were always going to be pros & cons for lifting the colts comp to an U/19.5s. I think it was done for the short term viability of the SFL Colts & I know that Bentleigh were a major player in lifting the age. Last year & with all due respect to the comp, there was only 4 strong sides with the rest making up numbers. If the comp was kept at U/18s then we would have lost the vast majority of colts to senior ranks or even the VAFA I suppose, thus destroying the colts competition. Need to keep the Highetts & Hampton Colts alive whilst strengthening Hallam etc. I know at our club that if the colts stayed at 18s then I would have been put out to pasture with all the colts coming through.

Brave move I reckon but not entirely sure it is the right one. I guess time will tell. A distinct advantage of the 18s was to get those transitioning straight from MSJFL U17s so any advantage gained there is now lost. On the flip side the VAFA 19s has continued to expand in both size and quality while there 18s comp has struggled for traction. Maybe the working party considered those factors.

The obvious advantage of the ammos is having 5 grades and the quality of the competition, particularly the Premier division. That is a real attraction so the SFL might be up against it until they can get sufficient support for a graded comp and also improve the overall standard.

No reason why it can’t work however it will put an added burden on clubs, particularly those without juniors or at least a junior alignment. Take for example Cheltenham – a good club, good facilities and a pioneer of the SFL colts but within spitting distance of St Bedes and Beaumaris. Both these clubs have 2 x U19 teams each and strong junior feeders. Bloody hard for Cheltenham to get a foot in the door here, whereas at least with 18s they might have grabbed a few straight from U17s at Chelt Juniors, East Sandy etc.

Reckon it will take 2 years to gauge the success or otherwise. Hope it goes well as the more 18 /19 years old playing football the better I reckon.

And Fish - Never ever were Ormond a chance to join the SLF. Maybe Oakleigh Ammos, Parkdale or even Sth Districts but never Ormond

Brave move I reckon but not entirely sure it is the right one. I guess time will tell. A distinct advantage of the 18s was to get those transitioning straight from MSJFL U17s so any advantage gained there is now lost. On the flip side the VAFA 19s has continued to expand in both size and quality while there 18s comp has struggled for traction. Maybe the working party considered those factors.

The obvious advantage of the ammos is having 5 grades and the quality of the competition, particularly the Premier division. That is a real attraction so the SFL might be up against it until they can get sufficient support for a graded comp and also improve the overall standard.

No reason why it can’t work however it will put an added burden on clubs, particularly those without juniors or at least a junior alignment. Take for example Cheltenham – a good club, good facilities and a pioneer of the SFL colts but within spitting distance of St Bedes and Beaumaris. Both these clubs have 2 x U19 teams each and strong junior feeders. Bloody hard for Cheltenham to get a foot in the door here, whereas at least with 18s they might have grabbed a few straight from U17s at Chelt Juniors, East Sandy etc.

Reckon it will take 2 years to gauge the success or otherwise. Hope it goes well as the more 18 /19 years old playing football the better I reckon.

And Fish - Never ever were Ormond a chance to join the SLF. Maybe Oakleigh Ammos, Parkdale or even Sth Districts but never Ormond

is good for sum clubs but if you are like us moorabbin we have tryed for years but between hampto rovers and old brighton we dont stand a chance

Good post Rooster 24, as i said me using Ormond was just an example. I know SFL have been knocking on their door but door is still shut.

The more I think about it the more I believe the colts should've stayed as U/18s. But I think the SFL are between a rock & a hard place. Stay as U/18s & lose most of the competition or stick their neck out & up the age group to strengthen the junior comp.

That being said I'm not sure how many U/17s are coming through that would have bolstered the current age group format

It also doesn't help Rooster when Beauy and St Bedes also pilfer the Cheltenham Juniors as well as having their own junior feeder clubs. It's poor form IMO. Beauy in particular are notorious for it.
BTW, Chelt and Beauy played off this year in the SMJFL Under 17 Div 1 Grand Final and the majority of the Chelt kids will be heading to Beauy to follow the coach.

It also doesn't help Rooster when Beauy and St Bedes also pilfer the Cheltenham Juniors as well as having their own junior feeder clubs. It's poor form IMO. Beauy in particular are notorious for it.
BTW, Chelt and Beauy played off this year in the SMJFL Under 17 Div 1 Grand Final and the majority of the Chelt kids will be heading to Beauy to follow the coach.

Call me crazy Superfreak & forgive me for being direct, but what's stopping a merger between Cheltenham seniors & Cheltenham juniors & becoming one club, coming from one who doesnt know the previos history between the two. Maybe both committees joining forces then opening up options getting pro Cheltenham people as coaches, maybe playing some games at Jack Barker Oval & maybe Cheltenham juniors wearing the Rosellas jumper instead of the black one with the green sash. It would make for a better transition from juniors to seniors.

Obviously this is good on theory & I'm not saying that he senior club haven't tried all this before. Have Cheltenham juniors made it clear they'll always be a stand alone junior club? Just seems unfair to lose all that youth to other neighbouring clubs who seem to put certain "personnel" at the right age group to steer the young men away from Wetherall Rd.

Don’t disagree Super. Beauy sniffed the wind about 5 years ago and inserted a Panthers bloke to run their 19s and it proved to be an inspired choice. They do run a pretty good 19s program but you would hate to think it is at the expense of another club, which it appears it might be. There is however a long history of Panthers kids who end up at St Bedes, as that is where a lot of them go to school. Beaumaris have also bitten a few ammo clubs. I know a lot of Haileybury and Mentone Grammar kids have ended up playing 19s at the sharks. As a consequence the 19s of both these clubs have struggled a bit over recent times.

Just on that point both St Bedes and Beauy now have seniors and 19s in the top grades, largely on the back of developing from within and lots of hard work. A fantastic achievement in a comp dominated by strong APS old boys clubs with their extensive networks and contacts. My club is in the same boat, a smaller ACC school. We have to work unbelievably hard on our 19s to stay competitive but would be disappointed if we started pillaging every other club around us.

Yes. Oliver was a mentor to the great man Hynesy. Anyone got any info on the new oakliegh coach? Good luck to the bloke got a huge task at hand

Got in contact with an old school mate who plays for Moyhu in the Ovens & King against Bright. Asked him about Oakleigh's new coach & this is what he said:
Found out a little about the coach, mid size forward not a bad bloke apparently....played in one of their premiership against us in 04 when he was young fairly good skills

This being said, the Ovens & King KFL is ranked #27 out of 32 leagues in the VCFL standings & I'm not sure how this compares to SFL Div 2 standard. Played for The Pines in 2012, but Sporting Pulse tells us that it looks not to have set the world in fire (not that Sporting Pulse is a great judge) MPNFL is probably top 2 or 3 in country leagues.

I'm willing to give this guy a go though & won't make further judgement until half way through the year.

Good post Rooster 24, as i said me using Ormond was just an example. I know SFL have been knocking on their door but door is still shut.

The more I think about it the more I believe the colts should've stayed as U/18s. But I think the SFL are between a rock & a hard place. Stay as U/18s & lose most of the competition or stick their neck out & up the age group to strengthen the junior comp.

That being said I'm not sure how many U/17s are coming through that would have bolstered the current age group format

I must say that I'm not a fan of the Colts age change. Definitely a disadvantage for the likes of Skye & the new Carrum as their junior feeders come in after U16's. Maybe a too big a gap to play against a 20 Y.O's? This will also cause more on field dramas, the older colts at 20yo will have an advantage to intimidate both physically & mentally the kids coming straight out of the junior comps. Don't forget that these guys have had 2 years of "life experience" in open age social environments eg pubs, driving, working, etc so they are treated as adults in every other system in the counrty. I believe that it would be an advantage for the clubs & comp if the 19/20yo's to move into the reserves comp as it will strengthen the ressies, expose these young men to "grown up" football that has seen improvement in standard and lowering of average age due to the 3rds comp over the last few years and provide more youthful depth for the senior sides to call on. Also with the 19 & 20yo's playing ressies they will be less likely to be thinking intimidation will provide them with a win over playing a good game of footy! In reality some 20yo's have already committed murder, made a million dollars, got married, had kids of their own........they shouldn't be playing age restricted footy!!
FWIW.

Got in contact with an old school mate who plays for Moyhu in the Ovens & King against Bright. Asked him about Oakleigh's new coach & this is what he said:

This being said, the Ovens & King KFL is ranked #27 out of 32 leagues in the VCFL standings & I'm not sure how this compares to SFL Div 2 standard. Played for The Pines in 2012, but Sporting Pulse tells us that it looks not to have set the world in fire (not that Sporting Pulse is a great judge) MPNFL is probably top 2 or 3 in country leagues.

I'm willing to give this guy a go though & won't make further judgement until half way through the year.

I wonder if the commitee ran it all past fermanis first? You would'nt want to rustle his feathers.
Will fermanis will be shopping himself around like he does every year? Collecting sign on's then going back to od.
As i said good luck to him, hes going to need it

I must say that I'm not a fan of the Colts age change. Definitely a disadvantage for the likes of Skye & the new Carrum as their junior feeders come in after U16's. Maybe a too big a gap to play against a 20 Y.O's? This will also cause more on field dramas, the older colts at 20yo will have an advantage to intimidate both physically & mentally the kids coming straight out of the junior comps. Don't forget that these guys have had 2 years of "life experience" in open age social environments eg pubs, driving, working, etc so they are treated as adults in every other system in the counrty. I believe that it would be an advantage for the clubs & comp if the 19/20yo's to move into the reserves comp as it will strengthen the ressies, expose these young men to "grown up" football that has seen improvement in standard and lowering of average age due to the 3rds comp over the last few years and provide more youthful depth for the senior sides to call on. Also with the 19 & 20yo's playing ressies they will be less likely to be thinking intimidation will provide them with a win over playing a good game of footy! In reality some 20yo's have already committed murder, made a million dollars, got married, had kids of their own........they shouldn't be playing age restricted footy!!
FWIW.
hit the nail on the head

SFL Division 2 - 2013