• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFNL Div 3 2017

Not sure about council but I think your close to the mark. I hope they can get up for 2018. Could be more than one club in some doubt for next season.

Rumour has it there's quiet discussions being had at HQ about splitting div 3 into two divisions. Could be a good decision and maybe save a couple of clubs.

IMO, the number of clubs in the SFNL doesn't make it easy to work out more than 3 grades, but........

We currently have 33 Clubs, and for the sake of this proposition, i'll add either Hampton Park or Cerebrus as the 34th Club.

Div 1 stays at 10 teams and Div 2 becomes 10 teams also. All teams play each other twice.

Div 3 becomes an 8 team comp with every team playing each other at least twice and 4 other teams three times. Not too dissimilar to current Div three where you play each other once and some teams twice.

Div 4 (which includes Hampton Park or Cerebrus) becomes a 6 team comp with everyone playing each other 3 times for a 15 round season or 4 times for a 20 round season (can be done). Only problem if Cerebrus is the 6th team is that there would be a bye in the Ressies.

Promotion/Demotion as follows:

Div 1 - One team down
Div 2 - One up/Two down
Div 3 - Two up/Two Down
Div 4 - Two up

Obviously the teams going up will be the winner of the Grand Final and the loser (where two go up).

Once again IMO, this at least gives Clubs lower down an opportunity to play finals which in turn helps with recruiting and in turn makes the competition stronger over time.

If we recruit more teams in to the league, we adjust the number of teams accordingly same as we'd do if we lost clubs. Ideally, even numbers would eliminate the Bye which nobody wants!

So the Divisions in 2018, based on finishing positions for the sake of this argument (as GF winners/combatants aren't known), would be:

Div 1 - Dingley, Mordialloc, St. Pauls, Bentleigh, East Malvern, Cheltenham, Oakleigh Districts, St. Kilda City, Port Colts, Chelsea Heights (Top of Div 2)

Div 2 - Clayton (Bottom Div 1), Keysborough, Caulfield, Murrumbeena, Skye, Mt. Waverley, East Brighton, Highett, Hallam (Top of Div 3), Ashwood (2nd Div 3)

Div 3 - Hampton (3rd Bottom Div 2), Springvale Districts(2nd Bottom Div 2), Heatherton(Bottom Div 2), Endeavour Hills, Doveton, Black Rock, South Yarra, Lyndale

Div 4 - Lyndhurst, Moorabbin, Carrum Patterson Lakes, Sandown, Dandenong, Cerebrus or Hampton Park

NB. Any team entering the comp enters at Div 4 (or the lowest division available)

It works well in the Ammos and they have 7 divisions + U/19s + Clubbies

been there went sfl had 5div did nothing for club in bottem 2 div clubs just left went to play with amos or drop out of comp
I reckon create a div 4, cap the fees at 10k for the year and let clubs rebuild financially to come back up. clubs to sign an agreement that if they accept the reduced fees they are not to leave the comp once they've stabilised.
IMO, the number of clubs in the SFNL doesn't make it easy to work out more than 3 grades, but........

We currently have 33 Clubs, and for the sake of this proposition, i'll add either Hampton Park or Cerebrus as the 34th Club.

Div 1 stays at 10 teams and Div 2 becomes 10 teams also. All teams play each other twice.

Div 3 becomes an 8 team comp with every team playing each other at least twice and 4 other teams three times. Not too dissimilar to current Div three where you play each other once and some teams twice.

Div 4 (which includes Hampton Park or Cerebrus) becomes a 6 team comp with everyone playing each other 3 times for a 15 round season or 4 times for a 20 round season (can be done). Only problem if Cerebrus is the 6th team is that there would be a bye in the Ressies.

Div 1 - One team down
Div 2 - One up/Two down
Div 3 - Two up/Two Down
Div 4 - Two up

Obviously the teams going up will be the winner of the Grand Final and the loser (where two go up).

Once again IMO, this at least gives Clubs lower down an opportunity to play finals which in turn helps with recruiting and in turn makes the competition stronger over time.

If we recruit more teams in to the league, we adjust the number of teams accordingly same as we'd do if we lost clubs. Ideally, even numbers would eliminate the Bye which nobody wants!

So the Divisions in 2018, based on finishing positions for the sake of this argument (as GF winners/combatants aren't known), would be:

Div 1 - Dingley, Mordialloc, St. Pauls, Bentleigh, East Malvern, Cheltenham, Oakleigh Districts, St. Kilda City, Port Colts, Chelsea Heights (Top of Div 2)

Div 2 - Clayton (Bottom Div 1), Keysborough, Caulfield, Murrumbeena, Skye, Mt. Waverley, East Brighton, Highett, Hallam (Top of Div 3), Ashwood (2nd Div 3)

Div 3 - Hampton (3rd Bottom Div 2), Springvale Districts(2nd Bottom Div 2), Heatherton(Bottom Div 2), Endeavour Hills, Doveton, Black Rock, South Yarra, Lyndale

Div 4 - Lyndhurst, Moorabbin, Carrum Patterson Lakes, Sandown, Dandenong, Cerebrus or Hampton Park

NB. Any team entering the comp enters at Div 4 (or the lowest division available)

hampton park would have to go into div 2. They'll be far too strong.

I'd go with
Div 1. 10
Div 2. 8
Div 3. 8
Div 4. 8

Clyde looking to enter a side as well
Frankston juniors looking to start a side.
Also, Cerberus should be in Div 4 if it went that way. So you would be getting close to the perfect 10 teams in all divs within 2-3 years.

Not sure about council but I think your close to the mark. I hope they can get up for 2018. Could be more than one club in some doubt for next season.

Rumour has it there's quiet discussions being had at HQ about splitting div 3 into two divisions. Could be a good decision and maybe save a couple of clubs.

Maybe it's an additional with council then? My understanding is that the council did a spot check and have gone mental about the canteen and assorted issues and are issuing a fine due to hygiene breaches

Div 1 - One team down
Div 2 - One up/Two down
Div 3 - Two up/Two Down
Div 4 - Two up

Yeah like it however Hillbillies need to go up as they will be a power club with their juniors oh and also as they are playing for flag in 2 weeks. Ashwood need to stay in Div 3 as they would get slaughtered in Div 2 and Lyndale need to go Div 4 to be competitive again. IMO

I thought the Endeavour Hills Juniors disowned the Club and have nothing to do with them??

I
I like it too, if you read it probably he's based the "up and downs" on ladder positions because the finals aren't over, of course it'd be the premiers and runner up(where 2 go up)

Not privy to the exact goings on of Dandenong - Is there any truth that they're having a crisis meeting tomorrow night regarding 2018 with league and council in attendance?

The worst part of this is, and most would agree - They were more competitive against most sides than Sandown.. its a dire situation for some sides in division 3.. is the league actually brave enough to set up a 4th division with financial restructures? Some brilliant ideas in the last few posts!! But do the league have the ability or desire to do so?

I thought the Endeavour Hills Juniors disowned the Club and have nothing to do with them??
Irrelevant really as past U17 kids can play where they want and most will play with them I presume.

Like on a split the missus does you over with the kids however once they reach right age they can do what they want

Irrelevant really as past U17 kids can play where they want and most will play with them I presume.

Like on a split the missus does you over with the kids however once they reach right age they can do what they want
Several clubs work with endeavour hills juniors. I know Doveton Eagles established an MOU with them this year and hope to build that relationship. The Other Doveton has links there as well. The juniors are actually closer to our home ground than End Hills. No shortage of senior clubs to choose from that's for sure

Well I dunno bout the rest of you jerks but I LOVE a top team goin out in straight sets especially when it happens in the 1s and the 2s and especially when its the same club , the absoulutes pits for the club in question but bloody glorious for the rest of us , i feel the pressures may be on (hot sweats)

Hahaha. Brilliant

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Several clubs work with endeavour hills juniors. I know Doveton Eagles established an MOU with them this year and hope to build that relationship. The Other Doveton has links there as well. The juniors are actually closer to our home ground than End Hills. No shortage of senior clubs to choose from that's for sure

Sign as many MOU's as you like champ lol

Only one club actually works them from u17s , u15 to lower grades even our senior girls work with them (which you can't offer)
My advice is start developing your own juniors Doveton Eagles cause if your anything like the other Doves it won't work, haven't been seen there for years (only calling the best players, zero interest in pathways)
The previous u17s have been in our system for a couple years now & some already developed into senior players...... next batch will too & u15s etc etc

EHSFC are flying due to years of hard work & it is paying dividends only now..... haven't tried to buy anything

Good luck but Want to see all local clubs thriving!!!

Sign as many MOU's as you like champ lol

Only one club actually works them from u17s , u15 to lower grades even our senior girls work with them (which you can't offer)
My advice is start developing your own juniors Doveton Eagles cause if your anything like the other Doves it won't work, haven't been seen there for years (only calling the best players, zero interest in pathways)
The previous u17s have been in our system for a couple years now & some already developed into senior players...... next batch will too & u15s etc etc

EHSFC are flying due to years of hard work & it is paying dividends only now..... haven't tried to buy anything

Good luck but Want to see all local clubs thriving!!!
Weve played something like 14 or 15 kids 18 and under this year in senior footy.

We've had under 17s for a few years.

You might be surprised with what we are doing with juniors.

The Doves are starting their own juniors next season with sides from u9 right through.

Good to see End Hills get their act together onfield. Good signs locally with End Hills, Hallam and The Eagles travelling well at the moment.

I really hope billy ray cyress in Harlem's 2s doesnt get dropped this week , runs around like a headless chook(nude) BUT has the most extravagant mull'e't you've ever seen , get down there , he's Takin photos with it after the game

Wow, spot on there lout.

Feeling for the Hallam boys tonight in being minor premiers in both 1s and 2s only to both go out in straight sets. No use getting to the big dance if ya can't dance.

I reckoned this will pu the club back. Best chance to do it and they faile big time.

Wow, spot on there lout.

Feeling for the Hallam boys tonight in being minor premiers in both 1s and 2s only to both go out in straight sets. No use getting to the big dance if ya can't dance.

I reckoned this will pu the club back. Best chance to do it and they faile big time.
Wont put them back at all. Strong club.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

SFNL Div 3 2017