• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFNL Division 1 2023 discussion

Sleepy little forum this

After 3

Cranbourne - looking formidable again
Holt back for more and building nicely.
Has he committed for the season ..?
Cranbourne will feature in the grand final having the wood over Chelt in prelim my guess

Chelt - added some more youth. Where do they keep finding these kids! will they step up come winter.. jury still out

Springy - what is not to like about Springvale. What happened to wetering on the weekend? Gloved?
Helmore great addition looks to be a TOY contender already from early form. I’m on the Springvale train
I just don’t want to go anywhere actually nearly Springvale.

Dingley - asleep at the wheel round 1. They’ve started playing football like a team.

Port -
unreliable.

St.Kilda - even more unreliable

St.Pauls - they got by mordi by a footlength. Kick just before the siren on the run went wayward otherwise all they would have is a win over a poor bentleigh outfit. Stalwart Veterans very good then there just isn’t much else

Mordi - what happened to the M Brown show it’s the D Brown show. From reports 7-8/9 votes so far
They need to put bentleigh and Chelsea away x2

The battle to avoid relegation: Bentleigh

Chelsea have no depth

Hearing reports of Dingleys new recruit, Hughes, carrying on after the game in the club rooms against Springvale? Can anybody at the game verify/deny?
He was only just marched out of Wangaratta because of his pathetic behaviour up there

Very interesting round.
Dingley really hitting their straps now.
Chelsea thumped City in that last term. Where did that come from?
Much needed first win.
City really struggling. Is swan playing at all? Do they have any coin to
spend anymore?
The current top 6 then the length of the flemo straight for the bottom 4…. there’s a clear gap in class appearing between 6th and 7th.
One team in that top 6 will be be very stiff to miss out.
Heating up down at the drop.
Got down to Bentleigh vs Springy and bentleigh got it down from 8 goals to 4 points early in the last. Had plenty of chances to hit the front but couldn’t take them, then the class of springy shone through as they kicked some crucial steadiers. They’ll stay up if they can start playing like that second half more. Matt Wetering is a terrific player. Great local footy game.

Mordi on the end of another convincing loss. Mitch brown not kicking many goals and either…. is he struggling?
Big few weeks coming up. Still have Chelsea or Bentleigh for the drop (they need to win a game quick), however City have also entered the conversation.

Dan Conners lost the plot i was told
I was there , both story’s not true , the game was played in good spirits , Conners was getting a bit of attention and what usually happens did , he retaliates and gets caught . I wasnt sure if it was a yellow card or red . And the only other thing was when the 2 sides were walking off after the game there was a bit of talk going back and forth , Cheltenham are playing out of portable’s atm and the 2 sides basically next to each other walking off . But no Connors losing the plot or getting stuck into a player from Cheltenham. Actually very good game to watch.

Big Game Port Colts vs Cranbourne , Colts got a few out , but been told Bennell from Melb / Port Melb playing his first game today . Good luck to your team.

Great contest
Cranny a great club Came in the rooms stuck around for a while
Comp is in good shape Very competitive and even up top

Great contest
Cranny a great club Came in the rooms stuck around for a while
Comp is in good shape Very competitive and even up top

Hey mate, how did Bennell go? Seen he got in the best and kicked a couple but did he look a class above? Also did he get dropped from the borough or coming back from injury?

The Borough reckon hes gone for the cash
Not entirely correct, was hoping to get picked up in the mid season draft, no interest from AFL clubs so why not get some coin $$$$$$. Good for the comp and club to get players like him to play, attracts more supporters, club makes more $$$ so its winner winner chicken dinner. Port are coming !!!!!!

I had already said that about the draft, a few have left the Borough through the season

Hey mate, how did Bennell go? Seen he got in the best and kicked a couple but did he look a class above? Also did he get dropped from the borough or coming back from injury?
Kicked 2 , would of been 4-5 best , smaller ground probably didn’t suit him , And I can assure you it ain’t $$$ , The coach has people wanting to play with him

So will be at the colts for the rest of the year? Also what is going on with caddy? Just going to coach now?

We wish , think it is 4 max , when port melb are not playing I think that’s how it works . Don’t know about Josh rd 1 hammy and medial 2 games ago . He might go again thou . I honestly don’t know what he is thinking of doing

Everyone on this forum needs to do whatever possible to put pressure in the SFNL following their lack of investigation into the Coward Punch on Jojo.

They are banning people from their social media who try to bring this up and have removed commenting on posts. Disgusting that someone basically died but they didn't even take it to the AFL integrity unit to be investigated.

Truly horrid leadership. They put it a statement saying they spoke with Jojo but they have not. They are a bunch of liars who refuse to do what they are there to do

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Everyone on this forum needs to do whatever possible to put pressure in the SFNL following their lack of investigation into the Coward Punch on Jojo.

They are banning people from their social media who try to bring this up and have removed commenting on posts. Disgusting that someone basically died but they didn't even take it to the AFL integrity unit to be investigated.

Truly horrid leadership. They put it a statement saying they spoke with Jojo but they have not. They are a bunch of liars who refuse to do what they are there to do

Totally agree, its a shambolic mess, and that's being polite. Interestingly nothing from Skye FNL regarding statements or what they are or have done ??? More concerning is the talk about the SFNL apparently suspending registered players for commenting on social media ????? Wow, i haven't had the call yet, i'm still waiting.

100% correct. Jojo will be on 10 news tonight then 7 news. This isn't going away. Also interesting there was nothing on the sfnl Facebook page or their website about the great work to revive him. Because they know he was king hit and don't want to acknowledge that. Absolute joke. Players threatened with suspension if they talk.... meanwhile a young bloke will never play footy again. Don't think his mates or him give a rats if they get rubbed out for 2 weeks

Well Said.

The way this is all playing out I expect that Lee Hartman will "resign" in the next week or so.
The league have well and truly sh*t the bed on this one.

Its a shame as thought Hartman was doing a great job before this incident. He hasn't read the room at all; their statement has over 1.4k angry reactions when usually they would be lucky to get 30 reactions on previous posts.

If there is more to it, they need to be transparent as sticking their heads in the sand is just making them look worse.

WOW! What a matchday!
Bentleigh v City the game of the year and might’ve been the best game of local football I’ve ever watched.
Shoutout to Citys ruckman who put the team on his back and won every clearance and praise to number 2 for bentleigh who kicked a bag and torped one from the centre circle to put the demons up in the last.
Amazing game of footy!
The relegation spot is wide open now…..
If I were a betting man I would cautiously back Chelsea in….. but mordi aren’t far behind.
Bentleigh and City still seem safe.
Port colts are a smokey for the flag I feel.

WOW! What a matchday!
Bentleigh v City the game of the year and might’ve been the best game of local football I’ve ever watched.
Shoutout to Citys ruckman who put the team on his back and won every clearance and praise to number 2 for bentleigh who kicked a bag and torped one from the centre circle to put the demons up in the last.
Amazing game of footy!
The relegation spot is wide open now…..
If I were a betting man I would cautiously back Chelsea in….. but mordi aren’t far behind.
Bentleigh and City still seem safe.
Port colts are a smokey for the flag I feel.
Eleven rounds to go with one win separating bottom 4 teams so relegation has lots to play out , Port Colts (5th) lost to the 4th placed team so be a fair effort to beat Chelt , Cranbourne and Dingley for the flag

SFNL Division 1 2023 discussion