Confirmed Shai Bolton, pick 14 & F3 (Rich) traded to Fremantle for picks 10, 11 & 18

Bolton to Freo will happen

Everyone is just guessing the terms and will do for the next hundred pages until the day of trade until it gets done and then both clubs supporters will argue even more on who won the trade
Freo will win the trade no matter what it is. They're getting Shai Bolton, Richmond is getting two children, neither of whom will be as good as Shai Bolton.

Two townhouses in Northcote is nice, unless you're swapping your beachside Brighton manor for them.

The reality is that it is quite rare, and very difficult to orchestrate a situation like this

To have an A grade player ( Bolton ), in his prime, to be wanting, to come to you, when you ( Freo ) are in a win now window, and this player ( Bolton ) strengthens your biggest weakness ( small fwd class +mid speed ), well, it almost never happens, and is an incredible opportunity for Freo. I mean from Freos point of view, you would be pretty motivated to do that deal, and everything that has come out of that club ( Freo ) reaffirms this

What is also a fact is that Freo has the currency to make this deal happen, another rare event.

What is also rare is that the selling team, could actually help in providing TPP space to facilitate this deal

Keyboard warriors can say what they want, on both sides, but facts are facts,

From Richmond's point of view, I hope the deal falls over and he stays, because however many draft picks we get, draft picks are risky, and it is highly unlikely, actually pretty much impossible, that whoever Richmond draft, none of them will be as good as Shai, not even close.

As a betting man this deal gets done, and I am not happy about it
You calling out any key board warriors would have to be the most absurd post in bigfooty history. Facts are the deal gets done but in line with historical norms when gun contracted players get traded eg 9 nd 16 is a good deal for both parties.

welcome to my ignore list

Pick 9 & 10 is pretty shit. Shai Bolton is a gun.

Freo fans trying to rob us blind in here.

Welcome to Bigfooty page #101 :tearsofjoy:

When Shai is smashing teams and "TNT" is blaring out of Optus Stadium after a home win, I bet there will be a post or two on how you r*ped Richmond for 2 young players who aren't fit to clean Shai's boots.

Pick 9 and 10 in a stacked draft is pretty juicy.

Cobbler is just having fun poking you guys for what it's worth. He's as onboard with paying the required price as anyone to be honest.

You don't get the history of trading or how the basics of trading works if you think we are robbing you if picks 9 and 10 are in the trade. Do better.

Yes, I’m in the get Bolton camp.

I’m hoping it’s around Bolton and 29 for 9 & 16.

If I’m Richmond it has to be 9&10 and in that case I’m really pushing for 21 back, but likely 29. I’d hope there’s a salary component too. Wouldn’t need to be massive, but enough to provide future wiggle room.

I reckon there will be salary involved, not doubt in my mind.

Richmond would be running their own draft board and have their targets selected and what range they will fall in.

Trading out Bolton, Rioli and Baker is a lot for a club to give up unless they are dedicated to the rebuild and like the timings with Tassie etc.

The great number of Vic players in this draft and the quality would be very attractive to Richmond - getting a ready made player who steps into a weakness would be very attractive to Freo.

When Cerra left - it was very reasonable negotiation. I see no reason why this can't be the same.

Freo hold on to picks and sure we get younger talent in but continue to rely on Walters and JOM for at least another season. Richmond don't trade and they perhaps finish bottom 3 not last and delay getting in young talent. It helps both teams as long as no one channels Dodoro or Freo is into a bigger name and thinks it can do both (unlikely but after finals this will become clear).

If Shai is our #1 target - our earliest pick will have to be on the table. Negotiations about what else - what Freo offer and what Richmond accept will be based on a whole lot of metrics that we don't have access to.

Looking at this draft board - picks in the top 20 look to be more valuable than in previous years, though Bolton is an almost perfect piece for Freo.

Crazy if it doesn't get done - with both club supporters being unhappy.

Rinse and repeat my previous post. I think Boltons an elite player but if you think a trade of 9 and 10 for a gun contracted player is a shit offer you clearly don't get how trading works.
You have a nice array of draft capital, trade up and give us something better.

Rinse and repeat my previous post. I think Boltons an elite player but if you think a trade of 9 and 10 for a gun contracted player is a shit offer you clearly don't get how trading works.
I think its a genuine win win myself, would I prefer an earlier pick, eg, pick 5 and 17 over 9 and 10, maybe, but regardless, in this draft, it appears to be a very good deal.

You have no idea if you think this is true

Richmond will not be unhappy if he stays, they will be elated

OK - happy to be corrected and note we're all different.

I'm just going on my Freo dark days - if I had a chance to grab

• Jagga Smith (1)
  • Xavier Lindsay (Gold Coast Pick)

or

• Jagga Smith (1)
  • Josh Smillie (Freo - Bolton)
  • Taj Hotton (Freo - Bolton)

I'd do the second - especially if it meant upgrading in other areas with steak knives.

Although at Freo - I was always critical that we didn't trade out some players when they had value and we were down the ladder.

Bolton to me - doesn't strike me as someone who will be happy for the long run in a struggling team. He's exciting and will put some bums on seats .....however so do talented kids.

OK - happy to be corrected and note we're all different.

I'm just going on my Freo dark days - if I had a chance to grab

• Jagga Smith (1)

or

• Jagga Smith (1)
  • Josh Smillie (Freo - Bolton)
  • Taj Hotton (Freo - Bolton)

I'd do the second - especially if it meant upgrading in other areas with steak knives.

Although at Freo - I was always critical that we didn't trade out some players when they had value and we were down the ladder.

Bolton to me - doesn't strike me as someone who will be happy for the long run in a struggling team. He's exciting and will put some bums on seats .....however so do talented kids.

no offense

Thats because you do not know what supporting a team with Shai that wins flags looks like

Shai is young enough to play in our next serious campaign, and giving him away for unders when he has 4 years left on his contract, does not make sense

Unless it is way way way overs I prefer he stays

I think its a genuine win win myself, would I prefer an earlier pick, eg, pick 5 and 17 over 9 and 10, maybe, but regardless, in this draft, it appears to be a very good deal.

Its a good deal in terms of historical deals, but there is inherent risk in there. There is no guarantee that those picks become as good as Bolton as a duo, let alone if 1 fails.

This is the risk and why Richmond will demand a high deal. Regardless of what Freo fans say, they have little leverage. Sure they could walk away, and they'd be within their rights to do so if the deal was ridiculous, but 9 and 10 aren't ridiculous. After Ashcroft and potentially Battle, both of those picks will be 10+. I know people say "don't include Ashcroft as you don't have access to him", but when looking at historical drafting you can't ignore those draftees. That we didn't have access top someone doesn't take away that those picks could be the 11th and 12th best players in the draft. Once you get outside the top 10, the risks around picks making it rise, and you can clearly see that with failures in those ranges.

I get why Freo fans might not be happy with trading Picks 9 and 10 for Shai, but he is exactly what they require to improve their team. Ranked 4th for points against, only 10th for points for. He will massively improve that later stat.

Like Freo will reject any absurd demands (I regard all 3 1sts as an absurd demand), Richmond will too. They know the value of Shai, and where trading him becomes a weaker trade for us, hence why we will push for 9 and 10 as well as giving some TPP and potentially a later pick (defo won't be 21 Freo fans), but more likely to be 1 of the 3rds that we have.

This is potentially the trade that tips you over the edge to win premierships. Tigers fans know all about this, go back to 2016 and see how many supporters were pissed off about trading "draft capital" for players like Prestia and Caddy (Nank was slightly different as we hadn't had a ruck since Maric) when we "were a long way off premierships".

I see the exact same rhetoric from Freo supporters about the Bolton trade. Guess how many Tigers fans are pissed off now about those trades that were deemed to be paying overs at the time?

no offense

Thats because you do not know what supporting a team with Shai that wins flags looks like

Shai is young enough to play in our next serious campaign, and giving him away for unders when he has 4 years left on his contract, does not make sense

Unless it is way way way overs I prefer he stays

Mate no offense taken - happy to exchange different views.

You know your list better than me, if you think you'll be back competing for a flag inside the next 4 years - that takes Bolton into his 30s and yes he will be a good piece.

I'm looking at your list and just thinking there is a fair few holes that will need to be filled in the next few years just through natural attrition. In 4 years time - players in their mid 30's will be Lynch, Prestia, Nankervis, Vlastuin & McIntosh .....couple of those you'd expect not to be there.

Obviously as a Freo fan - I think reaching a flag takes 30+ years so forgive my underestimation if you can get back up to even top 4 inside 5 ...especially if Tassie destroy the 2027 draft and free agency pool.

Its a good deal in terms of historical deals, but there is inherent risk in there. There is no guarantee that those picks become as good as Bolton as a duo, let alone if 1 fails.

This is the risk and why Richmond will demand a high deal. Regardless of what Freo fans say, they have little leverage. Sure they could walk away, and they'd be within their rights to do so if the deal was ridiculous, but 9 and 10 aren't ridiculous. After Ashcroft and potentially Battle, both of those picks will be 10+. I know people say "don't include Ashcroft as you don't have access to him", but when looking at historical drafting you can't ignore those draftees. That we didn't have access top someone doesn't take away that those picks could be the 11th and 12th best players in the draft. Once you get outside the top 10, the risks around picks making it rise, and you can clearly see that with failures in those ranges.

I get why Freo fans might not be happy with trading Picks 9 and 10 for Shai, but he is exactly what they require to improve their team. Ranked 4th for points against, only 10th for points for. He will massively improve that later stat.

Like Freo will reject any absurd demands (I regard all 3 1sts as an absurd demand), Richmond will too. They know the value of Shai, and where trading him becomes a weaker trade for us, hence why we will push for 9 and 10 as well as giving some TPP and potentially a later pick (defo won't be 21 Freo fans), but more likely to be 1 of the 3rds that we have.

This is potentially the trade that tips you over the edge to win premierships. Tigers fans know all about this, go back to 2016 and see how many supporters were pissed off about trading "draft capital" for players like Prestia and Caddy (Nank was slightly different as we hadn't had a ruck since Maric) when we "were a long way off premierships".

I see the exact same rhetoric from Freo supporters about the Bolton trade. Guess how many Tigers fans are pissed off now about those trades that were deemed to be paying overs at the time?

What I don't understand on Bigfooty - why are we already on war footing with each other?

We don't disagree that Shai is a good player, we don't disagree that the price is unlikely to be a low ball offer and the draft seems to be a good one with even talent.

It's like trade period has already started and Freo have tabled a future 4th rounder and Shai is leaking stories of not coming back to Melbourne, whilst Richmond is demanding 'all your base belong to us'

I would think Freo will have an upper limit and Richmond too ....if it doesn't get done, I can see Richmond shopping him next year and Freo trying to move assets into 2025 to have a crack at Warner.

I think it gets done relatively painless - the complicating factor being there appears to be a lot of trades likely to go down and it may be hard to get on board. Actually hoping Baker picks West Coast as if it is us - it just complicates it even more.

Mate no offense taken - happy to exchange different views.

You know your list better than me, if you think you'll be back competing for a flag inside the next 4 years - that takes Bolton into his 30s and yes he will be a good piece.

I'm looking at your list and just thinking there is a fair few holes that will need to be filled in the next few years just through natural attrition. In 4 years time - players in their mid 30's will be Lynch, Prestia, Nankervis, Vlastuin & McIntosh .....couple of those you'd expect not to be there.

Obviously as a Freo fan - I think reaching a flag takes 30+ years so forgive my underestimation if you can get back up to even top 4 inside 5 ...especially if Tassie destroy the 2027 draft and free agency pool.

That's cool

I am looking at your list and thinking that you are going nowhere.

Shai may change that, and you should pay way way overs because he is the perfect player for all the reasons I have explained

In any case its all good, I hope he stays a tiger and it sounds like most Freo fans feel the same way, so win/win.

Confirmed Shai Bolton, pick 14 & F3 (Rich) traded to Fremantle for picks 10, 11 & 18