Review Showdown 56

There were definite boos as Rankine went off. But as we saw with Goodes, Crow boos and Port boos all sound the same. Depending on what side of the fence you sit then then you can appropriate the boos to support your view. There were no boos coming from the members area where I sit (other members have said similar) so maybe they were coming from GA seats full of crows supporters or non-member Port supporters. But I am just theorising. No doubt some Port supporters booed and waved him off but Crows supporters were booing us getting the ball too.

I sat at a Crows home game and saw Schulz LOUDLY booed off so they can get fk'd with their sanctimonious cr@p.

I definitely don't condone booing off an injured player, but maybeeeeee if you taunt the crowd (with the my house celebration) and showboat the way Rankine does and you invite this kind of thing. The Crows were generally being massive knobs to the crowd all night - Rachelle of course, but Fogarty and Tillthorpe and others carry on like twats.

There were definite boos as Rankine went off. But as we saw with Goodes, Crow boos and Port boos all sound the same. Depending on what side of the fence you sit then then you can appropriate the boos to support your view. There were no boos coming from the members area where I sit (other members have said similar) so maybe they were coming from GA seats full of crows supporters or non-member Port supporters. But I am just theorising. No doubt some Port supporters booed and waved him off but Crows supporters were booing us getting the ball too.

I sat at a Crows home game and saw Schulz LOUDLY booed off so they can get fk'd with their sanctimonious cr@p.

I definitely don't condone booing off an injured player, but maybeeeeee if you taunt the crowd (with the my house celebration) and showboat the way Rankine does and you invite this kind of thing. The Crows were generally being massive knobs to the crowd all night - Rachelle of course, but Fogarty and Tillthorpe and others carry on like twats.

Come on. Context matters.

The boos came right after a heated brawl between the teams. People were caught in the moment. Rankine was wearing the wrong colours, and fans made sure he acknowledged that.

That is it. Whoever makes more of it is either wrong or lying.

Come on. Context matters.

The boos came right after a heated brawl between the teams. People were caught in the moment. Rankine was wearing the wrong colours, and fans made sure he acknowledged that.

That is it. Whoever makes more of it is either wrong or lying.
I think we are arguing the same point haha.

I definitely don't condone booing off an injured player, but maybeeeeee if you taunt the crowd (with the my house celebration) and showboat the way Rankine does and you invite this kind of thing.
This sums it up. Reap what you sow. Never did like the ' if you've got it, flaunt it ' mantra. Much preferred to live by the edict of an ex coach I played under - Des Tuddenham - "beat your opponent, don't humiliate them." Rankine would do well to take heed of this.

Have a mate who has referred to us as weak dog campaigners over 50 times in the last 2 days I reckon ahahaha
Bobs Burgers Dancing GIF

Rachele's team mates kicking him to the kerb

It's funny. As hard as he likes to celebrate, there seems to be a bit of a lack of enthusiasm amongst his teammates who get around him.

Personally, I wish Port drew a line in the sand and said we're not going to have any part in this sort of carry on. We're already one of the more reserved teams; I remember Finlayson shooshing the crowd once and I was kinda disappointed in Rioli's "goodnight" gesture when there was still time for Adelaide to steal it.

Just play footy. It's a team sport.

“dog act”

yet more hysteria.
Old mate Kenny not friends with Nicks anymore. About time Ken worked it out, we are here to win footy games not be mates.
Ken should of stayed away from Nicks, what was he expecting a coach that just lost a Showdown and knowing that his best player was taken out of the game, that's footy and how it goes sometimes, he doesn't have to make any excuses to an opposition coach, only if Donuts worked this out years ago.

I know this a generalisation but sheeeesh their supporters haven't taken this loss well......some genuinely insane and vitriolic stuff going on.
Since 2017, the Showdown wins are the only thing the Cow supporters have had. Now that's gone.

2018 - Cows 12th
2019 - Cows 11th
2020 - Cows 18th - Wooden Spoon
2021 - Cows 15th
2022 - Cows 14th
2023 - Cows 10th
2024 - Cows currently 15th

It's funny. As hard as he likes to celebrate, there seems to be a bit of a lack of enthusiasm amongst his teammates who get around him.

Personally, I wish Port drew a line in the sand and said we're not going to have any part in this sort of carry on. We're already one of the more reserved teams; I remember Finlayson shooshing the crowd once and I was kinda disappointed in Rioli's "goodnight" gesture when there was still time for Adelaide to steal it.

Just play footy. It's a team sport.

He has been called out in the media for preferring to celebrate with the crowd rather than his team mates

How to confuse a crowie in one line:

Why do you hate us so much if we are a new club formed in 1997?
That's a very good point. According to my calculations, 1997 is well after 1990, the year that seems to have them constantly frothing at the mouth.
Maybe it is the fact they lost the first Showdown that causes them the angst?
I think it's just part of their DNA. As a Geelong supporter, raise Leigh Colbert and watch them go apeshit. And as for booing, how many years is it since Danger came back home? They just have an innate inability to let things go.

I kinda like Rachelle Rachelle.

He's had a bit of a go, all in good fun, and everyone's enjoying themselves.
A bit of colour can make it fun, but one of the great thing about team sport is the idea that the team is higher than the individual. Adds a certain dignity and importance to it or something I dunno.

When there are people who do this type of thing because they want to be the guy in the AFL instagram pic that shows the final score, it detracts from the experience. It ruins the immersion and puts us back in the social media fever dream we all want to escape.

Rachelle when he did the Mbappe celebration swiftly went to his IG and posted a pic of himself juxtaposed next to Mbappe and tagged the bloke in it, probably hoping to get some sort of attention. It's revolting.

Review Showdown 56