Review Showdown 56

Just watched the replay. Healy and Riciutto were both quick to say that DBJ ducked when he was paid a legitimate free for a head high tackle in the last quarter. Healy then back-tracked when he saw the replay saying the Crows player was reckless. But of course his natural instinct was to side with the Crows as he did for most of the night.

I expect that kinda shite from Riciutto but Healy should at least try to be more impartial
Dennis Cometti has just turned 75 - I'd be more than happy to see him come out of retirement for a year!!!

I kinda like Rachelle Rachelle.

He's had a bit of a go, all in good fun, and everyone's enjoying themselves.

Besides, it’s been pretty funny seeing the same fans who freaked out and carried on over Duursma’s arrow now happily defending this bloke.

Just another Sanctimony Bowl.

A bit of colour can make it fun, but one of the great thing about team sport is the idea that the team is higher than the individual. Adds a certain dignity and importance to it or something I dunno.

When there are people who do this type of thing because they want to be the guy in the AFL instagram pic that shows the final score, it detracts from the experience. It ruins the immersion and puts us back in the social media fever dream we all want to escape.

Rachelle when he did the Mbappe celebration swiftly went to his IG and posted a pic of himself juxtaposed next to Mbappe and tagged the bloke in it, probably hoping to get some sort of attention. It's revolting.
I know. I know. But he's a floggy small forward, they are all a bit like that when they start kicking goals.

Can't wait for the daggers to come for Nicks, booing and sack Nicks signs. The media it will be like, well they haven't had any success in the last 7 years, it's only a normal reaction by the members.
Will they be called inpatient, fickle, disgusting, unappreciative, no of course not, that is reserved from the little old club from Alberton, that didn't even come out in support of it's paying members.

Can't wait for the daggers to come for Nicks, booing and sack Nicks signs. The media it will be like, well they haven't had any success in the last 7 years, it's only a normal reaction by the members.
Will they be called inpatient, fickle, disgusting, unappreciative, no of course not, that is reserved from the little old club from Alberton, that didn't even come out in support of it's paying members.
I'm hoping he coaches them ad infinitum and Steven Trigg comes back.

I'd be more up but Chrome Dome Sr has put a decade dent in it.

Besides, it’s been pretty funny seeing the same fans who freaked out and carried on over Duursma’s arrow now happily defending this bloke.

Just another Sanctimony Bowl.
Indeed

1724128754788.png

It's funny. As hard as he likes to celebrate, there seems to be a bit of a lack of enthusiasm amongst his teammates who get around him.

Personally, I wish Port drew a line in the sand and said we're not going to have any part in this sort of carry on. We're already one of the more reserved teams; I remember Finlayson shooshing the crowd once and I was kinda disappointed in Rioli's "goodnight" gesture when there was still time for Adelaide to steal it.

Just play footy. It's a team sport.
Because he never looks to include his team mates in his celebration and when he does it is an awkward afterthought that is obviously because he's been told.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’m actually loving the over the top theatrics this game has created. If the AFL was an organisation of unbiased reason it would schedule the next Showdown as a stand alone Thursday or Friday night game.

The opening 5 minutes promises to be anything but boring.
It should be a FTA game every single season, no question about it.

That's okay because we are the feral ones apparently.

Funny, genuinely the worse experience I've ever had fan wise at AO (Kens served up some doozy experiences there footy wise ) was from a very well to do lady in a top of the range Audi threatening to spit on us in our port gear after a showdown when all we were doing was quietly walking back to the car.

But no no......we're the ferals, and racists, and dogs, on and on and on.

Maybe unpopular opinion, but I quite liked Rachele mouthing off at Port fans as "toothless," which we all know is a tired old meme, that is probably outdated by 50 or so years. But it added some spice to the build-up, which I reckon is a part of the Showdown package. I especially was glad that it came from their side, not ours.

Then when he followed it up with the now infamous "mouth-point" to the crowd ...I just burst into laughter. I thought it was great, and it reminded me of Tredders' "telephone" celebration - which by the way, I also loved!

Yeah, I know he is a flog, but that was still a gutsy move, and it now goes into the tapestry that makes the Showdown the best rivalry game in the AFL. The fact that he played ordinary, and we won, makes it even more enjoyable.

Funny, genuinely the worse experience I've ever had fan wise at AO (Kens served up some doozy experiences there footy wise ) was from a very well to do lady in a top of the range Audi threatening to spit on us in our port gear after a showdown when all we were doing was quietly walking back to the car.

But no no......we're the ferals, and racists, and dogs, on and on and on.

From memory wasn't it Crow fans that spat on their own players after a loss years ago?

Was this top 5 for memorable showdowns?
There's been some classics. The first has to be up there, Wingard's, Motlop's, Phil Walsh's and Jenkin's spring to mind of more recent ones but there were some classics in 02/03 too.

I think it gets in there.

There a few posters who should be able to sort that question out.
Being impartial maybe:

1. Jenkins poster
2. Dawson after siren
3. Motlop Goal
4. Monfries bounce
5. The toothless/rankine KO game

I haven't been following as long as some other here, though

Being impartial maybe:

1. Jenkins poster
2. Dawson after siren
3. Motlop Goal
4. Monfries bounce
5. The toothless/rankine KO game

I haven't been following as long as some other here, though
I called it Wingard's, but you're probably right it is more famous for Monfries bounce.

I kinda like Rachelle Rachelle.

He's had a bit of a go, all in good fun, and everyone's enjoying themselves.
Nah, **** him.

If he'd talked shit all week but then come out and played some great footy, more power to him. But he didn't get a kick in the second half when the game got willing, and then turned off his Instagram comments after the game. Classic coward who can dish it out but can't take it. Poor man's Jack Ginnivan.

You talk about any Showdown ranking and #1 is at the top of the list. It was Ali v Frazier 1, but the good guys won. An insane build up and match.

Is that a young Jamie Brayshaw in the background looking very displeased?

Review Showdown 56