Autopsy Snow bunnies beat the Hawks

Yeah, this one
OLIVER%20Clayton.png
Unprecedented levels of flopping.

You’re wrong.. I said the last 2 years to make a point of wasted cash, was nothing personal and the post has absolute merit.
but he wasn't a waste of cash this year
like I said the other three I give you but Jaeger on that list is just flat out wrong

Wasted season?

Are you drunk?

We were never a realistic chance of winning the flag

Sometimes you have to be realistic in your expectations of where we are at

We are a work in progress, some players at the end of their stellar careers, some good young kids starting out, with a splattering of guys still producing near their best

This adds up to some great games, some average, and a few very poor ones

We made finals, which was more than most thought at the start of the season

Clarko needs to juggle the game plan a bit, but there are a lot of positives even though it’s straight sets for us this year
Made top 4 mate. Then dropped to 5th. Besides tigers there are no standout teams and I think you forget how many experienced premiership players are out there playing for us. How can anyone be so positive about straight sets boggles the mind, it really does. Maybe I’m more aggressive, brutal supporter than the rest but it’s not just me. Trust me, that was a **** up in the end. Time is ticking away on a lot of our players so if you think we can win the premiership next year then that’s fine, I have no problem with that and believe me, I’d hope you’re right and I’m not.

Why oh why could we not have played the majority of the game like we did in the first eight or so minutes of that final quarter? I just don't get it; it's a semi-final, for f***'s sake! It's not like we didn't have it in us.

Next year will be determined by how we fare at the trade table, but based on our straight-sets exit and our prissy, tepid brand of football, who on earth would want to don the brown and gold next year? I can tell you; no one who will add value to this team. The three-peat years are vapour now; they mean nothing.

Why would a Gaff or a Shiel pick us over anyone else?

3rd quarter umpiring zcrewed us, but Gunston kicks that goal and I think we win.

I know clarko has planned for future years, but doesn't mean it's less frustrating when you see teams stream fwd unaccounted for

Very good player but a foot soldier.. we need a bit more class

And you are always going to need the foot soldiers - we’ve seen a team full of quality midfielders still struggle but yes, two more quality mids and I reckon we’ll be fine

I thought Melbourne would be much better than that. They were so disappointing for all the hype that’s been served up.

They’ve got so many midfielders. So many more than us, and yet we outplayed for huge parts of that game through the middle, even with them sitting on Mitchell.

I said to my Dees supporting mate after the game to enjoy the win, because you just don’t know when this opportunity will come along again, but I didn’t have the heart to tell him that he really needed to enjoy this week because I think they’ll get a smacking next week in Perth at the hands of a side who can score more freely.

Totally agree - not often you get done by 5 goals but come away having less of an opinion of a side. I don't think they'd put up any more of a fight than we did against the tigers

Its 2016 all over again.

Start the year shit playing a slow gameplan that had been worked out by opposition coaches using a poor selection of 'favourite' players. Then in the second half of the season there was a gameplan and team selection change, and the results saw Haw. into the finals.
Come finals, the same favourite players got selected and the same slow worked-out gameplan was used and the Hawks season inploded.

You could tell from the run and spread that tempo footy was the go. Ridiculous.

The 2018 season turned around by playing fast moving footy.

Can't fault the players tonight. Tried their hearts out.
Coaching and team selection were horrid. Lost for words at how bad it was.

Bad kicking is bad footy, I know, but when the appropriate gameplan has been used, history has shown that bad kicking has still seen wins occur... just closer than it should have been.

We tried desperately hard tonight and all year. We certainly overachieved.
Gotta say though we don’t play the fast style that Rich, Melb and Coll are adopting. Possession game doesn’t cut it right now, is it time to give it a crack?

Either way we’re 3-4 quality players away from being front runners.

Not sure what I just watched..?

Great job to get top 4, then play the complete opposite footy to what got us there in the first place.?

Clarkson taking the piss as most players were........I mean Gunston, wtf? Run into an open goal and miss....get stuffed. Or maybe my expectations are just to high of so called AFL standard footballers?

Time for a list cleanout. We looked like a bottom 4 side the last 2 weeks.

Good season. Great to have new regulars in Worps, Morrison, JOM & Impey.
Should have moved Rough, Burgoyne and maybe Poppy.
Need to get 15+ games into Nash, Brand, Miles, Cousins next year.
5 - 10 games from Lewis.

I agree with Derm that we are four quality players short of being a flag threat. Problem is that we have no chance of bringing in four quality players for 2019.

Thought Impy was great. Another recruiting success.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Can't agree on that one (recruiting success sure but not great tonight). He took the game on (as I'm sure he is instructed) but then holds onto the ball until he is under pressure and then excecutes a shocking kick. At least 5 unneccessary turnovers by foot tonight when he had enough time to start with.

Totally agree - not often you get done by 5 goals but come away having less of an opinion of a side. I don't think they'd put up any more of a fight than we did against the tigers
The game seemed closer than 5 goals but let's be honest that Melboune list has a hell of a lot more upside than ours.

The fact they didn't get ahead of themselves and won again is huge for them.

I hope the Liam Shiels haters have a long cold look at themselves in the mirror over the summer. No JOM and an injured Mitchell tonight, Liam steps up and keeps us moving. He's kept us moving for the best part of the last decade, doesn't get any accolades, just gets on with it.
I agree completely. Both finals were good. His missed handball was bad luck but why was there three demons surrounding him and no help from teammates. Sicily just watched on.

No. Hawk through and through. Was there to watch the reserves win our first bit of silverware.

She does like telling people she watched the Pies win what was their last GF for a long while, and yes, it ws over the Dess. She would have left after the Reserves, but the crowd was simply to packed, and so couldnt leave the ground. Had to sit on the fence and suffer through the whole thing. Upsets a few Pies fans to hear that.

Will actually have to check that price. Coulda been a 6 pence.

The Football Record for that match cost sixpence.

Autopsy Snow bunnies beat the Hawks