So much for the soccer hype and it's "massive" threat to AFL

William G. Gruff said:
i'm a dual-code supporter. i buy a hawthorn and melbourne victory membership. i follow two codes passionately. it's a great arrangement.

Spot on.

This is exactly what the FFA are hoping for. AFL, RL supporters to attend the A League in the summer time. The FFA aren't stupid enough to take these two sports on. They are trying their best to live harmoniously with these codes. For some on here, they would rather ignore the facts and resort to childish mudslinging.

RICHO: A GOD AMONGST MEN said:
Agreed on the first point.

Re the second, once you've been exposed to the best, it's pretty hard to get interested in anything else.

Think of Aussie Rules as a gorgeous beach babe, perfect in all proportions. Soccer is a 60-year-old hooker from Europe with t***ies sagging down to her ankles. Now the Europeans can insist all they like about how their woman is the greatest, but those of us living Down Under know who'd we'd prefer to jump in the sack with.

To some, that makes us parochial and narrow-minded. But to those of us that have laid eyes on said beach babe, we can't help but laugh and think to ourselves: "If only you'd been exposed to the best, then you'd know."

Get it?

Why doesn't half of Australia agree with your analogy? I'm a huge swans fan, but i'm sane enough to know that few people in my city, despite being massively exposed to AFL, still don't go to games, or are even remotely interested. It's not as if the masses in NSW and QLD haven't had the chance to go to an AFL game, or to have witnessed a game?

Infact according to your analogy, given that europe can see AFL on pay TV, they should now all be following AFL. Why don't they see the 'babe' you are talking about?

realfootball said:
Truly the dumbest post on this thread.

And the most boring post.

Listen peanut, if it is truly the dumbest post...why did you reply? because it got under your thin skin....you realised that I am correct and you are clutching at straws.....regardless of your accusation...soccer is still the most boring game on earth perhaps in the universe...and hence why the supporters do dumb things like riot and have to have segregation from one another....no action on field = rioting and flag burning......I mean imagine someone at the footy burning an oppositions flag? get real, it would never happen because there too busy watching the greatest sport on the planet.....also think about this...oppostion supporters have a drink and a laugh after a game in Aussie Rules....in soccer oppostion supporters just want to kill one another off field full stop...

Aussie Rules Football = Action A Plenty

Soccer = Boring and Inane Sport

William G. Gruff said:
"soccer" is the new high-brow sport in this country.

the only evidence i need is the people who denounce it as a lesser sport.

i'm a dual-code supporter. i buy a hawthorn and melbourne victory membership. i follow two codes passionately. it's a great arrangement.

This man has the right attitude.

Re the second, once you've been exposed to the best, it's pretty hard to get interested in anything else.

Think of Aussie Rules as a gorgeous beach babe, perfect in all proportions. Soccer is a 60-year-old hooker from Europe with t***ies sagging down to her ankles. Now the Europeans can insist all they like about how their woman is the greatest, but those of us living Down Under know who'd we'd prefer to jump in the sack with.

To some, that makes us parochial and narrow-minded. But to those of us that have laid eyes on said beach babe, we can't help but laugh and think to ourselves: "If only you'd been exposed to the best, then you'd know."

Get it?

How do you explain 40,000 people visiting the 60 year old hooker when they have been exposed to the beach babe for years?

How about everyone just get over it?

If someone wants to watch soccer good on 'em. If someone wants to watch League or Union, good on 'em. If someone wants to watch Aussie Rules or Cricket, good on 'em. If someone wants to watch Basketball or American Football or Ice Hockey or Baseball or even Hurling, then good on 'em. It's completely childish of someone to say that because they like something more than they like the rest, then that thing has to be the best of the lot.

I watch Aussie Rules in the winter and Cricket all year round. I love my English Super-League, but I'm not a big fan of League or Union outside of that. I watch soccer and have been following Liverpool since '96. I've been an Orlando Magic fan since '94 when the Shaq was there, I watch GridIron on occasion, and Ice Hockey. I love Baseball, go Detroit, and I love the spectacle of Hurling.

Anyone who thinks of themselves as a sports lover should be able to appreciate more than just one sport, otherwise it's doubtful that they really like sport at all.

xyakks said:

If someone wants to watch soccer good on 'em. If someone wants to watch League or Union, good on 'em. If someone wants to watch Aussie Rules or Cricket, good on 'em. If someone wants to watch Basketball or American Football or Ice Hockey or Baseball or even Hurling, then good on 'em. It's completely childish of someone to say that because they like something more than they like the rest, then that thing has to be the best of the lot.

I watch Aussie Rules in the winter and Cricket all year round. I love my English Super-League, but I'm not a big fan of League or Union outside of that. I watch soccer and have been following Liverpool since '96. I've been an Orlando Magic fan since '94 when the Shaq was there, I watch GridIron on occasion, and Ice Hockey. I love Baseball, go Detroit, and I love the spectacle of Hurling.

Anyone who thinks of themselves as a sports lover should be able to appreciate more than just one sport, otherwise it's doubtful that they really like sport at all.

Well said :thumbsu:

GhostofJimJess said:
Well, enjoy your microscosm.

Must have been that frumpy retired schoolteacher from the WI (courtesy of RichosAGAM surreal sporty feminine world analogized) who taught you such big words?

Meanwhile, don't mind while the rest of us are off moonlighting with other "footy" games at Lang Park, Emirates Stadium or Lansdown Road.

Moonlighting? that's a bit desperate. Get a paper round or something, assuming you're old enough.

Get it?

I must admit, from a distance, they might look rather gorgeous. It's only on close inspection that one suspects that what we're dealing here with is not your 21st century kind of feminine beauty. It comes as a shock to learn that what seemed beautiful is actually an offshoot species, one who's evolution is at least 100,000 years behind that of the babes on most other beaches around the globe. Even the 60 year-old European hooker seems preferable after such a discovery.

realfootball said:
Why doesn't half of Australia agree with your analogy? I'm a huge swans fan, but i'm sane enough to know that few people in my city, despite being massively exposed to AFL, still don't go to games, or are even remotely interested. It's not as if the masses in NSW and QLD haven't had the chance to go to an AFL game, or to have witnessed a game?

Infact according to your analogy, given that europe can see AFL on pay TV, they should now all be following AFL. Why don't they see the 'babe' you are talking about?

Oh, they see it. Just like the guy walking through the mall with his 120kg wife notices the 18 year-old hottie in tight jeans walking in front of him. He just PRETENDS he doesn't notice.

mustapha said:
How do you explain 40,000 people visiting the 60 year old hooker when they have been exposed to the beach babe for years?

How do you explain guys having sex with fat, ugly chicks? It's a mystery but it does happen - I see heaps of them pushing prams out of the dole office near where I live.

And why are there porno sites featuring senior citizens, plumpers, chicks with d*cks and - get this - Asian males? There's obviously a market for these things else they wouldn't exist, but I think we can safely assume that the majority of us would prefer to visit bustyblondes.com.

As it relates to sport, when exposed to the fastest, most spectacular ball sport on the planet, MOST of us will choose this over something that has a tempo not that far removed from chess.

Jack Bridge said:
I must admit, from a distance, they might look rather gorgeous. It's only on close inspection that one suspects that what we're dealing here with is not your 21st century kind of feminine beauty. It comes as a shock to learn that what seemed beautiful is actually an offshoot species, one who's evolution is at least 100,000 years behind that of the babes on most other beaches around the globe. Even the 60 year-old European hooker seems preferable after such a discovery.

Except Aussie Rules is actually older than soccer, its rules having being codified long before that of the round ball game. So in terms of evolution, we're miles ahead. But in keeping with the analogy, I guess that means the beach babe is actually older than the hooker... which conjures images of Brigitte Bardot circa 2006 rather than 1965, something I'd rather not do.

Okay, a better analogy: boxing. Aussie Rules is this huge Anglo heavyweight champion, 6 foot 5, 140kg of well-honed muscle, fists like iron mallets. Soccer is this 60kg Italian wannabe, 5 foot nothing with a big head, flapping around the big guy's ankles, sprouting words like, "I'll have ya, mate! I'll have ya!" I know who I'd have my money on. For just like in boxing, in the battle of the codes, you've gotta fight in your own weight division.

The Kipster said:

A rather simplistic defensive reply there mate! Doesn't say much as the intelligence levels of you as a poster when you are reducing to using such hackneyed outdated stereotypes as to what you BELIEVE to be the truth:thumbsdown:

JF :rolleyes:

Except Aussie Rules is actually older than soccer, its rules having being codified long before that of the round ball game. So in terms of evolution, we're miles ahead. But in keeping with the analogy, I guess that means the beach babe is actually older than the hooker... which conjures images of Brigitte Bardot circa 2006 rather than 1965, something I'd rather not do.

Okay, a better analogy: boxing. Aussie Rules is this huge Anglo heavyweight champion, 6 foot 5, 140kg of well-honed muscle, fists like iron mallets. Soccer is this 60kg Italian wannabe, 5 foot nothing with a big head, flapping around the big guy's ankles, sprouting words like, "I'll have ya, mate! I'll have ya!" I know who I'd have my money on. For just like in boxing, in the battle of the codes, you've gotta fight in your own weight division.

Your football knowledge is way behind your analogizing skills.

Association football's first comprehensive set of rules were drawn up in late 1863, that's 5 years after aussie rules was first codified. Long time indeed.:rolleyes:

Australian Football is easily the closest of all the modern forms to the original mob codes of Medieaval England or Italian Calcio. By comparison, even rugby union looks evolved.

As rugby league is my preferred code - although not the only code I enjoy - you're the 60kg wannabe.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
A rather simplistic defensive reply there mate! Doesn't say much as the intelligence levels of you as a poster when you are reducing to using such hackneyed outdated stereotypes as to what you BELIEVE to be the truth:thumbsdown:

Truth is, with simple rules, both Aussie Rules and soccer tend to attract these types in greater numbers than other codes of football.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:

If I had to choose a desert island sport it would be aussie rules. Nevertheless I personally enjoy association football. I just believe the game could be improved to make it more exciting. I know people go on how nill all draws can be the most dramatic games. But at the same time, when you see a rare 5:4 game in the Premier league the commentators invariably say "what a goal feast!!".

I would love FIFA to simply increase the goal size (say 10%) so that the goal average moves up to at least 3 a game.

In 100 years the goal size has remained the same yet goal keepers roughly have gone from 180cm average to 195cm.

A 3 goal average in the world cup cup this yeat would = 180 -190 goals instead we got about 130.

Think of all the great shots that cannon into the wood work, and your left thinking "gee if only???"

Has fifa ever consider increasing the goal size?

I have to accept also that Aussie Rules could perhaps reduce the goal size (10%). Just as much as there is not enough goals in ass football, there is too much scoring in AFL

xyakks said:

No chance. There are those who think they have too much to lose, even if it's only their pride.

bullish23 said:
Spot on.

This is exactly what the FFA are hoping for. AFL, RL supporters to attend the A League in the summer time. The FFA aren't stupid enough to take these two sports on. They are trying their best to live harmoniously with these codes. For some on here, they would rather ignore the facts and resort to childish mudslinging.

exactly - and it means the FFA have to target people with the financial means to follow more than 1 code. therefore AFL diehards = white bogan trash :D

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:

outdated steroetypes......Hmmmm.....outdated why?.....still the same as it was 10yrs ago..rioting, flag burning, dart throwing.......great followers such as the aforementioned never change.....great qualities like that will transcend the generations....never outdated maybe out done at best.....

William G. Gruff said:
exactly - and it means the FFA have to target people with the financial means to follow more than 1 code. therefore AFL diehards = white bogan trash :D

You implying that RichoAGAM is a bogan (chav)?:eek:

Jack Bridge said:
Association football's first comprehensive set of rules were drawn up in late 1863, that's 5 years after aussie rules was first codified. Long time indeed.:rolleyes:

And remember that 'soccer' existed long before this - this was the first time that all the English schools established a common set of rules, but most schools played a sport quite similar to modern association football for years before this.

The Kipster said:
..also think about this...oppostion supporters have a drink and a laugh after a game in Aussie Rules....in soccer oppostion supporters just want to kill one another off field full stop...

The main reason why you don't hear much about violence at the footy, is because our media mates quickly help to cover up any unsavoury incidents.

mattwinter said:
And remember that 'soccer' existed long before this - this was the first time that all the English schools established a common set of rules, but most schools played a sport quite similar to modern association football for years before this.

Although without any evidence of a set of rules, there is evidence of football/soccer type games being played in china in the 14C

mustapha said:

Perhaps Melburnians like the odd 60 year old hooker once in a while just for variety. Let's see if 40,000 turn out for the Melbourne-Queensland game at Telstra Dome.

William G. Gruff said:
"soccer" is the new high-brow sport in this country.

the only evidence i need is the people who denounce it as a lesser sport.

You are too sensible for this thread. Don't you realise that according to some you are supposed to love only one code and hate all the others?

The Kipster said:
Listen peanut, if it is truly the dumbest post...why did you reply? because it got under your thin skin....you realised that I am correct and you are clutching at straws.....regardless of your accusation...soccer is still the most boring game on earth perhaps in the universe...and hence why the supporters do dumb things like riot and have to have segregation from one another....no action on field = rioting and flag burning......I mean imagine someone at the footy burning an oppositions flag? get real, it would never happen because there too busy watching the greatest sport on the planet.....also think about this...oppostion supporters have a drink and a laugh after a game in Aussie Rules....in soccer oppostion supporters just want to kill one another off field full stop...

If it was so boring, why do so many people watch it, play it, and support it with passion? Why are massive amounts of TV dollars, globally, spent on the game? Are all these people wrong... and you are right? I wonder who is living in wonderland.

According to you, the sole reason why people have caused trouble at games, is because they think the game they support is boring? Yeah right.

Even the most one-eyed, but edcuated AFL fan would know this is a rediculous concept. There is a multitude of reasons why trouble has been involved at football/soccer games, none the least than the fact that it is played on a massive scale. When you have a sport of such size, you increase the odds of things going wrong. If AFL was the same size globally, i'm not so sure everything would be as placid as a swans game.

So much for the soccer hype and it's "massive" threat to AFL