Soccer World Cup wants AFL to shut down for 8 weeks (Part II)

Yes it was a pain in the arse because all you soccer nuts kept starting threads on our board.

No one at my work, or friends & family gave a shit about it, keep pretending that all Aussies love it, but you're assumption that the majority of Aussies care is wrong.

By the way, soccer will lose a lot of the bandwagon supporters once the socceroos get bundled out in the first round of the next world cup. :D

we :heart: you mantis... but i like soccer

But there a number options that both the AFL and NRL could take to limit the impact the world cup will have on them.

And they've done some contingency planning around those options. The AFL's stance has always been that they are prepared to make adjustments to cater for the World Cup. But FFA keep shifting the goalposts and their communication seems poor. They haven't met with the AFL since October, which seems odd - unless they are confident of government backing if things end up at loggerheads.

Nah, I just don't live for the day that a foreign sporting body imposes its foreign sport on my life. Simply do not need it - least of all at the expense of something I enjoy. Suggest you emigrate to a soccer-loving country if the preferences of the majority here offend you.

lol it's not 1983 anymore. Soccer is a big part of australian sport. It's already more popular than cricket with people under 30. If you think the majority don't want the world cup here you live in a cave. also, lol at your use of 'foreign' as a pejorative. sums it up.

All in all, this thread is some pretty serious sooking about a possible 8 week disruption to the afl calendar in 12 years time. I think you'll all be able learn to cope with the ordeal.

and remember, you'll be enjoying the economic benefits even if you're not enjoying the sport

Wow, the AFL will have to move games for 8 weeks. Boo Hoo.

Have a 4 week break, and the other 4 weeks play them in Stadiums that are not used for the Cup.

Lets face it, it is not as if the AFL has a fair draw, it is as corrupted as they come, so the Melbourne teams having a string of games at home into the finals is not that big of a deal.

It will MAYBE happen once in your life, the Biggest Sporting Event on Earth.

And you guys call yourselves the Sporting Capital of the World.

For shame.

lol it's not 1983 anymore. Soccer is a big part of australian sport. It's already more popular than cricket with people under 30.

Men don't play soccer here, kids do. Soccer doesn't retain them as they reach adulthood.

If you think the majority don't want the world cup here you live in a cave.

I've been ambivalent until today. Reading through the hundreds of comments on the HS website, many from people who obviously love soccer but are as obnoxious as any fan of Australian football, and insistent that others should meekly step aside, has swayed me firmly against it.

also, lol at your use of 'foreign' as a pejorative. sums it up.

Just to remove any trace of doubt...wogball can get ****ed.

and remember, you'll be enjoying the economic benefits even if you're not enjoying the sport

Ah, the oft-cited but mysterious "economic benefits". Please state your case using figures. No-one else will.

Even without the World Cup, ignorant, insular, neanderthal Australia is a far better place to live than the vast majority of soccer-loving nations.

And they've done some contingency planning around those options. The AFL's stance has always been that they are prepared to make adjustments to cater for the World Cup. But FFA keep shifting the goalposts and their communication seems poor. They haven't met with the AFL since October, which seems odd - unless they are confident of government backing if things end up at loggerheads.
Absolutely right. 4 weeks became 8 weeks became 10 weeks then an idea came along which would have put the MCG out of commission for most of the season.
The FFA tried moving the goalposts with an idea to reconfigure the MCG into a rectangular stadium, but the AFL and media activity today have scotched that idea and the MCG will remain an oval.

Stories like we've seen today are likely to continue until the FFA comes out with concrete information for the other codes what is required of them.
Specifically, information such as:
The MCG will be unavailable for AFL between the dates of (start) and (end)
Etihad Stadium will be unavailable for AFL between the dates of (start) and (end)
etc for each AFL venue the World Cup is using.
The AFL will be requested/required to not schedule games between the dates of (start) and (end).

Until these blanks are definitively known and locked in, rumour and innuendo will fill the void. And with each round of rumour and innuendo, public support for the World Cup will fall. And if the public aren't behind the bid, the government will withdraw their support.

Wow, the AFL will have to move games for 8 weeks. Boo Hoo.

Have a 4 week break, and the other 4 weeks play them in Stadiums that are not used for the Cup.

Lets face it, it is not as if the AFL has a fair draw, it is as corrupted as they come, so the Melbourne teams having a string of games at home into the finals is not that big of a deal.

It will MAYBE happen once in your life, the Biggest Sporting Event on Earth.

And you guys call yourselves the Sporting Capital of the World.

For shame.

ROFL, all you bandwagoners will have RSI soon, with all your dreams about an insignifcant event that will not happen in Australia.

there's nothing mysterious about it. It'd be one of the biggest single investments in infrastructure in the country's history. In South Africa it has created over 400,000 jobs. They are expecting 450,000 overseas visitors. the world is watching south africa and the flow on benefits from tourism will be enormous.

can you see why some might think the fact that we might have to watch footy at princes park or the dome for 8 weeks is a poor reason to pass up this opportunity?

lol it's not 1983 anymore. Soccer is a big part of australian sport. It's already more popular than cricket with people under 30. If you think the majority don't want the world cup here you live in a cave. also, lol at your use of 'foreign' as a pejorative. sums it up.

All in all, this thread is some pretty serious sooking about a possible 8 week disruption to the afl calendar in 12 years time. I think you'll all be able learn to cope with the ordeal.

So why go on an AFL board

ROFL, all you bandwagoners will have RSI soon, with all your dreams about an insignifcant event that will not happen in Australia.

If it won't happen, then why are getting yourself so worked up?

Getting worked up about missing out on a few games in 13 years time?

OMG, the AFL is going to collapse in a heap.

Please.

This shouldn't be an debate over which sport is better, nor should it be about what sport Aussie's love/play/care more about. This is bigger then that, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity, the biggest sporting event in the world right here. I guarantee nearly every anti-world cup supporter on here will beneift economicaly from the world cup, admit it or not, EVERYONE from a cafe owner or a tradie or CEO of a company, YOU WILL BENEFIT! Germany profited $200 million from 2006. $200 MILLION in their back pocket!! Cape Town are expecting 150 000 visitors on match days! How can we pass that up!?! I understand the sensitivity of this topic, but be reasonable... this is more then a sport, its an opportunity

If it won't happen, then why are getting yourself so worked up?

Getting worked up about missing out on a few games in 13 years time?

OMG, the AFL is going to collapse in a heap.

Please.

Nope not getting worked up, just having fun putting you soccer bandwagoners back in your place & make you realise that Australia will never let this boring game dictate when & where we play our great game. :p

Having the world cup is a once in a lifetime event that will be fantastic for australia, and will do wonders for the economy, create jobs - people need to start looking at the big picture.

Any decent sporting admin should be able to rearange there sporting calendar so the world cup has limited impact on them. It may be as simple as cancelling the preseason comp and starting the season early. But there a number options that both the AFL and NRL could take to limit the impact the world cup will have on them.

So what you are saying is FIFA are not decent administrators because they can't schedule around our sports we also have to supply the decent administrators now as well.

btw that 200 million figure for germany was only the profit made by Germany's World Cup organising committee. The country as a whole obviously benefited significantly more. South Africa are projecting a 7 billion dollar boost to their economy.

I would think this thread is for true AFL lovers to bag soccers attempt to take over our grounds, not for a debate on which sport is better

How many Stadiums did the Germans have to build?

How many top level soccer training facilities did they need to build?

200 million would be gone long before a ball was kicked.

And that's not counting the hundred of millions required to compensate AFL, NRL and the various stadiums.

Within the space of 9 months I saw both my AFL team win the premiership and my national team play in Germany at the world cup. My two greatest live sporting moments. I appreciate both forms of football and can comment with some balance, unlike some.

Remember one point.

It is not the world cup that will leave a "legacy" for the Australian Football League. It is the stadium legacy of the Australian game of football that is providing the FFA with an opportunity to bid in the first place.

Without the great success of the Australian Football League and the stadiums it has largely financed, the FFA would not even be in the running.

They need to come up with some far more professional and detailed answers to ensure that our multi billion dollar national game is not damaged.

And that's not counting the hundred of millions required to compensate AFL, NRL and the various stadiums.

SSSSHHHH they don't want to talk about how much it cost to be able to hold the event, they just want to talk about how much money came in.

well our situation would be more analogous to South Africa, who basically had to build everything from scratch. And I've already explained the extent to which they are benefitting. Accept that the wc will be extremely positive economically and find another reason for standing in it's way. and it better be good enough to justify the loss.

Typical of what we Vic Swans have to put up with, some up there in NSW couldn't give a stuff about AFL, its bandwagon city.
I would hate soccer to take over our footy season, OUR GAME .
Think of this , thousands of soccer fans would love it here, but hundreds of thousands of AFL fans want our game here , uninterupted!

I'll let the anti-syd crack go as you dont seem to get how syd is a multi-sports city which is why west syd will be successful down the track.

What you seem not to understand is that the world cup is a one off event, with the olympics being the only sporting event that is bigger. The bottom line is that if the world cup comes here the afl will just have to adapt - end of story get use to it. If we have a break of 8 - 10 weeks from afl is it really the end of the world. After all when it comes back it will still be the great game it is.

I'll let the anti-syd crack go as you dont seem to get how syd is a multi-sports city which is why west syd will be successful down the track.

What you seem not to understand is that the world cup is a one off event, with the olympics being the only sporting event that is bigger. The bottom line is that if the world cup comes here the afl will just have to adapt - end of story get use to it. If we have a break of 8 - 10 weeks from afl is it really the end of the world. After all when it comes back it will still be the great game it is.

It's not going to happen Sydney & soccer bandwagoner. Fifa are going to see how much angst there is against the game, so they'll pick a soccer friendly country to host it.

i doubt sepp blatter reads bigfooty. and there's not much angst outside this board. vlad was a bit stroppy yesterday, but he'll calm down and come to terms with the ffa. the vast majority of regular people can see the benefits and hope we can get it. here's hoping! I think we're a decent shot.

I'm sure all the parties will sort these technicalities out. But here's an interesting article on the phantom economic benefits of hosting a World Cup

On the German World Cup:

http://www.dw-world.de/dw/article/0,,2449448,00.html

Some edited highlights:

Soccer World Cup Hardly Touched German Economy

The most tangible economic outcome of the World Cup was its marketing valueThe patriotism and high spirits unleashed by this past summer's World Cup were expected to boost the German economy, but experts say the soccer event had virtually no impact on growth and employment.

The World Cup soccer fever which swept Germany last summer had no meaningful effect for the overall economy, according to a report released this week by the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW).

The authors of the report, Karl Brenke and Gert Wagner, who conducted a statistical analysis, said that the expectation the World Cup would significantly increase spending, were overly exaggerated.

"The World Cup's contribution to economic growth has been negligible. It was great fun. Nothing more, nothing less," said Wagner, the institute's research director of social risk management.

Separating out the economic effects of a mega sports events from other business trends is problematic, said sports economist Markus Kurscheidt of the University of Bochum.

"One has to be able to statistically filter other variables to determine the sole effect of the World Cup," said Kurscheidt.

Only one thing remains clear: from 2002 to 2005, the infrastructure and promotion costs in hosting the big event boosted overall economic performance by barely 0.2 percent or at most 0.7 percent.

Not surprisingly, the main beneficiaries of the World Cup largesse was FIFA, the international soccer federation, and the German Soccer Association DFB, which cashed in 187 million euros ($254 million) and 21 million euros respectively. The restaurant industry, where bars and outdoor cafes broadcast the live games, profited handsomely, although the sunny skies also boosted public viewing on huge projection screens.

Wagner suggested that any positive financial outcome is tainted by perception. "Whoever expected to make profits would naturally want to attribute overall growth to the effects of the World Cup," said Wagner.

Sports economist Kurscheidt was even more critical in his analysis.

"Before the 2002 soccer games in Japan and South Korea, big profit figures were floated around. The World Cup was supposed to overhaul the economies of whole countries," he said.

Both the DIW and Kurscheidt already had low expectations before the 2006 summer games even took off.

"The direct impetus could not have been so huge. One month of partying can't be a rainmaker for the entire year. Though that doesn't necessarily mean that it had no effect whatsoever," said Kurscheidt.

The most important outcome of a great sports event on the scale of an Olympics or World Cup is its public relations value, he added.

United States 1994

It's been established that while the 1994 WC was one of the most profitable ever for FIFA, the U.S host cities (read U.S. taxpayers) actually lost a combined US$9.2Billion (and yes that was with a "B"). Despite "experts" predicting a $4b boost.

I'm not personally going to rule out support for a WC bid. Sure beats watching Sydney FC waffling along. But IMHO anyone who plays the financial benefit card probably has an agenda.

Soccer World Cup wants AFL to shut down for 8 weeks (Part II)