Roast St Kilda in no mans land

Did he do his PCL playing in the ruck? It's the typical injury ruckmen have suffered. I hope in the quest to try to help him find form, the team hasn't increased his risk of this injury. North does the same playing Larkey as a relief ruckman - I hate it when this happens.

Not sure, but I did remember seeing him fall awkwardly in a marking contest early so I reckon that was when he did it.

We threw him into the ruck after half time when we subbed Campbell off.

I know.

And I think everyone with an ounce of common sense knows that there is literally nothing you will learn about an experienced coach that you know personally from sitting through an interview process.

It's the most ludicrous suggestion I've ever heard.

What could he have possibly said in an interview, that the people that hired him hadn't already discussed at length with him previously, that would have changed their minds?

Geez, ya reckon?

Hadn't coached for 10 years, different people running the club since he was there last, different playing group.

An interview process definitely wouldn't have been a crystal ball, but would've 100% provided insight as to whether he's the right personality & coaching style for the club & current playing group.

It certainly wouldn't have hurt.

It's common - but it's not designed so you can learn what a coaches philosophy and expectations are if you already know them!!

Put it this way, if Lyon had have agreed to a 'process' at Carlton, he was guaranteed the job. The people at Carlton that had already conditionally offered him the role weren't going to learn anything that they didn't already know about him or his style.
I think that you are making assumptions that might not be true. Carltons current vice president Patty Kinnersley (who heads up our Carlton respects program) was rumoured to have concerns about Ross Lyon and the allegations raised against him by a female employeee at the Dockers.

Ross went from being very keen on Footy Classified one week to having no interest in undertaking an interview and withdrawing from the position the next week. Ross would like you to believe that it was because he was a proven senior coach who shouldn't have to do interviews.

Me, I'm not quite sure about that. One thing that I'm sure of is that we absolutely dodged a bullet there.

Looking at crowds this year in Melbourne and Geelong only. St. Kilda average 33,302, Western Bulldogs average 32,934 and North 32,358. However if you change the Collingwood game to docklands and get 44,000 then St.Kilda's average crowd would only 30,467.

I remember them being much bigger but they have really shrunk over the last 20 years and in 10 - 20 years there is every chance they are the team that does not exist.

Rnd T Opponent Venue Crowd Date Melbourne Crowd
R2AGeelongKardinia Park39352Sat 16-Mar-2024 7:30 PM39352
R3HCollingwoodM.C.G.69517Thu 21-Mar-2024 7:30 PM69517
R4AEssendonDocklands44412Sat 30-Mar-2024 4:20 PM44412
R5ARichmondNorwood Oval9425Sun 07-Apr-2024 2:50 PM
R6AGreater Western SydneyManuka Oval12448Sat 13-Apr-2024 1:45 PM
R7HWestern BulldogsDocklands26719Thu 18-Apr-2024 7:30 PM26719
R8APort AdelaideAdelaide Oval40306Fri 26-Apr-2024 7:10 PM
R9HNorth MelbourneDocklands27009Sat 04-May-2024 4:35 PM27009
R10AHawthornYork Park15112Sat 11-May-2024 1:45 PM
R11HFremantleDocklands19265Sat 18-May-2024 7:30 PM19265
R12AMelbourneM.C.G.37403Sun 26-May-2024 3:20 PM37403
R13AWest CoastPerth Stadium47526Sat 01-Jun-2024 2:35 PM
R14HGold CoastDocklands17992Sat 08-Jun-2024 7:30 PM17992
R15ABrisbane LionsGabba27445Fri 14-Jun-2024 7:40 PM
R17HPort AdelaideDocklands18052Sun 30-Jun-2024 1:10 PM18052
Average33,302
R2AMelbourneM.C.G.44100Sun 17-Mar-2024 1:00 PM44100
R3HGold CoastEureka Stadium9752Sun 24-Mar-2024 1:00 PM
R4HWest CoastDocklands22991Sun 31-Mar-2024 1:00 PM22991
R5HGeelongAdelaide Oval45970Sat 06-Apr-2024 7:40 PM
R6HEssendonDocklands50144Fri 12-Apr-2024 7:40 PM50144
R7ASt KildaDocklands26719Thu 18-Apr-2024 7:30 PM26719
R8AFremantlePerth Stadium45931Sat 27-Apr-2024 5:40 PM
R9HHawthornDocklands29555Sun 05-May-2024 4:00 PM29555
R10ARichmondM.C.G.38007Sat 11-May-2024 7:30 PM38007
R11AGreater Western SydneyShowground7747Sat 18-May-2024 4:35 PM
R12HSydneyDocklands27377Thu 23-May-2024 7:30 PM27377
R13ACollingwoodDocklands43298Fri 31-May-2024 7:40 PM43298
R14HBrisbane LionsDocklands31280Fri 07-Jun-2024 7:40 PM31280
R15HFremantleDocklands21796Sat 15-Jun-2024 1:45 PM21796
R17ANorth MelbourneDocklands27005Sat 29-Jun-2024 1:45 PM27005
Average32,934
R2AGreater Western SydneyShowground8034Sat 16-Mar-2024 4:35 PM
R3HFremantleDocklands17589Sat 23-Mar-2024 1:45 PM17589
R4HCarltonDocklands47565Fri 29-Mar-2024 4:20 PM47565
R5ABrisbane LionsNorwood Oval9037Fri 05-Apr-2024 4:40 PM
R6AGeelongKardinia Park31194Sun 14-Apr-2024 1:00 PM31194
R7HHawthornDocklands30648Sun 21-Apr-2024 4:05 PM30648
R8HAdelaideBellerive Oval5365Sat 27-Apr-2024 1:45 PM
R9ASt KildaDocklands27009Sat 04-May-2024 4:35 PM27009
R10AGold CoastMarrara Oval7036Sat 11-May-2024 7:00 PM
R11AEssendonDocklands43125Sun 19-May-2024 1:10 PM43125
R12HPort AdelaideBellerive Oval4705Sat 25-May-2024 1:45 PM
R14AWest CoastPerth Stadium43276Sat 08-Jun-2024 2:35 PM
R15HCollingwoodDocklands38311Sun 16-Jun-2024 1:00 PM38311
R16AMelbourneM.C.G.28774Sat 22-Jun-2024 7:30 PM28774
R17HWestern BulldogsDocklands27005Sat 29-Jun-2024 1:45 PM27005
Average32,358

Disaster is an over reaction clearly. But having such an unbalance week to week will throw even more unevenness into the comp. When the sport has so many complications this is just an extra one most dont need
There are byes anyway.

And surely it couldn't get any more unbalanced than it has been for the last 30 years?

Did he do his PCL playing in the ruck? It's the typical injury ruckmen have suffered. I hope in the quest to try to help him find form, the team hasn't increased his risk of this injury. North does the same playing Larkey as a relief ruckman - I hate it when this happens.
He looked like he couldn't run on Saturday to me. He literally fell over a few times.

There was heaps of talk about his lack of effort - but to me he looked hobbled more than anything.

There are byes anyway.

And surely it couldn't get any more unbalanced than it has been for the last 30 years?
Well I mean yeah adding byes every week instead of 6/24 (or what ever the number is) would be more unbalanced. Its probably not a huge difference but its clearly not ideal. The comp should be looking at ways of reducing the inequities when ever they can not adding more randomness - so yeah if you want to add a team we should look to even the numbers sooner than later

Geez, ya reckon?

Hadn't coached for 10 years, different people running the club since he was there last, different playing group.

An interview process definitely wouldn't have been a crystal ball, but would've 100% provided insight as to whether he's the right personality & coaching style for the club & current playing group.

It certainly wouldn't have hurt.
You don't think that the people that offered him the role knew him?

You think they just plucked his name off an old footy card and sent him a job offer via his PA?

Or just saw him on Footy Classified and emailed through an offer?

Well I mean yeah adding byes every week instead of 6/24 (or what ever the number is) would be more unbalanced. Its probably not a huge difference but its clearly not ideal. The comp should be looking at ways of reducing the inequities when ever they can not adding more randomness - so yeah if you want to add a team we should look to even the numbers sooner than later
But the comp is about growing and making money - it's not about making the comp balanced. It hasn't been decades.

I think that you are making assumptions that might not be true. Carltons current vice president Patty Kinnersley (who heads up our Carlton respects program) was rumoured to have concerns about Ross Lyon and the allegations raised against him by a female employeee at the Dockers.

Ross went from being very keen on Footy Classified one week to having no interest in undertaking an interview and withdrawing from the position the next week. Ross would like you to believe that it was because he was a proven senior coach who shouldn't have to do interviews.

Me, I'm not quite sure about that. One thing that I'm sure of is that we absolutely dodged a bullet there.
But what does that have to with him having to go through a formal process?

What you just described, if true, happened outside of any formal process.

Not going through a formal process, does not mean that there is no process.

Saints just need to splash cash/trade picks and get 2 genuinely good mids in and we'll improve drastically.

Our mids are genuine dirt. Not only do we lack speed but we lack polish and talent. It's criminal how bad we let it get. No offence to guys like Seb Ross, but he's been paid a fortune over the years and finished top 5 in our best and fairest consistently and somehow he still doesn't know how to kick on his right foot and his left foot is 50% at best.

Just criminal

Saints just need to splash cash/trade picks and get 2 genuinely good mids in and we'll improve drastically.

Our mids are genuine dirt. Not only do we lack speed but we lack polish and talent. It's criminal how bad we let it get. No offence to guys like Seb Ross, but he's been paid a fortune over the years and finished top 5 in our best and fairest consistently and somehow he still doesn't know how to kick on his right foot and his left foot is 50% at best.

Just criminal

No elite talent is moving to the Saints.
Managers wouldn’t even take the call …

You don't think that the people that offered him the role knew him?

You think they just plucked his name off an old footy card and sent him a job offer via his PA?

Or just saw him on Footy Classified and emailed through an offer?

I didn’t say any of that, nice attempt at a strawman, though.

A formal extensive interview process in a professional environment wouldn’t have hurt, I’m not sure how one could argue otherwise tbh.

No elite talent is moving to the Saints.
Managers wouldn’t even take the call …
Serious question, why are there so many Blues fans in the thread? There seem to be more Blues fans here than Saints fans bagging out Saints.

Maybe just try enjoying your own long coming period of success, why the need to constantly rag on a smaller club?

Didn't Ratten get the sack because the club thought he was underperforming with their list?

Now Ross is saying the list isn't good enough & need a rebuild and the club is now in agreeance?

It's weird.
Club was wrong about the list.

Ross is right.

Funnily enough the club being wrong arguably got Ratten needlessly fired to get him the job.

The coaching staff including Ross has been there awhile and their skills have dropped off.

Players going backwards.

Whose fault is it if it isn't Ross and co? I don't follow
To be fair, I don't watch them that closely - but my observations over the past few years is that they have no good players and their skills suck bad.

I don't think their shitty skills is a Lyon thing. They've been mostly abhorrent at the basics since Richardson was there.