Bumped Steven Motlop (merged roast threads)

Yeah I know. Here's an example of my thinking: Guthrie has been just as weak, while also offering 10% the attacking threat Motlop does. Lang and Murdoch have hardly been bulls either, yet outside of the St Kilda game neither have given us much. Blicavs as often as not is offering little at all of value. Thurlow hasn't shown anything this season. So sure, drop Motlop. But just make sure you drop at least those five players first.
Yep, drop 'em all! :D

It's the wrong thread to start banging on about any other players but don't worry, I definitely have an opinion!

He's not a gun player. He was a gun player over 18 months ago. Not any more. People need to wake up!
That's why nobody wanted him at the end of last year. Clubs get the inside info on players and Motlop has done very little this year to turn that rep around. Has talent, no doubt but then so did Shannon, Daniel and Marlon.
All were chronic and frustrating underachievers.

Just can't believe he shit the bed when Danger kicked it to his advantage :mad:
That is indefensible for me... clearly put in short steps and squibbed.

And if he had kept on his initial speed he marks without breaking stride.. or he gets a free as May would have blocked his run at the ball

Heavily strapped shoulder might explain that, as weak as it looks. In no way am i defending him but if you are not 100% right take a spell .....
I dont see the point in constantly jabbing up players it just sets them right back!!

He's had a heavily strapped shoulder since game 2 of his career.
Exactly. I stuffed my shoulder in a massive car accident 9 months ago and once it goes its never coming back no matter how many jabs you put in it or how much surgery you have!!

Footballers are humans after all, there is life after footy!

The question should be why Danger kicked to Motlop to begin with when he had Parsons running into space inside the 50.

This guy is just killing me. I cannot recall a geelong player from the 70s to now who has put in such soft efforts. Maybe Darren Morgan but no one else is coming to mind. I know everybody got a bit excited with Josh Hunt some years ago but at least that was backing into a pack. The two incidents from the past 2 weeks dont even come close to the unknown of backing into a pack. And just to make it stand out even more to me was good old Tom Lonergan putting his body, kidney and complete wellbeing on the line in the second half when he backed into a pack. Motlop has no future at geelong. He is not the type of player that we need running around and I worry that Parfitt, Cockatoo, Narkle and co will be influenced by him. Reserves now for me and not to return until he turns such soft efforts completely around. I dont care if we have injuries, an example needs to be set now for this football club and set now.

Heavily strapped shoulder might explain that, as weak as it looks. In no way am i defending him but if you are not 100% right take a spell .....
I dont see the point in constantly jabbing up players it just sets them right back!!
Nothing wrong with a bit of self preservation if the alternative option will end very badly. He knows his limitations, is not a squib, and has a history of shoulder surgery. It doesn't look good, but at real time speed.....
His importance to us is on the ground, not out of action possibly for 3 months because of a likely futile brave decision.

Nothing wrong with a bit of self preservation if the alternative option will end very badly. He knows his limitations, is not a squib, and has a history of shoulder surgery. It doesn't look good, but at real time speed.....
His importance to us is on the ground, not out of action possibly for 3 months because of a likely futile brave decision.
Not buying in to incidents. Motlop will be retained for next week solely because there are too many players to come out before him.
Lang is not ready.
GHS is too slow for AFL footy
Parsons needs time in the twos to develop. Love the kid, but when the chips are down you need experience to pull you up
Thurlow needs a few weeks in the twos
Harry's reflexes appear shot. Couldn't drop him though (or could you)
Murdoch played well in stints, but he needs to become less stinty.
Black has some skill, but wouldn't want him without 3 forwards ahead of him
With McCarthy, S.Selwood, Kolo, Stewart, Ruggles, Smith in the wings, we still need a small goalkicker to go with McCarthy and Menzel up forward.
But the lad is incredibly lucky to still have a spot

Cannot buy into this argument. When its your time to go, its time to go. If he really wanted that footy he could have kept his speed going and jumped and slightly turned to absorb the impact into his hip and buttock. No more excuses for this guy please as he simply doesnt deserve it.

thought I'd be in a minority of one with that assessment Vdubs - he wasn't going to win that contest and May would have poleaxed him into next week had he not taken the smart option - futile brave decision indeed. Poor decision by Dangerfield to kick to that contest.

i posted the very same seconds after the incident in the game day thread...

'simply should have kept going, marks without breaking stride, or turns to take the impact and...' - very easy to say from the couch when watching a slo-mo replay. wasnt going to happen.

he wasnt reaching that ball before may, who is twice his size, and at best he gets splattered and the two remaining suns waltz the ball away.

'jono brown level' backing back into packs might look good (i dont think it does - looks idiotic to me) to those watching who demand unflinching courage at all times, but getting wiped out for no advantage is pointless.

it really wasnt that bad an incident, and him flying into whatever is coming would have achieved probably no net benefit, and maybe a large net loss - eg, we lose the ball anyway, and he is out for anywhere from 30 seconds to a few weeks/months.

id have not only backed out of that one, id have taken a few dozen quick steps in the opposite direction.

he wasn't going to win that contest
Must be something in the air today CC - I just can't stop disagreeing with you! :D

Had Motlop gone as he should have he was in prime position to take the mark or at least win a free.

Must be something in the air today CC - I just can't stop disagreeing with you! :D

Had Motlop gone as he should have he was in prime position to take the mark or at least win a free.

have generally agreed with you over the years on a wide range of issues CE, so won't be taking it personally -
you're one of those posters who often saves me from having to type as you've already stated a view that I've held better than I would have done ..

I reckon he'd have ended up on a stretcher, May is a big unit. Might have won a free, not sure he'd have been taking it though. I reckon May's team mate takes a short step when he sees what's coming too!
Agree to disagree once again, as it's not really a debate that can be resolved - the footage is up there (btw Bots has really outed himself as a gif-master of late; expect plenty of requests BotsMaster ) and yet we both see different outcomes had Motlop not pulled up short.

now let us retreat to our corners before round 3 ;)

i posted the very same seconds after the incident in the game day thread...

'simply should have kept going, marks without breaking stride, or turns to take the impact and...' - very easy to say from the couch when watching a slo-mo replay. wasnt going to happen.

he wasnt reaching that ball before may, who is twice his size, and at best he gets splattered and the two remaining suns waltz the ball away.

'jono brown level' backing back into packs might look good (i dont think it does - looks idiotic to me) to those watching who demand unflinching courage at all times, but getting wiped out for no advantage is pointless.

it really wasnt that bad an incident, and him flying into whatever is coming would have achieved probably no net benefit, and maybe a large net loss - eg, we lose the ball anyway, and he is out for anywhere from 30 seconds to a few weeks/months.

id have not only backed out of that one, id have taken a few dozen quick steps in the opposite direction.

That's the way I saw it too Barmy, it didn't really bother me at the time so much as Dangerfield's kick did.
Jonathon Brown missed a lot of football from being unnecessarily 'brave'.
Not going to hang Motlop for that decision.

Cannot buy into this argument. When its your time to go, its time to go. If he really wanted that footy he could have kept his speed going and jumped and slightly turned to absorb the impact into his hip and buttock. No more excuses for this guy please as he simply doesnt deserve it.
When you say GO, he would have been GONE, without the ball, likely with a significant injury.
May is a large player 190/93, had momentum anyway and was lining Mots up, Motlop 182/75. Just no value in that collision at all.

Bumped Steven Motlop (merged roast threads)