Swans Talk in the Media Part 2

It has to be remembered the entire fiasco where Roos essentially burned his bridges at the Swans last year was completely initiated by his position at the Academy. It burned him for some reason which I have trouble understanding. But I know this much, anything he says cannot be regarding as an objective comment.

We were paying him $250k to coach children. We told him his new contract couldn't be that high again (I think the figure offered was $150k?). What was Paul's response? Complete hissy fit. Later whinged in the media about how we'd basically insulted him by cutting his salary. As if we were supposed to agree with him that he'd been wronged somehow? The entitlement he displayed was so unedifying. I still don't understand it.

And within months he had had moved his family to Melbourne and taken up the Melb job. Early the next year he then used his new coaching position to launch an attack on his old club - attempted to poach Perris and our Assistant coaches, had a public spat with Colless. Commented in the media that he doubted Buddy would have a significant impact in Sydney and told the world "I no longer have any emotional attachment to Sydney"

I call bullshit. Jealousy and pettiness can be considered emotions in my book.

Anything he says about the Academy has to be taken with a pinch of salt. The man has an agenda. He'll never forgive Colless. And to see him sidling up to Eddie just makes so much sense in a bizarre way it's funny. :drunk:

It has to be remembered the entire fiasco where Roos essentially burned his bridges at the Swans last year was completely initiated by his position at the Academy. It burned him for some reason which I have trouble understanding. But I know this much, anything he says cannot be regarding as an objective comment.

We were paying him $250k to coach children. We told him his new contract couldn't be that high again (I think the figure offered was $150k?). What was Paul's response? Complete hissy fit. Later whinged in the media about how we'd basically insulted him by cutting his salary. As if we were supposed to agree with him that he'd been wronged somehow? The entitlement he displayed was so unedifying. I still don't understand it.

And within months he had had moved his family to Melbourne and taken up the Melb job. Early the next year he then used his new coaching position to launch an attack on his old club - attempted to poach Perris and our Assistant coaches, had a public spat with Colless. Commented in the media that he doubted Buddy would have a significant impact in Sydney and told the world "I no longer have any emotional attachment to Sydney"

I call bullshit. Jealousy and pettiness can be considered emotions in my book.

Anything he says about the Academy has to be taken with a pinch of salt. The man has an agenda. He'll never forgive Colless. And to see him sidling up to Eddie just makes so much sense in a bizarre way it's funny. :drunk:
Good post.

But it wont be taken with a pinch of salt, he is in Melbourne now any comments he makes about our academy will be taken as gospel by the media because he started it all and with Eddie Inc. in the same corner and twisting the knives Im afraid its gonna make it even tougher for us.

That performance on MMM was fascinating. It reminded me of Question Time in Parliament. Where the back bencher stands up and asks a question designed to let the party leader expand on their own policy agenda.

Amazed Eddie waited all of 1 question before immediately leaping into the Academy and asking Paul to go into bat for him. Such restraint! :D

I'd like to say I'm surprised by Roos comments, but I'm not.

He works for Melbourne FC. His statements represent the thoughts of the Melb footy club, his allegiance is to whomever pays him. He's not going to dirty his nest by agreeing with the academies. Full stop.

He has already stated (on AFL 360) that beyond his 3yr coaching contract he plans to pursue the administrative side of AFL. I reckon Roos has CEO/President aspirations, he'll start at Melbourne. And then dump them the moment a better offer comes along.

Edit: And have just realised Dew is signed until end of 2016. Roos contract finished end of 2016. Don't think Roosy is finished with raiding us yet.

I honestly thought he had just a tad more integrity then to bag the swans on eddie's radio show....thats bottom of the barrel stuff. gave eddie exactly what he wanted. very disappointing.

That was definitely pre-planned if you ask me. Ed set him up, and Roos knocked it down.

We're officially enemies now, and tbh, I could care less. Roos came across as a bit of a self-righteous know-it-all.

Couldn't slap the guy off the swans nuts when he was in the media, nekk minnit he's trash talking us. Gloves are off

Christ, Eddie's self-involvement is stunning. Or it would be if it wasn't so expected. Taking about 45 seconds into an interview purported to be about Roos being in for the long haul with Melbourne to get Roos involved with his own shit. He'll happily parrot it as fighting for what's right and equitable, but this is his own squabble that he's paranoid about not having enough quality support on. Having Luke Darcy on your side would do that to you I guess.

As ever, you'd love him as your club's president but christ he has an unattractive personality. Shameless, arrogant, incapable of self-analysis and reflection and desperate for validation.

On Roos, it's no surprise that his prioirities have changed. He can't back up the Swans as the head coach of the Demons. He has to stick up for what that club needs, so this didn't really surprise me when I heard it and thought about it a little.

It was his purposeful and mischievious put-on naivety about the club and the Academy that annoyed me. "We don't know how you're doing it..." Ugh. Shut up with that disingenuous horseshit. You know better than 99.99% of AFL people how the Swans are doing it and why they're doing it. Those facts don't help his cause publicly though.

Christ, Eddie's self-involvement is stunning. Or it would be if it wasn't so expected. Taking about 45 seconds into an interview purported to be about Roos being in for the long haul with Melbourne to get Roos involved with his own shit. He'll happily parrot it as fighting for what's right and equitable, but this is his own squabble that he's paranoid about not having enough quality support on. Having Luke Darcy on your side would do that to you I guess.

As ever, you'd love him as your club's president but christ he has an unattractive personality. Shameless, arrogant, incapable of self-analysis and reflection and desperate for validation.

On Roos, it's no surprise that his prioirities have changed. He can't back up the Swans as the head coach of the Demons. He has to stick up for what that club needs, so this didn't really surprise me when I heard it and thought about it a little.

It was his purposeful and mischievious put-on naivety about the club and the Academy that annoyed me. "We don't know how you're doing it..." Ugh. Shut up with that disingenuous horseshit. You know better than 99.99% of AFL people how the Swans are doing it and why they're doing it. Those facts don't help his cause publicly though.
I cant like this post enough, spot on about Eddie dunno why I keep listening to the show I have so much dislike for him but I just keep listening.. sad perhaps but its like wanting to know the enemy for me.

Latest regarding Goodes & playing on next year. I'm honestly torn about Goodes pushing on next year, can't decide.

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/...or-sydney-swans-next-year-20140728-zxq4j.html
I read a lot of negativity here about Goodes being only a cameo style player on the w'end, he kicked 4 goals in the second half alone against the second best team in the comp should have had 5 if the umps paid a mark in the dying minutes.. I would be quite content him dragging a key defender doing that next year.

And there's no doubt who the general in our forward line is. Tippo's hardly there at the moment and Buddy is busy doing what Buddy does:)

Age may be catching up but damn, he makes up with it by being as canny as an old fox, that sort of smarts and reading of the play can't be underestimated.

I'm torn because of my rose coloured glasses of wanting to see the man, when he does decide to go, to leave without us saying he played on one year too long because defenders are running off him with ease and exploiting his weaknesses. I suppose there's no certainties and we can only abide that he will know when that time is right.

I figure if O'Loughlin can last as long as he did with a 2nd defender, then Goodes can run leads for another 1/2 to 2/3rds of next season with a 3rd defender and still offer more positives than negatives. When he needs a rest they can bring Membrey in.

Yes his defensive pressure is stuffed and he can't turn corners anymore, but his footy smarts and ability to read the play are still too valuable. Seriously, how many players are capable of kicking 4-5 goals against a GF contender and turn a game with only a handful of possessions?

Plus he still holds significant marketing value. Him and Buddy in the forward line = $. IMO the board will beg him to stay if he considers calling it quits. Even if he's playing poorly, the name recognition and the promise of the odd goal here or there is enough to bring in the crowds.

As good as Goodes has been for so long I think a lot of Sydney supporters take him for granted...I know I have. As stupid as it sounds its really only been the last 4-5 years I've really learnt to appreciate how unique a player he is, and I've been watching the Swans for 30 years. He's made it look too easy for too long, it feels like he's tricked me.

If/when he plays on next year there will be a chorus of voices saying he should have retired. Something tells me Adam would prefer to run himself into the ground for the team then retire a bit early, and I think it will actually take someone to tell him his time is up. When that time comes I will be one of those that was happy he continued to play on.

Nearly run off the road listening to that turd in Russell Barwick. These are his claims today on SEN. Hanners is a chance to get up and not Shaw. Pyke is on the outer and we dropped off playing Derickx (who is out with a hammy)

Mate I want to throw up every time the Swans are spoken about on SEN.

I've never heard reporting so consistently wrong in my life.
Every time we get mentioned it's all wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong. How ****ing hard is it?

From how COLA works, to how the academy's are run, to how the selection of an academy player works, to Tom Mitchell's current status & why he isn't getting a game this week, to injury updates and possible selections.. It goes on and on and on.

Seriously, I'm thinking about shooting them an email saying if they want accurate reporting on the Swans then just give one of us on here a buzz.

Mate I want to throw up every time the Swans are spoken about on SEN.

I've never heard reporting so consistently wrong in my life.
Every time we get mentioned it's all wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong. How ******* hard is it?

Seriously, I'm thinking about shooting them an email saying if they want accurate reporting on the Swans then just give one of us on here a buzz.

I'm not sure "accurately" reporting the Swans services the demographic they're targeting.