Preview Sydney Swans v North Melbourne in Tassie Marsh community game Monday

[/QUOTE]
I have mentioned plenty of times what I think we are doing wrong, especially positioning as I think Longmire is playing quite a lot of our players out of position.
So apart from your theories on position which have solid counter points, what else have you highlighted?

We need to focus on actually winning the midfield battle, and find ways to take more uncontested marks and possessions
Great insight mate, do you think we need to score more than the opposition too?

ALso need to stop having an extra man in defence as Longmire's go to move.
Stop using a tactic that's frequently used by every team in the league because...?

Still looking to Play a sling shot Style
Amazing, we're Schrödinger's gameplan. A style that's based entirely on fast transition and playing on that's also too slow and that doesn't result in enough uncontested play.

Good first three quarters. Good tackling and intensity. Last quarter faded with hayward and some others dropping off. Terrible game from Blakey, worst I have seen. Clarke was up and about when he came on but there were some clear tackling misses which is a big issue. In my view if we don't stick tackles and pressure then the opposition sides will move the ball without pressure and thats when we get exposed.

- All three mature recruits will play round one
- Stephens did enough in the final quarter to join them. COR didn't do enough all game to snatch it from him.
- Agree with King, Dawson has a skillset that would be much better served delivering into 50. Gould a more natural defender and also has a booming kick.
- Rowbottom back to form, some unbelievable strength and tackling for a second year player. Florent looked good in close.
- Commentators want Hayward to remain in Tassie for the term of his natural life. Fortunately they showed elsewhere during the game they don't know half the rules. Let's hope he gets off.

- All three mature recruits will play round one
- Stephens did enough in the final quarter to join them. COR didn't do enough all game to snatch it from him.
- Agree with Punts, Dawson has a skillset that would be much better served delivering into 50. Gould a more natural defender and also has a booming kick.
- Rowbottom back to form, some unbelievable strength and tackling for a second year player. Florent looked good in close.
- Commentators want Hayward to remain in Tassie for the term of his natural life. Fortunately they showed elsewhere during the game they don't know half the rules. Let's hope he gets off.

stephens ahead of cor i agree

They want the SA boy to stay in Tassie? Why do they want to punish the kid so badly?

Because Dermie spotted the Ump scratch something that's part of some Masonic code that the Grand Inquisator must immediately punish Hayward. I wouldn't mind if he just said what he thinks, but he goes on and on like he spotted the only clue -- the smoking gun on the grassy knoll -- and repeated it the entire game like some junked up conspiracy theorist.

Usually I roll my eyes at this stuff but that was quality.

Good hit out.
Definitely saw some nice signs.
Some questions have been answered.

Like what pray tell? We played an old game style.

Brand was so slow and that far behind his opponents that I think even the Galloping gasometer, Mick Nolan was quicker.

Taylor and Grey were more than ok

Hayward was shitful

Rampe was shitful

Cunningham did not hit a Swans Guernsey all day

Lloyd once again gives up a goal from a dreadful kick in.

Nothing has changed really

Stephens, Ollie, Rowbottom, Joey, Parker (except for some indiscriminate handball), Mills, Aliir (except when playing on the big guys) all ok. But not much more to smile about. did not see the first half due to FOX ****ing up the feed.

Would have liked to see Gould, Amartey, Ronke??? (did he play), McInnerney play but Longmire chose not to play them. Astounding. I thought it a practice match. You are supposed to try things in these matches. I did not much, if any of that.

Did Blakey get a touch? He didn't in the second half but then again the delivery in the second half was shitful. I mean how are forwards supposed to even get near it with Clarke, Cunningham and Joey as the main deliverers. EEEK!

We did not play anyone new. We did not try anything new. If we did we might have had a pleasant surprise. I thought McInnerney our best by a long way last week but today not played. Astounding. No new movement? Tactics? Strategies? Game Plan? Don't know. Maybe second quarter as I did not see that.

If we play that sort of footy against good sides they will annihilate us just as GWS did.

I seriously hope Longmire has something more up his sleeve than this dross. Because if he doesn't it will indeed be a long season and any lower than last year or to only equal last year will be a fail.

I don't think Sinclair is the answer to second ruck forward. He has not delivered anything and certainly has had opportunities in the games. He drops more than he takes. His ruck work is ordinary and he is ageing. I think it time to look at other options.

I realise this was a practice match and they are trying things, what I'd like to know as all the strategies seem to be right out of the 2017 handbook, but I would have liked them to try other players just to let them get a feel. I would have liked to see them try some new plays. As I say I did not see the first half and the second quarter must have been good. I will take a look at the replay to see how that went. But the start is worrying, giving away 3 goals before getting going. Our back line looked uncoordinated. Our mids looked all over the place and not sure. There was no forward structure for most of the second half. In fact all our forwards were being drawn up the ground and that left absolutely no-one to kick to. Heeney got a mark at one stage and had to wait for players to get back. This left a wall of Norf players cutting off access to the forward line. Stupid flooding that kills your forward structure.

I could feign confidence and say that we will indeed win next week but I just can't. We lose structure far too easily and then we lose the ball. We turnover, lose contested possession by a lot, 54-90, and waste the ball. I mean that contested possession rate is not just a worry it is highly disturbing to be murdered in contested ball by at least 40%. That is alarm bells.

Don't subscribe to the over-reliance on JPK thing. Since 2016 (when our midfield was last truly great), we are 5-1 in matches without JPK. That includes a victory over Geelong in Geelong, a victory over last years reigning premiers West Coast, and a victory over basically the exact same North team last year in Tasmania.

But he is an imposing presence and the midfield is designed to revolve around him. This is instructional, you can see it clear as day by how the other mids (besides Parker) position themselves. Just like Carlton design their midfield around Cripps, Fremantle with Fyfe, Melbourne with Oliver, North with Cunnington. I'm sensing a pattern here in those teams. Great individuals as the nucleus of their midfield, all not conducive to an effective, cohesive midfield group.

Brand was so slow and that far behind his opponents that I think even the Galloping gasometer, Mick Nolan was quicker.

Hayward was shitful

Rampe was shitful

Stephens, Ollie, Rowbottom, Joey, Parker (except for some indiscriminate handball), Mills, Aliir (except when playing on the big guys) all ok. But not much more to smile about. did not see the first half due to FOX ******* up the feed.

Would have liked to see Gould, Amartey, Ronke??? (did he play), McInnerney play but Longmire chose not to play them. Astounding. I thought it a practice match. You are supposed to try things in these matches. I did not much, if any of that.

Did Blakey get a touch? He didn't in the second half but then again the delivery in the second half was shitful. I mean how are forwards supposed to even get near it with Clarke, Cunningham and Joey as the main deliverers. EEEK!

We did not play anyone new. We did not try anything new. If we did we might have had a pleasant surprise. I thought McInnerney our best by a long way last week but today not played. Astounding. No new movement? Tactics? Strategies? Game Plan? Don't know. Maybe second quarter as I did not see that.

If we play that sort of footy against good sides they will annihilate us just as GWS did.

I seriously hope Longmire has something more up his sleeve than this dross. Because if he doesn't it will indeed be a long season and any lower than last year or to only equal last year will be a fail.

I don't think Sinclair is the answer to second ruck forward. He has not delivered anything and certainly has had opportunities in the games. He drops more than he takes. His ruck work is ordinary and he is ageing. I think it time to look at other options.

I realise this was a practice match and they are trying things, what I'd like to know as all the strategies seem to be right out of the 2017 handbook, but I would have liked them to try other players just to let them get a feel. I would have liked to see them try some new plays. As I say I did not see the first half and the second quarter must have been good. I will take a look at the replay to see how that went. But the start is worrying, giving away 3 goals before getting going. Our back line looked uncoordinated. Our mids looked all over the place and not sure. There was no forward structure for most of the second half. In fact all our forwards were being drawn up the ground and that left absolutely no-one to kick to. Heeney got a mark at one stage and had to wait for players to get back. This left a wall of Norf players cutting off access to the forward line. Stupid flooding that kills your forward structure.

I could feign confidence and say that we will indeed win next week but I just can't. We lose structure far too easily and then we lose the ball. We turnover, lose contested possession by a lot, 54-90, and waste the ball. I mean that contested possession rate is not just a worry it is highly disturbing to be murdered in contested ball by at least 40%. That is alarm bells.
But apart from all that you think we're going OK?

Hayward was shitful

Rampe was shitful

Stephens, Ollie, Rowbottom, Joey, Parker (except for some indiscriminate handball), Mills, Aliir (except when playing on the big guys) all ok. But not much more to smile about. did not see the first half due to FOX ******* up the feed.

Same game plan, wrong. Could not be any different from the start of last year. Hardly went wide, looked to take it on quickly down the middle. The old chippity chip was non existent. What hasn't changed is our centre square mid setup and someone like Shaw knows our structure better than anyone.

We've stopped to a crawl. I'd love to know what our fitness staff are getting paid. The general fitness of the squad isn't all that impressive.

Its been like that for a number of seasons. Fitness has not been the same levels since David Misson left the club. The players under his watch were machines.

Hayward was shitful

Rampe was shitful

I’m gonna take a punt without reading (who would) but nice rant

Its been like that for a number of seasons. Fitness has not been the same levels since David Misson left the club. The players under his watch were machines.

I’m trying to stay as positive as I can but gotta agree with this re fitness.

David Misson, get him back at any cost. FWIW, his brother is just as good and still lives just up the road from Moore Park. I can give Horse his mobile number if needs be.

Taylor, Brand and Gray improvement!

JPK, Papley and Rowbottom excellent

Blakey looked lost on the wing, Stephenson good last quarter nowhere near ready for round 1.

What do people expect out there? we dont have the cattle to do anything significant not just for 2020 but for a few seasons.

I’m trying to stay as positive as I can but gotta agree with this re fitness.

There is a tell tale sign there coming out of last year where they play some burst of really good footy with great intensity and effort only to completely blow up and are very easy to score against. The Melbourne game at the SCG Last year where they were playing really good footy to start the game and got out to a 4 goal lead only to let Melbourne kick 5 in 10 minutes to close the first qtr and take complete momentum and control of the game. The It's because we're young excuse doesn't rub because the whole team's intensity drops away. Exhaustion will do that to you after all out effort is given when your fitness is not at the level it needs to be in Professional Sport that requires continual burst running and second and third efforts. Their commitment was there last year and it will be again this year no doubt but unless they can sustain effort through 4 qtrs we are in for another very tough year.

Kept an eye on Taylor after your post, he was blowing hard most of the game and does look a sixpack off what would have been expected of him especially at a new club

Yeah I think they know he looks like a McWilliams Wine Barrel but are justifying recruiting him by playing him. Not good enough tbh to roll up in that condition.

Went well today mind you

But I can’t see it being a regular occurrence

Preview Sydney Swans v North Melbourne in Tassie Marsh community game Monday