Preview Team for GC - 8 changes

It's ridiculously simplistic to argue if we beat the cats this strategy was a success and a failure if we lose.

We are likely looking at tough games in the heat this September/October. I like the idea of the senior guys (especially our mids) watching Geelong at the MCG tonight to get a feel for what they need to work on vs their opponents. They will feel fresh, hopefully no niggles, fatigue or sore bodies.

The Cats are playing a bruising encounter vs the Pies which means nothing.

It's ridiculously simplistic to argue if we beat the cats this strategy was a success and a failure if we lose.

We are likely looking at tough games in the heat this September/October. I like the idea of the senior guys (especially our mids) watching Geelong at the MCG tonight to get a feel for what they need to work on vs their opponents. They will feel fresh, hopefully no niggles, fatigue or sore bodies.

The Cats are playing a bruising encounter vs the Pies which means nothing.

2 very good points that i think will work to our advantage

IMHO it just makes sense for a number of reasons:

- 6 day break
- avoid injuries
- avoid MRP lottery
- we have won after the bye this year anyway
- hopefully Geelong and Coll pummell each other tonight
- as long as the 8 resting dont do a Fev and hit the turps all weekend!

Firstly, my sympathies to the people going who are missing out on seeing a number of their heroes in the flesh (especially those with kids), I can fully understand your disappointment.

A couple of thoughts I had are:

1) All the outs are experienced players (with the exception of Max who has been in the system a long time) and so are more likely to have the pre-conditioning so that missing a game will not impact their fitness base for next week. This may be a reason why players like Shiels, Smith and Breust are playing.

2) Gibbo may be playing (rather than included in those being rested) to give Clarko an opportunity to check out the combinations of big guys in defence, ie Gibbo, Shoey and Stratts v Gibbo, Stratts and Murph v Gibbo, Shoey and Murph. This may be an opportunity to test these combinations in match conditions (although not with finals intensity would be my guess).

Guerra must be as tough as old boots.

This game has gone from a non event into something worth watching. It'll be good to see who steps up.

I hope Milne and Sirra get a run. Both need opportunities to impress.

We should start a sweep on the other three. I will go with Gibson, Mitchell and Guerra. Running out of senior walk up starts after those three. Surely they cannot make three more changes?

It'll mean 3 more debuts (Y)

I like the option of resting some of our more important players :thumbsu: We are in a great position!

I have been reading on a number of BF threads (not just here) this attitude that resting players is "flirting with form".

To those that subscribe to this theory - one only has to look at the value placed on the weeks rest awarded to (and valued by) the winner of the QF.

Go Hawks!

Firstly, my sympathies to the people going who are missing out on seeing a number of their heroes in the flesh (especially those with kids), I can fully understand your disappointment.

A couple of thoughts I had are:

1) All the outs are experienced players (with the exception of Max who has been in the system a long time) and so are more likely to have the pre-conditioning so that missing a game will not impact their fitness base for next week. This may be a reason why players like Shiels, Smith and Breust are playing.

2) Gibbo may be playing (rather than included in those being rested) to give Clarko an opportunity to check out the combinations of big guys in defence, ie Gibbo, Shoey and Stratts v Gibbo, Stratts and Murph v Gibbo, Shoey and Murph. This may be an opportunity to test these combinations in match conditions (although not with finals intensity would be my guess).

Agree entirely. Also the GC attck is not unlike the geelong one - albeit less experienced - also they dont flood . If GC do step up in terms of I50s its an even better test for our defensive combinations

I like the option of resting some of our more important players :thumbsu: We are in a great position!

I have been reading on a number of BF threads (not just here) this attitude that resting players is "flirting with form".

To those that subscribe to this theory - one only has to look at the value placed on the weeks rest awarded to (and valued by) the winner of the QF.

Go Hawks!

I'd say their assertion is nullified by the fact that we will win. In fact the probables are resting so wont be gun shy. most of our selected team will be going all out for the remaining finals places on offer

Great work and anyone questioning this especially those having a sook because they are taking their kids to watch are being selfish.

Nobody is questioning Hawthorn's decision, on the contrary we fully understand why they took this path, and in fact half expected it. It doesn't mean we as Hawthorn members can't vent our disappointment and quite frankly, personally I felt shattered after reading it last night.

Yes it's selfish to want to see the best 22 out there under the circumstances, but can you blame us? I pay for two interstate memberships, one for myself which I've had for well over 10 years, the other for my 8 year old who has been a member since 2008. Since she became a member, we've seen just the one game which she loved.

You tell me how I'm suppose to foster her supporting Hawthorn, when it feels like we've been ignored all these years since it seems we only play Brisbane in Tasmania. Now that GC comes along and things are looking on the up, those players I'm always raving about won't be there. It really does feel like a kick in the guts.

We'll still be there though, no way I'm missing it.

I am completely and utterly CHUFFED at all the changes!

A few points of interest for me:

1. I think we still would've done the same had our QF been on Saturday.

2. Apologies to those going to the game but I don't give a hoot.

3. The only downer (aside from flirting with form) I can think of is if it rains heavily as forecast, this will make our legs heavier for next week - and is not the ideal skills preparation for next week - unless it does rain. This might have been the reason for the 2nd half fade out against the Blues after playing Freo and North in terrible conditions.

4. I'm really keen to see if we can unearth a surprise golden nugget x-factor from left field on the eve of the finals - something other teams would not have expected and prepared for (ala Dewy )

5. I'm really eager to see how Paul A. Johnson goes (Why the 'A'?). He could be the golden nugget if he kicks 4. Don't remember much of him, but I think he's known for being a good mark? Strong body too and could be a gorilla in September. Here's hoping....

6. I'd love to see Shoey played at FF or CHF, or at least given a 1/2 there. He kicks a few, and it opens up dangerous options for us. He's a good mark and can kick and he's a fwd by nature

7. Hope Lisle has his kicking boots on and kicks a few too.

8. The big part for me is to see if one (or who) of Johnno, Shoey or Lisle can rise to the occassion, and end up partnering Buddy in the finals - giving us a 'new' X-factor and which im my mind would win us the flag.

9. I think we would've known about big team changes from the week before the Carlton game.

10. As somebody stated earlier, it is also a great bonus opportunity for some of the kids to experience travel and playing which which will hold them in good stead over summer and early next year.

11. I still think we will play hard to win as we still have a competitive squad to play GC and all the fringe players will play out of their skin which is most exciting - therefore I'm tipping we'll still win by 50+.

12. Lastly, this time we will have the fresher legs to finish the Cats off late in the game next week.

If there are to be three more changes as some have suggested, I'd like to see Shiels, Suckling and Gibbo given a rest.

Nobody is questioning Hawthorn's decision, on the contrary we fully understand why they took this path, and in fact half expected it. It doesn't mean we as Hawthorn members can't vent our disappointment and quite frankly, personally I felt shattered after reading it last night.

Yes it's selfish to want to see the best 22 out there under the circumstances, but can you blame us? I pay for two interstate memberships, one for myself which I've had for well over 10 years, the other for my 8 year old who has been a member since 2008. Since she became a member, we've seen just the one game which she loved.

You tell me how I'm suppose to foster her supporting Hawthorn, when it feels like we've been ignored all these years since it seems we only play Brisbane in Tasmania. Now that GC comes along and things are looking on the up, those players I'm always raving about won't be there. It really does feel like a kick in the guts.

We'll still be there though, no way I'm missing it.

Still plenty of great players in the team for her to support. Tell her about the new young guns in Smith, Savage and Breust. Sammy will be playing too. Im living overseas at the moment so you should be thankful that you get to see any hawthorn games live.

Your anger should be directed at the AFL anyway, why do we play first and last games of the season away, and then they schedule us for the Friday night final, pretty unfair if you ask me.

I hope Lisle can kicka few goals. Would do him the world of good in terms of confidence. I felt that after his shanks against Freo he seemed to look to handball more often and didn't back himself with his kicking. Slotting a few goals should give him that boost and hopefully he can stand up and make an impact.

Good luck to Johnson, happy for the man to get a run and hopefully he can have a good game. Am I correct that it is his first AFL game?

To be honest, the changes made have made me much more excited about this game. So many players are playing for a chance of finals footy and you can be assured that they will be playing out of their skin for that oppurtunity. Ellis, Ladson, Bateman are all fighting for Bruce's spot I'd suspect. So those 4 boys will need to stand up and play a big game. Stratton is back and I can't see him being removed from the side unless he doesnt pull up well or struggles with fitness. Lisle being played forward, I think Clarkson would be hoping he can play a blinder and add a wild card to our forward line. He is a really strong mark and would add something to our forward line. Cheney is fighting with Murphy for a spot, both will want to play well.

With all that happening, it'll be a very interesting game to watch I reckon.

I hope Lisle can kicka few goals. Would do him the world of good in terms of confidence. I felt that after his shanks against Freo he seemed to look to handball more often and didn't back himself with his kicking. Slotting a few goals should give him that boost and hopefully he can stand up and make an impact.

Good luck to Johnson, happy for the man to get a run and hopefully he can have a good game. Am I correct that it is his first AFL game?

To be honest, the changes made have made me much more excited about this game. So many players are playing for a chance of finals footy and you can be assured that they will be playing out of their skin for that oppurtunity. Ellis, Ladson, Bateman are all fighting for Bruce's spot I'd suspect. So those 4 boys will need to stand up and play a big game. Stratton is back and I can't see him being removed from the side unless he doesnt pull up well or struggles with fitness. Lisle being played forward, I think Clarkson would be hoping he can play a blinder and add a wild card to our forward line. He is a really strong mark and would add something to our forward line. Cheney is fighting with Murphy for a spot, both will want to play well.

With all that happening, it'll be a very interesting game to watch I reckon.

Johnson's 70th game! I don't remember him at all either. Looking forward to the game for the same reasons you are - Lisle, Stratton, etc. Great to see.

Your anger should be directed at the AFL anyway, why do we play first and last games of the season away, and then they schedule us for the Friday night final, pretty unfair if you ask me.

The obvious resolution (to me anyway) is that all the interstate teams should of played each other at home in the last round.

Something like:

Bris/GC
Ade/Port
WC/Freo

Hawthorn/Geel
Collingwood/Richmond
Essendon/Carlton
Melb/Bulldogs
North/St Kilda

Sydney- Bye

Next year, you'd get Syd/GWS. No Byes, no travel in the last week for finals.

Except I expect that interstate crowds could be down depending on how the teams are traveling.

Without going back through all the posts - can anyone answer where Renouf is? Not named for HFC or Box Hill?

I doubt we would be resting him given how little footy he has played recently. Reinjured?
didn't pass a fitness test to play at either level (Seniors or BHH), on what grounds I am not sure

I guess this means we get to watch the Box Hill Hawks live on TV three weeks in a row now:) just hope, this game against GC doesn't turn out like the last two saturday afternoon box hill debacles!

Johnson's 70th game! I don't remember him at all either. Looking forward to the game for the same reasons you are - Lisle, Stratton, etc. Great to see.
Wow really? I looked on the Hawks website and it had him listed as playing 0 games in his career. :eek: Heres hoping he can have a solid game.

Should be a good game, really want Lisle to kick a goal. That'd be the highlight for mine :D

All present and accounted for. Milne will be the emergency.

Nobody there who was not named in the side..