BigFooty Official The 2013 BigFooty Phantom Draft

Really enjoying the discussion guys.

Love that someone had the cajones to pick Sheed in the top 10 - he more than belongs in that sort of company. I myself would be seriously considering him anywhere from pick 3 onwards.

Don't think I could overlook Scharenberg if I was GWS given I'm not as big on Kelly and Billings as everyone else seems to be.

Really interested in seeing who the first key (outside of the obvious in Boyd) to land is and where the rest of them fall.

Really enjoying the discussion guys.

Love that someone had the cajones to pick Sheed in the top 10 - he more than belongs in that sort of company. I myself would be seriously considering him anywhere from pick 3 onwards.

Don't think I could overlook Scharenberg if I was GWS given I'm not as big on Kelly and Billings as everyone else seems to be.

Really interested in seeing who the first key (outside of the obvious in Boyd) to land is and where the rest of them fall.

Pretty much agree with everything here.

Sheed is by no means athletically gifted but he is no chump either. He is a pure natural midfielder who knows how to find the footy. Being able to find the footy rather than having to develop it is one of the most overlooked attributes in AFL drafting I believe. Guys like Sheed, Aish, Dunstan and Dumont will never attract the same amount of hype as their flashier counterparts even though in all likelihood the four I mentioned will have just as good careers!

It's very interesting when it comes to the KP's. I'm tipping Apeness, McCarthy and Marsh will be all inside the 25. With Conlon and Hourigan not far behind.

Pick #12 - Richmond - Christian Salem - 183 cm/81 kg midfielder - 15/7/95 - Sandringham/Vic Metro

Anyone who has followed my thoughts on the draft this year will know I have Salem really high up my rankings - anyone who has seen me in phantoms knows I keep picking him for the Tigers. I don't have any intention of stopping now.

If you only watched Christian Salem play football for Vic Metro at the Champs you could be excused for thinking he's a purely outside footballer. Against NSW/ACT he played predominately as a half forward flanker, before spending lots of time on the wing against SA and Country. In these roles he was able to show that he's got pace to burn, possesses a good sidestep to get out into space and can really hurt you with his disposal when given room. It was in his role as a HFF that he showed a few tricks though - he's a very good mark for his size and when you couple that with good goal sense, terrific defensive pressure and an ability to sniff out a crumb at ground level, he'll be more than capable early on in his career at the next level as a highly skilled defensive forward. What the Champs didn't show was that Salem's inside game is very much a strength of his.

Strengths:

- Inside Game: Salem's incredibly well built for an 18 year old and has no trouble mixing it with the big bodies in the clinches. He reads the contest well and quickly gets his hands free and fires the ball out into space. He's a ferocious tackler who won't the opposition get an easy clearance. Does occasionally fumble the ball and needs to sharpen up his clean-ness if he's going to be a real in-out weapon at the next level.

- Athleticism: Watch him burn Jackson Nelson off on the wing against Vic Country or the ease with which he sidestepped around NSW/ACT players in the Champs. Salem's top-speed is seriously quick, and even though his first few steps aren't the most explosive, he possesses a really good change of direction and a wiggle of the hips to get out into space. He's an inside midfielder with the ability and the willingness to get out and hurt you with regularity on the outside.

- Disposal: Possesses a really well-weighted left hoof that has been compared to Luke Hodge in some circles. I agree with this comparison in some respects - he's able to cover 55 m on the run and can deliver some sizzlers over 35/40 m range. Does tend to float some of those shorter passes a little too much, and will need to work on that. Is absolutely elite over long distances though. His non-preferred isn't particularly strong, but that's not foreign to left-footers.

- Tenacity: Salem will throw his body in all day, every day. He hates being beaten and will back himself in to out-run opponents (although not to Hartung like lengths). Is a tremendous defensive tackler, so when you couple this with his endurance, (he recorded a better than expected 14.5 in the beep at combine) Salem possesses the ability to make a right pest of himself at the next level.

- Versatility: Can play both inside and out as a midfielder, and doesn't look at all out of place playing as a small forward or as a rebounding half back flanker using his superb left boot to hit up targets.

Weaknesses/Areas of Improvement:

- Endurance Although his beep probably put most of the doubts over his endurance away, there's still a perception that Salem doesn't have the tank to be an elite midfielder at AFL level. Think that result might persuade recruiters that he does possess the ability and just needs a few pre-seasons.

- Defensive Awareness: While I've highlighted that his defensive work rate and tackling is superb, I think he just gets lost when defending the spread or an opponent through the stoppages. It's particularly noticeable when he plays in the clinches. It's something that lots of juniors struggle with and will be pretty easily coached out at AFL level.

Why the Tigers?

I have Salem at 6 on my board, and he's by far the best available. He fits a niche in that he's an in-out midfielder with pace and agility who can provide genuine x-factor to a side that lacks in elite speed with the loss of White and Foley slowing down. Think he'll become an in-outer in the mold of Conca and really prevent the need for Shane Edwards to be at a centre stoppage ever again.

Who else did I consider?

If Salem had been nabbed at pick 11 I would have had real trouble splitting a pair of crow-eaters in James Battersby and Trent Dumont.

It's very interesting when it comes to the KP's. I'm tipping Apeness, McCarthy and Marsh will be all inside the 25. With Conlon and Hourigan not far behind.

Taking Marsh and expecting him to be a KP would be a mistake I think.

I don't understand the enthusiasm for Apeness to tell the truth. Nankervis is essentially the same player but just better. If I was going to take one of them I would go with Nankervis every time.

I took Conlon in the practice run and he will not be going to Brisbane this time around.

Good to see Crouch go here. I know a few are down on him but I think if you give him a year or two he will be an excellent player. His tough inside game would also really suit Carlton's needs I think and I could very easily see them going with him in the real thing.

Taking Marsh and expecting him to be a KP would be a mistake I think.

I don't understand the enthusiasm for Apeness to tell the truth. Nankervis is essentially the same player but just better. If I was going to take one of them I would go with Nankervis every time.

I took Conlon in the practice run and he will not be going to Brisbane this time around.[/]

I don't get the popularity of Apeness either but from what I'm hearing he will go earlier than some expect.

Great pick TFLUA-Tiger. Have said it all year, but Salem is perfect for the Tiges' midfield. Really like him. Would be very surprised if you don't take him, unless there's a very obvious slider.

Is someone able to tell me what the fuss around Apeness is? I like him, don't get me wrong; but before that article on the AFL website the other day I was expecting him in the 40-50 range. I think as far as similar players go Nankervis is the better option out of the two, but I wouldn't really be taking him top 25 either. Just don't see the appeal.

I see Apeness as the forward/ruck version of Rhys Palmer. Could have a real impact in his first year, but just doesn't have enough tricks and will develop into a bit part player. Think he will struggle to nail down one set position, be it ruck or forward - being not quite good enough at either, but good enough to be called upon when needed. And the problem is that teams appear to be moving away from that part time, gorilla ruckman role.

I'd take him as a rookie, but being one of only a couple of talls who could legitimately play next year, his value will be inflated and someone will take him earlier than they should.

If Sheed, Acres and Lennon were all available who would you have taken?
It Just Is Acres doesn't come into my calculations because I haven't seen any of him.
I would probably have gone Sheed, but I wanted an excuse to take a punt. ;)

Garlett, I hope your contacts at the Swannies are good and you can tell me he is a good boy these days. :)

Being a good boy doesn't come into my calculations either LemmingMaster, I want them to be a good footballer, the behaviour is incidental to me. Sure, you back yourself to straighten any behavioural issues out but if they worried about them being a good boy Brady wouldn't be playing NFL.
However, I can assure you he was pulling his head in and doing everything the recruiters were asking of him. They were setting him tackle/pressure acts targets each match etc. :thumbsu:

Wel done KNighta......be interested to hear how close Salem and Lennon were and whether you thought about McCarthy.

To be perfectly honest Salem and Lennon weren't on my shortlist. Salem is more a component of a winning team. Lennon I think will take time and

McCarthy I dabbled in as the only relevant key forward early draft but the guy I wanted was there so I didn't have to dabble too long.

Of the serious considerations I'm sure many know how strongly I feel about Matt Crouch. Lewis Taylor I also really like and was another who I feel will be another ripper of those still available. Collingwood just have enough 180cm onballers and enough sub 175cm guys so I'm more than happy to take guys who fit Collingwood's list but also have the ability to develop into dominant players like quite possibly no others in this draft with what they can do.

Nice pick for the Pies. Not an obvious one, but a good one. Bontempelli and Acres are both very good compliments to their midfield.

When you can get quality size you do it. Bontempelli and Acres are quality size and it's something Collingwood more than most need more of with too many smalls with limited scope to develop.

Pick 13 - Carlton - Matt Crouch - Beowulf

Beowulf will update his player profile when he comes online next.

Snoop Dog, youre up mate.

Crouch I have long felt has been undervalued. Has had his hand injury and has limited endurance yet he finds it more easily than anyone else in this draft.

He'll be good. Not his brother. But very good in his own right as a less skilled Sam Mitchell with that same inside game.

Is someone able to tell me what the fuss around Apeness is? I like him, don't get me wrong; but before that article on the AFL website the other day I was expecting him in the 40-50 range. I think as far as similar players go Nankervis is the better option out of the two, but I wouldn't really be taking him top 25 either. Just don't see the appeal.
He does have an awesome name.

Crouch I have long felt has been undervalued. Has had his hand injury and has limited endurance yet he finds it more easily than anyone else in this draft.

He'll be good. Not his brother. But very good in his own right as a less skilled Sam Mitchell with that same inside game.

Im with you on Crouch should be top 10. Just racks it up

Why would you use a top 12 or 15 pick on a less skilled Sam Mitchell?

It is Sam Mitchell's skill that makes him Sam Mitchell and not Matt Priddis.

Id still use a top 15 pick on someone who is going to turn out as good as Matt Priddis. Very good player

As would I. Priddis is incredibly underrated and I'd use a top 10 pick on Priddis if I could get him as an 18yo instead of as a 21 yo. Crouch is one who will probably play a lot early but I see becoming a prime candidate for the red vest in the 3rd quarter until his 3rd year or so.

But like all player comparisons, you're not getting Matt Priddiss. You're getting someone who COULD be Matt Priddiss.

Surprised if Crouch goes 1st Round.

Mitchell was often criticised as a junior for his lack of fancy foot skills much like Crouch has been. The thing is Crouch is a super smart footballer, he knows his limitations and always chooses the best option. His foot skills (like Mitchell's did) will improve while training at the elite level. I still believe Crouch can have an impact similar to Ollie Wines did this year.

Fair enough.

It's just that the rather squat, rather slow, rather poor skill triumvirate player is very rare at the elite AFL level.

There are the very odd freaks like Mitchell or Swan(as kids) who turn into stars. And the odd player like Priddis or DeBoer who become ok.

But none of them were remotely near 1st Rounders.

Interesting discussion though. Where Crouch goes is one of the interesting things for me this year.

BigFooty Official The 2013 BigFooty Phantom Draft