List Mgmt. The 2017 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals Thread (cont. in Part II)

Pies have thrown their hat into the Watts ring.

I keep thinking on Connors' quotes. It was all about Watts having to decide to "uproot" his life in Melbourne.

I think he's angling to get his client to a Melbourne club.

Been a while since a player picked us outright though. In a sense it would be nice to have Watts really passionate about joining our 2018 Premiership tilt.

Any takers for Gaff? Didn't I read he was on the table? I've never paid him much attention, but he's an elite runner and outside mid, right? Probably cost us Hewett and a 2nd rounder?

Would much rather keep Hewett and our second rounder tbh.

Watts is also meeting with pies players and officials as he decides where he wants to play
Watts is meeting with anyone that'll let him stay in Brighton. He knows no other part of Australia.

He travels from airport to hotel, the ground and back again, in the back of a van with no windows.

He's easily frightened and scared at training and loud noises make him jump. He's easily disoriented walking down Esplanade.

He thinks Hampton is the get away resort town in America. He thinks Black Rock is the ship from Lost.

Hope Watts considers Buckley's treatment of Mayne before making a move to the Magpies. Always felt for him and that could be a pretty terrible move for his career.

Comes down to what we have to give to get him for me. If we give up our first round pick I hate the idea, second round pick I'm indifferent, Talia type trade I'll write up the contract myself.

Wouldn't there be more pressure at Collingwood to deliver than there is at Melbourne currently? He'll also most likely become the new whipping boy for Collingwood flogs to vent over. Not a smart move for Watts if he goes down that route.

Yeah Collingwood would maintain level of scrutiny especially with amount of pressure on Collingwood next year. Go to a different Victorian club if you want to have a decent shot at igniting your career. Hope he comes to us, could be fantastic at the Swans good size (longmire likes his flexibility) great kick (we can try and fix that though).

Second rounder for Watts- Miles for cheap as well? Would replace the guys retiring/leave and probably actually be the first trade period in a few years where we've improved.

Watts is a classic example of a player who needs to get out of the fishbowl to further his career. The absolute worst club he should go to is the Magpies.
They will chew him up & spit him out every time he under performs, but I wouldn't be surprised if the Swans pass on him if they notice a poor attitude.
There is a reason Melbourne are not prepared to put up with him any longer & why they are so publicly outspoken on him.

Yeah Collingwood would maintain level of scrutiny especially with amount of pressure on Collingwood next year. Go to a different Victorian club if you want to have a decent shot at igniting your career. Hope he comes to us, could be fantastic at the Swans good size (longmire likes his flexibility) great kick (we can try and fix that though).

Second rounder for Watts- Miles for cheap as well? Would replace the guys retiring/leave and probably actually be the first trade period in a few years where we've improved.

I like the idea of Miles as he comes across as a fellow that just wants to play senior footy & like Tom Mitchell, he can find the footy. His lack of pace may be a problem.

Serious question folks - I really wanna know everyone's opinion on this (even yours punts :p)

1. Do you think we will go to the draft with our first rounder? If so what type of player should we target? Best available? inside mid? outside speed?

2. If we were to trade our first rounder - who out there do you think we could legitimately land?

I think Watts could possibly go for this years 4th and next years second rounder. Next years draft apparently runs deep and therefore is worth more to them.

I don't think we go to the draft with our first - no idea who we would target but a future restricted free agent or free agent like Isaac Smith would go ok....

Serious question folks - I really wanna know everyone's opinion on this (even yours punts :p)

1. Do you think we will go to the draft with our first rounder? If so what type of player should we target? Best available? inside mid? outside speed?

2. If we were to trade our first rounder - who out there do you think we could legitimately land?

I think Watts could possibly go for this years 4th and next years second rounder. Next years draft apparently runs deep and therefore is worth more to them.

I don't think we go to the draft with our first - no idea who we would target but a future restricted free agent or free agent like Isaac Smith would go ok....

1. I hope so. Not sure anyone on the market who fits the category of 'need for the team' and 'worth our first rounder' on basis of the names that have been floated. Always, always, always go best available in first two rounds.

2. If we were to target a player with our first would like an inside/outside mid. Though probably a stretch with out pick (reckon we would need a top 10) Hooper from GWS is the type of player I would like us to target.

Watts is a classic example of a player who needs to get out of the fishbowl to further his career. The absolute worst club he should go to is the Magpies.
They will chew him up & spit him out every time he under performs, but I wouldn't be surprised if the Swans pass on him if they notice a poor attitude.
There is a reason Melbourne are not prepared to put up with him any longer & why they are so publicly outspoken on him.

His list manager publicly said he was a bad influence on young players :drunk:

Keep first, Watts no cheaper than 2nd round. If Watts wants us and Demons want to get rid of him at any price...go cheap!

Too often on this Board posters are to pig headed to admit there are aspects to football at the top level that are not easily seen by the amateur eye, especially not on TV. So if it's not obvious in terms of pack marks, spearing pinpoint passes, or goals, it's of no value to that poster.
Can i like this post more times?

On CPH1607 using BigFooty.com mobile app