List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)

I was as angry as everyone else on here with what transpired around the Baker trade and anyone pretending Clarke wasn't reemed at the trade table is kidding themselves.

But I'm starting to swing across to the Obeanie1 wagon that it's become one giant bed wetting exercise now.

Clarke is a list manager and not the guy running the scouting and drafting. ROB had duel roles and it was deliberately split this year, so this pile on about how he's had to be removed from decision making at the draft is unjustified.

Yes, the Baker trade was poor negotiating, but there was a thought process behind it that justifies how it transpired (whether you agree or not is subjective) and it wasn't just a giant whoopsie.
1. Baker will help address the standards at the club and it helped secure Graham for free. He was almost a must get.
2. Rumours that at pick 3 we wouldn't be in a position to draft who we wanted because of the whole Vic "i want to stay near mama" sook mentality.
3. The nature of this draft means we're not losing that much at pick 12 compared to pick 3. There isn't a Judd or Harley in this draft pool and every single player has sufficient deficiencies that there's a real chance there will be a lot of busts or very average players taken at the top end.

No one’s saying Baker won’t help, we still did not need to completely cave to Richmond’s demands, look at what Geelong did with Smith, we don’t have a backbone.

That’s total bullshit, FOS was desperate to come here, Jagga, Draper, Langford all said they’d be thrilled to go anywhere.

Again, that’s absolutely bullshit. We won’t even get Travaglia, Lindsay or Allan at 12 now, we will likely be getting Hotton, maybe Murphy Reid, the gap between those two and Jagga, FOS or Draper is significant.

Berry or Hotton would be grim areas.

Reid is the best prospect who is likely to be available but as usual I expect West Coast to try be the smartest in the room followed by an incredible amount of back patting.

It's been that kind of offseason my guy.

Basically everything/everyone this board wanted, has not happened.

Cumming ❌
Dev ❌
Garcia ❌
Carroll ❌
Pick 26 for Baker ❌
Baker and 6 for pick 3 ❌
Barrass for two firsts ❌
Barrass for Hawk's pick 14 and F1 ❌
Pick 3 :violin:
Travaglia ❌
Lindsay ❌
One of Allen, Travaglia or Lindsay will be available ❌

Good thing is we get to go through it all over again tomorrow as well 😍

homer simpson episode 3 GIF

If everyone is so annoyed about who will be available this year for us surely you’d be happy if we traded out the selection for Norths F1 if they came knocking. Could very well be a top 5 pick in a draft which is looking likely having a better top end & WA talent.

Would really make up for trading out Pick 3 plus a year won’t kill the rebuild.

I thought Hotton interviewed pretty well yesterday on Gettable. Seemed a more genuine type of kid compared with Reid who was a bit more scripted. Can certainly see Hotton getting along with the Clay Hall/Harvey Johnston crew.

No doubt it’s bloody scary with his injury and our history but gee whiz if he gets back to 100%, he could be some sort of player for us. I see a bit of Sheezel in the way he moves. If we can get an extra 2nd round pick as well then that would be a great bonus.

If everyone is so annoyed about who will be available this year for us surely you’d be happy if we traded out the selection for Norths F1 if they came knocking. Could be a top 5 pick in a draft which is looking likely having a better top end & WA talent.

Yes, but they won't.

Their F1 is worth A HELL of a lot more than our dumb pick 12-15, so in this fantasy of yours we'd also have to pony up some more picks to get it done.

The way we've been trading, I'm not imagining this would go down clearly in our favour. 12-15 + Hawk's F1 for Norfs F1 for example.

The club has to sort out the WAFL debacle, I can’t see the league side succeeding until the players in the 2’s are playing in a competitive team. Unfortunately the players we draft are likely to head straight to a WAFL team getting humbled each week, that’s not the right way to build them up.
Hopefully Pyke is working feverishly behind the scenes to address that, let’s not spend time worrying about the blow up eagle head, let’s fix the footy department, so the players drafted want to stay.
As an ignorant Victorian who knows nothing about the WAFL . Why are the Beagles so bad?

Don't think we need to worry too much about Woodcock's opinion.
No chance he gets Eagles intel after torching us for the last 2 years.
He also has Smith at 2 to North & Langford getting to Saints. Reckon he's just trying to be different.
Ironic given that, for the last two years he’s spent half his time recycling other people’s news and then put it behind the west’s paywall as his own

Certainly seems Hotton is going to be our guy by all the current rumours.

As I assume others on here are doing too, Ive been scrambling to do the extra research on him now.

Noting his current ACL, if he can get back to similar atheltic abilities post recovery as he had in the preseason, he could be scary.

Few others compare to Hotton in the way of all-round athleticism. Putting his preseason testing numbers against the best of the National Draft Combine, Hotton would have placed third in the 20-metre sprint (2.882 seconds), second for the running vertical jump (93cm), and first in the agility test (7.807 seconds). Not only does he implement each facet into his game on-field, but they are all genuine strengths.
Just finished watching his round 1 Coates League and he looks a little timid and almost holding back just a little, still managed 28d, 8m & 4 i50's, he also probably had around 5 shots on goal.

Round two, he looks to take a decent step forward and has 32d, 10m, 5t, 5 i50's & 4 goals.

Very acive inside 50, knows how to generate a shot on goal. Uses his agilty quite well to bounce and step around players.

Almost appears he doesnt quite realise how fast he is, if that can be unlocked, he could be deadly.

I can see the Shai Bolton comparisons.

Despite our position and previously not being excited at all with this news (of taking Hotton), I have come around to being some what excited, IF he can get back to 100% fitness.

The players I’ve most seen linked to that mentality are Reid and Hotton, who we’re now looking at with pick 12.

We need a separate thread where we can record for posterity who we personally would have taken with pick 3, and therefore who we’re wetting the bed over missing out on. Mine’s Langford.
whoever is left out of Lalor, FOS, Smith.

Yes, but they won't.

Their F1 is worth A HELL of a lot more than our dumb pick 12-15, so in this fantasy of yours we'd also have to pony up some more picks to get it done.

The way we've been trading, I'm not imagining this would go down clearly in our favour. 12-15 + Hawk's F1 for Norfs F1 for example.

It really could happen though. North have said that the F1 is on the table. They need KPP’s but grabbing one is a reach when FOS is on the table. Apart from Richmond maybe I can’t see who would take there F1 as everyone seems pretty set.

North have said they wanted more picks in this range & if it gets them Jobe or Armstrong I can’t see them offering it. If it was them coming to us I can see it being a straight swap & I can also see them thinking they could rise up the ladder.

I'm looking forward to us scrambling and downgrading due to mids all being taken

PIck 12 to
Pick 21 (Cooper Hynes) and a future 4th

For lower rated teams draft day is neant to be a joyious occasion. Thanks alot for ruining Christmas day for me (draft day) **** you.

I have settled. it's Murphy Reid or bust for me. I will only have hope if we pick Murphy because of memes
12 for GWS 15 and 21 would be good if nothing's left at 12.

Then do the bombers trade

28 31 for 2 xF2 b4 Kako bid
26 for there F2 after Kako bid

Draft.
Champion

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I was as angry as everyone else on here with what transpired around the Baker trade and anyone pretending Clarke wasn't reemed at the trade table is kidding themselves.

But I'm starting to swing across to the Obeanie1 wagon that it's become one giant bed wetting exercise now.

Clarke is a list manager and not the guy running the scouting and drafting. ROB had duel roles and it was deliberately split this year, so this pile on about how he's had to be removed from decision making at the draft is unjustified.

Yes, the Baker trade was poor negotiating, but there was a thought process behind it that justifies how it transpired (whether you agree or not is subjective) and it wasn't just a giant whoopsie.
1. Baker will help address the standards at the club and it helped secure Graham for free. He was almost a must get.
2. Rumours that at pick 3 we wouldn't be in a position to draft who we wanted because of the whole Vic "i want to stay near mama" sook mentality.
3. The nature of this draft means we're not losing that much at pick 12 compared to pick 3. There isn't a Judd or Harley in this draft pool and every single player has sufficient deficiencies that there's a real chance there will be a lot of busts or very average players taken at the top end.
So pick 3 is equally poor as pick 15. Don't think so.

Is this spin from an embarrassed club?

List Mgmt. The 2024 Draft (Nov 20/21)