Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

We Gave Goody a go at changing his approach and gave him a go at reverting to the one that got found out 2 years ago. He failed at both. What the **** are we still doing?
He'll surely be under massive pressure next year. Media have pretty much left him and us alone this year surprisingly. Next year I'm sure we will be under the microscope. Most if us would like him gone now, but it just isn't going to happen. Hopefully at a minimum we see some assistant coaches shown the door in the coming weeks.

lol **** this thread has become a sookfest.

Goody got us our flag, Lamb then cooked our list and here we are today.

One is proven, one isn’t. But let’s all sook about the bloke who is proven because he has useless tools to work with starting with a fat $10m one.

Goody got us our flag, Lamb then cooked our list and here we are today.

One is proven, one isn’t. But let’s all sook about the bloke who is proven because he has useless tools to work with starting with a fat $10m one.
Says the bloke who sooks about every single decision. Tim Lamb joined before the flag you absolute donkey. He's in the same boat as goody

Name me another coach who's won a flag more than 2 years after the original flag that wasn't a dynasty coach aka outside the real prime of the list

Swans win in 06 and have to get a new coach to win in 2012
Cats win in 11 after 07 but with a new coach

Alistair Clarkson was the only coach and 2008 wasn't the start of their window they missed finals for 3 years after that. Their window started in 12 and went to 16

They don't exist. The peak of the list is gone with this coach. History says it's over unless we wanna wait a decade like Essendon did with Sheedy

The prime of the list is gone, anyone who still believes we can rise next year is absolutely blind to reality.

Says the bloke who sooks about every single decision. Tim Lamb joined before the flag you absolute donkey. He's in the same boat as goody

Haha needing to resort to personal attacks. Keeping it as classy as a Collingwood supporter.

That said Lamb only took over as head of list management around when we won the flag. Our list quality has been one way since.

When you come into the thread huffing and puffing like this don't claim personal attacks. Especially when you spew complete misinformation below that.

"Everyone here is a sook."

"No, you're a sook"

"Wow, way to get personal."

Don't know how many times I have to tell you Mich, but the coach has a far bigger say in list decisions than you realise. Lamb and Goody work together on these things.
Yeah and if he isn't involved that's even worse.

Just by watching the preseason doco from 2019 the draft and trade teams build up their options and present them to goodwin, richardson and a handful of coaches. In the bits i saw with drafting Goodwin always has the final say or sign off, it'd be the same with pursuing players. That's all after anyway they've been directed what they're looking for throughout the year... or in the trade space, actively been talking to players

Believe it or not this isn't premiership coach 2011 for the PC, people work as a team to build the list THE COACH wants. It's not "lmao McAdam you wanna come play for us next year just to troll the coach"

Just by watching the preseason doco from 2019 the draft and trade teams build up their options and present them to goodwin, richardson and a handful of coaches. After they've been directed what they're looking for throughout the year... or in the trade space, actively been talking to players

Believe it or not this isn't premiership coach 2011 for the PC, people work as a team to build the list THE COACH wants. It's not "lmao McAdam you wanna come play for us next year just to troll the coach"
At the end of the day there will be ongoing discussions between the coaches and recruiters about list needs, recruitment options and what capital the club is willing to spend but the coach is going to be the one to sign off on all the decisions. Goodwin isn't being caught off guard by any of this stuff.

Just by watching the preseason doco from 2019 the draft and trade teams build up their options and present them to goodwin, richardson and a handful of coaches. In the bits i saw with drafting Goodwin always has the final say or sign off, it'd be the same with pursuing players. That's all after anyway they've been directed what they're looking for throughout the year... or in the trade space, actively been talking to players

Easiest way to prove this is us getting Hibberd and Melk, you reckon we got them just cause? Or maybe the senior coach had worked with them and told the list boss to get a deal done

Yeah and if he isn't involved that's even worse.
It would be something like Lamb would bring him a list of players that fit in the budget/salary cap, Goody would go over the players film, go back to him with players he thinks he could use, Lamb negotiates from there. Goody would have an even bigger say over players on our list, no decision would be made on who gets re-signed, traded or cut without his approval.

Or Goody goes to lamb first and says we need a mid forward and a ruck, lamb contacts agents and sees who's available brings him the list and goody picks who he wants
No way goody didn't sign off on every trade

Or Goody goes to lamb first and says we need a mid forward and a ruck, lamb contacts agents and sees who's available brings him the list and goody picks who he wants
No way goody didn't sign off on every trade
Yeah, that's exactly what would happen. To think Goody just coaches and has no say is mind boggling.

Yeah 👍. Maybe if he was a first year coach in a rebuild he'd have less of a say and a Neil Balme type footy boss might take control but 8 years in Goodys absolutely telling the list boss what he needs and wants

Tim Lamb was hired during the 2019 season.
Try again buddy

End of 2019. His first off season was 2020 which he was probably still coasting on Vineys work.

Let’s say he wasn’t. He brought in Ben Brown who was being pushed out by giving him an oversized contract where he has done **** all for 2 years.

Since then he has brought in Dunstan, Billings, Grundy, Hunter, Hore, Fullerton, Schache and Mcadam.

Still can’t believe you are defending this bloke with that record. Could argue he hasn’t got 1 right.

Is this why Goody doesnt play anyone Lamb brings in? Because he signed off on them?

Ooooookaay then.

There is obviously a disconnect here ans blind freddie can see it.

I’m sure it’s Goodies fault we have no backup ruckman and are forced to play 6 tall defenders due to our trash depth as well.

Probably also Goodies fault we have **** all depth to come in to boot Sparrow and Oliver out to the 2s.

Prob also Goodies fault we traded out 3 picks for Tholstrupp to, or that we gave Brayshaw a long term contract with his concussion issues or Oliver one with his off field challenges to.

If Goodie is handling all the list decisions then what are we even paying Lamb for? Sounds like he is accountable for nothing.

Is this why Goody doesnt play anyone Lamb brings in? Because he signed off on them?

Ooooookaay then.

There is obviously a disconnect here ans blind freddie can see it.

I’m sure it’s Goodies fault we have no backup ruckman and are forced to play 6 tall defenders due to our trash depth as well.

Probably also Goodies fault we have **** all depth to come in to boot Sparrow and Oliver out to the 2s.

Prob also Goodies fault we traded out 3 picks for Tholstrupp to, or that we have Brayshaw a long term contract with his concussion issues or Oliver one with his off field challenges to.
It really is all or nothing with you isn't it.

Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)