Certified Legendary Thread The Cult of Robbo

After a while away, i thought it was about time, i caught up on the musings, of the Don Rumsfeld of footy journalism, dutifully collected here in homage.. My interest in the Great Man, was again piqued, by this utterance to his co-host last night on Robbo360:

"you bastard, you rotten bastard Gerard......argghhh you bastard"

After reading the last, few pages i feel a sense of calm. A calm that can only be explained, by the luckiness i feel, in the knowledge that Robbo is a Chief Writer in our biggest selling newspaper.

I was particularly moved by this poetic Robbo verse:

"Indeed, it is the royal engagement of the footy year, at Crown's Palladium, a black-tie gathering of greats, who share beers and wine, always a smile and sometimes a tear. "

The Tackle, Monday 7 June 2010

Keep up the great work all. His works deserve a home that gives them due honour.

Asked last weekend on Game Day

"Yes or no Robbo, will Aker play again?" Hamish asks.

"Will he play again...?" Robbo echoes, asking himself.

then replies "Yes..... and no.... if it was was a yes or no question"

"It was a yes or no question." Hamish confirms.

On SEN last Saturday when trying to describe the dog eat dog world of the AFL, he postured passionately...

Its....survival of ... the one and only!"

Seriously, how is he a football journalist? Who reads his columns and/or cares about his opinions?

I can't work out how these reporters earn a living. The investigative types I can understand, they actually go out and do some research and arrange meetings, etc . . .

The journos who write exaggerated post-match reports offer absolutely nothing imo.
Dashing good looks, a way with words that has lesser men scrabbling for their Roget's, and such charisma it outshines the sun.

Don't hate him because you can't be him. Just stand back and admire, brother 'Podge.

Last week on AFL 360, Robbo called Gerard a bastard. This week he called Sellers a w***er. Is he going to drop a new swear word every week? A compelling regular feature.

Normally I ignore his jibberish on SEN but I thought he was pretty disrespectful towards Ox and Ox's wife today On The Run Home.

Last week he was asked how the events of Jason Akermanis would affect the Dogs' performance, and who he was tipping. He said he would tip Freo because the big ground would worry the Dogs, and "if ever there was a week where they will need their supporters roaring for them, it is this one, but they'll run out and there will be silence".

He seriously thought the game was being played at Subiaco, not the Docklands. You could tell it in his voice after the other panelists started talking about the game.

He is a dimwit of the highest order. Do some proper research ya flog !

Flap me this bloke is a flog of the highest order. I recorded AFL 360 on fox and thought it had to be a joke. Keep this bloke on channel 7 so I dont have to see or hear him ever again.

I loved the faceplant that Gerard went with after Robbo's explanation of his choice of Barry Hall over Julia Gillard in the "who would you rather be" segment was: "Well... I wouldn't want to be a woman..."

Hard to imagine any woman wanting to be Robbo either.

003825-mark-robinson.jpg

This picture totally sums up this fat prick. It smacks of
"I'm so f***ing awesome, I am the epitome of football experts. I know everything there is to know about football and if you don't believe me, then why do they let me go on radio and TV to give my opinions? I must be a friggin' football genius for them to let a fat slob like me on telly. F*** Brereton, Ox, Malthouse, Healy, Matthews and all those ex-player flogs, I know more than all of 'em!"
This guy is an A-Grade c*** and if his head wobbles any more it's gonna fall into his pie (family-sized of course).

there will be a "hitler did some good things" comment in the near future

cannot wait for it

a few weeks ago there was a "the gays" comment
this week "wouldn't want to be a woman"

believe people believe

its coming

there will be a "hitler did some good things" comment in the near future

cannot wait for it

a few weeks ago there was a "the gays" comment
this week "wouldn't want to be a woman"

believe people believe

its coming

I reckon he's some sort of idiot savant. It's the only thing that explains it.

I am thoroughly disappointed with the turn for the worse this thread has taken. Griz I thought you'd stay a true believer in the oracle.

Mods please create a "I am too cynical to appreciate Robbo's brilliance" thread.

I am thoroughly disappointed with the turn for the worse this thread has taken. Griz I thought you'd stay a true believer in the oracle.

Mods please create a "I am too cynical to appreciate Robbo's brilliance" thread.

Idiot savant is a compliment, Slatts. I mean, I was just browsing the filthy pages of the Sun and I noticed the great man is leading the Footy Tips. Now, that says something.

trying taking a shot every time he says "ya know", "yeah....", "gees, i dunno"

Dear Robbo

If you slur your words and talk nonsense because you drink 3 bottles of Scotch before you do a show, please stop drinking now.

If you are actually sober, please leave TV & radio forever.

Signed,

A Fellow Drinker

Pax brothers, pax.

We must do away with our petty squabbles and answer the bigger questions.

For example, what is his Robbo-ness saying with his hands? Is it inebbriated taxi-driver-instruction? Interpretive lap dancing? Muppet show possession?

I look forward to your thoughts.

Brother DVC

Collingwood was magnificent in every aspect, except for goalkicking. It is a frightening situation, much like the clown sitting in the corner of the little girl's room in horror movies. Just when you think he is no threat, it will swivel its head and blink.

"Don't Mention the Lid", Herald Sun 9, August 2010

Brothers,

I have seen the light!

Yippity do-dah, yippity yay, my oh my ... enough of the singing. Travis had the question asked of him last week: Could his kicking cost the Magpies the flag?

"The Tackle", Superfooty.com 9, August 2010