The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread

yep, parra playing like busteds and nobody turned up, they play great footy and make a grand final and 65 000 fans at the grand final
Difference is, Sydney play like "busteds" and 28,000 on average turn up every game. Against interstate sides.

When the Eels play like "busteds", 7000 turn up to a game against another Sydney-based side.

Of course it is. But that's the league way. Australian Rules culture is markedly different, and will translate to new markets in the same way that the Brisbane Lions and Sydney Swans generally swamp their rugby league counterparts in terms of both membership and crowds.

That is because Victorians travel in their thousands to Sydney and Brisbane to see their team play.

One, because it is akin to an 'overseas' sporting trip for our poor Mexican cousins.

Two, if you had a brown open sewer running through the middle of your your town, wouldn't you want to get out?

Lastly, no one that actually was born here actually follows it either, it is all expats and lesbians from Annandale.

Cheers to SLF and the mods for allowing this thread too.

Quality

One, because it is akin to an 'overseas' sporting trip for our poor Mexican cousins.

Always liked the Mexican south of the border thing.

Would mean Queenslanders are Canadians, nice friendly people but a bit slow........eh.

Then in the middle, New South Welshmen are the loud mouthed, stupid, arrogant, insular Yanks that nobody else likes. ;)

Always liked the Mexican south of the border thing.

Would mean Queenslanders are Canadians, nice friendly people but a bit slow........eh.

Then in the middle, New South Welshmen are the loud mouthed, stupid, arrogant, insular Yanks that nobody else likes. ;)

actually that sums it up well lol

That is because Victorians travel in their thousands to Sydney and Brisbane to see their team play.

Two, if you had a brown open sewer running through the middle of your your town, wouldn't you want to get out?

Lastly, no one that actually was born here actually follows it either, it is all expats and lesbians from Annandale.

Quality

Ronin "Source" Nazi is back, but this time he's talking directly out of his arse without a "fact" in sight...It's okay Ronin, you're obviously expressing your opinion...

So no-one who follows Sydney is from here, apart from Lesbians from annandale eh?

My brother, sister-in-law and I (to name three) attend most, if not all home games. We were all born in Rooty Hill (a far cry from your fantasy Lesbo ghetto) and they live in Werrington, still the heartland of league. My brother (like myself) followed league from childhood, UNTIL one fateful day about 15 years ago when we went to an AFL game. Neither of us have ever been back to a game of league. Why, because it's shit.

I live in the inner west and drink at a pub where most of the blokes who follow AFL were once league fans. Most even still watch it, more out a vague interest and a sense of loyalty than anything. They are all from Sydney, NOT MELBOURNE.

Take a leaf out of gosk's book and get a sense of humour before you come here and start talking complete shit. The only time you ever come to the AFL site is to sling shit and leave. And try and get your "facts" right.

Quality

lol

Sydney vs West Coast, Round 8 2009

Official crowd: 33,079 at ANZ Stadium

Sydney vs Port Adelaide, Round 9 2009

Official crowd: 23,229 at the SCG

Sydney vs Brisbane, Round 22 2009

Official crowd: 27,933 at the SCG

Teams from Queensland, SA and WA and only Brisbane made the finals out of all of them.

Nice try though:cool:

For what?

Look, I realise for rugby league, 25k is an enormous crowd but in a real sport, its a catually not tha great a result.

I also wonder why you are so desperate to point to stuff overseas.

What's wrong with playing an Australian game - the Australian game - in Australia?

(The piss funny thing is you think 25k for France v England in England is a good result. If the All Blacks played England in real rugby, they'd pull 60k plus. That's the funniest thing, rugby all round is shit, but you play the shitter version of the two)

SLF dont forget it is a hybrid game formed for the peasants by the peasants:cool:

W...T...F??? I don't understand your monopoly example. Probably my brain a bit soft from one too many head clashes.

How is it a stupid argument? Calling it the biggest game in the country when only 45% of the population live in an area that gives a toss.

The other 55% are serviced by two small teams who have niche followings mostly made up of ... people from Victardia.

The argument that more people live in NSW and Queensland is stupid because more people do not equal more fans and we all know how passionate Sydneysiders are for their sport.

Spiteful Beetle is a RU fan Einstein, don't really think he's mentioned RL? Are you the same mental midget who thought Brisbane was in NSW?

Apologies for the misunderstanding, throwing the pill backwards, running into someone, limited skills on display. Shit he's only human:eek:

I forgot, the work visas supplied to a multitude of maoris and sth pacific islanders. Wow how they have added to our culture:cool:

They got 12,000 in Tolouse which is a more rugby orientated area for the France v NZ game.

Do you think 6,000 French people have heard of Keith Shandy the face of international AFLOL? Do you think 12,000 New Zealanders have?

Ohno the french and kiwis don't rate us:eek:

When in history have these countries ever been rated:cool:

Aussie Rules is the natural evolution of sport really. It took the best parts of Soccer, Rugby and Gaelic Football and created one supersport which is harder, better, faster, stronger than any other game on this planet. No sport can match AFL for its non-stop intensity. No sport has the same balance between physicality and speed. Fact.

Sticking with rugby is like being a monkey - you missed the evolution boat.

Shit sher, stunning:thumbsu:

www.google.com should have the answers you seek. As I said, they are poor. Probably around 5k I guess?

But once again, again, again, again

I know AFL has good crowds! Excellent crowds compared to NRL in fact!

Please come back with something else.

EVER HEARD OF NFL BIFFO, NO INTERNATIONALS GAMES BUT THE MOST ATTENDED/TV VIEWERS IN THE WORLD:cool: THINK THE SEPOS CARE ABOUT YOUR INTERNATIONAL GAME, HAHA WHAT A JOKE:D

THEY HAVE PASSION FOR THEIR OWN GAME LIKE US AFL LOVERS:D

Andy D would trade all his pipe dreams of establishing a successful club in Western Sydney for Rugby Leagues international presence and something to rival our State of Origin and you know it.
As already stated, State of Origin was an Australian Football concept stolen by League. It works brilliantly for League, liked it used to for us, until our game worked that rivalry into the weekly competition. That's why State of Origin has died in the AFL - Vic haters get their fix every week insted of three times a season.

League's international presence is entirely due to English Imperialism, much like soccer or cricket, except they seem to have a slightly wider reach.

The funny thing is though, is whenever I've taken "rugby league lovers" to a game of real footy (AFL), they love it! These bogans up here are so closed minded though, show them a live game of footy and they will realised how wrong they've been.
Not just league lovers, people from anywhere. I've taken people from several different countries to AFL games and they all loved it. This is related to why League rates well in its home territories and AFL doesn't - and why League crowds are poor: you see everything you need to see of League on the TV, whereas TV cannot hope to capture the complexity and scale of Australian Football. That's why people who don't understand it (and even some who do) have trouble watching it on TV yet find it a revelation when they actually go to a game.

This lack of understanding is behind the fear league followers have of our game. We all fear the unknown and Australian Football is difficult to understand if all you know of it is glimpses on TV. Rugby League is simple to understand. We all know what it's about, which is why we don't fear it.

Now I'm going to go against the grain (and perhaps the spirit) of this thread a little and declare that I love Rugby League. It's much better than Union, not as good as soccer (but often better to watch), and needless to say falls short of the Greatest Game of All, but it still has its place. At its best it's magnificent to watch and you don't even have to leave your lounge room or the pub to see everything you need to see. Billy Slater, Greg Inglis, Joey Johns, Petro Civoneciva and Jonathan Thurstans are superstars in my book.

But it's not as good as Our Game. The difference comes back to one word so often abused when talking about football: culture.

Football of some description (yes, even the kinds where kicking the ball is a last resort) is practically universal across every culture on Earth.

We live in the greatest country on Earth (well, Sweety doesn't, poor bugger) and we should all be thankful to the Poms for giving it to us and then largely staying the **** away (or in conveniently avoidable Barmy Army tour groups) ever since. Even better, they put all the criminals in Sydney, where they could carry on their English traditions, while the true visionaries, those who chose to come here because they saw the potential in this great land, preferred Melbourne.

Fortune seekers from all over the world flocked to the Gold Rush, and within 50 years of Batman's declaration that 'this shall be the place for a village', Melbourne was one of the richest cities in the world. With riches came culture, the arts and a greater concentration of intelligence. The meshing of cultures and nationalities that Sydney still struggles with was present from Melbourne's earliest days and far from being a problem, has enriched our great city, its people and its culture.

I think you see what I'm getting at here: Melbourne was the first true Australian city. It is the best Australian city. The best, truest, most distinctly Australian city in the best, truest, most distinctly Australian country in the world.

That's our culture. Now, as I said, most all cultures practise some kind of football. NSW (and by extension Queensland, since it used to be part of NSW) imported the rugby codes because that's what those transported-against-their-will Poms were used to. Victorians, being a can-do people of vision who rejected the old world for the new, said: "Nah. We can do better than that."

And so they did.

Every time you visit the MCG you should pay homage to the statue of Tom Wills. I know I do.

As much as I love it, league fans would have to travel to Newcastle (England) to pay homage to a bunch of disgruntled coal miners who you can bet don't even have a statue in their honour.

:footy::heart::footy::heart::footy:

As already stated, State of Origin was an Australian Football concept stolen by League. It works brilliantly for League, liked it used to for us, until our game worked that rivalry into the weekly competition. That's why State of Origin has died in the AFL - Vic haters get their fix every week insted of three times a season.

League's international presence is entirely due to English Imperialism, much like soccer or cricket, except they seem to have a slightly wider reach.

Not just league lovers, people from anywhere. I've taken people from several different countries to AFL games and they all loved it. This is related to why League rates well in its home territories and AFL doesn't - and why League crowds are poor: you see everything you need to see of League on the TV, whereas TV cannot hope to capture the complexity and scale of Australian Football. That's why people who don't understand it (and even some who do) have trouble watching it on TV yet find it a revelation when they actually go to a game.

This lack of understanding is behind the fear league followers have of our game. We all fear the unknown and Australian Football is difficult to understand if all you know of it is glimpses on TV. Rugby League is simple to understand. We all know what it's about, which is why we don't fear it.

Now I'm going to go against the grain (and perhaps the spirit) of this thread a little and declare that I love Rugby League. It's much better than Union, not as good as soccer (but often better to watch), and needless to say falls short of the Greatest Game of All, but it still has its place. At its best it's magnificent to watch and you don't even have to leave your lounge room or the pub to see everything you need to see. Billy Slater, Greg Inglis, Joey Johns, Petro Civoneciva and Jonathan Thurstans are superstars in my book.

But it's not as good as Our Game. The difference comes back to one word so often abused when talking about football: culture.

Football of some description (yes, even the kinds where kicking the ball is a last resort) is practically universal across every culture on Earth.

We live in the greatest country on Earth (well, Sweety doesn't, poor bugger) and we should all be thankful to the Poms for giving it to us and then largely staying the **** away (or in conveniently avoidable Barmy Army tour groups) ever since. Even better, they put all the criminals in Sydney, where they could carry on their English traditions, while the true visionaries, those who chose to come here because they saw the potential in this great land, preferred Melbourne.

Fortune seekers from all over the world flocked to the Gold Rush, and within 50 years of Batman's declaration that 'this shall be the place for a village', Melbourne was one of the richest cities in the world. With riches came culture, the arts and a greater concentration of intelligence. The meshing of cultures and nationalities that Sydney still struggles with was present from Melbourne's earliest days and far from being a problem, has enriched our great city, its people and its culture.

I think you see what I'm getting at here: Melbourne was the first true Australian city. It is the best Australian city. The best, truest, most distinctly Australian city in the best, truest, most distinctly Australian country in the world.

That's our culture. Now, as I said, most all cultures practise some kind of football. NSW (and by extension Queensland, since it used to be part of NSW) imported the rugby codes because that's what those transported-against-their-will Poms were used to. Victorians, being a can-do people of vision who rejected the old world for the new, said: "Nah. We can do better than that."

And so they did.

Every time you visit the MCG you should pay homage to the statue of Tom Wills. I know I do.

As much as I love it, league fans would have to travel to Newcastle (England) to pay homage to a bunch of disgruntled coal miners who you can bet don't even have a statue in their honour.

Excellent summation:thumbsu: but no league fan I have ever met could read that many paragraphs:eek:

League's international presence is entirely due to English Imperialism,much like soccer or cricket, except they seem to have a slightly wider reach.

not_this_shit_again.jpg

I agree with the main gist of your post got no issues there mate. But to attribute soccer’s world wide popularity (well over 200 countries) to the reach of England’s Imperialism is a ridiculous tired cliche.

As far and wide England’s empire was, they did not colonise 99% of the world FFS. lol

Cricket and thugby are a testament of England’s colonial past because to this day those games remain relevant to varying degrees in their former colonies so yep I completely agree there. Outside these former colonies though (NZ, India, West Indies, Australia, etc..) cricket and thugby are mostly viewed as silly little oddities, which strongly suggest soccer’s popularity is due to something other than “England’s Imperialism”. As much as it pains some idiots it’s probably because of the simple fact that soccer is an infinitely better sport than both crappy cricket and rugby. :thumbsu: :cool:

And so they did.

tl:dr

Can't we all just get along? No? Wel you can all go an fist yourself while wearing one of those green hulk gloves.

Randy, you're right in a sense that men all over the world have been kicking their vanquished foe's heads to each other for as long as they have been lopping them off, thereby ensuring the enthusiastic uptake of soccer once the English codified it as a sport as opposed to a bit of post-slaughter fun.

I still say Imperialism spread the game, though it's probably more accurate to say European Imperialism rather than just English. I stand corrected.

International Rugby League is a joke. Everyone knows it, including you. I lived in England for a few years, and no one gives a flying **** about League except for bum**** coal mining towns with no money. It is a simple game for simple people. No-necked morons with over-active pituitary glands running in straight lines at each other.

And even then, as I showed earlier in the thread, more people like soccer anyway.

In Wigan, THE stronghold of RL in the UK, the local soccer team gets attendences nearly double that of the RL team.

Rugby League is a piss poor Pommy sport that even the Poms don't like.

The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread