The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread

Congrats SLF, one of the funniest threads I've ever read.

The only thing these flogs have got going for them is State of Origin, and who did they steal that idea from? :D

If it wasn't for that League would be dead, so where's the love?

The funniest thing is they brag about SoO.

The only reason SoO can work in RL is because only two bloody states play it. Makes it manageable.

The thing that makes Aussie Rules state of origin so unworkable is that so many states have a rightful claim on a place.

A piss poor minnow comp like the NRL can work three extra games into its schedule without much hassle.

But the AFL can't afford to hold up its lucrative and well attended comp for the couple of weeks a true SoO comp would take.

Again - Aussie Rules win.

Rugby League summed up in one video clip.
[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

[ I agree with the main gist of your post got no issues there mate. But to attribute soccer’s world wide popularity (well over 200 countries) to the reach of England’s Imperialism is a ridiculous tired cliche.

As far and wide England’s empire was, they did not colonise 99% of the world FFS. lol

Cricket and thugby are a testament of England’s colonial past because to this day those games remain relevant to varying degrees in their former colonies so yep I completely agree there. Outside these former colonies though (NZ, India, West Indies, Australia, etc..) cricket and thugby are mostly viewed as silly little oddities, which strongly suggest soccer’s popularity is due to something other than “England’s Imperialism”.

No, its not. Soccer was spread by the English mercantile empire.

That's why some of the famous soccer clubs on different sides of the world - Newell's Old Boys in Argentina and FC Barcelona have English names.

Rugby and cricket were the games of the colonial elite, hence why they are restrixcted to the old colonies.

But soccer was the game of the working man - the sailors, the smaller merchants - who in Britain's imperial heydet, could be found all round the world. That's why soccer spread when it did, and the fact that it is simple and you don't need any equipment.

Rugby League gave us
Mario_Fenech_What_s_Doing.jpg

/thread.

[youtube]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/youtube]

Pretty good comparison.

Although that's far more interesting than Rugby League.

That is because Victorians travel in their thousands to Sydney and Brisbane to see their team play.

One, because it is akin to an 'overseas' sporting trip for our poor Mexican cousins.

Two, if you had a brown open sewer running through the middle of your your town, wouldn't you want to get out?

Lastly, no one that actually was born here actually follows it either, it is all expats and lesbians from Annandale.

Cheers to SLF and the mods for allowing this thread too.

Quality

Get f*cked. I'd rather have the Yarra with a nice Southbank area than a second rate building that's meant to resemble "White sails" with half its white tiles falling off. Oh it's got great acoustics, who gives a shit. The only thing Sydney has that is worth mentioning is The Sydney Swans football team and half decent Asian food.

And the Yarra is a lovely river teeming with wildlife, unlike Sydney Harbour, a vile polluted waterway teeming with the corpses of murdered ethnic drug dealers.

1db62e0d759177d38e13ab3cba154ced_resized.jpg

How have we had an AFL Vs Rugby League Thread that goes for 23 pages and Karmichel Hunt didnt get mentioned once.:confused:

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dx57t24_cKo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

Yep, that about sums it up.

And the Yarra is a lovely river teeming with wildlife, unlike Sydney Harbour, a vile polluted waterway teeming with the corpses of murdered ethnic drug dealers.

Don't forget about their bridge.

Did you know it connects two land masses separated by water? Truly remarkable concept, I'd wager the idea will be taking off in Europe anytime now.

Just think of the possibilties, citizens of Venice will finally be able to cross the road! And all thanks to Sydney, which is in no small part built on league tradition and their heartlands.

Don't know if these have been posted before, can't be bothered reading thread. These are stolen form tardsunlimited.

NRL Average attendance 2009: 17,343
AFL Average attendance 2009: 37,785

Margin of total AFL 2009 attendance over NRL: 3,504,242 (with 16 fewer games)

Number of NRL teams in the top 16 of a combined AFL/NRL table of 2009 average attendances: 1 - Brisbane Broncos (16th)

Number of NRL teams with a total 2009 attendance over 500,000 - 3
Number of AFL teams with a total 2009 attendance over 500,000 - 16

Brisbane Broncos 2009 average attendance 26,545 (1st in NRL)
Brisbane Lions (AFL) 2009 average attendance 30,085 (12th in AFL)

Margin: best NRL 2009 av. attendance (Brisbane) over worst AFL av. attendance (Port Adelaide) - 956.

Margin: best AFL 2009 av. attendance (Collingwood) over worst NRL 2009 av. attendance (Canberra) - 44,583.

Melbourne Storm 2009 average attendance 16,901
Sydney Swans (AFL) 2009 average attendance 30,997

Bottom NRL team (Sydney Roosters) 2009 average attendance 12,877
Bottom AFL team (Melbourne) 2009 average attendance 28,920

NRL team: largest provincial centre (Newcastle) 2009 av. attend 14,945
AFL team: largest provincial centre (Geelong) 2009 av. attend 43,448

Number of NRL 2009 attendances over 30,000 - 14.
Number of AFL 2009 attendances over 30,000 - 128

Number of NRL 2009 attendances over 50,000 - 4
Number of AFL 2009 attendances over 50,000 - 30

If the product is superior then the marketing is profoundly inferior.

Source: stats.rleague.com

Ahhh, but the League types will then point out TV ratings forgetting that AFL gets a better TV deal ... (on, and I'd change that t***sUnlimited unless you want an infraction)

I think you see what I'm getting at here: Melbourne was the first true Australian city. It is the best Australian city. The best, truest, most distinctly Australian city in the best, truest, most distinctly Australian country in the world.

You know good post until you go all American on us ...God bless Victoria the greatest place on earth.

Your weather is crap, the place is full of Victorians (most of them thinking like your goodself .....'Melb is better than Perth' - 'oh have you been to Perth?' ....'ummmmm No I haven't') and just because drug related shooting vicitms are of all nationalities hardly means you are a multicultural showpiece.

This thread isn't about Victoria versus NSW - last time you morons got in a big pissing contest we ended up with Canberra so you both have a ***** lot to answer for in my books.

This thread is about Aussie football - quite simply it is a great game ...speed, strength, agility and bravery rolled into one.

Newsflash - just because footy is great does not mean Melbourne is better than Sydney .....each has it's own charms.

The main problem with Rugby League (and some other codes) is the 'off side' and 'forward pass' rules.

As long as they keep these, the sport will continue to be as exciting as watching paint dry.

On the TV ratings front, you're right, not only does the AFL get a much better TV deal, the AFL smashes the NRL in the TV ratings week after week.

http://www.talkingfooty.com/tv_ratings_2009.php

So all they have is the fact that about 50k Poms and the Cook Islands like their stupid game too?

IMO - the ongoing interest in our game in Ireland, which provides players regularly, counters that.

Aussie Rules, Rugby Pulls.

The funniest thing is they brag about SoO.

The only reason SoO can work in RL is because only two bloody states play it. Makes it manageable.

The thing that makes Aussie Rules state of origin so unworkable is that so many states have a rightful claim on a place.

A piss poor minnow comp like the NRL can work three extra games into its schedule without much hassle.

But the AFL can't afford to hold up its lucrative and well attended comp for the couple of weeks a true SoO comp would take.

Again - Aussie Rules win.

i dont know..SoO rates nationally so it does pretty well for 2 states ;)

The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread