The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread

Alot better than watching 40 blokes examing each others bums to to see if some shit has stuck to their arse cheeks, attendance figures would indicate this is as well.

Running into eachother and gaining 5 metres, bit of sideways passing. Yer real great sport to watch.

They got 12,000 in Tolouse which is a more rugby orientated area for the France v NZ game.

Do you think 6,000 French people have heard of Keith Shandy the face of international AFLOL? Do you think 12,000 New Zealanders have?
We don't care. All we care about is being the biggest sport in Australia, and we are, quite comfortably. :thumbsu:

Rugby evolved from Soccer what's your point? The game of Australian Football was created in Australia for Australians.

If you wish to follow a foreign Rugby code good luck to you. :thumbsu:
Aussie Rules is the natural evolution of sport really. It took the best parts of Soccer, Rugby and Gaelic Football and created one supersport which is harder, better, faster, stronger than any other game on this planet. No sport can match AFL for its non-stop intensity. No sport has the same balance between physicality and speed. Fact.

Sticking with rugby is like being a monkey - you missed the evolution boat.

Aussie Rules is the natural evolution of sport really. It took the best parts of Soccer, Rugby and Gaelic Football and created one supersport which is harder, better, faster, stronger than any other game on this planet. No sport can match AFL for its non-stop intensity. No sport has the same balance between physicality and speed. Fact.

Best post you've ever made.*

*Don't take this as a compliment.

Biffo, I assume you take the line that League is the superior product. If so, why does it struggle so badly for members and crowds? This isn't even having a shot, the common line on LU is "We have the superior / better / less gay product", and if this is so, why such a lack of interest?

Second of all, why are people on LU obsessed with homosexuality? Dead set honest question.

1. I do think League is a better product. That's my decision. The main beef I have with AFL is the arrogant attitude of the fans. Look at the dribble on here about how you show an AFL game to anyone and they love it. What rubbish. Australian Rules has been played in NSW & QLD for a hundred years. Fact. It's still a minority sport. Yet the arrogant people who support and run this game (I am generalising here, there are some AFL supporters who find their games administration arrogant too) think they can just plonk a team wherever they want in NSW and QLD and suddenly we're all just going to wake up and want to support Australian Rules.

I fully acknowledge that AFL has better crowds. No-one would be stupid enough to deny that. I hope the administrators of rugby league try and encourage more people to get to the games rather than just watch it at home (if you've ever checked the TV ratings you would know we do have massive ratings in NSW and Queensland). How they do this, I don't know.

2. I don't know about the obsession with homosexuality, but I would say that the same percentage of people say NRL is for ****s as people say AFL is for ****s ... It's not just NRL fans using this as a sledge.

So our game is based on soccer & Gaelic football then. :cool:

They got 12,000 in Tolouse which is a more rugby orientated area for the France v NZ game.

Do you think 6,000 French people have heard of Keith Shandy the face of international AFLOL? Do you think 12,000 New Zealanders have?

Obviously the NRL should stick a team in "Tolouse" sic where they have a bit of support then.
What do you reckon the week to week figures would be like?

We don't care. All we care about is being the biggest sport in Australia, and we are, quite comfortably. :thumbsu:

Back of the class.

I think you'll find cricket is bigger and a truly national game, which is all you guys wax lyrical about. When AFL is popular in the ACT, QLD and NSW like cricket then you'll have it. Until then, have fun bashing your head up against a wall.

Oh wait, cricket only gets poor crowds to the Sheffield Shield so no-one must like it eh?

Back of the class.

I think you'll find cricket is bigger and a truly national game, which is all you guys wax lyrical about. When AFL is popular in the ACT, QLD and NSW like cricket then you'll have it. Until then, have fun bashing your head up against a wall.

Oh wait, cricket only gets poor crowds to the Sheffield Shield so no-one must like it eh?
Footy is still the biggest game in the country, do a bit more research ya flog.:thumbsu: No one goes to shield games because they are usually during the week and it's not the top level product.

01-reds.jpg

or

20090815171150403_1.jpg

Which one will last longer? Western Reds or Western Sydney.

LOL.

Obviously the NRL should stick a team in "Tolouse" sic where they have a bit of support then.
What do you reckon the week to week figures would be like?

Les Catalans made the Super League preliminary final in the world outside Australia (a concept you probably don't understand). They're about 200k's from Toulouse. Weekly crowds there, poor compared to AFL in Australia. TV Ratings - OK.

Can you spot El Dildo?

neanderthal3.jpg

Out of shot sniffing the other blokes arses?

Also

Souths - 15,000
Dragons - 10,400
Roosters - 6,600
Bulldogs - 6,500
Tigers - 4,500
Sharks - 4,400
Manly - 4,400
Parramatta - 4,000
Penrith - 3,500

Holy crap ....end the thread.

I think my local WAFL team would be close to beating these figures?

Spiteful Beetle is a RU fan Einstein, don't really think he's mentioned RL? Are you the same mental midget who thought Brisbane was in NSW?

Your point being?
and yep...of course I think Brisbane is in NSW.:rolleyes:
I have a house in Brisbane and often drop into Sydney to pay my rates.

Back of the class.

Cricket is certainly more national but attendances for test and particularly ODI cricket are waning at the moment. Compare this with AFL, which continues to break attendance records yearly.

Footy is still the biggest game in the country, do a bit more research ya flog.:thumbsu: No one goes to shield games because they are usually during the week and it's not the top level product.

How is it the biggest game in the country? It's only popular in an area where 45% of the Australian population lives :confused:

Look at the memberships and attendances. They positively own every other sport in the country.

Les Catalans made the Super League preliminary final in the world outside Australia (a concept you probably don't understand). They're about 200k's from Toulouse. Weekly crowds there, poor compared to AFL in Australia. TV Ratings - OK.

Ok. So the figure would be?

What all by himself, well done Les.

What a stupid argument.

95 percent of homes have a Monopoly set. Does that make it the biggest game in the country?

Look at the memberships and attendances. They positively own every other sport in the country.

Spot on.. :thumbsu:
AFL is the most attended sporting league in Australia and the fourth most attended sporting league in the WORLD, with an average crowd of 39,000 per game.

1. I do think League is a better product. That's my decision. The main beef I have with AFL is the arrogant attitude of the fans. Look at the dribble on here about how you show an AFL game to anyone and they love it. What rubbish. Australian Rules has been played in NSW & QLD for a hundred years. Fact. It's still a minority sport. Yet the arrogant people who support and run this game (I am generalising here, there are some AFL supporters who find their games administration arrogant too) think they can just plonk a team wherever they want in NSW and QLD and suddenly we're all just going to wake up and want to support Australian Rules.
And that's fantastic for you, but not what I asked. If league is such a superior product, why are it's numbers so low?

2. I don't know about the obsession with homosexuality, but I would say that the same percentage of people say NRL is for ****s as people say AFL is for ****s ... It's not just NRL fans using this as a sledge.
I never said it was, but the sheer weight of use and the nature of it is a tad more serious on LU, don't you think?

www.google.com should have the answers you seek. As I said, they are poor. Probably around 5k I guess?

But once again, again, again, again

I know AFL has good crowds! Excellent crowds compared to NRL in fact!

Please come back with something else.
There's no point as it's game over. What's more to argue about? AFL owns NRL in every relevant aspect. :thumbsu:

The Official Aussie Rules vs Rugby League Mega Trollfest Thread