The Official Bulldogs Trade and Delistings Thread

Re: De-list/trade Young Players???

birssyboy40 said:
Matty ferguson? He goes to my cousins place sometimes, cos matts bro works with my cousin, hes been showing a few things to my cousins son(is that my 2nd cousin) and he was pretty close to making the gippsland power team this year, but hes gonna try again next year.
Might have to give him a call and see what he can tell me about matty.
Yeah matt it is, he looks to be a good young sort with a great work rate, a lot like Ryan Hargave but i just found out he is only 187cm so more shut down half back man.

Matthew Ferguson

Date of Birth: 1 October 1984

Debut: 2003

Guernsey Number: 21

Height 187cm

Recruited From: Heyfield/Gippsland Power

Weight: 87kg

ABOUT
Made the most of a spate of injuries to fellow defenders in the mid-season to play five games from round 16. Impressed at centre half-back, but a hamstring injury ruled him out of contention for the climax to the season. One to watch in 2005.

Draft history: 2002 National AFL Draft 2nd round selection (St Kilda) No. 22 overall traded by Hawthorn for Peter Everitt.

Re: Rocco's Rumour File

localyokel said:
I'd even give them your creamy pants.

Yes id be willing to give them up under these special circumstances.

Im sure Freo would be interest in the creamy pants too, might even through J LO our way just to make sure the deal goes through.

To some of the earlier posters ...

Birrs was pick 26 (2nd Round) in the year he came to us.

McMahon was pick 10 and Birss 26.

I like Birssy, i think he has a real go and has potential, just struggles to get a game at times because we have many midfield spots filled at the moment.
I feel he is very similar to Matty Boyd and almost like a mini Mitch Hahn in a sense, and prolly a bit more consistant at times.

I beleive Birssy is the kinda player that would kick some ass in another sides lineup, he would be a much better steal for another club than either Plunkett or Alvey, and in my opinion would be close to the equal of Powell in some ways.

I dont believe other clubs would give us much value for him, and i kinda hope eade convinces him to stay at least 2 more years, purely for the fact, that there is a good chance, Smith, West and Grant will be finishing up and that should well open a position up for him to slot straight into.

THe thing weighing on his mind against staying with us, would be the fact that Morris and Boyd and Griffen were able to practically step straight into the team and regularly get spots ahead of him. Griffen fair enough he is a champ and highly rated, but at start of season he woulda been fancying his chances over Morris and Boyd at that stage.

I do hope he stays, because to tell you the truth, i dont think he is all that far behind Smith and maybe one or two others.
Smith has really lost a bit in the last 2 years in my opinion, consistency mostly.

Son of the West said:
Smith has really lost a bit in the last 2 years in my opinion, consistency mostly.

Yeah, he has. Smith was once a brillant kick but he's lost that. His kicking is a bit poor at times. In particular, his goal kicking used to be great. Outside 50 and all - but now he can't even be trusted inside 30. Just seems to spray 'em a lot. :-/

Still runs the lines which is good, though. :thumbsu:

The club must make a play for Brendan Fevola. Imagine Darcy, Grant and Fevola in the same forward line with our awesome midfield. He'd be a 100 goal per season player with our quality runners and our attack would be a definate premiership contending attack capable of winning a flag. Give him a 4 year lucrative deal Rocket.

BulldogMike said:
The club must make a play for Brendan Fevola. Imagine Darcy, Grant and Fevola in the same forward line with our awesome midfield. He'd be a 100 goal per season player with our quality runners and our attack would be a definate premiership contending attack capable of winning a flag. Give him a 4 year lucrative deal Rocket.

OK, as long as we pay overtime and danger money to Bob Murphy at CHF.

I'm not too sure about Shultz. He shined at the GABBA a couple of years ago, but hasn't done much since then. He will probably end up being very injury prone (if he isn't already), so I would much rather us target someone else.

Birss is worth keeping if we can't find the right trade. I would play him across half back next season and he would be one of my tips to be our most improved player next season.

I would be disappointed too if we ended up with MacDougall. Soft as butter indeed, just like Bowden. Leigh Brown is one that I wouldn't mind, though. We can definitely use an Eagleton and Rawlings to pick up Brown and perhaps a second round pick.

Also, what makes people think Port will get rid of White after just getting him?

BulldogMike said:
Not sure about a 4 year deal. Sounds like Jade mrk 2. But I’d agree in us having a go for him. At least he is a proven forward and is young and has huge potential.

Go get him dogs.

bulldogtragic said:
Trying to get a coup is not the hard thing, it's trying to pay for it. So at the risk of being cained i'll put forward:

Eagleton, Faulkner, Birss, Bowden and Boyd as some names to be used to try to get something decent. (Brad Murphy will be traded regardless i think and not for much)

Wanna a gun player coup, then some decent names will play elsewhere next year...

No offence mate... but you're talking a GUN KPP player and you're throwing those names up? Hardly enough to get other teams throwing guns at us.

Birss, Bowden and Boyd wouldn't be included in goign for a gun... and I doubt eagleton would be... unless he was just a sweetener.

Gooka said:
No offence mate... but you're talking a GUN KPP player and you're throwing those names up? Hardly enough to get other teams throwing guns at us.

Birss, Bowden and Boyd wouldn't be included in goign for a gun... and I doubt eagleton would be... unless he was just a sweetener.
No offence taken. That is EXACTLY my point.

Some are using these names suggesting we can get gun KPP players for them. WE CANT! - We can package some of those names to TRY to get a 1st round pick (i.e. Eagle and Birss for a late first rounder & on trade it with our 1st rounder for say a Fevola)

BUT if we want these players we have to give up Gilbee's, Cross's, McMahon's, Griffen's, Johnson's etc to get them.

As my last line says, if we want say a Pavlich or Fevola (And for Fevola say they want players not picks for argument sake) then very, very good players will have to go.

So if we don't like the idea of trading our gun players, then we can't be really serious about a coup unless we start off loading all our good picks and off loading players for good picks.

Fevola and the dogs should happen

you can't dispute numbers, he kicked 40 something goals this year, more than any of our forwards, playing in a VFL standard side.

Getting supply from a high quality midfield like ours means he would kick almost twice that number.

Im not sure. I think he would be an asset to the side, mainly due to the silver service delivery, but the price-tag worries me.

Im fairly convinced that Pods could provide a similar 'lead, mark and goal' role for us at a fraction of the cost/risk. He might not be as good as Fev at the top level, but we dont actually need a superstar at FF, just someone who is a viable threat. Pods is an accurate kick for goal which means he can make the opposition pay from relatively few chances, which means they have to sit on him for the whole game. Thats good enough!

And with the money/picks we save, we could have a crack at a CHF/CHB option.

Id prefer

murph whitnal/polak johno
robbo Pods darce

over

cooney/guido murph johno
robbo Fev darce

both those CHF options and Pods for that matter, could go to CHB if neccessary. Thats very useful if we have injuries or Williams doesnt take off this year.

Either way, I think we should make a play for Pods. I reckon Bond/Clayton/Eade should approach James and tell him that the Bulldogs are after his services in 2006 and beyond. Obviously James will be interested in playing seniour footy at the highest level next year, so the question I want answered is whether he will nominate himself for the Narional Draft or the pre-season draft. If he nominates himself for the pre-season draft and states the he only wants to play at the Bulldogs next year, then we will snag him with our pick in that draft. Nominating himself for the National Draft will make the assignment a little more difficult considering there are usually around 70 selections compared to twelve at the pre-season draft.

I'd still like us to approach Polak, but I would rather Fevola ahead of Whitnall.

The days of trading one player for a few are over. Clubs realise that three mid talent players dont make up for one gun and there are only 38 places on a list anyway. the only way to get a quality player is to give up one of your guns, pinch him in the PSD or with high draft pick(s).

Maybe look at something like Sam Power to Brisbane, Daniel Merrett and Western Bulldogs Pick 11 to Carlton and Brendan Fevola to the Bulldogs

This was posted by a carlton supporter so obviously they would take it but not so sure about brisbane... might hav to thro in somethin else

CrAckDoGGer said:
Maybe look at something like Sam Power to Brisbane, Daniel Merrett and Western Bulldogs Pick 11 to Carlton and Brendan Fevola to the Bulldogs

This was posted by a carlton supporter so obviously they would take it but not so sure about brisbane... might hav to thro in somethin else

Id stop at power to brisbane for merret.

brad scott and beau mcdonald

ok risky yes but most successful teams to take that next step, look at pike for the lions

i do think we r a good ruckman away from being a top 4 side,minson and street r good workers and darcy is coming of a knee injury (ok so is mcdonald) but if those 4 players are fit next year this will free darc up more and then having minson street and mcdoald rucking :D :D

i also would be very happy if he was our mr september, just getting right playing a few game for the bees then stepping in2 the 1s a month out from finals and just killing them come september :D

look all im sayin is if the trade is there take th punt on mcdonald or scott it may just prove to be what we need to take the next few steps

Magpies ask Cole to stay on
By Jake Niall
September 13, 2005

BROWNLOW medallist Shane Woewodin is aware that Collingwood has him on the trading block and that he will not be with the club next year, but the Magpies have told Richard Cole that they wish to keep him.

In a meeting with Collingwood on Friday, Cole indicated his willingness to remain with the Magpies, who have offered the 22-year-old defender a two-year contract. However, Cole is yet to re-sign and there is still some uncertainty about his future.

A delegation from the Western Bulldogs, including coach Rodney Eade and recruiting manager Scott Clayton, spoke to Cole last week to discuss the possibility of him moving to Whitten Oval next season.

Essendon also is believed to keeping a close eye on Cole, having a strong connection through club director Beverly Knight, who was Cole's legal guardian when he came to Victoria from the Northern Territory in his teens.

Woewodin is on holidays in Queensland, which has prevented any formal announcement of his fate, but the 2000 Brownlow medallist knows that his time is up with his second club, and is hoping to secure a trade to another club.

Despite the likely departure, Magpie coach Mick Malthouse was supportive of the former Demon when asked on Fox Footy about his future. "He puts in all the time and he had a flat spot during the course of the year and he went back to Williamstown and was best on ground on a couple of occasions and we brought him back," Malthouse said.

"There always seems to be a pet hate with certain clubs and certain players and no matter what that player does, he is always going to be the first to be criticised."

Collingwood already has completed much of its list pruning, having told six players — Brayden Shaw, Matthew Lokan, David King, Tom Davidson, Andrew Williams and Billy Morrison — that they will not be at the club next year. A number of others are potential trade bait, as the club tries to refurbish its list following a terrible season in which it finished 15th.

Collingwood held a meeting of the entire football department yesterday in the wake of a comprehensive review of the club's football operations by two members of the Special Air Service. Yesterday's meeting went through some of the issues that had been identified in the review, but it was unclear what, if any, recommendations have been made about how the football department might be remodelled.

One big change already has occurred, with chief executive Greg Swann having been moved across to spend most of his time in the football department.

This story was found at: http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/12/1126377257501.html

I found an interesting suggestion on the Collingwood board:

Thread name "Logical Trades"

First line:

Collingwood give Dogs Cole in exchange for Gilbee

Are these freaks just plain stupid?

yeah, and it seems their management shares the view of their supporters that any hack collingwood player is worth twice as much as a hack from another side.

power for cole is the ideal straight swap, they are different style of players, but very similar circumstances.

Swifty_446 said:
I found an interesting suggestion on the Collingwood board:

Thread name "Logical Trades"

First line:

Collingwood give Dogs Cole in exchange for Gilbee

Are these freaks just plain stupid?

Why do you think 15 clubs steer right away from the Pies come trade time! :D

The Official Bulldogs Trade and Delistings Thread