The Pies/Bombers ANZAC day game is just a H&A game between two teams I Hate

It's massive.

Multiple times better than the reverse fixture.

Chuck any two Vic teams on the MCG on Anzac Day and it would be massive.

About time it was shared around.

The day is special, not the clubs.

Wrong, Play any 2 other clubs and they wouldn't sell it out, it's a mix of the day and the clubs playing IMO.

A common theme I'm seeing is Essendon/Collingwood supporters saying that they should get the game because they pull a big crowd but then saying other teams don't deserve games like this (Good Friday being the main one) because they don't pull a big enough crowd.

Right... o_O

Doesn't have to, point is there is more than one game played on Anzac day.

Doesn't have to make sense? Fair enough.

You're right there is more rta one game. Irrelevant to my point.

I said that the arvo MCG time slot should be shared around. My reason was that the reverse fixture between the pies/bombers is nowhere near as good - any two Vic teams playing on the G in the arvo would be special, much more special than a normal h/a game.

That's my view anyway.

It's sickening the way they use the ANZACs and war as a big selling point and in all the marketing. Essendon, Collingwood and the AFL should be ashamed of themselves, it's ****ing tacky beyond belief.

I only read first half of first shit.....have you asked how the servicemen feel? Have you heard how much they love it? Have you gone? Have you taken your kids and explained why you are crying, why there is silence, and fantastic ceremony?

It's sickening the way they use the ANZACs and war as a big selling point and in all the marketing. Essendon, Collingwood and the AFL should be ashamed of themselves, it's ******* tacky beyond belief.
It's the AFLs tribute to our heroes, I think all profits should go to relevant charity's though, same as Good Friday.

Reality Check: Essendon and Collingwood are the 2 of the greatest clubs in the history of the competition. Even the AFL acknowledges this. If you don't like it, don't watch AFL. Plenty of other leagues around for you.

Doesn't have to make sense? Fair enough.

You're right there is more rta one game. Irrelevant to my point.

I said that the arvo MCG time slot should be shared around. My reason was that the reverse fixture between the pies/bombers is nowhere near as good - any two Vic teams playing on the G in the arvo would be special, much more special than a normal h/a game.

That's my view anyway.
I understand your view and I would like to see other clubs get the big match on the MCG for Anzac Day. It really won't affect Coll v Ess matches much if they don't occur on ANZAC. I go each year but wouldn't care if we lost it. I would still always go the the Coll Ess match.

Collingwood v Essendon will still draw 80,000 or thereabouts most years like Coll v Carl or Ess v Carl do. Coll and Ess don't need the impetus ANZACday brings to draw a crowd. With respect to the reverse fixturing ANZAC day isn't the important differentiating factor but the fortunes of the teams late in the season. Likeallthe games involving Coll, Ess, Carl the return fixture generate significantly smaller crowds unless both teams are I contention.

I'm not a fan of glorifying armies and wars that actually only result in death and destruction, so I'm not interested in the overt patriotic symbolism of the match, nor in the specific opinions of those associated with armed forces, such as being touted in this thread.

Having said that, I've been to nearly every ANZAC match that's been held and the atmosphere is unrivalled.

I'm still not sure why opposition (Victorian) sides are still banging on about it. The AFL has compromised, there's 3 games on ANZAC day this year. Get over it.

It's sickening the way they use the ANZACs and war as a big selling point and in all the marketing. Essendon, Collingwood and the AFL should be ashamed of themselves, it's ******* tacky beyond belief.

What, like the way Brayshaw is hoping to do with sick children and in a Good Friday clash? Nah that's different...

I don't get what all you posters are trying to do complaining in here, write to the AFL and complain.
I wouldn't care less if we didn't have the game, but when they distribute funds to other clubs, don't take any from Collingwood and Essendon, WoW then we would see some whingers.

You need to count the changes to both games. Some very rough figures to demonstrate my point:

Ess v Coll Anzac Day - 90,000
Rich v Carlton normal - 70,000

Ess v Coll normal - 75,000
Rich v Carlton Anzac Day - 90,000

Think you are right here but I would reckon ANZAC day adds 10,00 to the gate tops not 15000. Of the 19 fixtures so far the 1st in 1995 has had the biggest attendence 94000+ while 4 othe time the crowd has gone over 90000. Taking out the years where the MCG capacity was limited the smallest crowd has been 73000.

That's my thinking is ANZAC day adds maybe 5-10000 to the gate for Coll v Ess. It doesn't change the crowd that much. If you had say Dogs v N Melb it might add 20-30000 to the gate. However TV numbers may suffer and that could be the limiting factor. 7 would be in the AFLs ear immediatley if such a change was promoted.

Why I would like Coll and Ess to lose ANZAC day is so people would stop getting wound up about this issue. The ceremony is a nice start to the day but like Olympic opening ceremonies and GF pre match entertainment it doesn't really float my boat. I am there for the footy nothing else really. I suspect most of the other regular attenders of these matches are the same albeit some will get more of a kick out of the ceremony than me.

Why does it rate much higher than any other HaA game then? Your Monday game couldn't even rate a million and struggled to net a crowd of 80k, Anzac Day sold out last Friday and averages 90k with many people unable to get tickets, it's seen as a big day by more than not.

averages 90K??

In the 19yrs of the game there have only been 5 crowds above 90k, yes 5. And of course it rates well, it's the only game on usually.