The worst Geelong player on the night

Other than the missed goals, which were important, Hawkins was one of our best. At least he tried. Our ruckmen were our weakest point, i think. We got torn up out of the middle after the first quarter and their ruckmen had more impact around the ground. Yes ours had more of the ball, but theirs definitely had more impact. Big men all around were the difference, despite Mooney and Hawk doing their best with what they got. I assume it wasn't in the game plan for them to lead further up the ground and help with contesting kick ins, as they weren't that far deep all night.
Kelly was also pretty bad whenever he got the ball, at least he had 10 tackles to show he wasn't a total waste.

seriously dude. what the ****. hawkins marked everything that came to him. he got clapped when he came off. despite no goals, he was pretty important and when he didnt take the mark, he was controlling the ball or putting it to advantage. shit call.

He had a handful of marks and didn't hit the scoreboard. He was good in one passage early where he crashed a pack in the goalsquare and created a spill for a goal to Varcoe I think. The problem is he didn't do any of that for the rest of the game, which is what forwards need to do in those conditions. Still looked like he is lacking confidence. You would have to be blind to not notice that Mooney had far more influence than Hawk tonight, and that Hawk had little influence.

For what it's worth, based on tonight.

If you play Freo, Ottens/Blake, if you play Hawks, Ottens/Hawkins

With Pods in, Hawkins could push forward and stretch the young Hawks defence I'd reckon. Sandilands deserves the respect of two specialised ruckman.

This is probably not in keeping with the title of the thread but it was a collective downturn of form, not any poor individual effort, that cost us the game, even when there was less than a kick in it in the end.

If only we had kicked straighter ...

Let's see 5 marks, 3 kicks, 2 behinds.

Versus Mooney: 4 marks, 8 kicks, 3 goals, 3 behinds.

That says to me that Hawkins was crap, didn't lead to dangerous positions and didn't convert either of at least 2 shots at goals and was useless when the ball went to ground. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.

Hawkins 6 handballs.. playing as a CHF/Ruck... how you could come to the conclusion that he wasnt good when the ball went to ground is beyond me, you negative flog.
We have seen a golden generation of this team and I'm sick of the misguided negativity shown toward players. I'm aware that this thread is called the worst geelong player on the night, but calling for jihads based off a game where we lost by less than a kick to the 3rd best side in the comp and almost everyone was below their best is laughable.
The fact that this thread exists is testimony to the negativity that has been festering in this board since '07

The josh hunt toast thread is the most lol worthy thread in bigfooty history.

He had a handful of marks and didn't hit the scoreboard. He was good in one passage early where he crashed a pack in the goalsquare and created a spill for a goal to Varcoe I think. The problem is he didn't do any of that for the rest of the game, which is what forwards need to do in those conditions. Still looked like he is lacking confidence. You would have to be blind to not notice that Mooney had far more influence than Hawk tonight, and that Hawk had little influence.

At no point did i say mooney was worse than hawkins, he was better than Hawkins. I just think that Tom showed more encouraging signs than he has in most of his 60 games and to criticise him for this is pretty rank as a supporter. In wet conditions he had good hands and was quite obviously not our worst player as doodl suggested.

Side note: Whoever it was that said Milburn was our worst, beats doodl for flog of the hour. Easily in the top few players for us on the night.

Hawkins 6 handballs.. playing as a CHF/Ruck... how you could come to the conclusion that he wasnt good when the ball went to ground is beyond me, you negative flog.
We have seen a golden generation of this team and I'm sick of the misguided negativity shown toward players. I'm aware that this thread is called the worst geelong player on the night, but calling for jihads based off a game where we lost by less than a kick to the 3rd best side in the comp and almost everyone was below their best is laughable.
The fact that this thread exists is testimony to the negativity that has been festering in this board since '07

6 handballs. Big whoop. Blake had 5. Blake also has 1 goal assist to his name and guess who has 0 to theirs. So far all that tells me is one of those two is probably gunna be dropped for Pods. I don't mind which, either way it will be a net gain.

Hooray for us! We had a bad night, everyone played crap and we still nearly won. No thanks, I don't ever want to go down the road of accepting "honourable losses". If we want to avoid going out in straight sets this team needs some rejigging and I'm gunna call it as I see it.

I'm not on a "Jihad" against Hawkins I just think that right now he is not playing as good as he can and his confidence is down. If he stays in the team it should be as a backup ruck because he has played better there and he is not giving us much as a forward. He just doesn't have the cajones to play there right now.

6 handballs. Big whoop. Blake had 5. Blake also has 1 goal assist to his name and guess who has 0 to theirs. So far all that tells me is one of those two is probably gunna be dropped for Pods. I don't mind which, either way it will be a net gain.

Hooray for us! We had a bad night, everyone played crap and we still nearly won. No thanks, I don't ever want to go down the road of accepting "honourable losses". If we want to avoid going out in straight sets this team needs some rejigging and I'm gunna call it as I see it.

I'm not on a "Jihad" against Hawkins I just think that right now he is not playing as good as he can and his confidence is down. If he stays in the team it should be as a backup ruck because he has played better there and he is not giving us much as a forward. He just doesn't have the cajones to play there right now.

You're on drugs mate.

Come on guys we played shit and the saints got lucky and only snuck home by 4 points. Let the baby have its bottle and let everyone say we're dead. Will be nice to be hunters for a few weeks!

Do you want Blake to have 30 touches? Would that be good for the team? Particularly on a night like that?

Do you think players want to give him the ball, like they do other players?

What do you think his role is exactly?

Currently it looks as if his role is to stand in the centre square and to be an absolute last resort option for anyone its in trouble with the ball.

Be nice to see him tackle, shepard, contest balls in the back half. You know the things ruckmen are meant to do.

That said he wasn't our worst player tonight that honor goes to Mackie.

Constant turn overs and playing no where near his man all night looks have played his way out of the side should make way for T Hunt

if you dont mind me posting on your board...

i think joel selwood was fairly poor, for his standards. that said, he didnt seem to do his dive on the ball thing with courage, so maybe he was sore/injured and so subconsciously was a little less courageous?

ablett could not get a effective kick all night, just seemed saints players were so desperate to get the slightest touch or smother, and they did.

taylor, scarlett, byrnes (first half), varcoe (second half), and blake were all poor as well.

mooney and bartel were clear bests for me?

I thought Hawkins marked and presented really well, but maybe I saw things differently to everyone else?

No, he did.

Unfortunately he missed those two shots at goal which would have made a serviceable game a very good one.

not the worst but MOST DISAPPOINTING = Selwood, Taylor, Dog, COREY, HUNT. Blake and Ottens won the hitouts and none of the 4 rucks had an impact. Mackie at least got the ball but stuffed up a few times. Hunt had a shocker, looked as if he was still in the Krock box spectating.Corey is too slow. Taylor was thrashed. Dog was his "other" self. Selwood has not yet played a decent finals game compared to his standards.

Mark Blake.........surprise surprise
will he play again this year?
If you think Blake's performance cost us tonight we saw different games. Whether he plays again is a different issue. We may only have 1 more game and if against Freo at Etihad, yes?. Ottens will need some help in the hitouts, but Sandilands will kill them both anyway. So maybe we accept that and play Hawkins and Ottens, Pods and Mooney. Would love a final at Etihad, we seem unbeatable there, but anything is possible this year. Beating Hawks in a final could well be our GF for this year.

Re: worst Geelong player on the night

Thanks Josh. You cannot replace Harley.

Josh had his worst game for the year along with Selwood and probably a few others but I just don't understand this mentality that often gets thrown around..

Since when did Hunt replace Harley? I certainly wouldnt have trusted Harley taking Milne in any of the past 3 to 4 years.. Hunt usually owns Milne..

Show some respect, Hunt has been great this year..

terrible op about blake, again he was solid in the ruck and knew his role around the ground, handballed to the disposal players...

his tap to SJ which gave us the goal wich gave us a sniff in the 3rd was first class, noone else (apart from ottens obviously) can do that..

we need two good ruckmen

For what it's worth, based on tonight.

If you play Freo, Ottens/Blake, if you play Hawks, Ottens/Hawkins

With Pods in, Hawkins could push forward and stretch the young Hawks defence I'd reckon. Sandilands deserves the respect of two specialised ruckman.

You're absolutely right, but it's highly unlikely Bomber will drop Hawkins IMO, he loves him. He'll drop Blake or Pods won't come back this week.

I thought Hawkins marked and presented really well, but maybe I saw things differently to everyone else?

i thought he marked strongly and presented well.

as for blake, whilst the op may have gone over the top it was staggering the amount of times he was in space and a cats player looked up and spotted him and went to another.

At no point did i say mooney was worse than hawkins, he was better than Hawkins. I just think that Tom showed more encouraging signs than he has in most of his 60 games and to criticise him for this is pretty rank as a supporter. In wet conditions he had good hands and was quite obviously not our worst player as doodl suggested.

Side note: Whoever it was that said Milburn was our worst, beats doodl for flog of the hour. Easily in the top few players for us on the night.

Fair points then. And I agree with you, Hawkins wasn't our worst.

But there becomes a time when "showing encouraging signs" take a back seat to needing to win finals and picking the best side on the day, and so based on the fact that Mooney was considerably better than him last night, and what Pods showed 2 weeks ago, Hawkins did not do enough to play next week, which was my point, and it's absolutely true. Now he'll play, coz the coach loves him, but he probably shouldn't. Just sayin'.

And I agree with you, Dasher was one of the few who could hold his head high last night. Anyone who says otherwise didn't watch much of the game.

I'm no Blake fan but he was not why we lost or down so far in the 3rd. Josh Hunt was absolutely disgusting. Fair enough is Milney gets a few when the ball hits the ground and around the packs. Can't always stop that but you CAN NOT have his goals coming after he out bodies someone 15-20kg heavier and 10cm taller than him. Is beyond disgraceful.

After Hunt I think Ablett Jnr, Selwood and Corey were the worst given we could not buy a clearance or get any control through the midfield at all until the final quarter. Hawkins was not that bad. People looking to blame him should look at our midfield first because it was due to them that he and our other forwards could barely get a sniff of it until late. Mackie also stunk and gave away a critical goal with an amateurish mistake but he's been doing it all year so why would it change in a final? :mad:

The worst Geelong player on the night