There is more to Warren Tredrea than meets the eye

Whats he done??? An over the top goal celebration?? If thats the case Rohan Smith is the devil

He is one of the top KP players of the last 15 or 20 years. Thats the image he should have. People have conveniently forgotten the awesome footy he has played

And he might have slowed down, but for the most part thats the life of a gun CHF. Brereton, Carey, Grant, Hall all had their body's let them down eventually. He's still worth his spot

Good post!

And as dyertribe posted, Tredders is a modern day Saint compared to many players currently running around in the AFL (and yes that includes some from Port).

:confused:

95% of AFL players don't get into trouble. You're making it out to be some kind of achievement that Tredders is a "modern day saint"

Wow he wants to get home to his daughter, the guy is a saint, what qualities.

He has hardly done an interview in his life when he hasn't spoken like an arrogant, cocky hero with not an ounce of humility. He might have pulled back a bit now because he hasn't had a kick for 3 years. His premiership speech was the worst in history.

^Tom, that is complete bullshit. As captain he did weekly interviews with ch 9 news here in SA, and I really don't see any arrogance. I would say even crow fans who saw these interviews would vouch for this. Please tell me what he does exactly that is so arrogant in interviews.

would take a bit more than this to change my mind about him being the worst bloke in the afl.

No idea where this comes from... the phone gesture in 05 and the bow in 07?

especially considering the types of things collingwood players have done in the past

and which premiership speech are you talking about? the losing 07 grand final? like any losing gf speeches are memorable anyway... he clearly described how we weren't good enough and apologised to our supporters

Wow he wants to get home to his daughter, the guy is a saint, what qualities.

He has hardly done an interview in his life when he hasn't spoken like an arrogant, cocky hero with not an ounce of humility. He might have pulled back a bit now because he hasn't had a kick for 3 years. His premiership speech was the worst in history.

Would you like to elaborate on that?

I've talked to Tredders in person on several occasions, and he's always been a fantastic bloke and had plenty of time for his supporters. Like ANY champion, he's confident and believes in his abilities, but he is no more arrogant than any one else in the AFL.

One bow and people talk like he is the most disrespectful arrogant player in the AFL. It's beyond a joke on here.

He's never done anything negative to draw attention to himself on or off the field. He's got a clean tribunal record and has never been in trouble off field. He's a champion player who has lots of time for his supporters and loves his club as much as anyone in the competition.

Whats he done??? An over the top goal celebration?? If thats the case Rohan Smith is the devil
If that was all there was too it then perhaps you could say eh was maligned but even then there is over the top joyous, over the top show pony and over the top arrogant and insulting. Smith was in the first category I would have thought.
He is one of the top KP players of the last 15 or 20 years.
Speaking of over the top! He was one of the best playing for a couple of years. It’s probably beside the point though.

Hate him on the field, think he's arrogant on the field and well past his prime.
BUT
I was getting a mate's buck show shirt signed by the Port players and despite the fact that he was late to training, he still stopped and signed it and had a chat to me.
Chad Cornes, again one of my most hated on field and son of an absolute kn$b was even better - when the rookies (like Westhoff) walked past me without signing, he called them all back! Made them form a line to sign the shirt! Then I saw him at the BDO later that day - for the hour I was watching the same band as him, I reckon he posed for about 50 photos.

Spin doctoring, propoganda, marketing makeover. The guy is a flog, why try and change our opinions of him, Port fans? You can worship him, we will see him how he is. The bowing defined his arrogance and he's never backed it up.

Great to hear you had a good experience with him On the Boyle, and there are thousands of Port supporters who would give you similar stories of meeting with both Tredders and Chad.

Even if both of those guys are arrogant on the field, they're friendly blokes off it, no doubt about it. I'm sure just like 95% of AFL footballers.

Spin doctoring, propoganda, marketing makeover. The guy is a flog, why try and change our opinions of him, Port fans? You can worship him, we will see him how he is. The bowing defined his arrogance and he's never backed it up.

When you are saying he's never backed it up, are you saying that he's never been good enough to be an arrogant player?

Because, seriously, I know you're a professional Port troll, but that's beyond ridiculous. He was one of the top few players in the league for several years until injuries hit him.

Hahah. If you're serious you're frightening.

Imagine if he'd ever been reported for a dangerous onfield incident (or at all), played up on his nursing missus, taken illicit drugs, gambled substantial sums on AFL matches, ran from a booze bus, been accused of sexual assault, been accused of touching up his missus, forged prescriptions, lied to his club and teammates about a late night incident, been accused of assault, joyridden with murderers, seriously injured a friend due to negligent driving, drink drove or lied to police/fled the scene of an accident?

Just some of the things that certain current AFL listed players have experienced.

hve99j.gif

I think all the anti-Tredrea posters need to have a re-read of this post and have a good hard think about 'perspective' and 'priority'.

Why do we feel the need to defend the guy?

Premiership Captain, 100+ games, son of a Port Adelaide great, Black and White (and Teal) in his veins....

Just because he's a wife bashing, cop flogging, drug taking @rsehole who knocked off his best mate's wife.... Oh hang on, who am I thinking of?:rolleyes:

:confused:

95% of AFL players don't get into trouble. You're making it out to be some kind of achievement that Tredders is a "modern day saint"
Read the thread have you. It was a response to a claim that Tredders is the worst bloke in the AFL.

What's he done, a couple of over the top goal celebrations? Balance that against a career of no reports, not a hint of personnal scandal never whinged when screwed over by umps but simply accepted that it's his role in the game to have defenders hanging off him, tremendous service to one club both on and off the field and a true professional in getting his body as fit as possible whatever the circumstances. He's one of the greats of the PAFC.

I think if people believe tredders to be an arrogant tosser then reading the article will do nothing to change that, nor will the entreaties of the various port supporters posting and defending him.
People seem to either like or loathe Wazza Treadrea.
I think the real problem port supporters have is that treadrea is never respected in the manner of a James Hird or a Buckley who are respected by many opposition supporters. In hird's case for example, people forget he slagged off an umpire by name - a no-no that could be regarded as arrogant. But people don't bring that up, they bring up everything else Hird achieved.
However with treadrea people forget that he was at the top of the game a few years ago, played in a winning GF etc, etc.... and this is over-ruled by his one arrogant "bow" in 2007.

People don't like players who make a mess of there side.

I'd get the shits if the same bloke could take 2-3 of my oppositions defenders and still kick 8 goals.

Then get even more infuriated when his team wins a flag due to his dominance.

And that's why we love him. I don't give 2 shits if opposition hates him, I love him twice as much then, just like Cornes, people hate them cause their damn good and they win games.

I think if people believe tredders to be an arrogant tosser then reading the article will do nothing to change that, nor will the entreaties of the various port supporters posting and defending him.
I think the real problem port supporters have is that treadrea is never respected in the manner of a James Hird or a Buckley who are respected by many opposition supporters. In hird's case for example, people forget he slagged off an umpire by name - a no-no that could be regarded as arrogant. But people don't bring that up, they bring up everything else Hird achieved.
However with treadrea people forget that he was at the top of the game a few years ago, played in a winning GF etc, etc.... and this is over-ruled by his one arrogant "bow" in 2007.

Buckley's a great example - I think most Non Collingwood supporters thought he was an arrogant tosser on the football field and throughout his playing days - most people believed in the FIGJAM story. Now that he is in the media and comes across as a thoughtful and intelligent, as well as putting out a book on his life story, a lot of people's perceptions of him have changed. Perception and Reality - 2 very different things a lot of the time.

People who dont like him have never met him. He is a good person and does not look "down upon us mere mortals" when you talk to him.

However, one incident can shape how a person is percieved. Much like Bickly on Wakelin.

People who dont like him have never met him. He is a good person and does not look "down upon us mere mortals" when you talk to him.

However, one incident can shape how a person is percieved. Much like Bickly on Wakelin.

How is Bickley frowned upon?

The State calls him the Pride of for gods sake, bunch of hyprocrits.

It was one of the dirtiest hits in recent AFL times FFS. (I'm not getting angry at you)

i guess there's a lot of footballers out there who people don't like and who they haven't met and such a meeting may indeed change their perceptions of the person. I guess that people see chad cornes, for example, act in a manner perceived as arrogant on field and assume that he's going to be a knob when he's in line at the shops.

The bow was just silly. He already had an image problem and that just made it worse.

He has more than an image problem, 4 years ago most of his teammates didn't like him either. I guess the below article balances out the market love fest in the OP:

Don't call us, we'll call you

Date: July 1 2005

By Stephen Reilly

In late May, a fanciful and yet curious suggestion about Warren Tredrea began to circulate throughout the football intelligence network.

It was not that Tredrea was mistakenly thought to be coming out of contract at the season's end - he signed a deal that tied him to Alberton until the end of 2007 - but that he was disgruntled and, remarkably, might want to leave Port.

According to some of the people within football who make it their business to observe and infiltrate their opposition, in mid-May Tredrea was savaged by coach Mark Williams after the team's loss to Sydney, singled out for blame after being comprehensively beaten by Leo Barry.

"The finger was pointed at him. He was baked and he wasn't happy about it," one insider said.

In itself, this amounted to little more than mildly interesting gossip. The relationship between a footballer and coach, even the best of both, is bound to have its combustible moments.

But by the month's end, after Port embarrassed itself against West Coast in Perth with a performance that offered the strongest encouragement to believe the premier was in disarray, Williams' pointed criticism was being reconsidered as one of a series of events that could make sense of the suggestion that Tredrea was deeply unhappy.

By this time, it was scarcely a secret that the four-time All-Australian forward was bitterly disappointed over the decision to reappoint Matthew Primus captain for another season.

In the prime of his career, Tredrea felt ready to succeed the club's popular and long-standing captain, who, at 30, was returning to the game after playing only 10matches in two seasons because of injury. After all, Tredrea had led the side to its first premiership in Primus' absence and is unquestionably its best player.

Whether Tredrea was explicitly promised the position by Williams immediately after the premiership success, he understood he would captain the team in his own right this year. Deepening his disillusionment was the manner in which Primus' reappointment was eventually determined.

"Warren wasn't asked if he would like to do the job, he was told he would be doing it, but this was before 'Choco' had spoken to Matty," one source said.

"Matty went to Choco and asked to keep it. Choco asked him about the pressure of trying to get back and leading and Matty said, 'No, I don't just want it, I need it. I thrive on being captain and it will help my footy.' At that point Choco was in a bind. This was in October.

"Then, in December, Choco met again with 'Tredders' and Matty. Again Matty said he needed it and Warren reminded the coach of his promise. After that, Choco decided not to make a decision until February.

"So, unable to make a decision, Choco got the team leadership group to vote on who would be the better captain. The result was that the only vote Tredders got was his own."

If this straw poll was clumsy and potentially divisive, it was made to appear even more so in an early-season match when Tredrea and a former Port Adelaide player, now with another club, crossed each other on the field.

One version of the exchange that took place between them has it that Tredrea, after receiving some unsolicited advice, facetiously asked his former teammate where his premiership medal was.

The player, knowing of the captaincy poll, turned to several Port players in the vicinity and urged them to tell Tredrea what they really thought of him.

Tredrea's strongest supporters acknowledge that his quest for perfection is uncompromising (even more reason for Williams' SCG attack to sting). He finds it difficult to abide those who give less than everything of themselves and is driven - some would say rigidly obsessed - so that the joys others pursue he is prone to consider wasteful distractions.

This dedication has enabled him to become Port's most important player but never its most popular.

The likes of Michael Wilson and Kane Cornes might share Tredrea's belief in the virtues of self-sacrifice and wholesome dedication, but many more get to the line each week in more relaxed fashion and resent that they are judged or even snubbed by Tredrea for doing so.

It is believed that Tredrea and Brett Montgomery, for instance, are on cold terms for this reason.

" 'Monty' is seen, and other players would agree with this, as getting a good run from the coach," one Port insider said.

Another source familiar with the change-room dynamic said: "Warren is going to have to confront the perception of the players, he knows it but doesn't agree with it, that he is aloof. He is considered stand-offish by the group.

"Like most things in life, the truth is somewhere between the two views. He doesn't go out drinking with the players, he isn't a player who will cut corners on the training track or away from the club with his diet and that doesn't sit well with blokes who want to be blokes, who want to be lads.

"Warren could do more to bridge the gap that exists between him and many of the other players, by socialising with them more. But at the same time there would be a dozen players in the place who could improve themselves by looking at how Warren prepares and dedicates himself to his football.

"The bottom line is that Warren is a very proud but also stubborn guy and you've got the larrikins within the playing group who have the balance of power or are influential in setting the mood of the place."

According to several observers, it was the combination of this fractious change-room environment, the handling of the captaincy appointment, that effectively resulted in the senior players within the team voting against one of their own.

There was also a sense Tredrea felt of being held accountable for a season then careering out of control that so interested others in May and, to at least one Port figure, culminated in his lairish performance against Hawthorn.

Tredrea kicked seven goals in the 117-point rout but goaded the opposition and celebrated his goals with something close to narcissistic pleasure.

"That was definitely a part of his reaction to the situation he's in," the club figure said.

"He knows he's the best player in the team. He knows he's shouldered a lot of the responsibility for the performance of the club. So he decided to celebrate when he played well, to show the coach who is really doing what."

Hmmm, I can only think that the Corporation must have lost over the weekend because all their "supporters" want to do is go searching for a 4 year old article that has since been discredited. Nick Stevens? Pffft!

Here's one FACT that might have escaped you; Brett Montgomery is gone, and Warren Tredrea is still at the club.

Hate him on the field, think he's arrogant on the field and well past his prime.
BUT
I was getting a mate's buck show shirt signed by the Port players and despite the fact that he was late to training, he still stopped and signed it and had a chat to me.
Chad Cornes, again one of my most hated on field and son of an absolute kn$b was even better - when the rookies (like Westhoff) walked past me without signing, he called them all back! Made them form a line to sign the shirt! Then I saw him at the BDO later that day - for the hour I was watching the same band as him, I reckon he posed for about 50 photos.

What an utter prick! Massaging his massive ego with fans while everyone else has to sweat it out on the training track.

There is more to Warren Tredrea than meets the eye