There is more to Warren Tredrea than meets the eye

That Stephen Reilly article is a steaming pile of horse manure. Firstly because Matthew Primus was a terrific captain and would have had a massive amount of sympathy for missing out on the premiership so if there had of been a vote you'd reckon he'd win hands down but the claim there was a vote is almost certainly bulldust in any case.

Secondly if Tredders was widely disliked perhaps you can explain why he was voted into the leadership group by his team mates every year for the past x number of years.

He has more than an image problem, 4 years ago most of his teammates didn't like him either. I guess the below article balances out the market love fest in the OP:

Don't call us, we'll call you

Date: July 1 2005

By Stephen Reilly

"Like most things in life, the truth is somewhere between the two views. He doesn't go out drinking with the players, he isn't a player who will cut corners on the training track or away from the club with his diet and that doesn't sit well with blokes who want to be blokes, who want to be lads.

"Warren could do more to bridge the gap that exists between him and many of the other players, by socialising with them more. But at the same time there would be a dozen players in the place who could improve themselves by looking at how Warren prepares and dedicates himself to his football.

"The bottom line is that Warren is a very proud but also stubborn guy and you've got the larrikins within the playing group who have the balance of power or are influential in setting the mood of the place."
quote]

He would struggle to get a game for the Australian cricket team with this attitude as well.

After all, it's an Australian sporting tradition to isolate guys who don't want to be "lads", and want to do their own thing in their spare time away from the club/team............or, he could actually be a knob (but who of us really knows?).

Quite simply, people are sheep. People went from respecting Tredrea as a footballer to jumping on the 'Tredreas a flog' bandwagon after that article came out. Full of mis-truths and down right bullshit.

I couldnt give a **** what a bunch of brainless sheep on a website think of him. 4 AA guernseys, premiership captain, one of the very greatest players to play for Port Adelaide across 140 years.

Quite simply, people are sheep. People went from respecting Tredrea as a footballer to jumping on the 'Tredreas a flog' bandwagon after that article came out. Full of mis-truths and down right bullshit.

I couldnt give a **** what a bunch of brainless sheep on a website think of him. 4 AA guernseys, premiership captain, one of the very greatest players to play for Port Adelaide across 140 years.

I couldn't care less what a bunch of brainless Port supporting sheep on a website say in defense of him.
The fact that a Port supporter put up a thread with some feeble "look at me I'm a nice guy CV" attached just about screams that the guy is a **** otherwise why would you bother?
Tyson was a good boxer.......nice bloke?

9rke8l.jpg

Thought someone should clarify what "meets the eye" with Warren.

I couldn't care less what a bunch of brainless Port supporting sheep on a website say in defense of him.

Who exactly is brainless here?

The army of clowns who think he's some sort of evil visited upon the league because of... well... nothing in particular (oh noes he bowed and imitated Thierry Henry!11), or the Port supporters who have seen him come up through the grades from childhood to represent his club with unwavering loyalty, commitment, determination and distinction for well over a decade?

If your club had more players with Tredrea's approach over the journey, I'm tipping you wouldn't have more wooden spoons than G'Day Chef and just the one flag.

Tyson was a good boxer.......nice bloke?

Just wow. Mike Tyson? That's who you are comparing Tredrea with? It doesn't even fit with any of the arguments put forward thus far. For him to compared with Mike Tyson he'd have to be a champion (tick), who is notorious for major incidents of foul play while competing (um... no) and also notorious for heinous and vicious violent crime off the field (definitely not).

Where people get that he is a bad bloke, i'll never know. Call him arrogant and post pictures of him bowing to his fans, or emulating his hero Theirry Henry with the phone call celebration, but there is no way you can justifyably call him a bad bloke, especially without ever having met the guy.

The name Wayne Carey ring a bell?
I have no problem admitting that Carey ain't a good bloke. I won't defend him. But that's irrelevant to the topic. (How long before your ADD kicks in again?)

You wouldn't find me posting "feel good" stories on Carey in a feeble attempt to win back some respect from the wider football community, as the OP has done here. Judging by the majority of responses on this thread, the idea has backfired. All it's done is given people another opportunity to vent their dislike for poor old Wazza.

Just wow. Mike Tyson? That's who you are comparing Tredrea with?

No, really....its a superb comparison isnt it. One emulated his favourite sports person with a phone call celebration and bowed to a home crowd after kicking 2 great goals in a minute in a Prelim final.....the other spends a year in jail after raping a woman, bites off the ear of an opponent in a middle of a match and proclaims he would like to eat the children of a different opponent.

Would be like me comparing Nick Riewoldt and Martin Bryant because they both look queer and have blonde hair. :rolleyes:

No, really....its a superb comparison isnt it. One emulated his favourite sports person with a phone call celebration and bowed to a home crowd after kicking 2 great goals in a minute in a Prelim final.....the other spends a year in jail after raping a woman, bites off the ear of an opponent in a middle of a match and proclaims he would like to eat the children of a different opponent.

Would be like me comparing Nick Riewoldt and Martin Bryant because they both look queer and have blonde hair. :rolleyes:

I guess it shows how thick some of you guys can be, I made a comparison to point out that a sportsman can be good at what he does in the sporting arena but doesn't mean he is a good bloke out of it.
I could have highlighted any sportsman who has made a goose out himself..just like you guys are doing to yourselves right now.

That Stephen Reilly article is a steaming pile of horse manure. Firstly because Matthew Primus was a terrific captain and would have had a massive amount of sympathy for missing out on the premiership so if there had of been a vote you'd reckon he'd win hands down but the claim there was a vote is almost certainly bulldust in any case.

Secondly if Tredders was widely disliked perhaps you can explain why he was voted into the leadership group by his team mates every year for the past x number of years.

Doesn't the board and CEO chose who is captain at Port these days? It was previously Choco's call until Haysman took his control away.

Just wow. Mike Tyson? That's who you are comparing Tredrea with? It doesn't even fit with any of the arguments put forward thus far. For him to compared with Mike Tyson he'd have to be a champion (tick), who is notorious for major incidents of foul play while competing (um... no) and also notorious for heinous and vicious violent crime off the field (definitely not).

Where people get that he is a bad bloke, i'll never know. Call him arrogant and post pictures of him bowing to his fans, or emulating his hero Theirry Henry with the phone call celebration, but there is no way you can justifyably call him a bad bloke, especially without ever having met the guy.

Spare us the do gooder attitude please.

This type of character is not foreign to Port Power, in fact Choco called Ports version of Mike Tyson a "role model" a couple of years ago.

I guess it shows how thick some of you guys can be, I made a comparison to point out that a sportsman can be good at what he does in the sporting arena but doesn't mean he is a good bloke out of it.I could have highlighted any sportsman who has made a goose out himself..just like you guys are doing to yourselves right now.

So why isn't Tredrea a good bloke outside of the sporting arena??

A very simple question for you "The Fireman".

If anything the OP linked article builds the case to disprove your claim and you have the nerve to call others "goose"s?:rolleyes:

Doesn't the board and CEO chose who is captain at Port these days? It was previously Choco's call until Haysman took his control away.

PAFC's methods are never stagnant and are always evolving. Unlike AFC's and Neil "The Neanderthal" Craig's methods which have never evolved. Unfortunately, this limitation in "The Neanderthal" will bring about his extinction like it did his ancestors.:D

So why isn't Tredrea a good bloke outside of the sporting arena??

A very simple question for you "The Fireman".

If anything the OP linked article builds the case to disprove your claim and you have the nerve to call others "goose"s?:rolleyes:
Is it true that some of his team mates were quoted as saying that he isn't well liked around the club?

No, they weren't quoted at all. It was all purely anecdotal with no-one quoted and no-one named. In the article that set everyone's tongue wagging the journo even refers to an on-field conversation. I mean really.

Sheep indeed.

There is no evidence of that at all Fireman.

The Crows supporters will link you to an speculative article which is mainly about Tredrea losing a captaincy vote to Matthew Primus, the incumbent and an incredible captain who had just missed a premiership through injury.

Tredrea owns a pub with other former and current members of the team, and there is no evidence whatsoever to say that he is not well liked by the team. The fact that he was voted into the leadership group for most of this decade until he decided to step down to focus on his game should put that rumour to bed.

What meets the eye is good enough for me.:thumbsu:
Good for you. :thumbsu:

[youtube]xK-BeKsfSyY[/youtube]

What may not meet your eye but has met the eye of any number of supporters or even fans from other clubs is Tredders willingness to stop and chat, sign autographs, spend time with kids whether port fans or their mates from other clubs and his ability to recognise people he's barely met and say hello and put himself out on their behalf.

Oh yeah and what outweighs all of that is couple of over the top goal celebrations. :rolleyes:

Edit:- And another thing there's been this bullshit allegation that Wazza is aloof from the fans and as I pointed out above nothing could be further from the truth out of the public eye. In fact the couple of goal celebrations for which he gets constantly bagged were actually him relating to our fans behind the goal square. When you have a look at the highlights reel you see how often Tredders turns to the fans and celebrates with them sharing the joy and urging them on in their support of the team. He's a friggin ripper.

There is no evidence of that at all Fireman.

The Crows supporters will link you to an speculative article which is mainly about Tredrea losing a captaincy vote to Matthew Primus, the incumbent and an incredible captain who had just missed a premiership through injury.

Tredrea owns a pub with other former and current members of the team, and there is no evidence whatsoever to say that he is not well liked by the team. The fact that he was voted into the leadership group for most of this decade until he decided to step down to focus on his game should put that rumour to bed.

I dont see what the big deal is. Macca and Edwards hate each other yet work well together.

I would think the only types that would not like him would be "partyboys".......

There is more to Warren Tredrea than meets the eye