Mega Thread Things that Shit me the Thirteenth

In what world are people getting a car services for 200 bucks?

What do you think it should cost and what are you getting for your money?

A modern car service is really just going over a checklist and replacing the oil and oil filter. Shouldn't take more than an hour or two and 5 litres of oil and maybe a bit of coolant won't break the bank.

A car service should only cost $100-200. If something needs fixing then it's parts and labour on top of that. Mechanical labour is <$100/hr. Dealers and some other service centres will rip you off with "genuine" parts that cost much more than they should, or they'll fix things that don't really need fixing, or if they are really dishonest and think you know nothing about cars will tell you they had to replace the flux capacitor and charge you $2k. I have a mate with a BMW and while I can't afford one anyway (sorry Bomberboyokay if that doesn't suit your narrative) it has put me off owning one. Every time it goes in it needs some expensive new part from Germany.

Going to the the dentist is more a case of a poke with a sharp object here, a high speed drill there, that horrible little drool suction vacuum thing and then half an hour later you are staring at a $500 bill. It's a profitable gig but it's not like anyone can do it.
Brother had a BMW SUV, was just lots of faults and bills fixing stuff on it. Ended up getting a boring but reliable Toyota Kluger like Matt Priddis and haven't had a problem since.

Dentists may charge a lot but I'm usually far more suspicious of any mechanic's bill tbh.

My mechanic is pretty good but the latest one was a full service so was a bit more expensive (usually $200-$250 but was around $450 for this one). He did warn me when I booked it in it was likely a big service (and the log book said major service at 90,000kms). As it is a new car for me, I was happy for it to be a big service. He did skip a coolant change or some lubricant as he didn't have the right one (says he could have used his one but it is recommended to use a specific one) and he will do it next service when he orders it in (also told me the rear brakes needed doing in 5,000-10,000kms). I was a bit skeptical on the 'specific' coolant but trust him, he has always been good and never ripped me off and has at times got me out of a bind when my old car was playing up.

I did try a mechanic near work once just for the ease of getting it done while at work but they tried to rip me off big time. Tried to tell me it needed about 5 or 6 things fixed. Went back to my usual guy and he laughed t their suggestions, said nothing needed.

told her to do it our way or she can go and get f’ed, she did it our way and it was all agreed upon that day.

... but you still had to pay for all the shagging around that led up to them doing what you asked. Exactly the same situation with me and my ex with our separation agreement.

Exactly, that's why I/we were getting so frustrated. It is just a corrupt system that tries to bleed you dry. I had to tell her to shut up and listen and she complained that she doesn't have to listen to me shout at her and hung up. When she called back I again told her, quite forthright, that she is wasting our time and our money and to do what we want, she is working for us and to do what we say. When she did, it got settled.

Not surprisingly they haven't asked again for a google review (they asked about 6 months ago which we said we would after it is finished)

I did try a mechanic near work once just for the ease of getting it done while at work but they tried to rip me off big time. Tried to tell me it needed about 5 or 6 things fixed.

My favourite was from when I was about 20 and knew shit-all about cars. Mechanic rings up, "Your brake pads are 60% worn and should be replaced, it'll be $150." "Oh better do it then." He actually laughed as he hung up the phone.

Paid the bill and was driving home before the penny dropped that they were still good for 12000-15000km.

Brother had a BMW SUV, was just lots of faults and bills fixing stuff on it. Ended up getting a boring but reliable Toyota Kluger like Matt Priddis and haven't had a problem since.

Dentists may charge a lot but I'm usually far more suspicious of any mechanic's bill tbh.

I had a 5-10 year old car a few years ago that was having intermittent issues so took it to the local dealer to see if they could diagnose what the local mechanic couldn't. They found the problem and I was happy to pay the 2-3 hours labour for that but their quote to fix it was the biggest work of fiction since the Bible. Wanted hundreds of dollars for special genuine (Bosch) spark plugs so I lost interest in the rest. FFS m8 it's a 2004 SUV not a 1955 Austin Healey. Ended up getting it fixed for a fraction of the price.

My favourite was from when I was about 20 and knew s**t-all about cars. Mechanic rings up, "Your brake pads are 60% worn and should be replaced, it'll be $150." "Oh better do it then." He actually laughed as he hung up the phone.

Paid the bill and was driving home before the penny dropped that they were still good for 12000-15000km.

One I was wary of but paid for it was the window wipers for my holden Calais. My mechanic told me they were really specific ones and couldn't use normal ones so paid extra. I had my doubts but went with it. This was the mechanic my family all used so trusted him, plus I could be ****ed changing them haha

A car service should only cost $100-200. If something needs fixing then it's parts and labour on top of that. Mechanical labour is <$100/hr. Dealers and some other service centres will rip you off with "genuine" parts that cost much more than they should, or they'll fix things that don't really need fixing, or if they are really dishonest and think you know nothing about cars will tell you they had to replace the flux capacitor and charge you $2k. I have a mate with a BMW and while I can't afford one anyway (sorry Bomberboyokay if that doesn't suit your narrative) it has put me off owning one. Every time it goes in it needs some expensive new part from Germany.

My brother has an Audi and only two years old and it has been a nightmare.
Apart from the services which have been ridiculously expensive, he has had to replace the battery which was $400 and there have also been a couple of other issues one of which was going to cost him about 4K until he chucked the shits and they ended up covering him.

They have a computerised system where a reminder pops up and you have to ring the service centre to get it done before the light goes off

Has said he will never buy another European car again

I had a 5-10 year old car a few years ago that was having intermittent issues so took it to the local dealer to see if they could diagnose what the local mechanic couldn't. They found the problem and I was happy to pay the 2-3 hours labour for that but their quote to fix it was the biggest work of fiction since the Bible. Wanted hundreds of dollars for special genuine (Bosch) spark plugs so I lost interest in the rest. FFS m8 it's a 2004 SUV not a 1955 Austin Healey. Ended up getting it fixed for a fraction of the price.
They don't spend bugger all on wages for the blokes doing the actual work as well, mechanics are well known for being a very poorly paid trade unless you start your own business.

When I was young and into cars I knew a couple of the apprentices at my local mechanic. I reckon they did about 90% of the work whenever I took my car there. Not hard to change oil and spark plugs etc. when you have all the tools and someone keeping an eye on you.

Know a couple of guys who used to worked for Holden as mechanics. Used to do heaps of work at home on mates cars to earn extra as weren't getting paid alot. Eventually went out on their own and are doing pretty well and don't need to work at home on weekends any more (still work half day Saturdays as most mechanics do)

Being a dealer mechanic would stink because you know the premium being charged for your labour because it's "genuine Toyota" or whoever. But you don't have the stress of relying on new business coming in the door. Someone else pays the bills and there are always people dumb enough to get dealer services.

I had one like that, a young scuffler just out on his own, working all hours from a unit on an industrial estate. He looked after us (and we looked after him) for over ten years before he moved to a main road and set up a franchise outfit. Good on him, nice to see success. Only went a few more times as the services were done according to a list (not what needed doing), his hirelings were doing the work not him, and the rates and parts went up 50%. Ah well.

My brother has an Audi and only two years old and it has been a nightmare.
Apart from the services which have been ridiculously expensive, he has had to replace the battery which was $400 and there have also been a couple of other issues one of which was going to cost him about 4K until he chucked the s**ts and they ended up covering him.

They have a computerised system where a reminder pops up and you have to ring the service centre to get it done before the light goes off

Has said he will never buy another European car again
If the car is 2 years old the battery would be under new car warranty still. The battery in my vw shat itself a couple of weeks ago. That's 2.5 years old and they replaced it for nothing.

A lot of the time you can clear the service messages yourself too. It's just a combo of button presses and stuff. Youtube is your friend.

The thing that shat me about vw was they made me sign a document allowing them to use non genuine parts and also releasing them from liability if any non genuine parts they used ****ed the car up. I signed it because it was easier than fighting with them when I knew I wasn't ever having it serviced there anyway.