Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...

All you can eat buffet at KFC.

And the Pizza Hut one everywhere (a few still exist in Sydney).
Mike-Myers-Gets-Some-Pizza-Hut-In-Waynes-World.gif

When tv shows actually finished on the hour or half hour instead of being extended for an extra 5-10 minutes to blend into the next tv program so you don't switch channels
when tv shows/programs were their own entity instead of cross-promoting eachother
when 60 minutes was credible (before it morphed into a current affair/today tonight)
When news/current affairs programs actually focussed on proper reporting/journalism rather than making up fake stories to promote an upcoming tv show on the same network
when tv shows did not consist of some contrived "reality" show concept
yeah, tv sucks

For those in WA (and maybe east aswell)

All those supermarket chains back in the day prior to Metcash and Coles and Woolies increasing the strength of the triopoly e.g. Action, Dewsons, Supa Valu, Foodland, Farmer Jacks, Charlie Carters, Newmart, Macs, BI-LO, Rules, Cheap Foods.

And those stores taken over by Harvey Norman and others e.g. Archie Martin Vox, Rick Hart, Tandy, Chandlers, Betta Electrical, Megamart.

And those stores gone due to the Bunnings Warehouse era e.g. BBC hardware, Hardwarehouse, Thrifty Link, Tru Value Hardware, etc. etc.

A few of these still exist.

Farmer Jacks does, and there are Foodworx stores around also. Action, Supa Valu, Dewsons etc. were all owned by FAL anyway, and were just re-branded as IGA when Metcash took over.

Thrifty Link are still around, and I believe there are a couple of Tru Value Hardware stores till operated by Mitre 10. Mitre 10, Colli, Home Hardware & Masters are all alternatives to Bunnings, even if half are Woolworths owned... Mitre 10 the only independent.

Betta Electrical still exists, as does Retravision and Kambos. There are very few genuinely independent retailers of any kind these days, but there is still competition. Tandy stores were all closed or converted to Dick Smith stores, but they lost their use years ago when Woolworths bought those chains. My local Tandy used to stock all sorts of gizmos and gadgets when I was a kid, now the nearest equivalent just has small LCD TVs, XBOX games and laptops. Never bought anything from Megamart, but that was a Coles Myer venture anyway.

I remember when I first got a mobile (end of high school/start of uni) it would sit at the bottom of my bag. If I needed to make a call I would pull it out and make a call. That was it. Now it's in my pocket when I'm out, on my desk at work and I compulsively check it even though the thing is designed to make noise/vibrate if someone is trying to contact me. It's unhealthy conditioning.

I used to go to the soccer (NSL) or the movies or the beach or wherever as a 15 year old via PT and never had a phone. If I needed a lift home from the train station I would arrange to be there at a certain time or walk to a pay phone and put 40c in it. Now I'm 29 with a career, mortgage etc. and if I walk out of the house without a mobile it feels the same as walking out without the keys.:D

Used to kiss the tele every night...YES i realise " Cat-Cat " as i called him is a boy o_O

i was a very sensitive boy......

aged 32

I was on the Channel Niners in 1984 or 85, I had the pleasue of meeting Robby Roenfeldt and Winky Dink.

Perth used to have some great theme parks; Atlantis in Yanchep, Bullens Lions Park in Wanneroo, and El Caballo in the Perth Hills, but all closed down around 1991 and exist now only in memory and old photographs. Cable Water Ski Park, and a water park in Kalamunda likewise closed down years ago.

On the subject of theme parks, I can never work out why SeaWorld on the Gold Coast cancelled the great water-ski show they had there in 2009. The ski-show had began in the mid 1950s, pre-dating SeaWorld itself and was immensely popular, both with locals and tourists.

tumblr_lj8glaMqYB1qe31y8o1_500.jpg

8 man Daytona USA races :eek::thumbsu:

gold-coast-disneyland-theme-parks-amusement-parks-.jpg

Best spot for a tourist attraction ever....

hqdefault.jpg

They are building " wet n wild sydney " about a km back towards the city on the same road basically....,massive stink up here about the prices

tumblr_lj8glaMqYB1qe31y8o1_500.jpg

8 man Daytona USA races :eek::thumbsu:

Is that Magic Mountain in Glenelg?

We spent a summer or two there up at Westbeach Caravan Park and came down to the water slides. They had bikes you peddled above like a monorail?

There was another one but the name escapes me, and also Gumbya Park

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Melbourne truly does the shittest Theme Parks in the world.

God bless Luna Park, but there's no way it was in the 1970's before the fires etc.

Is that Magic Mountain in Glenelg?

We spent a summer or two there up at Westbeach Caravan Park and came down to the water slides. They had bikes you peddled above like a monorail?

yep mate.
skycycles , bumperboats , putt-putt , sideshow alley , aladdins castle....
West beach hmmm ?? , did you go to " Marineland " ?

Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...