Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...

I'm sure they still exist somewhere but I haven't seen them in a while, those bloody delicious sweet chilli chicken strips made famous in school canteens and stretched out to local delis/IGAs. My local IGA hasn't had them in months:(

yep mate.
skycycles , bumperboats , putt-putt , sideshow alley , aladdins castle....
West beach hmmm ?? , did you go to " Marineland " ?

Was that the Aquarium up at West Beach? Sheesh vaguely.

Been to West Beach as a kid and as an adult I reckon maybe 8 times over the years.

Some of the latter visits will make great reading in my memoirs 'Chapter 9. Down and dirty in Adelaide'.

The Late Show was the best.

There is no other word but just 'best'.
I'd stay home and fap delay going out on a saturday night to watch it.

More funny shit that does not exist anymore.

...they are so young....of course I have not aged in 20 years either...cough, says he who was looking at his receding hair on the CCTV feed tonight at McDonalds whilst ordering a Happy Meal for my 10 year old.

TV Stations closing at midnight-ish and reopening at 5am ish.

Good 'ol sign off, with a plane's eye view of Melbourne and the voice over guy saying "that's it for tonight, and be sure to watch blah blah blah tonight at 7pm, but from all of us at Channel blah, it's good night"

then the black and white circle with the rainbow strip and the flat line sound for 5 hours

maxresdefault.jpg

6a00e0097e4e6888330133f2c98ea9970b-200wi

When our grand children take over Bigfooty one day the following will be added to this thread:

51727.jpg

They will think did the colour get washed out??????

I do not believe Test Cricket can survive more than 100 years.

With the ever expanding T20 and need for ODIs something has got to give.

In true ANZAC spirit we will try to pass on test cricket to our children and to their children but it will die one day.......one day.:(

People have been proclaiming the death of Test cricket since it began.

AFL lost University at the time of WWI and Fitzroy merged with Brisbane in the mid 1990s. Not too bad for a competition over 100 years old.

I am of the firm opinion one of the reasons for the strength of the VFL/AFL is the lack of teams that have folded over the years. University folding nearly 100 years ago, South Melbourne relocating in 1982 and Fitzroy (essentially) folding in 1996. I can't imagine in 110 year old competitions with such stability.

I like the fact Fitzroy was reborn in the VAFA.

I am of the firm opinion one of the reasons for the strength of the VFL/AFL is the lack of teams that have folded over the years. University folding nearly 100 years ago, South Melbourne relocating in 1982 and Fitzroy (essentially) folding in 1996. I can't imagine in 110 year old competitions with such stability.

I like the fact Fitzroy was reborn in the VAFA.

yeah, I mean look at the NSWRL/ARL/SuperLeague/NRL = dog's breakfast

My old man reckons he used to be able to bring an esky full of beers into the 'G for the boxing day test - those would've been the days...

Social Science Things we remember but do not exist now...