Autopsy This is going to be painful. The Dogs V Bombers debacle thread.

If I could reach his neck, I would throttle Tim English. Why can he not attack the footy, or attack the man? When the ball goes up he watches his opponent run under the ball and gives himself absolutely no hope of getting anywhere near it.
Yet you blame the coach for AA players not playing to their potential!!!

Which one is it?

I actually agree with your quote above

On SM-S926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Rubbish, the players then did not show respect to their team mates then. How many who moved on bit us back

Respect is a two-way street.

We lost our way when we started dropping blokes after one bad game rather than showing faith in them.

Look at Matthew Boyd who was instrumental in 2016 but deemed too old and kept in the VFL virtually all season, then he came out and dominated in his farewell game proving he could have, and should have, been playing senior footy the whole year.

Playing Macrae, Dale and Daniel ends with the same results as last year. Do you want that? Coz that ain't good enough. I'm glad Bev is trying something different. I just hope he soon realises it's not working either.

We are totally ****ed as there is no quick fix. New game plans take 1-2 yrs to implement. Too late for a new coach to get the most out of this team. And without prime Libba will be a big problem.

Naughton playing back will also take at least a season for him to get used to it and learn about opposition forwards. Again, not the timeline for Libba, Jones, maybe Bont. But it's the only hail Mary we have.

I absolutely agree.

I have never said that Bevo doesn't make mistakes, he makes plenty, and they infuriate me too.
I just disagree with a lot of posters on here about what those mistakes are.

I have consistently said his biggest mistake is he puts the future ahead of the present too much. It's a major shame he keeps doubling down on his mistakes too because he does so many other things well.

Bring back Monty or a guy like Mark Williams as his offsider, and another flag could be just around the corner.
'he does so many other things well.'

Pray tell, what are these other things he does so well?

How many that have left have been top 5 in the Best and Fairests at the clubs they have gone to or have even been picked up by other clubs
It could be the 6 or 7 beers but I have no idea what you’re on about.

I’m talking about current proven players who have dropped off in a big way. I’m blaming the coach.

Players who’ve left and gone on to do well is neither here nor there.

Respect is a two-way street.

We lost our way when we started dropping blokes after one bad game rather than showing faith in them.

Look at Matthew Boyd who was instrumental in 2016 but deemed too old and kept in the VFL virtually all season, then he came out and dominated in his farewell game proving he could have, and should have, been playing senior footy the whole year.
Come on Proff, player behaviour was poor and Boyd was cooked in the end. Leadership within the player group did not provide the opportunity for that group to have sustained success.

It is an issue we had and we still have and until it changes we will never be a sustained successful club.

We hold on to underperformimg players at all levels for too long, always have and likely always will.

Yet you blame the coach for AA players not playing to their potential!!!

Which one is it?

I actually agree with your quote above

Come on Proff, player behaviour was poor and Boyd was cooked in the end. Leadership within the player group did not provide the opportunity for that group to have sustained success.

It is an issue we had and we still have and until it changes we will never be a sustained successful club.

We hold on to underperformimg players at all levels for too long, always have and likely always will.

So you’d show the door to Dale, Daniel, Williams et al and let Bevo try his luck with their replacements?

If a new bloke came in and said ‘I can’t find a role’ for these players then fine, I’d accept them going. I absolutely could not accept multiple proven players being shown the door while Bevo remains at the helm.

Playing Macrae, Dale and Daniel ends with the same results as last year. Do you want that? Coz that ain't good enough. I'm glad Bev is trying something different. I just hope he soon realises it's not working either.

We are totally ****ed as there is no quick fix. New game plans take 1-2 yrs to implement. Too late for a new coach to get the most out of this team. And without prime Libba will be a big problem.

Naughton playing back will also take at least a season for him to get used to it and look earn about opposition forwards. Again, not the timeline for Libba, Jones, maybe Bont. But it's the only hail Mary we have.

The right time to fix our game was post 2021, but no, we knew better. Chickens coming home to roost now.

It could be the 6 or 7 beers but I have no idea what you’re on about.

I’m talking about current proven players who have dropped off in a big way. I’m blaming the coach.

Players who’ve left and gone on to do well is neither here nor there.
Firstly enjoy the beers, after tonight a necessity.

Secondly if it is current players, other than Bont, Libba, trealor and one or 2 others, sad to say but they are not that good particularly when opposition teams target them. They have not stepped up when needed, you are overating them.

The coach is done for overall team performance but the Daniel 's, Dale's and Williams plus the bog ordinary players from opposition clubs are not pushing us forward, ever.

We are not that bad but need change now to make sure we are not bog ordinary for long

So you’d show the door to Dale, Daniel, Williams et al and let Bevo try his luck with their replacements?

If a new bloke came in and said ‘I can’t find a role’ for these players then fine, I’d accept them going. I absolutely could not accept multiple proven players being shown the door while Bevo remains at the helm.
No they would all be gone

I'm still mystified by Bont's game. He was his usual self up to maybe half time.

When he went missing the rest of the side folded, bar a few whose names have already been mentioned. Did others see the game this way or am I imagining it?

I'm not saying Bont fading was why we lost but it's a worrying sign than we couldn't rally without his inspiring play.
No Bont = No Bulldogs?

So what happened to Bont in the second quarter, or maybe early in the third?

Oliver G any chance you could post his quarter by quarter key stats? Or even just his first half vs second half.

I'd love to know how our rotations are sorted out. Darcy had 76% ToG this week 55% ToG last week.

I know the time in the ruck running around with Draper and 35-year old Goldy is that same as following Stanley and Blicavs, but I reckon having him on the ground for an extra 20% of game time last week could have made the difference in a 4 point loss.

The belief in that narrative has been the central failing of the club for the majority of its existence as far as I can tell, but it is wrong, wrong, wrong! How many premiership teams have had plenty of blokes that were far from angels? Heaps of them, including our own.

Furthermore, pushing out talented players who didn't adopt the zealotry others think is required has arguably cost us a few premierships.

Our problem hasn't been hanging on to proven layers too long. It's been pushing them out for players who aren't good enough to replace them in the often misplaced hope that they will be one day.

I'm still mystified by Bont's game. He was his usual self up to maybe half time.

When he went missing the rest of the side folded, bar a few whose names have already been mentioned. Did others see the game this way or am I imagining it?

I'm not saying Bont fading was why we lost but it's a worrying sign than we couldn't rally without his inspiring play.
No Bont = No Bulldogs?

So what happened to Bont in the second quarter, or maybe early in the third?

Oliver G any chance you could post his quarter by quarter key stats? Or even just his first half vs second half.
FYI, you can look at individual stats broken down by quarter in the AFL app, by clicking on his name in the match centre. 12 touches in the first half then 5 in the second (including just 1 in the final quarter). Basically unsighted when we fell away, which is an obvious issue when we are so overly reliant on him.

1000029524.jpg

BTW if leadership in the playing group was considered an issue.

How on earth did anyone think that prematurely removing a leader like Boyd from the team was an advisable strategy?
🤦‍♂️

It was significant that among the few who stood up tonight were the two that we paid a king's ransom for in the draft - JUH and Darcy. After that it was the reliable Libba and also West (both F/Sons, like Darcy). And of course Bont (pick 4 in the draft) is usually up there in our best 3, though not tonight.

After that? Hardly anyone tonight. Most weeks I suppose it's Naughton, Weightman and Richards who were all first round picks between about pick 9 and 16 when we didn't have a highly fancied F/S or NGA to match bids for.
And Treloar who fell into our lap when the Pies stuffed up their salary cap.

My point is that we are really starting to feel the absence of picks between about #20 and #40 for so many years. Either we've dished them out for several dubious trades like Schache etc or we've been forced to hollow out our draft hand to get JUH and Darcy.

Then we start to get comments like why do we have to get all these delisted hacks from other clubs? And why is our bottom six so bad?

The draft chickens are coming home to roost.

I’ve never been so disappointed in a team performance than after tonights loss.

The team is lost. Our board i
is lost in the headlights of supporting a coach who won a premiership instead of asking what should have been delivered with the list we have. Outside his first two years, bevo has not proven to be a good coach and is wasting a talented lists good years.

He needs to go this week

No more reviews. no more chances. no more bounce back back to the wall games. Bevo is done. he hasn’t had a new game plan in years. Move on and start again.

It needs to be done before JUH leaves which would bevthe biggest disaster in 40 years

I Think losing Dunkley hurt your midfield more then people realise, Libba has had to take his contested game to insane levels and at age 31 that's not going to be sustainable for too much longer. I get the theory of dropping Macrae as he's 30 and theoretically his game will age the worst of your older mids but when he's still performing well it just comes across as petty, even though we don't know what's the truth behind closed doors.

No top 4 finishes ever with the lists you guys have had over the years is probably the biggest indictment on Bevo. To me the idea of the Bulldogs is always better then the reality because on paper you have everything you need to contend which is why I've probably lost more tips on the Bulldogs then any team over the past few years.

That performance by English was just embarrassing... He's the tallest player on the ground and gets knocked over by short people in every single marking contest... Don't even mention his ruckwork because that is absolutely pathetic... can he please just leave now so we can move on because for some bizarre reason he is the AA ruckman and apparently worth something on the trade table. It was so fitting to have him kick the ball out on the full, 35 out from goal, at the end of the game... that was just f#$king perfect.

It would help if we had a ruckman that could tap it to him or a teammate, instead of having to fight off blokes to get a look at the Sherrin.

Half our problem is our inept ruckman. I couldnt give 2 shits about English's follow up work or disposal around the ground. Just give us first use of the ball, you know, the primary role of a ruckman, and let the mids and runners do the stuff around the ground.
He is absolutely pathetic...

Autopsy This is going to be painful. The Dogs V Bombers debacle thread.