Toast Time for some Josh Hunt love

i thought it was going to be a standard josh hunt game when he turned it over with a poor kick early in the game

was good the rest of the night, especially getting up the ground

deserves his spot over milburn after that effort

Was very good last night. He is an absolute weapon when running through the middle. Scary.

Let's hope he can do it twice more this year!

Has certainly had a good month. He's my third favourite player but I thought he would miss finals.

When Josh is confident he changes from being merely a role player to somebody who impacts the overall contest, which he did nicely given Enright had his hands full with Rioli.

A key indicator is marking. Haven't seen any of those ridiculous double fisted spoils lately. Rather we've seen important one grab marks instead.

Absolutely. Massive credit where due. I have been harsh on him in the past. Sometimes a bit over the top. Just get frustrated at times with how he deals with the pressure. But my god he was sensational last night. If I was giving votes I reckon I could have found one for him. Well done Josh. :thumbsu:

Does have trouble sometimes with decision making, especially compared to Scarlett, Enright, Milburn who are indisputably some of the best defenders seen in the past decade. Suffers by comparison?

Has always deserved his spot IMO, had a great 2010 after coming back from a knee reco and has been very solid in 2011. All that Taylor Hunt replacement talk?? I never understood it. Hunt is one of the best small defenders in the league with a great, unique kicking ability. Good to see him in form!

Looked very assured and totally belonged on Friday night. Vital part of the kicking long to beat the press plan and didn't he showcase that brilliantly. Hope he bottles that confidence because he is awesome when it's on display.

said to the old man when he slotted through that goal, he'd be pretty good forward as he's almost impossible to shift and although he does get questioned when the ball is in the air, he's a pretty damn good mark too. Certainly would have no worries kicking 50 that's for sure

I thought coming up through juniors he was a forward, but i may be wrong, but if he was that would explain his eye for goal.

Should have a team rule that he is not allowed to kick it under 50m. Massive kick.

When he's up, and that's more times than not these days, he's an awesome player.

Love it when he plays confidently and uses that body power he possesses, a great champion Geelong player for me in the greatest of GFC teams.

Ridiculously underrated by some, but vital for our Premiership hopes.

Two weeks to go, keep it up Josh!

He was absolutely brilliant tonight. The match committee gave him a massive vote of confidence by picking him tonight and he repaid the faith. Was great to see.

Put my hand up right now. I thought he was one we could do without and made too many errors. Great game tonight. Almost as solid as I've seen him perform. Especially on a big occasion.

Good to be proven wrong.

Just reading this thread and it reminded me of something he did in the last? quarter.

He kind of went to ground when getting the ball and the hawks players jumped on him and dragged it back under him (i hate it when they pay holding the ball for that) anyway he put his hands on the ball to lock it in and just stood up whilst they were all hanging off him :D

Cant pay holding the ball for that.

Massive strength and very clever.

Put my hand up right now. I thought he was one we could do without and made too many errors. Great game tonight. Almost as solid as I've seen him perform. Especially on a big occasion.

Good to be proven wrong.

That's what it's all about, mate. If I'm critical of a Geelong player and his spot in the team and he comes out, plays a blinder and proves me wrong, then I should be happy for him and the club, rather than disappointed that I was wrong, shouldn't I? With some supporters, I wonder...

Criticism of our players should never be personal, but with some, it seems to get to that point.

That's what it's all about, mate. If I'm critical of a Geelong player and his spot in the team and he comes out, plays a blinder and proves me wrong, then I should be happy for him and the club, rather than disappointed that I was wrong, shouldn't I? With some supporters, I wonder...

Criticism of our players should never be personal, but with some, it seems to get to that point.

We all get a little carried away at times, but agree just keep it to the footy. Hope he can maintain the form. Great to see him trying a few torps from the kickins too - more to the point, getting onto them every single time.

Very hard to draw that line on this forum my friend. I criticise players on this board and have been accused of being a Collingwood supporter of all things?? Calling a player soft or the like is not a personal attack for mine, not when it relates to the players performance. These are professionals who are paid a lot of money to perform at a certain level... The money is large because the responsibility level is high, simple as that. Just like any job.

You'll still always get the good ol' emotional supporters who'll support any rubbish that gets put out on the field though.

Just reading this thread and it reminded me of something he did in the last? quarter.

He kind of went to ground when getting the ball and the hawks players jumped on him and dragged it back under him (i hate it when they pay holding the ball for that) anyway he put his hands on the ball to lock it in and just stood up whilst they were all hanging off him :D

Cant pay holding the ball for that.

Massive strength and very clever.

Reminded me of when he shrugged off Cale Morton I think it was a couple of years ago. From memory he did it to a couple of players that tackled him. Just used his strength to toss them over his shoulder!

Very hard to draw that line on this forum my friend. I criticise players on this board and have been accused of being a Collingwood supporter of all things?? Calling a player soft or the like is not a personal attack for mine, not when it relates to the players performance. These are professionals who are paid a lot of money to perform at a certain level... The money is large because the responsibility level is high, simple as that. Just like any job.

You'll still always get the good ol' emotional supporters who'll support any rubbish that gets put out on the field though.

I'm not asking anyone to support rubbish, or saying we can't be critical of specific players, when it's justified. Just a bit of credit where it's due. That's all.

Credt where it's due, josh was solid on Friday. However, he still worries me especially when the pressure is really on. He played the best Friday night when we were in control. Like many have said he probably played his best game YET still made a horrible error that cost a goal in the 1st quarter. I always have my heart in my mouth when he tries those low stab passes into the middle when we are coming out of defence. Also, for a huge unit he gets moved in making contest too easily by lighter forwards and is still suspect under the high ball.

Call me a cynic but I'm still not convinced and would still prefer Milburn. And you can bet if he has a bad game in the prelim the knives will be out again.

Here's to hoping he proves me wrong.

His long kicking is absoultely key to the way we have looked to attack both the hawks and pies, seems to be a definite directive from the coaches for Hunt to unleash with some bombs to get it forward quickly.

Credt where it's due, josh was solid on Friday. However, he still worries me especially when the pressure is really on.

Funny that no one ever talks about Steve Johnson's decision making?? Without doubt the worst in the team by a country mile. If we were going to talk about player errors, which cost goals on Friday night, Johnson would stand head and shoulders alone at the top of the list. I pray he doesn't get anywhere near the back half of the ground for the remainder of the year. :eek:

I'm a big wrap for defenders.. think they get very little cred when times are good, then often get blamed for directly costing goals. Forwards who miss goals or make errors? Midfielders not working hard enough?.. not so much, but do indirectly cost the team just as much. ;)

Funny that no one ever talks about Steve Johnson's decision making?? Without doubt the worst in the team by a country mile. If we were going to talk about player errors, which cost goals on Friday night, Johnson would stand head and shoulders alone at the top of the list. I pray he doesn't get anywhere near the back half of the ground for the remainder of the year. :eek:

I'm a big wrap for defenders.. think they get very little cred when times are good, then often get blamed for directly costing goals. Forwards who miss goals or make errors? Midfielders not working hard enough?.. not so much, but do indirectly cost the team just as much. ;)

This thread wasn't about SJ but I agree, he does have his brain fart moments but mores times than not (multiple AAs', norm smith, leading goal kicker) he makes up for it with his brilliance. Sure, hunt can lay a few good tackles and at times nullify an opponent, but he won't kick the winning goal and or produce a piece of unbelievable play that SJ can. That's why most cat supporter tolerate his "moments". You don't own a Ferrari and not expected to get a speeding fine from time to time ;)

And in terms of defenders not getting the credit, again I agree but life isn't fair. Everyone wants to be the full forward kicking goals as a kid. No one wants to be the small defender chasing some around trying to stop goals. :D

Funny that no one ever talks about Steve Johnson's decision making?? Without doubt the worst in the team by a country mile.

Really?
Name any player from Geelong (in fact you'd have to look deep into the entire AFL) that would have made the decision on Friday to kick the ball in front of Pods. But not just in front of Pods, but deliberately kicked it to his left side.

Didn't like the left handed handball over the head?
That decision created another goal from nothing.

Dayum, he is lethal forward of centre.

I don't think I ever bashed him on this board, but I thought he would get droppped when we were discussing the game at work.

This and his Adelaide game were very very good.

Really?
Name any player from Geelong (in fact you'd have to look deep into the entire AFL) that would have made the decision on Friday to kick the ball in front of Pods. But not just in front of Pods, but deliberately kicked it to his left side.

Didn't like the left handed handball over the head?
That decision created another goal from nothing.

Irrelevant to what I said regarding SJ making the worst decisions/most mistakes on that given night.

I'm not disagreeing with you that SJ does great things, that's obviously not debatable.. My point is still valid though, Hunt also does very positive things, but just cops a far greater battering when he makes a mistake due to his position on the field. Trust me, no one in their right mind wants Steve Johnson ANYWHERE NEAR our defensive 50.

Irrelevant to what I said regarding SJ making the worst decisions/most mistakes on that given night.

I'm not disagreeing with you that SJ does great things, that's obviously not debatable.. My point is still valid though, Hunt also does very positive things, but just cops a far greater battering when he makes a mistake due to his position on the field. Trust me, no one in their right mind wants Steve Johnson ANYWHERE NEAR our defensive 50.

The argument to that would be that there is no way Stevie J would be trying those party tricks in the defensive 50. He's not a complete idiot. He does those things in the forward line because of the high-yield potential and the low risk that it will directly cost us a goal going the other way. Do you really think if a ball was dribbling towards him in defence he'd kick it soccer-style to try to hit a teammate 35-40m away, like he'd do to have a ping at goal, if he was in the forward line? No way known. He'd pick it up and either hit an open teammate, or use the boundary line, if no option was apparent.

He makes the decisions he does precisely because he plays up the ground.

Do you really think if a ball was dribbling towards him in defence he'd kick it soccer-style to try to hit a teammate 35-40m away

Yes I do. I've seen him do some really stupid things inside defensive 50. He also has this stupid idea about directing traffic while running with the ball toward a marking target, restricting time / space to be effective with disposal. :confused:

In the forward half of the ground he's one of the best players in the league, no need to put him anywhere else. Would be nice to see some better decision making though, especially in finals.

Off topic..

Hunt has a great year and is in good form... Doesn't get the cred he deserves often, good to see some now.

Yes I do. I've seen him do some really stupid things inside defensive 50. He also has this stupid idea about directing traffic while running with the ball toward a marking target, restricting time / space to be effective with disposal. :confused:

In the forward half of the ground he's one of the best players in the league, no need to put him anywhere else. Would be nice to see some better decision making though, especially in finals.

Off topic..

Hunt has a great year and is in good form... Doesn't get the cred he deserves often, good to see some now.

Really? Define "great year" please.

Chance for the B & F? Will he make the top ten? AA?

I mean if Hunt has had a great year WTF has Judd just done?

Toast Time for some Josh Hunt love