News Time for the Vic teams to leave Victoria - EDIT: Hawks to Hub in Barossa, 15 teams in QLD

Valid reasons for not going to a hub.

1) Birth of a child
2) Special needs child.
3) Terminally ill parent and or family member.
4) Injury that would prevent you playing in the hub.

Any reason outside of these in my opinion would require some bloody good explaining to do so you can keep your career.
I reckon for the vast majority they are all trying to keep the game going and that is at all clubs with no exceptions. Decisions are being asked of players that have never risen their head before, nothing is easy here. I think as a group the AFL players are trying their best, there will always be some that may milk a situation but that is just life.
Generally speaking yes, exceptional circumstances. There might be others outside of those specific 4, but those are the sorts of reasons why a player wouldn't go into a hub.

I've not yet seen any player not go into a hub for any other reasons than those or similar, which are perfectly reasonable.
Why then was there so much premature vitriol and negativity to Richmond and particularly grossly unfair abuse of Cotchin, when despite being injured he's gone to the hub. Could it have been when he expressed concern, he was doing so as a representative for his players who he knew would have babies on the way?

Cynical me thinks the AFL know deep down the season has a reasonable chance of being canned and are just trying to recoup as much $$ as they can before it happens. I cant see this second wave being contained in six weeks and I also cant see players being interstate for more than a six week block. We might get mass forfeits which will lead to the season stopping.

Possibly - but it is still the right move to shore up the finances of the AFL as best they can so that they are not crippled moving forward.

They are not returning til season is over.
Whether the media and their fans like it.

Too risky.

Looking like suburban Richmond may be in lockdown very shortly.
Season 2020 won't be completed if that's the case. Not a legitimate season anyway as a number of players would pull out.
I don't think the AFLPA won't sign on for 10 clubs to be away for the next 3 months indefinitely without breaks.

Yet it doesn’t stop you with your I told you so crap.

AFL said from the outset they are making changes that will enable them to be agile...shortened season, shortened quarters, agile fixture with ability to change on the fly

They moved away from the initial talk of full blown hubs as it appeared States had things under control...save money, work with governments, appease players association

Now as things get worse, they have changed tact for R6-10...the entire premise of the changes they made was to help them manage their way through as the situation evolved.

They are having to work with multiple State Govts who all are with different agendas and rules...that they are changing on the run.

If the AFL has gone ahead with one of your nonsense play the entire season in a bubble call in SA and locked that in back in March, then they miss out on the opportunity to actually play games in front of crowds in WA now.

As per usual, WA fans only think about the immediate impact to just their club, without consideration of the entire league ramifications that the AFL is tasked with managing.
Seeing as i advocated a hub in sa ....

Generally speaking yes, exceptional circumstances. There might be others outside of those specific 4, but those are the sorts of reasons why a player wouldn't go into a hub.

I've not yet seen any player not go into a hub for any other reasons than those or similar, which are perfectly reasonable.
Why then was there so much premature vitriol and negativity to Richmond and particularly grossly unfair abuse of Cotchin, when despite being injured he's gone to the hub. Could it have been when he expressed concern, he was doing so as a representative for his players who he knew would have babies on the way?

I think with all due respect the AFL and the Vic clubs did not want Vic clubs having to do hubs as have now happened. Cotchin I actually like the guy and I am sure he was saying it as you said but unfortunately when something has to be done in the AFL it is generally the Non Vic clubs that have to do the heavy lifting.
Lets go to China, most sports would send their two biggest clubs. Not in the AFL we will get non vic clubs to do it. Two Vic clubs want games in Tasmania, instead of playing against Vic heavyweight clubs which would actually grow the game in tasmania they send the Non Vic clubs.
It's a continued pattern in the AFL and I guess some or many non Vic club supporters are sick to death of it.
Did you see AFL 360 last night? It was like the Vic players were going to War, Robbo and Gerard never shut up about what these blokes are doing for the game and the huge sacrifice they are making. Now go back 6 weeks when the Non Vic clubs went to the hub and there was hardly a peep about it as if it was expected.
Look I am rambling now but back on point all clubs are helping the season out as they should and thats a good thing.

Season 2020 won't be completed if that's the case. Not a legitimate season anyway as a number of players would pull out.
I don't think the AFLPA won't sign on for 10 clubs to be away for the next 3 months indefinitely without breaks.

I don't think the season will be completed, I think as others have said lets just get some money in and can the season in 5-7 weeks.

If he refused the hub proposal initially when his team was involved, but then was happy to sit back and let West Coast, Freo, Port and Adelaide do all the dirty work for him then he’s going to cop some flack

Doesn't make sense, he expressed concern, he didn't refuse anything as nothing was put to him to accept. Now when Richmond are hubbed, he is attending, no refusal. So your statement isn't justified.

But that's the point, he didn't refuse the hub proposal initially.

Can somebody explain to me what happens in a months time when AULD says all the Vic clubs get to home? Even with this bye?

Victoria is having the worst spike in community transmitted Virus since this all began. I just can't see borders being open to Victorians without a 14 day quarantine at least in the next 6 weeks.

I just don't understand how the think it will work? Will they expect the non Vic clubs to hub in Victoria for the rest of the season? That seems ridiculously unfair on so many levels, but hey it's the AFL, where Victorian interests are always put first.

Does anybody see how this could possibly pan out?

Doesn't make sense, he expressed concern, he didn't refuse anything as nothing was put to him to accept. Now when Richmond are hubbed, he is attending, no refusal. So your statement isn't justified.
Apparently he was very outspoken about refusing the hub proposal initially before the season started, but changed his tune when he realised others would be doing the hard yards. That deserves criticism

The fixture for the next few rounds has so many options now, you basically have 12 clubs in a combined NSW/QLD hub and nearly every match up that’s left available. Good choice by the AFL to make the hubs this way. Made up a mock Rd 8&9, would love to see a Friday night doubleheader in Rd 9 using Perth.

Round 8:

Richmond vs Western Bulldogs - Thurs 7:40pm (Metricon)
Sydney vs Hawthorn - Fri 7:50pm (SCG)
Melbourne vs Brisbane - Sat 1:45pm (SCG)
Gold Coast vs North - Sat 4:35pm (Metricon)
Port Adelaide vs Essendon - Sat 7:40pm (Adelaide Oval)
Adelaide vs Carlton - Sun 1:05pm (Adelaide Oval)
St Kilda vs GWS - Sun 3:35pm (Metricon)
West Coast vs Collingwood - Sun 6:10pm (Optus)
Fremantle vs Geelong - Mon 8:10pm Mon (Optus)

Round 9:

Brisbane vs Richmond - Thurs 7:40pm (Gabba)
St Kilda vs Essendon - Fri 7:10pm (Metricon)
Hawthorn vs Western Bulldogs - Fri 9:40pm (Optus)
Adelaide vs GWS - Sat 1:40pm (Adelaide Oval)
Gold Coast vs Carlton - Sat 4:35pm (Metricon)
West Coast vs Geelong - Sat 8:40pm (Optus)
Sydney vs Melbourne - Sun 1:05pm (SCG)
Port vs North - Sun 3:05pm (Adelaide Oval)
Fremantle vs Collingwood - Sun 6:10pm (Optus)

All times AEST
I’d be pretty filthy if my team was scheduled to play at 9.40pm

Seeing as i advocated a hub in sa ....
yeah exactly.

why would you lock all teams in an SA hub?

By being agile, AFL is now going to see QLD teams, WA teams, SA teams and NSW teams play majority of games at home in front of crowds

Vic clubs got a few games away, and will now hit the road.

But yeah, lumping the entire league in SA was a much better solution.

Can somebody explain to me what happens in a months time when AULD says all the Vic clubs get to home? Even with this bye?

Victoria is having the worst spike in community transmitted Virus since this all began. I just can't see borders being open to Victorians without a 14 day quarantine at least in the next 6 weeks.

I just don't understand how the think it will work? Will they expect the non Vic clubs to hub in Victoria for the rest of the season? That seems ridiculously unfair on so many levels, but hey it's the AFL, where Victorian interests are always put first.

You went on a bit of a rant there even though nothing has happened, common sense will tell you that there wont be any footy in Victoria until they get things under control.

Apparently he was very outspoken about refusing the hub proposal initially before the season started, but changed his tune when he realised others would be doing the hard yards. That deserves criticism
He didn't just cop criticism, he copped abuse and allegations he was faking an injury to get out of it....

Rumors that there will be an announcement of 191 cases today, including multiple health care workers.
I've seen some data that WA has had a small number of new cases over the last few days, 6, and 3, and then waiting on the numbers from today.

Are these returned travelers?

There heaps of possibilities, and they will be constantly changing from week to week.

Again the entire point is being agile, and not trying to lock into some 3 month plan based on what we know now, have to be flexible.

Nothing stopping the AFL from having a month break and extend the season into November.

I've seen some data that WA has had a small number of new cases over the last few days, 6, and 3, and then waiting on the numbers from today.

Are these returned travelers?
Yes, all returned travellers.

WA has not had a locally acquired case for around 87 days.

Are they still in the military/police enforced hotel isolation? Is that still going on?

Apparently WA also use contracted security companies which makes me nervous.

WA Government is reviewing the decision to move to Phase 5 on July 18. Phase 5 is "return to pre covid life" no social distancing guidelines.

He didn't just cop criticism, he copped abuse and allegations he was faking an injury to get out of it....
Not much of a reach there though, is it? After being vehemently outspoken against the idea originally and coincidentally getting a injury in the last quarter before taking off to a hub, people are going to put two and two together

Again doesn't make sense. What are they putting together? That was a stupid assessment and not factual at all.

I don't recall you necessarily posting any of that nonsense so I'm assuming your better than that, but don't defend the idiotic comments that were posted, acknowledge them for what they were (unless they've been deleted there's a heap of them across this and other threads). Maybe you choose not to call them out, but hell don't defend them.

Now that Victorian teams are out of Victoria, the new frontier should be to petition the AFL to have the Victorian clubs removed from the competition for this year due to the unacceptable risk Victorians present of spreading COVID-19.

Who's with me?

I'm all for canning the season and playing local exhibition games or a revised competition format. Crown state champions, play state of origin, play some conferences, this is the year to do it, we just won't have a premier. :thumbsu:

News Time for the Vic teams to leave Victoria - EDIT: Hawks to Hub in Barossa, 15 teams in QLD