List Mgmt. Trade and F/A - Part 3

If 2 of this year's debutants become top end talent (my bet is on Macrae and Bianco) and the rest solid contributors we will still be in a good position. We're getting Nick Daicos so that will be another A-grade young talent to develop plus a likely top 4 pick in 2022. Keep in mind Grundy, Moore, JDG, Maynard, Crisp, Adams are still AA quality players that are young enough to be there for our next challenge. It's a better quality senior core (with upside left) than most other rebuilding clubs. Complement that with another A-grade free agent in the JDG/Moore/Maynard age group in two years and we'll definitely have the talent to compete.

The biggest risk I see is game plan and coaching rather than our list.

That is a very optimistic view and great if it comes to pass. One thing I am disagreeing with in this thread with most is the marking of our current list. I see too many superlatives that are too early. Even your description is a little over the top. You give us 6 AA talents yet only 3 of them are AA players. Crisp and Admas will be in their 30s if we are ready to look at finals again by say 2024 which is optimistic so they wont be around for much of our nest tilt even if its soon.

2 A grade talents from our 9 debutants and the rest solid contributors would be an unprecedented haul from where we had our picks, would put us back in the game, but its probably too much to expect. 1 A grade talent and 3-4 best 22 would still be outstanding and more realistic. One problem of 2020 is that none of the group from 2015-2018, the ones the club spruiked when we got rid of Treloar and the others did come on. Browns X2, Kelly, Sier, Murphy, Keane and Tohill were able to make a best 22 spot theirs.

I think we have a better senior core than some building clubs but many more established lists have much better cores and already much better youth than us. I prefer most clubs youth to ours and when I look at the squads of Port, Syd, Bris for a start and see how far their kids are ahead of ours it seems a long way back.

Nick D is really the start and then in 22 we should have a good draft pick if we dont trade it or diminish it by going into points debt. A high draft pick gives you a better chance at another A grade talent but it doesnt translate to that. We are in a position where we have to outperform the draft to get back up. I am suspicious of the club still being in damage control and there are still issues fermenting. Pendles spruiking himself this week was a bad sign.

I am not confident that our list is a good one, I suspect things get worse before they get better and my biggest fear is the events of the last 12 months are the same type of thing that sent Carl and Ess into a downward spiral. Thats the biggest concern. I dont see any great short term solutions. I hope that we can do a successful rebuild over the next 5 years, but that will be tough and the next 2-3 seasons are likely bad

Only if you can show us a successful club that has had heaps of top 5 picks and doesn't have a tiny strawman hidden somewhere in their training facilities.

I mean Melbourne finished on top and have Petracca, Oliver, Jackson, Brayshaw and traded top
And people abused me for the above quote and I'm proven right! A great example to set for all our younger players.

Read the below balanced and fair article from Jake Niall.

I’ll back you in he beds to cut his salary in half. Like Grundy post 2020 the club will survive without him and I agree with Niall his leadership on this one was terrible.

If the Saints prefer Hannerbery over Dunstan, it says a lot of Dunstan, or the Saints are just that stupid.
Hanners has played 15 games in three seasons, Dunstan played 12 this year alone, his body is done. He ain't getting any younger! Dunstan is the obvious replacement. I'd rather we promote from within, like Reef or Fin.

Saints have to get their moneys worth on Hanners. What a shocking pick up he has been for them.

Dunstan has been very good this season so it's strange he was dropped again. Ratten clearly doesn't rate him. We need some help in the midfield so I wouldn't be against having a crack at him if he's willing to move.

I am of the belief you win premierships off the back of a good defence and winning contested footy.

We have a top 6 defence already, and if they’re all fit I’d have us top 3.

Moore Maynard Crisp Howe Rough IQ is a superb back 6.

The key to winning a flag is our main shortfall in that we don’t have a good contested ball winner apart from Adams. Adams ranks 7th in clearances per game, and our next best is Pendles at #50 followed very closely by Grundy Sidey and JDG. Not good enough.
Once again Adams ranks 8th for CP but then Grundy is #36, Pendles #48, Crisp #66. Pendles and Sidey dominate our ball winning numbers but they’re both on the wrong side of 30.

We absolutely NEED to find contested ball winners. We rank dead last for i50’s by a fair margin, and people question how we don’t kick a winning score every week. We need to find a way to get the ball in quickly and give our forwards 1 on 1 looks, I have no doubt we have improved our f50 retention with the likes of Ginnivan and McCreery but it’s simply not good enough.

I think if we can find ourselves some big ball winners we will be okay. People underestimate the importance of good ball winning mids and the effect it can have on a young midfield brigade - look at Boak and Wines and what it has done for Drew Butters Duursma and Rozee for example. JPK and Parker on Florent Rowbottom and Blakey. We have the young mids at our disposal but they desperately need help.

I have zero doubt that Daicos x2, Reef, Fin, Poulter etc will all make it because they indeed will, they have all shown enough. But add some big bodies around them who hunt the footy and we can expose them into midfield roles that teach them how to play and get them prepared. Look at Walsh for example - had Cripps and Curnow doimg the grunt work while he got fed for a season on the wing as an outside mid and now he’s playing a dual role of the inside and outside because he has teammates who he knows will win the footy for him at times.

Would love to see us approach Crouch, Dunstan, Hopper, these likes. And then target a silky midfielder who adds some class, but maybe Nick Daicos is already that man. What do we think?

And if anyone has heard Max Gawn’s podcast on dyl and friends, he sums up that every player has talent, it’s a reason why they were drafted.

Obviously top end talent helps but the culture, work rate and other factors play a huge part too which is why it is integral we hurry up with the new coach and get the ball rolling on fixing our dysfunctional board.

So all our boys have a huge chance to flourish but we need to look after them and nurture them through it so they come out the other side and I think we can do that.

He's literally just another Darcy Cameron. You would only entertain it if we were to lose Cox and Lynch.
I'd rather we drafted/traded a pure forward (to replace Cox) or pure ruck (to replace Lynch) to replace those players instead of another forward/ruck, which inevitably have some limitations in their game.

George Hewett might be gettable on the cheap

I'd rather we drafted a pure forward (Cox) or pure ruck (Lynch) to replace those players instead of another forward/ruck, which inevitably have some limitations in their game.
Referring to Cox as a pure forward is laughable.

You misinterpreted my post. Given Cox has been played as our main forward target I want us to draft/trade a forward to replace him. I wasn't stating Cox was a pure forward and my point was we're better off recruiting players who specialise in one role rather than more bit part players.

Good to hear the Swans have salary cap issues.

Might be a window of opportunity.

Got to price enforce and extenuate the squeeze, regardless.

I think he said it because he's open to the right deal. If he didn't say it, but then went unexpectedly, would it be any better.
I’d prefer he just come out say he’s going to leave as here it sounds like he’s leveraging this for a better contract and we’ve been ****ed over in contract negotiations enough.