Strategy Trade and List Management thread 3 (...The pining for the departed. Edition)

For once he's got it spot on. Hurley was never leaving and Deledio is going to the cashed up retirement village for ageing stars.

We are premiers and we did it not by aggressive trading (Boyd aside) but by smart drafting, canny rookie selections and picking players nobody else wanted.

We'll just sit on our sack of salary cap cash for 12 months.

Mate you are attributing him with an intention far more complex than the one that all evidence we have available suggests he has.

He was taking a dig, but then tempering it by saying that we are premiers so who cares. Basically pointing out that we ****ed up (and saving this fact for later, as you will see if it does come to hurt us), but also making sure he that he also emphasised that we won. A foot in both camps. There was no complexity whatsoever behind it other than headline grabbing self interest.

Interesting theory I heard: Does anybody think that we screwed up by not announcing Boyd's re-signing and no retirement until the last day of the trade period or whatever, because it limited our bargaining power in the trades? In that if those clubs thought that Boyd still might retire, that we didn't have to trade Stevens and Hrovat to make your 3 draft selections, and therefore could have gotten more in a trade for them?

Mate you are attributing him with an intention far more complex than the one that all evidence we have available suggests he has.

He was taking a dig, but then tempering it by saying that we are premiers so who cares. Basically pointing out that we stuffed up (and saving this fact for later, as you will see if it does come to hurt us), but also making sure he that he also emphasised that we won. A foot in both camps. There was no complexity whatsoever behind it other than headline grabbing self interest.

Yeah, I was given him far too much credit. For a second there I thought he might have changed. I'm actually surprised he didn't throw Toyd into his little dig.

Kelly is silk IMO. Perfect fit for us. Hard to get you'd think.
Dunno

IMO the recreational druggie is better, seen better footy from him, similar to a Mitch Duncan when on top form.

Kelly just strikes to me as a St Kilda vanilla outside type at the moment

Kelly's squibishness worries me. And he'd cost the world.
Fits the St Kilda type imo

Watching that prelim, I barely noticed him, yet he comes out with 29 touches or something. The last 3 quarters of that game I was yelling at my TV saying "******* get on Shiel" "******* get on Scully"

Not great on the eye test for me so far

Fits the St Kilda type imo

Watching that prelim, I barely noticed him, yet he comes out with 29 touches or something. The last 3 quarters of that game I was yelling at my TV saying "******* get on Shiel" "******* get on Scully"

Not great on the eye test for me so far
I'd prefer Macrae to Kelly - they rack up similar amount of ball, both ultra professional and hard trainers, Macrae has a better sidestep, Kelly kicks the ball slightly lower, Macrae is taller, Macrae kicked the sealer in the prelim.

All in all we can draft and develop a burst mid which is my preference.

I'd prefer Macrae to Kelly - they rack up similar amount of ball, both ultra professional and hard trainers, Macrae has a better sidestep, Kelly kicks the ball slightly lower, Macrae is taller, Macrae kicked the sealer in the prelim.

All in all we can draft and develop a burst mid which is my preference.
Reckon we take a KPP and a burst mid with 18 and 26?

Long/Hannan at 50 then a ruck rookie and something else?

Macrae is always our second best player - a gun
Each time I rewatch the gf I am more and more convinced the norm smith should have ended up around Macrae's neck.
I'm still in the Boyd camp, with Macrae and Picken impossible to split for second.

Reckon we take a KPP and a burst mid with 18 and 26?

Long/Hannan at 50 then a ruck rookie and something else?
I'm wondering if Long lasts to pick 50 TBH.
Don't think this is a good draft for talls though, hence we looked tall last year. Next year is apparently.

I hope we take a good look at O'Shea and find space on our list for him (Prudden to the rookie list perhaps).

Macrae is always our second best player - a gun
Each time I rewatch the gf I am more and more convinced the norm smith should have ended up around Macrae's neck.
He set a lot up, was definitely in our best, think I gave him 1 or 2 in the Ching that day

I was critical of his ball use early in the season, but he really started to lower his eyes and became less hesitant forward of centre after the bye, was good to see

I get the T Boyd and Picken argument. I understand JJs influence was critical. Morris was huge. But when I watch that game the truly hard shit against the swans midfield is consistently done by Marcrae. He the man.

Kennedy kicked some goals and did some real hard work when the swans needed it in the 2/3 rd quarters. But Jackson just never ever stopped. He did nt kick goals but he set them up. Time after time he is at the bottom of a pack with no right to get it out but he repeatedly hits handball targets with swans players bear hugging him.
He doesn't kick long but in tight under pressure he finds the dinky pass or handball.

He is amazingly smart in tight, far stronger then he looks, a gut runner who works both ways better than anyone in our team. He has developed his game into an elite instinct in all but goal kicking.

Something tells me he will continue to improve.

Boyd took big marks, Pickens 4 th quarter was huge, JJ ran and ran them ragged. Morris crushed their forward thrusts. But Macrae beat them at their strength - at what the swans pride themselves in most hardness at the contest. In the big moments he is repeatedly critical. He takes body punishment as well as Picken.

While the spotlight shines on the Bont - as it should. Or Stringer when his firing or liber when goes beast mode - Macrae just keeps racking them up - not with the cheapies but in key moments - moments which are easy to miss because he does the ugly work in the chain it is obscured unless you watch the replay carefully.

Then you see the tackle, the bump, the tireless running, the crunch and the quick release to start the chain.

I bow to him in praise and deference - all hail Macrae!!!

Why keep Hrovat another year when an above market value offer was on the table last trade period?

Can we stop pushing this line like it was the clubs' fault. Once again, a player must agree to a trade. If Hrovat didn't want to play for or move to GC we can't make him.
I don't blame him for a second for not wanting to go up there.

Can we stop pushing this line like it was the clubs' fault. Once again, a player must agree to a trade. If Hrovat didn't want to play for or move to GC we can't make him.
I don't blame him for a second for not wanting to go up there.

Yes I think if anyone is critical they should imagine the kind of challenge it would be uprooting one's life and moving across the country. What happens with your partner who presumably has their own career and may be unwilling to move? Housing decisions? It'd be horrible.

I get the T Boyd and Picken argument. I understand JJs influence was critical. Morris was huge. But when I watch that game the truly hard shit against the swans midfield is consistently done by Marcrae. He the man.

Kennedy kicked some goals and did some real hard work when the swans needed it in the 2/3 rd quarters. But Jackson just never ever stopped. He did nt kick goals but he set them up. Time after time he is at the bottom of a pack with no right to get it out but he repeatedly hits handball targets with swans players bear hugging him.
He doesn't kick long but in tight under pressure he finds the dinky pass or handball.

He is amazingly smart in tight, far stronger then he looks, a gut runner who works both ways better than anyone in our team. He has developed his game into an elite instinct in all but goal kicking.

Something tells me he will continue to improve.

Boyd took big marks, Pickens 4 th quarter was huge, JJ ran and ran them ragged. Morris crushed their forward thrusts. But Macrae beat them at their strength - at what the swans pride themselves in most hardness at the contest. In the big moments he is repeatedly critical. He takes body punishment as well as Picken.

While the spotlight shines on the Bont - as it should. Or Stringer when his firing or liber when goes beast mode - Macrae just keeps racking them up - not with the cheapies but in key moments - moments which are easy to miss because he does the ugly work in the chain it is obscured unless you watch the replay carefully.

Then you see the tackle, the bump, the tireless running, the crunch and the quick release to start the chain.

I bow to him in praise and deference - all hail Macrae!!!

Did you get a new computer?

True, though we were unlucky to lose Roughy and the other injured guys who didn't play....
Don't you think though that our injury problems were sorted out by the time we got round to the Prelim? I think we had a bad run during the season but by the time the finals came round we were only really missing Murphy,Wallis and Redpath and we can't be sure Red would have held his place anyway. I thought that being back to near full strength played a huge part in us winning both flags.

Oh dear, in this day and age of clickbait and dumbed right down 'journalism' designed for mouth breathers, the Hun love picking 'winners' and 'losers'. Apparently, the Lions, Crows and us are losers.

Three things:

1. We traded out three VFL players. One happened to snag a flag, but he was a predominately VFL player. Stevens and Hrovat - meh. Good on them.

2. We got a proven goal kicker and added EVEN MORE options to our forward line. Remember Kingy's premiership quadrant? 'The Dogs just don't kick enough goals'.

3. We won the f***ing flag. We don't need to get involved in the media circle jerk that is 'winning and losing' this period by trading in average, chronically injured and hack players.

We could 'win' the next 30 trade periods, but without a flag it means squat. So, well done Tigers, Dees and Saints, we'll cry ourselves to sleep watching our premiership win.

What's that? You don't have a flag? That's sad.
Yes, I think they assessed Collingwood as having had a good trade period!!! You have to be kidding. Other the WHE I think the rest of their moves smacked of absolute desperation. I mean Chris Mayne, seriously!! That free agent signing alone, for the money they have paid, should have consigned them to a fail. I think they have stuffed up their list quite frankly and taken on players, other than maybe Wells, who have failed to perform at other clubs by and large.

I think the HS assess trade period performance by whether you actually did something, not by what you did taking into account your starting position or bargaining position.

Given our existing list, other than trying to get Delidio why would we have tried to do any other major moves that would stuff up our retention strategy in future?

Can someone please explain to me what the hell Port were doing this period? They are just setting themselves up to be stuck in no mans lands for years.