Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

we had a very decent team all year but unless defensively as a team we pull our heads in it will be the same old same.

starts with our mids and wings wanting to put defensive pressure on the opposition.

If that doesn't happen it will be the same as what we seen this year
Forward line could function better too though we scored well enough seems disorganised and inefficient

We scored pretty heavy against some bad teams in the middle part of the year (North, WC, GWS, Hawks) so the numbers probably flatter it. I agree it often looked dysfunctional still

So this year we take 11, 21 and 39 to the draft.
Next year we take something like 11, 15 and 34 to the draft.
Last two years we have taken pick 1 and 2.

I think we are setting ourselves up very well for the future considering we played in the GF last year.

some further tweaks in the assistant ranks and I reckon it is game on next year.

You have to factor Lobb in… we wouldn’t have got him done without 30 & 39.

It’s 12, 15, F1, F1, F2 vs 12, 21, 39, F1, F1, F2, Lobb

So essentially would you rather 15 or 21, 39 & Lobb.

I know what I would rather
You’ve added P39 to your argument but left out the 2 x F3 going back the other way in the other. F2 and 2 x F3 would have got Lobb done IMO.

Again, i’m not saying anyone did anything wrong but you seem to think it’s a no brainer and I disagree.

If we get 2 good years out of Lobb (30 goals a year/okay ruck coverage) then he’s done his job until Jamarra and Darcy are ready.

Mature fwd/rucks aren’t easy to find and our poor handling of the 2nd ruck role has cost us games.

Jones I see as a big upgrade on Cordy effectively. That’s a definite win, even if it’s just for 2 years.

Jones could easily be the recruit of the year. Talented side crying out for a key back….he could be huge.

Dunkley is the hard one. I think short term we’ll be fine given the depth we already have, issue is in 2-3 years when Libba and Treloar are probably gone and Macrae is probably slowing down by then.

Need to really nail a few of these draft picks and West/Garcia to come on.

Hunter obviously had to go (albeit do we know the extent of his problems?). On-field, well it’s not 2018 anymore. If you ain’t quick and can’t use it, you ain’t going to make us better.

One I would’ve kept is Schache, as I don’t really see the point of him being depth for Melbourne and not us, but I won’t lose sleep about it.

Let’s get some real prospective on our list

We will have 8 30+ylds on our list next year with none of them being A graders which isn’t a great recipe for sustained success

For the final this year we had McComb Hannan Scott OBrien Crozier Bruce all 27+ylds (all contracted next year) who weren’t considered good enough to get a game in the 22 by the selectors not a great sign

In trade period it’s safe to say Port Brisbane Collingwood Richmond Geelong all improved their list we bring in 2 30+ylds and lose our B+F at 25yld who we l could rely on to COMPETE and CARE when things got tough and apart from Libba who else plays like that?

Talk is we have a culture problem how is that so when we’ve had the same coach footy manager and basically not too many changes overall in any area tell me how that works? Something not right somewhere

Give me players that improved this year from last? I can think of Jammara Richards Lipinski and Young with the last 2 improving at other clubs why is that so?

Anyway just a deeply concerned Dog going forward for years too come

Ben McKay is a free agent next year and if North finish last again they'd probably be happy to let him go if it got them pick 2.
Get to work Sammy

I don’t expect there would be anything official but would guarantee we are.
Just cut out the middle man and get Collingwood to wire the Treloar funds directly to Melbourne for Hunter, alongside the Grundy money. I'm not an accountant but think this should simplify the books.

Let’s get some real prospective on our list

We will have 8 30+ylds on our list next year with none of them being A graders which isn’t a great recipe for sustained success

For the final this year we had McComb Hannan Scott OBrien Crozier Bruce all 27+ylds (all contracted next year) who weren’t considered good enough to get a game in the 22 by the selectors not a great sign

In trade period it’s safe to say Port Brisbane Collingwood Richmond Geelong all improved their list we bring in 2 30+ylds and lose our B+F at 25yld who we l could rely on to COMPETE and CARE when things got tough and apart from Libba who else plays like that?

Talk is we have a culture problem how is that so when we’ve had the same coach footy manager and basically not too many changes overall in any area tell me how that works? Something not right somewhere

Give me players that improved this year from last? I can think of Jammara Richards Lipinski and Young with the last 2 improving at other clubs why is that so?

Anyway just a deeply concerned Dog going forward for years too come
I think having none of your A Graders in the 30+ age bracket is generally a positive, especially considering how young our key position players are.

Dunkley is far from irreplaceable.

We’ll be fine.

Alright onto pick swaps, what are we doing - who are we swapping with. No point judging our trade period til pick swaps are done IMO there will definitely be more to come.

I’d like to keep 11 for a crack at what’s left of the best, surely someone slips through but also I would love another pick inside the top 20. I like 21 but I worry it’s not high enough to get who I really want in that 15-20 range. I like 39 which will be closer to 30 by draft night - this seems like a great spot for a small forward or winger.

I’d still be happy to throw next years firsts at a pick inside the top 10 this year if we can get someone we rate really really highly. I wonder if there’s a way for us to use next years picks to find a pick inside the top 10, and drop 11 down to 2x picks in the top 20.

Very rough but would something along the lines of this work -

WCEs 8 & 20 for 11 & F1, they possibly get the two WA kids at 11 & 12 anyway, and they upgrade 20 into an F1 next year. We get a pick inside the top 10, and keep 20 & 21 which suit us.

How many picks are GWS likely to use at the draft? Could you get 15, 18 & 19 off them for 11, 21 & F2 or even 11 & F1. That’s probably something like 11 & 15 for 15, 18 & 19 but pushes an asset to next year for them.

If we get 2 good years out of Lobb (30 goals a year/okay ruck coverage) then he’s done his job until Jamarra and Darcy are ready.

Mature fwd/rucks aren’t easy to find and our poor handling of the 2nd ruck role has cost us games.

Jones I see as a big upgrade on Cordy effectively. That’s a definite win, even if it’s just for 2 years.

Jones could easily be the recruit of the year. Talented side crying out for a key back….he could be huge.

Dunkley is the hard one. I think short term we’ll be fine given the depth we already have, issue is in 2-3 years when Libba and Treloar are probably gone and Macrae is probably slowing down by then.

Need to really nail a few of these draft picks and West/Garcia to come on.

Hunter obviously had to go (albeit do we know the extent of his problems?). On-field, well it’s not 2018 anymore. If you ain’t quick and can’t use it, you ain’t going to make us better.

One I would’ve kept is Schache, as I don’t really see the point of him being depth for Melbourne and not us, but I won’t lose sleep about it.
Lippi and Cords can come back in 3 yrs

So my Essendon mate who hangs s**t on us all the time...glass houses my friend...just messaged me with "You guys got totally reamed by Brisbane, worst team at the trade table this year"

Esseendon - Out Francis, In Setterfield and Weiderman...hold my beer

They were the main supporter base that hung shi* on the dogs in the Dunkley thread. Clearly still salty.

Wouldn’t worry too much about what they say mate.

Alright onto pick swaps, what are we doing - who are we swapping with. No point judging our trade period til pick swaps are done IMO there will definitely be more to come.

I’d like to keep 11 for a crack at what’s left of the best, surely someone slips through but also I would love another pick inside the top 20. I like 21 but I worry it’s not high enough to get who I really want in that 15-20 range. I like 39 which will be closer to 30 by draft night - this seems like a great spot for a small forward or winger.

I’d still be happy to throw next years firsts at a pick inside the top 10 this year if we can get someone we rate really really highly. I wonder if there’s a way for us to use next years picks to find a pick inside the top 10, and drop 11 down to 2x picks in the top 20.

Very rough but would something along the lines of this work -

WCEs 8 & 20 for 11 & F1, they possibly get the two WA kids at 11 & 12 anyway, and they upgrade 20 into an F1 next year. We get a pick inside the top 10, and keep 20 & 21 which suit us.

How many picks are GWS likely to use at the draft? Could you get 15, 18 & 19 off them for 11, 21 & F2 or even 11 & F1. That’s probably something like 11 & 15 for 15, 18 & 19 but pushes an asset to next year for them.
Wouldn’t look at including a F1s into this years draft. Apparently a clear top 8 players, then very even.

Next years draft is tipped to be elite