Trade/Draft/Delist

Although I will probably go into more depth once the season is officially over, I feel we need to make a sizeable change to the playing list, and even make a couple of trades to generate some excitement for the fans.

We definately need another key defender, not sure who is available, but that would have to be a top priority. A promising young ruckman must be next on the list, followed by a classy midfielder.

There are a number of players that we could delist, anywhere up to 7-8, but realistically about 5-6. Some tough calls will have to be made, but we must make them to improve.

Possible retirements (forced or otherwise)
Bizzell
Holland
Ward
Brown
Pickett
Yze
Neitz

Possible Delistings
Neville
Warnock
Ferguson
Miller
Jamar
Chris Johnson
Godfrey
Paul Johnson

I wouldn't mind 3-4 in each category going, ie. Bizzell, Holland, Ward, Brown and Neville, Warnock, Ferguson and Miller. The problem is that they are all defenders besides Miller, so even though Bell has stepped up, Frawley and Petterd have arrived and Bartram, Rivers and Whelan will all be back next year the backline seems to be short on numbers. I'd consider keeping Holland and Ward for one more year, with Bode coming off the rookie list, which leaves 5 more spots, one could also be filled by Neaves. Jamar would be another I'd be happy to let go but that depends on the draft, I believe we need 4 ruckman on the main list, maybe with another on the rookie list, so Jamar might get another year to proove himself.

Draft
Best available talent with top two picks, however I'd want:
Ruckman - Kruezer is the dream
Tall - When I say tall I mean tall, preferablly 194cm or more, with some size, backline or CHF
Speedy midfielder
Hard runner - Bartram like would be fine, someone who can become a tagger
Tough half back flanker - 4th Selwood would be the top choice, a no frills Whelan or Campbell Brown type
Trades
No thanks, I'd rather keep our picks and our quality players. However if the price is right I'd go after the types of players listed above with first preference given to a full back or a ruckman.

Paul Johnson? Ur kidding - he's one guy who shows a bit of heart and i reckon is definitely in our best 22 and should be retained.

When i first saw warnock i thought he was quite impressive, similar to Rivers. Have i missed something? or has he just fallen out of favour?

players like godfrey, wheatley and ward although i like them, they aren't the ones to take us to success in the next 5 years which is how long they'll be here if we dont make a decision on them now.

neitz should def retire why would we keep him for next year? he's holding back a young forward. are we gonna play off next year? i doubt it. his body is f*cked. will go down as a legend at the dees with more than 300 games under his belt.

Also, either play miller in the backline where he doesnt have to think or trade him ASAP.

Draft
Best available talent with top two picks, however I'd want:
Ruckman - Kruezer is the dream
Tall - When I say tall I mean tall, preferablly 194cm or more, with some size, backline or CHF
Speedy midfielder
Hard runner - Bartram like would be fine, someone who can become a tagger
Tough half back flanker - 4th Selwood would be the top choice, a no frills Whelan or Campbell Brown type

Trades
No thanks, I'd rather keep our picks and our quality players. However if the price is right I'd go after the types of players listed above with first preference given to a full back or a ruckman.
------------------------------------------------

Alex Rance (KPP Defender 194cm)? He might be the one we should draft?

Also, what about Ashley Sampi? Sampi is struglling in the eagles. Worth looking? Especially provide more pace in the midfield?

I'd get rid of
Bizzell - slightly unlucky after this years form but is out of contract.
Holland - again unlucky but don't really want an immobile 30+ KPP coming off shoulder reco.
Ward - too many similar type players on the list
Neville - has spent two years on the senior list an hasn't got past Sandy Reserves. Possibly rookie.

At least one of Brown & Pickett
At least one of CJ & Warnock
Probably one of Ferguson & Miller
Probably Jamar

I'd look at promoting one or both of Bode and Neaves off the rookie list as both are in their 2nd year so cann't be retained on the RL.

Our major weakenesses are ground level presence in the forward line, a consistent backup ruckman and a gorilla tamer down back. The new coaches decision will be whether to rectify this in the short term by trading heavily and probably giving up some MFC favourites in the process or long term via the draft.

Paul Johnson? Ur kidding - he's one guy who shows a bit of heart and i reckon is definitely in our best 22 and should be retained.

LMAO!!!!

players like godfrey, wheatley and ward although i like them, they aren't the ones to take us to success in the next 5 years which is how long they'll be here if we dont make a decision on them now.

Dunno if we could keep all three next year but I think Wheatley is the best option and my opinion is keep him.

neitz should def retire why would we keep him for next year? he's holding back a young forward. are we gonna play off next year? i doubt it. his body is f*cked. will go down as a legend at the dees with more than 300 games under his belt.

His body isn't screwed, he was moving fairly well in the last couple of weeks and looked like he can go around again. As for him holding back a young forward, well that could go either way. Sure he hasn't been kicking all the goals he use to but having him in the forward line assures that he gets the oppositions best defender which causes a mismatch somewhere else in the forward line.

Also, either play miller in the backline where he doesnt have to think or trade him ASAP.

Trade.

Hope you don't mind me posting guys.
I know a kid at Carlton,Jake Edwards.Loads of ability,injury plagued season.
Carlton offered him another two years,as have Melbourne.Interestingly though melbourne have come again with three.
This also suggests to me that Sheedy is in the door,as he is a good freind of Jakes dad Butch,and regularly keeps tabs on the boys.
Gut feel is he will stay put,but thought it may interest you.

I heard on the radio that there is this kid called Callum Wilson who missed out on the draft last year but has absoultley blossomed this year. He;s just 19 and a KPP player, 191 cm. Anyway could be a bit of Justin Westoff find.

Bizzell
Holland
Ward
Brown
Pickett
Yze
Neitz

Possible Delistings
Neville
Warnock
Ferguson
Miller
Jamar
Chris Johnson
Godfrey
Paul Johnson

Well found out today that bizzell and Brown have retired. Neitz and the Ooooze will deff play on ext year. Hope Ward and holland stay on as they are good depth players and have been pretty good this year. dont think picket will b on the list next year though. love how he plays but had a shocking year and cant see the new coach keeping him.

Neville certain to be delisted and think Warnock and CJ will as well but unlucky to be. Hopefully get a trade for miller. send him bak home to QLD for Brennan?? Have to keep PJ, Godfrey (been one of our best this yr-dun some awesome tag jobs) and Jamar is also another good depth player and hopefully can play well next year.

Hey all good to hear some valid points from everyone, for the most part

Not sure we should go in for the total list revamp right now as this years draft is not that strong and you cant build for success in just one draft.

I think we are better off keeping most of our established players unless we can get a top ten pick for them. I'm sure with a solid run with injuries and some natural development of the younger players, as well as the inclusion of some blokes who didn't play all year, we will bounce back up the ladder (deja vu 2004 maybe) which is what we need more than anything.

With this in mind i would consider the following changes.

Delist/Retire
Bizzell and Brown - already gone
Neville - just cant seem to cut it
Warnock or Ferguson
Possibly Ward and Holland although they would be required if we have another horror run with injuries

Trade
Jamar - if we can get a deal done provided we get another ruck in
Miller - to bris maybe with pick 20ish for wood though not sure bris would take it

Wouldn't mind giving miller another year as the bloke does have some talent in him somewhere and its possible a new coach could get him to produce, no point delisting him imo and wouldn't be worth anything in the trade market at the moment, no point getting pick 60 odd for him as there will be little worth dratfing left by then

Bizzell
Holland
Ward
Brown
Pickett
Yze
Neitz

Possible Delistings
Neville
Warnock
Ferguson
Miller
Jamar
Chris Johnson
Godfrey
Paul Johnson

Well found out today that bizzell and Brown have retired. Neitz and the Ooooze will deff play on ext year. Hope Ward and holland stay on as they are good depth players and have been pretty good this year. dont think picket will b on the list next year though. love how he plays but had a shocking year and cant see the new coach keeping him.

Neville certain to be delisted and think Warnock and CJ will as well but unlucky to be. Hopefully get a trade for miller. send him bak home to QLD for Brennan?? Have to keep PJ, Godfrey (been one of our best this yr-dun some awesome tag jobs) and Jamar is also another good depth player and hopefully can play well next year.

if as reported either Bailey or Hardwick have got the job, Pickett, ( l hope he does) will stay as they are all former Port teammates and coaches

Delist:

Warnock (not big enough for the spot we need him in)
Bizzell and Brown (for obvious reasons)
Ward (still goes ok, but won't need him with Whelan and Bartram back)
Godders
Neville (draft onto rookie list)
Holland

Trade:
I can see only minor trades happening, with maybe Miller, Jamar, or Ferguson as options. Would trade Bruce for the right offer though.

Draft:
Tom Collier from Tassie, key mobile CHB with good size. Very talented and has played Devils (not that much of an achievement this year though, half of Tassie played.) which gives a bit of a kick start against the men. Would be reasonably happy going with him at Pick 4, although i don't know much about the talent around.

Also look for a bit of speed and a developing ruckman.

No need for a cleanout, with Rivers, Whelan, Bartram, a fitter Moloney and Sylvia, Yze, as well as Petterd, Frawley and Newton getting bigger and stronger, i think we're in reasonable shape. Just need fresh ideas, and an improved fitness area.

Delist:

Warnock (not big enough for the spot we need him in)
Bizzell and Brown (for obvious reasons)
Ward (still goes ok, but won't need him with Whelan and Bartram back)
Godders
Neville (draft onto rookie list)
Holland

Trade:
I can see only minor trades happening, with maybe Miller, Jamar, or Ferguson as options. Would trade Bruce for the right offer though.

Draft:
Tom Collier from Tassie, key mobile CHB with good size. Very talented and has played Devils (not that much of an achievement this year though, half of Tassie played.) which gives a bit of a kick start against the men. Would be reasonably happy going with him at Pick 4, although i don't know much about the talent around.

Also look for a bit of speed and a developing ruckman.

No need for a cleanout, with Rivers, Whelan, Bartram, a fitter Moloney and Sylvia, Yze, as well as Petterd, Frawley and Newton getting bigger and stronger, i think we're in reasonable shape. Just need fresh ideas, and an improved fitness area.

Tom Colleir isn't worthy if 4. I think he'll go around 10 so possibly we can make a trade for that pick.

How melbourne reponds to this poor season will have to depend on how they see the team progressing over the coming years.
Basically, is the team happy to just make finals next year and be decent over the coming years or would it prefer to (and can it afford to) build a grand final winning line up??
In my opinion, the dees cannot win a granny until they build a spine, and with s**t all down back and Neitz bowing out up forward, the reality is that a granny is at least 5 years away.

Now, disagree with me if you want, but id say that rules Sheedy out of being the ideal coaching candidate with the younger Bailey or Hardwick the better fit i think.

As for delistings, im not going to go through the obvious ones, but i feel there is little purpose in keeping the aging players on the list bar for experience and guidance of the new age. As such, i would get rid of Neitz as he cannot stand up anymore, only keeping White, McDonald, maybe Yze and maybe Robo (although may fetch a decent trade) from the senior guys as they can both go around again and provide some experience.

Now probably the most contentious issue is our midfield. The young players in Jones, Mclean, Sylvia, Molony, Bate, Bartram, Newton, rivers, petterd etc should be untouchable imo. then we have to look at Green 26, Johnstone 27 and bruce 28 next month. These players still have enourmous trade potential but will not win us a flag in the next five years. by then they will be 31, 32 and 33 respectively. I would propose trading 2 or even all 3 of these players. I know its a bold strategy but if melbourne is to win its first flag in 45 years, thats what its gonna take. basically i think the dees shoud look at trading anyone over 26 with any trade value.

Looking at the present examples, Hawthorn and StKilda, they both cleaned out what they didnt need, retained only a few oldies (Harvs, Thomo; Crawf and Vanders) and got draft picks for their trades (Nath Thomson, Hall, Everitt). Then both sides built a midfield and a spine. Now with melbourne's young midfield group thats not the biggest worry, but with the low picks the dees have and and the picks or players they could get by offloading the players mentioned earlier, an awsome team could be built.

Finally, I would keep Miller. Bailey looks like the goods coaching wise and this bloke needs some specialist defensive training. With that, i think he is a prospect, plus it is worthless traiding him as you wont get anything decent for him.

So for a granny in 5, the shopping list from here would be a 2 key position backs, another ruckman or two as White is 31, at least 1 key forward who can consistently kick bags (i know..so easy to come across) and just keep topping up the midfield with youngsters. i know thse players dont grow on trees but with a heap of picks this year and likely a bunch next year as this strategy will probably equate to a poor 2008, it's do-able.

Thats about it...you may think its bulltish but i think the dees should target a premiership for once. Look at Hawthorn now and imagine where the blues will be in a few years...especially if they had of traded Whitnal and Fev two years ago.

As for delistings, im not going to go through the obvious ones, but i feel there is little purpose in keeping the aging players on the list bar for experience and guidance of the new age. As such, i would get rid of Neitz as he cannot stand up anymore, only keeping White, McDonald, maybe Yze and maybe Robo (although may fetch a decent trade) from the senior guys as they can both go around again and provide some experience.

Looking at the present examples, Hawthorn and StKilda, they both cleaned out what they didnt need, retained only a few oldies (Harvs, Thomo; Crawf and Vanders) and got draft picks for their trades (Nath Thomson, Hall, Everitt). Then both sides built a midfield and a spine. Now with melbourne's young midfield group thats not the biggest worry, but with the low picks the dees have and and the picks or players they could get by offloading the players mentioned earlier, an awsome team could be built.

Finally, I would keep Miller. Bailey looks like the goods coaching wise and this bloke needs some specialist defensive training. With that, i think he is a prospect, plus it is worthless traiding him as you wont get anything decent for him.
How many flags have Hawthorn and the Saints won?
Retire Neitz and keep Miller??? Neitz has the ability to play 10 games a year half fit, Miller has the ability to play 0 games a year at 100% fitness.
The total rebuild approach is good but how many quality and important players did Hawthorn really get rid off, Thompson and Hay, and without being rude there was more going on there than was known at the time. The saints were the same, they got rid of a destabilising Everitt. Whilst the draft picks would be nice, cleaning out the trash (Miller, Warnock, Ferguson et al) and retiring old blokes early Bizzell, Brown, Pickett, Ward and Holland, gets more games into the players of the future, therefore they can come together as a premiership team in 2010, Green and Bruce have the ability to play forward so I can see them still being handy in 2010, similar for Travis Johnstone. Yze and Neitz can have swan song years next year, with us hopefully in the 8, McDonald is a midfielder so can be gradually eased out of the team before retiring at the end of 2009 which leaves only Jeff White, who is one I wouldnt mind to be moved on because a young ruck combination could work well together, the only problem is we need two players to form the combination like Campbell and Taylor at the hawks and I dont think Jamar and PJ are the blokes to do it.

Retire Neitz and keep Miller??? Neitz has the ability to play 10 games a year half fit, Miller has the ability to play 0 games a year at 100% fitness.
The total rebuild approach is good but how many quality and important players did Hawthorn really get rid off, Thompson and Hay, and without being rude there was more going on there than was known at the time. The saints were the same, they got rid of a destabilising Everitt. Whilst the draft picks would be nice, cleaning out the trash (Miller, Warnock, Ferguson et al) and retiring old blokes early Bizzell, Brown, Pickett, Ward and Holland, gets more games into the players of the future, therefore they can come together as a premiership team in 2010, Green and Bruce have the ability to play forward so I can see them still being handy in 2010, similar for Travis Johnstone. Yze and Neitz can have swan song years next year, with us hopefully in the 8, McDonald is a midfielder so can be gradually eased out of the team before retiring at the end of 2009 which leaves only Jeff White, who is one I wouldnt mind to be moved on because a young ruck combination could work well together, the only problem is we need two players to form the combination like Campbell and Taylor at the hawks and I dont think Jamar and PJ are the blokes to do it.

Trouble is I just don't think players like Bruce, Johnstone, Green would be worth much on the market.

Would anyone be intrested in Fev?

Bailey seems like a pretty stern bloke though hahha

Sampi = pace, u got to be kidding, he went back to Broome and refused to come home, he looks like he ate Byron Pickett.
Dont be suprised master if we do go after him we have made some weird decisions in the past like pickett remember craig turley. This might not be a bad idea all together, l agree with you in the fact that he has no pace, but he can play the game and he is still young. What are your thoughts?:confused:

which leaves only Jeff White, who is one I wouldnt mind to be moved on because a young ruck combination could work well together, the only problem is we need two players to form the combination like Campbell and Taylor at the hawks and I dont think Jamar and PJ are the blokes to do it.

I heard something about Jolly wanting to return to Victoria, not sure about the truth to it though. I for one would like to see us make a run for Jolly and bring him back to the Demons and give the old master and apprentice a chance to show the ruck world what they can do.

Are you serious mate!! You dont think the saints had a premiership winning side two years back. They fumbled majorly in their game but they had a premiership winning team. And you dont think the hawks have that?? Give them a couple of years. Melbourne would be falling over themselves for a spine like franklin, roughhead, campbell/taylor, croad.
So why say that?? Surely you are not criticising the point by telling me that hawthorn havnt won a premiership. The fact is their side is going to be up top for the next 3/5 years baring real problems. How is Melbourne going to beat them???? If you want to criticise a point then add a little credibility and argument rather than smartass trivial one liners.

Hold on...you want to keep Neitz, the guy cannot stand up anymore. His body doesnt have what it takes these days. Another year will just mean maybe 10 more games with a max of 20 goals. Not what a full forward should be delivering. Compare that to White who is second in the league for hitouts, and whats more, he's not keeping young guys out as melbourne have no decent young ruck prospects, unlike Newton up forward.

Hopefully in the 8 next year? Of course melbourne could make the 8 next year. Probably will cos i cant see you guys having the balls to do what im saying. You have a moderate group cut down by injury, but a group that will never win you a flag. you will make the 8 and thats it. It will be heralded as a great return considering 2007, bouncing back into the 8 so fast, but the reality is 2007 was cut down by injury. Why should the finals next year be your goal if you have no chance of winning the flag? a premiership down the track should! Wonder why Melbourne yo-yos through the ladder each year?? Cos the thinking seems to be finals is good enough. What has Melbourne done since realsing it didnt have a backline 10 years ago?
Im sorry MasterBate but its thinking like yours thats has seen you guys win how many premierships over the past 45 years??

Premiership 2010?? this is clearly not a reality. You dont want to trade anyone of value?? How are you propsing to solve your KPP problems by then?? Give me a side ever that has won a granny with no full forward, no centre half forward, no ruckman, no chb and no fullback. Good luck getting decent players to fill these spots in 3 years while hanging onto all your decent trade value.

And hanging onto all of bruce, green and johnstone to play cameo forward roles in 2010?? What would you prefer...3 aging crumbing forward types or 3 quality 23 yr old talls or midfielders. I cant see any reason to keep these players if they arent going to be a premiership midfield. Better off trading them and building a side around the good young midfield group you have

Finally, Miller. He's the closest thing to a young kpp you guys have. I remember he played a couple of good games on Barry Hall in the backline. He hasnt lived up to potential so far but hes been bulltished around the lineup cos you guys have no backline or forward line to speak of. You seem to throw him in whatever gap seems most obvious on the day. Put him at Chb and leave him there, let Bailey, a proven defensive coach work with him and see what happens. If he still fails, no harm no foul, if he succeeds then theres one possy in the spine filled.

Melbournes lineup has real problems that need to be addressed before a flag will ever be won. i hope for your guys sake you actually address them.

Please answer my questions because if all dees supporters feel the way Masterbate does then i think another 45 years might not be unrealsitic.

Tom Colleir isn't worthy if 4. I think he'll go around 10 so possibly we can make a trade for that pick.

Would the Dees look at something along the lines of Murphy + Dockers 1st round pick (#7?) for Dees 1st and 2nd round? Dockers will be chasing Palmer, which looks unlikely to interest you guys, and Rance or Collier would still be available at pick 7. Murphy to replace Neitz at FF.

Trade/Draft/Delist